New Proton x70 2025, Come with ~3 years old 2022 tyres

TSPowerGadget
post Nov 26 2024, 10:44 PM, updated 2y ago

821 posts

Is it normal for a brand new car to come with 2022 tyres?

I have received my brand new proton x70 2025 a month ago but the ride is very bad and harsh. It’s bouncing even at normal road.

Sent to service centre for 6-7 times but can’t identify the problem. SC keep denied by saying it’s “normal”.

Today I found out that my rear tyres are without manufacture date and only has a printed “2022” there.

Is it normal for new car to fit with such old tyres? Would it be one of the cause that make the car behave bouncing and uncomfortable ride?
fongsk
post Nov 26 2024, 10:54 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 26 2024, 10:44 PM)

I have received my brand new proton x70 2025 a month ago but the ride is very bad and harsh. It’s bouncing even at normal road.

Sent to service centre for 6-7 times but can’t identify the problem. SC keep denied by saying it’s “normal”.

Today I found out that my rear tyres are without manufacture date and only has a printed “2022” there.

Is it normal for new car to fit with such old tyres? Would it be one of the cause that make the car behave bouncing and uncomfortable ride?
We are at 2024 but you already in 2025? Typo?
sheahann
post Nov 26 2024, 10:54 PM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

2022= 20th week of 2022
Gg 2 years old

This post has been edited by sheahann: Nov 26 2024, 10:55 PM
TSPowerGadget
post Nov 26 2024, 10:56 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(fongsk @ Nov 26 2024, 10:54 PM)
We are at 2024 but you already in 2025?  Typo?
Proton x70 market their car as "future" car which to be named as Proton x70 2025
TSPowerGadget
post Nov 26 2024, 10:57 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Nov 26 2024, 10:54 PM)
2022= 20th week of 2022
Gg 2 years old
That's very helpful of you. Oh yes, 20 for 20th week and 22 for the year. Oh damn! That's pretty old for a brand new car.
brutus
post Nov 26 2024, 10:59 PM

1,743 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 26 2024, 10:44 PM)

What brand of tyres that came with your 2025 X70?
TSPowerGadget
post Nov 26 2024, 11:12 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Nov 26 2024, 10:59 PM)
What brand of tyres that came with your 2025 X70?
Giti Savero SUV.

I have the executive specs
brutus
post Nov 26 2024, 11:16 PM

1,743 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 26 2024, 11:12 PM)
Giti Savero SUV.

Try inflating the tyres to 230-240Kpa. I found that my Conti works better at higher pressure than the recommended pressure by SC.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 26 2024, 11:17 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 26 2024, 11:12 PM)
Giti Savero SUV.

Eh no more Continental?
TSPowerGadget
post Nov 26 2024, 11:33 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Nov 26 2024, 11:16 PM)
Try inflating the tyres to 230-240Kpa. I found that my Conti works better at higher pressure than the recommended pressure by SC.
Tried 220 230 240.
Problem still persist.
SC is helpless
Not sure how to make some noise to have their attention
TSPowerGadget
post Nov 26 2024, 11:33 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 26 2024, 11:17 PM)
Eh no more Continental?
UC6 reserved for premium specs
Lanchio
post Nov 26 2024, 11:38 PM

487 posts

Giti aint great to begin with.
TSPowerGadget
post Nov 26 2024, 11:43 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(Lanchio @ Nov 26 2024, 11:38 PM)
Giti aint great to begin with.
Agreed! I would usually change to Michelin after end of the cycle.

But I rarely change tyre as the car would travel only less than 10k a year.

So it's still long way to go for me.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 26 2024, 11:46 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 26 2024, 11:33 PM)
UC6 reserved for premium specs
Coz the tyre kinda sucks.

Check your pressure, they like to pump it up to the heavens for some reason. Push it down to like 220 for a better ride.
TSPowerGadget
post Nov 27 2024, 12:02 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 26 2024, 11:46 PM)
Coz the tyre kinda sucks.

