Government Hospital Cost for Stroke, Public vs private price comparison
TSamandalim
Nov 8 2024, 04:29 PM, updated 2y ago

My father got admitted to hospital recently for stroke, thank goodness he has medical insurance which covers him until 80 (he's 78), so we admit him to Pantai Hospital in Penang. The final cost is still be tallied, but I estimate we need to fork out around 6k for his 3 weeks stay in hospital, which is 10% of the total cost while insurance company will cover the 90%. I'm wondering how much will Government Hospital cost for the same treatment? Anyone knows how much stroke treatment cost in GH for non-civil servant?
kirlcheah
Nov 8 2024, 05:02 PM

few hundred bucks. if do surgery, could be less than 2k. Depends on what tools used. Even for bariatric surgery, outside cost around 30-45k, in general hospital is around 7-9k. cause bariatric surgery is not to save life. it's more of a cosmetic surgery. hence more expensive. my father in general hospital, did a drain of brain hemorrhage, cost around 380.
poweredbydiscuz
Nov 8 2024, 05:08 PM
Wow, 3 weeks of hospitalization? Must be quite serious. Hope he gets well soon. I found the list of charges for government hospitals here but not sure what's the ABCD categories are about. But it should give you a rough idea of the charges. https://www.moh.gov.my/index.php/pages/view/169?mid=296
TinyTots
Nov 8 2024, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(amandalim @ Nov 8 2024, 04:29 PM) My father got admitted to hospital recently for stroke, thank goodness he has medical insurance which covers him until 80 (he's 78), so we admit him to Pantai Hospital in Penang. The final cost is still be tallied, but I estimate we need to fork out around 6k for his 3 weeks stay in hospital, which is 10% of the total cost while insurance company will cover the 90%. I'm wondering how much will Government Hospital cost for the same treatment? Anyone knows how much stroke treatment cost in GH for non-civil servant? Free for senior citizen.
TSamandalim
Nov 8 2024, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(TinyTots @ Nov 8 2024, 05:47 PM) Really? I thought only civil servant or gov pensioner got free treatment.
hoonanoo
Nov 8 2024, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(amandalim @ Nov 8 2024, 06:13 PM) Really? I thought only civil servant or gov pensioner got free treatment. yeah me too....add spouse of ex and current civil servants.
TinyTots
Nov 8 2024, 06:21 PM

QUOTE(amandalim @ Nov 8 2024, 06:13 PM) Really? I thought only civil servant or gov pensioner got free treatment. My father was admitted to Hospital Serdang for heart attack earlier this year. Did angiogram too and stayed in the hospital for about 2 weeks. Bill came out zero.
toughguy
Nov 8 2024, 06:26 PM

My mother in law at ICU for less than 1 week in private hospital and 3 weeks in government hospital, then passed away. The bill in private hospital is RM30k+ and government hospital RM 0.
touristking
Nov 8 2024, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(toughguy @ Nov 8 2024, 11:26 AM) My mother in law at ICU for less than 1 week in private hospital and 3 weeks in government hospital, then passed away. The bill in private hospital is RM30k+ and government hospital RM 0. Many people don't realise this, Malaysian health care is one of the best in the world. Of course there are still rooms for improvement but waiting time is still a lot less than UK 's. I should know because I have relatives working in UK hospitals.
dest9116
Nov 8 2024, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(toughguy @ Nov 8 2024, 06:26 PM) My mother in law at ICU for less than 1 week in private hospital and 3 weeks in government hospital, then passed away. The bill in private hospital is RM30k+ and government hospital RM 0. Why change to gov? Many cases when want gone case or serious case, private will throw to gov hospital so they can maintain their low death count and good reputation. That's quite unethical
dest9116
Nov 8 2024, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(touristking @ Nov 8 2024, 07:27 PM) Many people don't realise this, Malaysian health care is one of the best in the world. Of course there are still rooms for improvement but waiting time is still a lot less than UK 's. I should know because I have relatives working in UK hospitals. Most people think private better as if private no need to wait also. Some say private layan better nurse smile better OK lo. Yes some do, you pay money so nurse will smile at you. I've been to gov hospital family suspect heart attack. Their response was very quick, did all the tests xray ecg everything they can. Cost? RM 1 for registration.
netflix2019
Nov 8 2024, 07:58 PM
Max charges for single visit rm500. Senior citizen discount 50%
Source. My mom chemo and transplant. 30 days stay.
pysh
Nov 8 2024, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(dest9116 @ Nov 8 2024, 07:56 PM) Why change to gov? Many cases when want gone case or serious case, private will throw to gov hospital so they can maintain their low death count and good reputation. That's quite unethical thats why people think but we can look at this with a different aspect when its serious, means private do not have the expertise or means to cure, send to gov who have more experience.. OR if just laying down waiting, my as well go gov which is much cheaper..
poooky
Nov 8 2024, 08:13 PM
Please be careful when sending old folks to fully private. Last time before smartphone time, my grandfather around 80 was sent to hospital in kl (starts with p). He was there about 1 week after he climbed up ladder, lost balance and fell down.
Nothing serious just want to check if internals ok. He was also lively. Everyone visit daily different time and he was fine. Then next day like sudden death, they just insert a tube in his chest to pump oxygen like he still breathing. Damns bs. Before we know, got nirvana sales person wan sell small drawer pot, funeral service, etc 40k+.
Also got another case with a cousin. Around 40, had diabetes, but also fine. Checked in same hospital with medical kad. Next 2 nights died apparently in sleep. Damn fishy. Also his iPhone 4 at the time was stolen likely by staff. Same thing again, nirvana salesman waiting to do business.
MGM
Nov 8 2024, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(kirlcheah @ Nov 8 2024, 05:02 PM) few hundred bucks. if do surgery, could be less than 2k. Depends on what tools used. Even for bariatric surgery, outside cost around 30-45k, in general hospital is around 7-9k. cause bariatric surgery is not to save life. it's more of a cosmetic surgery. hence more expensive. my father in general hospital, did a drain of brain hemorrhage, cost around 380. GH can do bariatric surgery which is cosmetic, which department?
toughguy
Nov 8 2024, 11:11 PM

