Why some people are addicted to abusive, relationships?
TShoonanoo
Nov 23 2024, 03:33 PM, updated 2y ago
I personally know 2 people. I believe here are people who face this syndrome.
Friend no.1 He had a 7 year abusive relationship with his girlfriend. His girlfriend always belittle him, that he drove a small car. She always complain his salary low, he not rich, he not gentleman enough, etc etc.
Everytime go out dating he has to carry her handbag. Then drop her off her house, have to open door for her then escort her to door.
She left him for a richer guy,
Then he was so heartbroken, went search for new love. Along the way, many girls liked him because he is hard working, tidy and smart person. But he rejected them, because they weren't same like her: meaning not treat him like carpet mat.
Then he met this one, pretty girl, but very princess, also quite action one. He said she is the one, then married her. Cook for her, clean the house, iron and wash her clothes. No children, because he is too busy taking care of her. HIs friends also scared to mix with him, because of her fiery temper, she don't like him mixing with his friends. So he dedicate 100% of his life to her.
Friend no.2 Met a girl 7 years younger than him. Got married and have 2 some. But the wife suddenly became very smart, took courses and do her own business. She also very good in make up and make herself very pretty. She then slowly outshine him, became successful earn 3x more than him. She divorced him, after 10 yrs marriage took the kids to live with her. Heck she was so successful, she could even do her own business while taking care of the children with hired maid. He didn't even spend a cent.
Then he met another woman with a daughter. Turned out she is a gambler. She spent all his savings. His savings, he had to sell his house in a very good location in klang valley. But you know what? he married her.
But he never lives with her, and everytime he goes visit her, he has to bring back his laundry to wash by himself.
ConclusioN:
Why WHy? Some men do for this kind of relationships??? Is it because of past hurts cause them to want to be a DOOR MAT ???
This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Nov 23 2024, 03:33 PM
TShoonanoo
Nov 25 2024, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ Nov 24 2024, 02:58 PM) 1. people are attracted to the toxic relationship there were in, because that is what they know what love is, the familiar feeling. it's a cycle of abuse unless one realizes it and chooses to break the cycle. 2. guy no. 2, often i think men and society put too much value on money. when men realizes the loses their alpha male position, beta arrives and testosterone level also lowered. why married a gambler, because duo luo feels better because trying has been too hard for him. I believe, once a person becomes a doormat to toxic relationships, suddenly they face some sort of blackout. As if they completely blinded. they think happiness is to satisfy someone else. I notice they don't look far in life. The second friend, I really felt sorry for him, so much so, I try to be there for him, but he is very stubborn. His kids have disowned him and he has a lot of fights with his own family n friends.
TShoonanoo
Nov 25 2024, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Nov 25 2024, 10:11 AM) Low self esteem la. That's why it's a abuse cycle. Some ppl natural born abusive, they raise kids in abusive environment. Then the kids grow up being abuser or the type kena abuse. Hard to get normal kids, because statistically the odds are highly against them. First they share the abusive genes from the abuser, then the submissive genes from the abusive partner. Then from young grow up in such household, their world memang fucked up already. The only way to break such cycle is educations and therapy. "Living in a fog" is a very common phrase said by victim. At least nowadays u got forums like reddit for ppl to discuss relationship issues, most will point out all the obvious red flags which are not so obvious when u are inexperience about it. the 2 friends are not abusive people. the issue is that they are door mat to their wives. I don't see their wives as being physically abusive, just that they suck their finances dry and do not contribute much as a wife. I hope I am wrong, but till today, I am still puzzled as to how these friends fell in love with their wives in the first place. Even when I have had the opportunity to mix with them, I notice their wives don't social or speak much.
TShoonanoo
Nov 25 2024, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(nickykee @ Nov 25 2024, 11:05 AM) i still confuse on the 2nd case, why he can leave the 1st wife which helps the family bring in more income and help ease the financial difficulty... maybe there is alot more behind the scene? hope is not just ego issue. the first one memang "i can fix her" syndrome. 1st wife left him
TShoonanoo
Nov 25 2024, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(nickykee @ Nov 25 2024, 11:05 AM) i still confuse on the 2nd case, why he can leave the 1st wife which helps the family bring in more income and help ease the financial difficulty... maybe there is alot more behind the scene? hope is not just ego issue. the first one memang "i can fix her" syndrome. 1st wife left him, because she is more successful than him. she can even support the 2 kids without his income.
TShoonanoo
Nov 25 2024, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(silverhawk @ Nov 25 2024, 11:30 AM) You're looking at it the wrong way Its not so much that they become doormat, then become blind. They just don't know any better because they were never taught it in the first place. A person who has never experienced real love, does not know what real love looks like. Lets try to see it another way. Look at people who smoke and drink alot of alcohol. If they grew up in a culture surrounded by people that such behaviour is normal, then they would also follow it. It would make them feel safe by engaging in such behaviours because its what they grew up around, its familiar. How you try to change their mind also won't work, normally have the opposite effect as they get more defensive when confronted. They somehow need to come to the realization themself. Your job as a friend is just to plant seeds and be around when they come to realization and need the support. You are right above the environment and how to break out of it. However need to point out that its not really a gene problem. Genes only give you a pre-disposition towards a certain area, its the environment that dictates what genes get expressed. In all of us, we have genes for different types of behaviours, good environment will bring out the good parts, bad environment will bring out the bad ones. yes they both are very defensive. But for the second friend, I feel even more sorry for him. The way I see it, its better to be single than to have a money sucking wife that don't care about you.
TShoonanoo
Nov 25 2024, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(nickykee @ Nov 25 2024, 02:04 PM) i thought spouse suppose to support each other...but sad to hear this. be single better I do have one friend who migrated to Australia. Wife working but he stay at home as house husband take care of kids. how about this ? is this paradise to you?
TShoonanoo
Nov 25 2024, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(nickykee @ Nov 25 2024, 02:24 PM) edited: not my place to say anything...as long the person and the family happy doing it. life too short, hope ur friends find happiness. the 1st friend still ok ok, because he is very smart and earn high salary 2nd friend, very suffer, he is now almost penniless but still stick with the new wife. I don't know how he survive, but he go dating then spend a bomb but don't stay overnight with new wife and her step children, instead he goes back to his house.
TShoonanoo
Nov 25 2024, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Nov 25 2024, 03:05 PM) complicated may your friends find happiness ! I hope so too