Check your pressure, they like to pump it up to the heavens for some reason. Push it down to like 220 for a better ride.
you mean Giti Radial or the UC6?

What tyres would you advise? I don't mind to pay something extra for quality ride.

Currently my myvi using michelin PS3 and I am satisfy with the ride.

Oh yes! They pumped all the way to 300kPa when I first picked up the car and now I adjusted it according to the door sticker which is 220kPa.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 27 2024, 12:06 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 27 2024, 12:02 AM)

What tyres would you advise? I don't mind to pay something extra for quality ride.

Oh yes! They pumped all the way to 300kPa when I first picked up the car and now I adjusted it according to the door sticker which is 220kPa.
That Giti isn't that great. The Conti is much better but of course pricey.

mushigen
post Nov 27 2024, 12:23 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 27 2024, 12:02 AM)

AFAIK it's very common for manufacturers to pump tyres with higher pressure.
fongsk
post Nov 27 2024, 07:03 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 26 2024, 10:56 PM)
Proton x70 market their car as "future" car which to be named as Proton x70 2025
Ok, thanks. This is news to me.
kons
post Nov 27 2024, 07:09 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

if you are not sure wheres the problem, bring to normal mechanic to check.

my place just check usually no cost.
ListenToTheWind
post Nov 27 2024, 07:13 AM

453 posts

Taller car usually feel more bouncy as compare to sedan, no?

Different from when you test drive?
Acoen
post Nov 27 2024, 07:49 AM

298 posts

Used to drive x70 premium variant 19inch, pump rhe air to 250kpa

New tyre 2 years old, no issue punya provided it was being stored properly
adamhzm90
post Nov 27 2024, 09:32 AM

1,389 posts

Email to proton care as well
SkyCaptain
post Nov 27 2024, 09:39 AM

262 posts

2 year old tires are still roadworthy. Just don't know how long the tires have been stationary. Not sure if there are flat spots. Do you feel the tires rotate okay?
shyan90's
post Nov 27 2024, 12:39 PM

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,200 posts

Wait..have you check the geran Year of made of your car is when??
OrganicRepublic
post Nov 27 2024, 09:42 PM

53 posts

There’s no problem with the tyres it’s the car, it’s a rebadged ccp car mapren…
cloudstrife07
post Nov 27 2024, 10:26 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

If I am not mistaken the Mekanika channel youtuber mentioned that the new x70 ride is “keras”. Maybe same feeling like you have right now.

Edit: added the Youtube video. Go to minute 11:50.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Nov 27 2024, 10:32 PM
msacras
post Nov 27 2024, 10:36 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Nov 27 2024, 07:13 AM)
Taller car usually feel more bouncy as compare to sedan, no?

Different from when you test drive?
X70 ride tall and kind of floaty, but it’s not bouncy.
brutus
post Nov 27 2024, 10:54 PM

1,743 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 26 2024, 11:33 PM)
Tried 220 230 240.
Problem still persist.
SC is helpless
Not sure how to make some noise to have their attention
Granted Giti are known to be great but should not be that bad in the first place. Have you tried front back tyre rotation? Since Giti is not a directional pattern can go for x-rotation.
mj31382
post Nov 27 2024, 11:34 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Nov 26 2024, 10:54 PM)
2022= 20th week of 2022
Gg 2 years old
Not count by year then week?

Year 2020. Week 22.

Hehehe
matrix88
post Dec 10 2024, 12:34 AM

2,236 posts

tire sudah kena swap by SA before delivery. hahaha
SUScheavant P
post Dec 10 2024, 12:40 AM

Probation

Dude, that's NOT normal. Three-year-old tires on a brand new car? Absolutely not. Those tires are probably hardened and worn, which would definitely cause a harsh ride. Push back HARDER with the service center.
KevProp
post Dec 10 2024, 12:02 PM

81 posts

Check the rear suspension
bereev
post Dec 10 2024, 01:41 PM

257 posts

Why same issue cannot put in same thread?
BL98
post Dec 13 2024, 12:53 PM

743 posts

It's seasoned tyre

0.0252sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:57 PM