Tyre Balancing - Good Tyre Put Behind Kah?

ayamxxx
post Dec 17 2024, 08:29 PM

3,676 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Dec 17 2024, 08:16 PM)
Regular rotation helps to even out the wear of all 4 tyres.
If you don't do it often (like me) or not at all, you will always end up with 2 badly worn and 2 less worn tyres. So when it's time to change the 2 badly worn tyres, you will have to:
1) change the 2 bad tyres, having 2 new and 2 old tyres, creating less ideal grip imo, and the cycle continues.
Or
2) change all 4, like I do, wasting money. In my case, my car odometer reads 45k km, and I'll be changing my 3rd set of tyres since I got the car brand new. 2 tyres have reached the wear indicator whereas the other 2 still have 1-2mm above the wear indicator.

Another issue is when your tyre model is discontinued and you will have to use 2 types of tyres. Is it good? Certainly not ideal imo.
my PS3 last time with rotation done every 20k km, can make the tyre last from day 1 of the car to 89k km, then the rear start to have uneven wear, until saw the inner surface due to nowadays car negative chamber setting from the factory. On the PS4, with a similar rotation done, it only survived for 40k km in my case, 89k km to 129k km. the 2nd PS4 is also about 40k+ km only, again thanks to rear uneven wear due to a negative camber setting

few of I know put the chamber kit to put the rear back against the negative chamber setting, but most complaint the driving at corner not good as before

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Dec 17 2024, 08:30 PM
mushigen
post Dec 17 2024, 09:50 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 17 2024, 08:29 PM)
my PS3 last time with rotation done every 20k km, can make the tyre last from day 1 of the car to 89k km, then the rear start to have uneven wear, until saw the inner surface due to nowadays car negative chamber setting from the factory. On the PS4, with a similar rotation done, it only survived for 40k km in my case, 89k km to 129k km. the 2nd PS4 is also about 40k+ km only, again thanks to rear uneven wear due to a negative camber setting

few of I know put the chamber kit to put the rear back against the negative chamber setting, but most complaint the driving at corner not good as before
Imo best to rotate using the pattern (FR to RR, FL to RL, RR to FL, RL to FR) in order to fix the tyre at all 4 positions by the 4th tyre rotation.
TSjudie999
post Dec 18 2024, 10:12 PM

32 posts

sifu say dont rotate cos bad tyre put in front

then apacam liow
Balanced
post Dec 18 2024, 10:37 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(judie999 @ Dec 18 2024, 10:12 PM)

then apacam liow
Good tires in front if your tire is front wheel drive.
Front tire does the steering and takes on more load during cornering. Acceleration also front tire take the brunt
lordgamer3
post Dec 18 2024, 10:42 PM

757 posts

I always rotate
sadukarzz
post Dec 18 2024, 10:47 PM

720 posts

I also had skid experience, rear locked

So I agree that rear tyre shouldn't be in bad or botak condition

But I still stick with front good rear average for FWD, RWD will have rear good tyre

The moment rear tyre hit marker will change
littlefire
post Dec 19 2024, 08:47 AM

2,505 posts

QUOTE(judie999 @ Dec 18 2024, 11:12 PM)

then apacam liow
Coz the sifu want you to loss control = accident = more money to fix = they untung. laugh.gif
littlefire
post Dec 19 2024, 08:53 AM

2,505 posts

Those who think good tires need to be in front, please google or youtube it. Plenty of video test will show you why that good tires should be in the rear.
dwRK
post Dec 19 2024, 09:14 AM

the consummate chartist
5,797 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 19 2024, 08:47 AM)
Coz the sifu want you to loss control = accident = more money to fix = they untung.  laugh.gif
ts car... front tire botak liao... back still ok...

des why sifu say dun rotate... keep bad tire in front

littlefire
post Dec 19 2024, 10:26 AM

2,505 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 19 2024, 10:14 AM)
ts car... front tire botak liao... back still ok...

des why sifu say dun rotate... keep bad tire in front
Ohh.. Then this make sense, i tot they told him keep bad tire in back.
If really out of budget, actually can ask for 2nd hand/used tires.
Some 2nd hand/used tires can be worthy and better compare to the botak 1.
Get same size/brand/model (2pcs per set) and look for the manufacturing year if below 10 years and treads not yet reach safety limit still can use.
TSjudie999
post Dec 19 2024, 09:53 PM

32 posts

Not botak ler

Just average condition compare with the front only

I thought wanna rotate every 10k to balance the wear & tear for front & back

But sifu say no need, bad tyre just keep at front only

dwRK
post Dec 20 2024, 09:38 AM

the consummate chartist
5,797 posts

QUOTE(judie999 @ Dec 19 2024, 09:53 PM)
Not botak ler

understood... i wrote botak to emphasize the point... biggrin.gif

giftfre
post Dec 20 2024, 09:40 AM

Control Macho
562 posts

New Tyres put front.
anakkk
post Dec 20 2024, 09:45 AM

1,844 posts

the sifu hinting you to change tongue.gif

mushigen
post Dec 20 2024, 04:01 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(judie999 @ Dec 19 2024, 09:53 PM)
Not botak ler

I agree with him. It's too late for you to rotate now, as it will mean the back ones (after rotation) will be in worse condition than front tyres. Easier to lose control of the car.

0.0210sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th February 2025 - 09:14 AM