guys pls advise.....
TSegeokow
Dec 9 2024, 09:15 AM, updated 2y ago
last time when i check my bank statement, i found 2 suspicious transaction. On 5th Dec RM4500++ and 8th Dec was 15000THB. RM4500 was transfered and 15000THB was pending. I called bank to stop all my acc and transaction immediately. Those both transaction was transffered to FBxxxxx. Suspect was some online purchase from Facebook. Then immediately to do a police report.
Bank told me that this is scammer/suspicious account. Then i asked the bank, why i dont receive any OTP or Bank call to make approve? why the 15000THB still pending and bank dont realize at all? If i dont check my statement i guess all money had been transferred. Then the bank told me they will investigate. If the investigate fail, the transferred amount will be turn to loan amount and i will need to pay the amount. WTF...... seriously this is not my fault and i wont the take the responsible to pay that amount.
Since the bank told me many people had report this FBxxxxxx is a scam account and why the still approve the transaction? No OTP or Bank call for approval? Last last need me to pay the amount
Guys please advise......
LaiN87
Dec 9 2024, 09:39 AM
Debit card fraud? Hope you get your money back..
FB transactions will not have OTP. Many of them overseas merchant don’t, but bank should flag it and call you or send you email / sms at least. They don’t do any due diligence.
Always disable debit card usage. Whoever created debit card is the most idiotic person ever. Banks have no incentive to manage fraud there. Credit card we always have no issue as fraud items we don’t have to pay and up to bank.
At same time if android ensure no malware APK. Sometimes OTP is sent and deleted automatically. Banks will not refund if OTP is requested and right OTP is entered.
This post has been edited by LaiN87: Dec 9 2024, 09:40 AM
gashout
Dec 9 2024, 09:46 AM
1. debit or credit card 2. did you store your info anywhere?
bank usually should be responsible for such transaction...
ycs
Dec 9 2024, 09:47 AM
can you give details for 'FBxxxxx'?
TSegeokow
Dec 9 2024, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 9 2024, 09:46 AM) 1. debit or credit card 2. did you store your info anywhere? bank usually should be responsible for such transaction... credit card
TSegeokow
Dec 9 2024, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(ycs @ Dec 9 2024, 09:47 AM) can you give details for 'FBxxxxx'? Attached thumbnail(s)
gashout
Dec 9 2024, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(egeokow @ Dec 9 2024, 09:59 AM) payment by right will be refunded. don't worry too much let them investigate, if your side is clean, they have no reasons to charge you QUOTE(egeokow @ Dec 9 2024, 10:00 AM) someone uses your cc to pay for ads. actually fb can find out which ads... so easy to track scammer down, but most lazy.
TSegeokow
Dec 9 2024, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 9 2024, 10:04 AM) payment by right will be refunded. don't worry too much let them investigate, if your side is clean, they have no reasons to charge you someone uses your cc to pay for ads. actually fb can find out which ads... so easy to track scammer down, but most lazy. the problem is, why bank dont take any alert seems too many report on this case..
eddievh
Dec 9 2024, 10:11 AM
Affin bank? TS no receive sms notification for those transaction?
gashout
Dec 9 2024, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(egeokow @ Dec 9 2024, 10:10 AM) the problem is, why bank dont take any alert seems too many report on this case.. malaysian banks a bit useless. you can see with the many scams going on. old uncle auntie transferring 100k, 200k also no problem. banks can do so much to reduce scams.. but meh.
Seybold
Dec 9 2024, 10:13 AM

phone got hacked? remove unknown apps.
Check back which sites, apps you tide with your debit card.
This post has been edited by Seybold: Dec 9 2024, 10:14 AM
iamoracle
Dec 9 2024, 10:17 AM
I kena before. Unauthorised cc transaction charged for Google ad. 3 figures amount. Called bank to block the card and filled up online complaint form. No need to pay at the end.
galkelly
Dec 9 2024, 10:40 AM
I think if not your fault bank will not charge u
zhou.xingxing
Dec 9 2024, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(egeokow @ Dec 9 2024, 09:59 AM) what bank? usually i rcv sms for the bank transactions.. so my time i kena 1k euro spent in spain or somewhere i straight call bank to cancel.. which officer tell you need loan to pay bank. take down the name and report to the bank
jojolicia
Dec 9 2024, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(egeokow @ Dec 9 2024, 09:59 AM) Lucky you, not debit. Just lodge a formal unauthorised transactions. Call Cs, they will furnish you the doc
Created On 21/1/2021
Dec 9 2024, 11:21 AM
It happens to me once, also the same transaction to FBXXX. Amount is RM3k.
I immediately call the bank(Heong Leong) to cancel my credit card, and the bank tells me to file a dispute form, and within 2 weeks, the transaction is cancelled and they sent me a new credit card.
I was told that if this happens to your debit card, then you're pretty much f**ked.
TSegeokow
Dec 9 2024, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ Dec 9 2024, 10:59 AM) what bank? usually i rcv sms for the bank transactions.. so my time i kena 1k euro spent in spain or somewhere i straight call bank to cancel.. which officer tell you need loan to pay bank. take down the name and report to the bank UxB Bank. i have many message perday. cant go through 1by1 to check. somemore no OTP or bank call to approve such amount
PaperClip224
Dec 9 2024, 02:42 PM

yes, i kena that on my CC no update or information whatsoever ... all their "bank negara required" app auth bullshit all no receive .. no SMS etc
ry8128
Dec 9 2024, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(egeokow @ Dec 9 2024, 02:36 PM) UxB Bank. i have many message perday. cant go through 1by1 to check. somemore no OTP or bank call to approve such amount Wow, this bank suppose quite safe one. Ayam thought is sotong
TSegeokow
Dec 9 2024, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 9 2024, 04:20 PM) Wow, this bank suppose quite safe one. Ayam thought is sotong yesterday when i went to police station, meet the couple using sotong and scam around 2k++