Steering shakes

TSkiTZss
post Dec 9 2024, 01:31 AM, updated 3 months ago

96 posts

I drove a Persona Elegance, the car steering shaking at 120km/h. What's the cuase of the problem? Gt my rims weighed last year. Could it be other component damaged ? Whats the compoenent faulty normally in this case ? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by kiTZss: Dec 9 2024, 01:38 AM
ifourtos
post Dec 9 2024, 01:42 AM

2,186 posts

small problem lah

1. tyre pressure not balance
2. alignment
3. 1 of the tyre condition is too bad
TSkiTZss
post Dec 9 2024, 01:59 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Dec 9 2024, 01:42 AM)
small problem lah

1. tyre pressure not balance
2. alignment
3. 1 of the tyre condition is too bad
Already gt all 4 tyres replaced last year, and done alignment, and rim weighing also

This post has been edited by kiTZss: Dec 9 2024, 01:59 AM
ifourtos
post Dec 9 2024, 02:11 AM

2,186 posts

QUOTE(kiTZss @ Dec 9 2024, 01:59 AM)
Already gt all 4 tyres replaced last year, and done alignment, and rim weighing also
1. Last year... now is Dec

2. Check Tyre pressure? do you know how to DIY this?
amscouzach57
post Dec 9 2024, 07:44 AM

485 posts

Wheel balancing a bit off.

Signs of driveshaft start to spoil.

Or 1 or few tires gone bad (eg. Tayar bengkak)
cop23
post Dec 9 2024, 08:09 AM

67 posts

If tyre and wheel is good, then must be drive shaft
kira_88
post Dec 9 2024, 08:18 AM

Hello, is it me you're looking for?
1,134 posts

QUOTE(kiTZss @ Dec 9 2024, 01:31 AM)
I drove a Persona Elegance, the car steering shaking at 120km/h. What's the cuase of the problem? Gt my rims weighed last year. Could it be other component damaged ? Whats the compoenent faulty normally in this case ?  rclxub.gif
there your problems. LAST YEAR.

Try and do the cheapest fix 1st which is get your wheel balanced before checking other stuff

This post has been edited by kira_88: Dec 9 2024, 08:18 AM
kira_88
post Dec 9 2024, 09:03 AM

Hello, is it me you're looking for?
1,134 posts

just to add it is recommended to do balancing, allignement, tyre rotation every 10k km or 6 month.

I dont follow this in general but will do it if I find my car drives funny. ALmost all the time it will fix it.

As u know malaysian road conditions is not that good so your wheel migh be bent due to potholes

Unless this doesnt fix it then only you can try chechk and replace other stuff.
GamersFamilia
post Dec 9 2024, 10:40 AM

Avid Videogames Console Gamer
13,653 posts

Tyre tread also can cause the problem, it happened to my dad land cruiser prado, using goodyear when it reached 100kmj above shaking, after send to toyota sc they also can't find the problem, then send to lim tayar, change all to bridgestone then until now no more problem
babisotong
post Dec 9 2024, 02:34 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(kiTZss @ Dec 9 2024, 01:31 AM)
I drove a Persona Elegance, the car steering shaking at 120km/h. What's the cuase of the problem? Gt my rims weighed last year. Could it be other component damaged ? Whats the compoenent faulty normally in this case ?  rclxub.gif
probably drive shaft especially on certain speed, i kena like this with my Iriz before, long drive shaft spoiled already, change it and it feel like a brand new car.
Sichiri
post Dec 9 2024, 06:22 PM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(kira_88 @ Dec 9 2024, 09:03 AM)
just to add it is recommended to do balancing, allignement, tyre rotation every 10k km or 6 month.

I dont follow this in general but will do it if I find my car drives funny. ALmost all the time it will fix it.

As u know malaysian road conditions is not that good so your wheel migh be bent due to potholes

Unless this doesnt fix it then only you can try chechk and replace other stuff.
Alignment only do if your old tires showing uneven wear, or if you changed struts.
If no problems with steering drifting to left/right, don't waste money on alignments.

Tyre rotation every 10k km is fine.
zero5177
post Dec 9 2024, 06:27 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,461 posts

Maybe try do high speed balancing in tire shop.
there is 2 types of balancing, one that require take off your tire to do one, another one is they use a spinner to spin your wheel at highspeed.

Need the one that balance at high speed.

zuozi
post Dec 9 2024, 06:34 PM

1,216 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Dec 9 2024, 06:27 PM)
Maybe try do high speed balancing in tire shop.
there is 2 types of balancing, one that require take off your tire to do one, another one is they use a spinner to spin your wheel at highspeed.

Need the one that balance at high speed.

No jack stand just hydraulic jack? , what happened if hydraulic jack fail while rear wheel at 120km/h ? Most mechanic know the hydraulic jack is for jack up not for Holding yet these people tidak mengapa perangai wait until something happens only regret.
zero5177
post Dec 9 2024, 06:53 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,461 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Dec 9 2024, 06:34 PM)
No jack stand just hydraulic jack? , what happened if hydraulic jack fail while rear wheel at 120km/h ? Most mechanic know the hydraulic jack is for jack up not for Holding yet these people tidak mengapa perangai wait until something happens only regret.
Based on this video, he used 2 hydraulic jack, there seems to be measure put in to preventing jack fail.

But anyway I am just suggesting TS to look for this type of high speed balancing which might solve his problem, not to debate on safety measure taken in the video.
zuozi
post Dec 9 2024, 07:49 PM

1,216 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Dec 9 2024, 06:53 PM)
Based on this video, he used 2 hydraulic jack, there seems to be measure put in to preventing jack fail.

But anyway I am just suggesting TS to look for this type of high speed balancing which might solve his problem, not to debate on safety measure taken in the video.
Suggest i think is okay if ask TS go this shop i definitely not recommend.
TSkiTZss
post Dec 10 2024, 11:04 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Dec 9 2024, 02:34 PM)
probably drive shaft especially on certain speed, i kena like this with my Iriz before, long drive shaft spoiled already, change it and it feel like a brand new car.
How much does it cost ?driveshaft 😉
TSkiTZss
post Dec 10 2024, 11:11 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Dec 9 2024, 06:22 PM)
Alignment only do if your old tires showing uneven wear, or if you changed struts.
If no problems with steering drifting to left/right, don't waste money on alignments.

Tyre rotation every 10k km is fine.
I also feel that my steering tend to skew to the left, could it be driveshaft problem?
Sichiri
post Dec 10 2024, 11:36 AM

1,184 posts

QUOTE(kiTZss @ Dec 10 2024, 11:11 AM)
I also feel that my steering tend to skew to the left, could it be driveshaft problem?
Could be tyres.
Get workshop to rotate tyres, then see if issue persist or not.
If still same, might need to check your alignment.
Driveshaft won't cause your car to skew
TSkiTZss
post Dec 10 2024, 12:38 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Dec 10 2024, 11:36 AM)
Could be tyres.
Get workshop to rotate tyres, then see if issue persist or not.
If still same, might need to check your alignment.
Driveshaft won't cause your car to skew
So you rule out the suspension issue, looks like should be tyres issue?
acbc
post Dec 10 2024, 12:47 PM

8,847 posts

Steering rack bush?

0.0158sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th February 2025 - 09:14 PM