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Nov 8 2024, 07:56 PM) Why change to gov? Many cases when want gone case or serious case, private will throw to gov hospital so they can maintain their low death count and good reputation. That's quite unethical If want to win a race, we must make sure can finished the race. Survival is depend a lot on whether we have enough money to complete the treatment. Stop halfway is higher risk than change hospital early on.
mushigen
Nov 9 2024, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(toughguy @ Nov 8 2024, 11:11 PM) If want to win a race, we must make sure can finished the race. Survival is depend a lot on whether we have enough money to complete the treatment. Stop halfway is higher risk than change hospital early on. Sometimes family members panic when the patient needs to be hospitalised, so they arrange for the nearest private hospital, without realising how much it potentially will cost. A child who suggests gomen hospital might be labelled charsiew by even his own siblings.
toughguy
Nov 9 2024, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(mushigen @ Nov 9 2024, 10:16 AM) Sometimes family members panic when the patient needs to be hospitalised, so they arrange for the nearest private hospital, without realising how much it potentially will cost. A child who suggests gomen hospital might be labelled charsiew by even his own siblings. quotaction It's also depends on situations. For urgent and life threatening, any hospital will take immediate action. For life threatening but not urgent, better go for private and move to government once become less lift threatening.
soulknight
Nov 9 2024, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(amandalim @ Nov 8 2024, 04:29 PM) My father got admitted to hospital recently for stroke, thank goodness he has medical insurance which covers him until 80 (he's 78), so we admit him to Pantai Hospital in Penang. The final cost is still be tallied, but I estimate we need to fork out around 6k for his 3 weeks stay in hospital, which is 10% of the total cost while insurance company will cover the 90%. I'm wondering how much will Government Hospital cost for the same treatment? Anyone knows how much stroke treatment cost in GH for non-civil servant? HPUPM is a stroke center and it considered as semi private facilities. But it's way more cheaper than private hospitals.
adamhzm90
Nov 9 2024, 10:50 AM
6k for 3 weeks stay? Cheap
This post has been edited by adamhzm90: Nov 9 2024, 10:51 AM
adele123
Nov 9 2024, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Nov 9 2024, 10:50 AM) 6k for 3 weeks stay? Cheap You didnt read properly... they pay 6k of the total cost (10%). Means 54k or balance 90% paid by insurance.
Mike3
Nov 9 2024, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(amandalim @ Nov 8 2024, 04:29 PM) My father got admitted to hospital recently for stroke, thank goodness he has medical insurance which covers him until 80 (he's 78), so we admit him to Pantai Hospital in Penang. The final cost is still be tallied, but I estimate we need to fork out around 6k for his 3 weeks stay in hospital, which is 10% of the total cost while insurance company will cover the 90%. I'm wondering how much will Government Hospital cost for the same treatment? Anyone knows how much stroke treatment cost in GH for non-civil servant? Macestacnomy for elderly> 65 years old. Bill was less than rm50. stay ward 2 days
adamhzm90
Nov 9 2024, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(adele123 @ Nov 9 2024, 08:27 PM) You didnt read properly... they pay 6k of the total cost (10%). Means 54k or balance 90% paid by insurance. Ahh ok now it make sense
touristking
Nov 18 2024, 06:32 AM
QUOTE(dest9116 @ Nov 8 2024, 12:57 PM) Most people think private better as if private no need to wait also. Some say private layan better nurse smile better OK lo. Yes some do, you pay money so nurse will smile at you. I've been to gov hospital family suspect heart attack. Their response was very quick, did all the tests xray ecg everything they can. Cost? RM 1 for registration. You want comfort, go for private. You want superior care because gov has so many specialist and so much more equipments, go for gov. Truly serious case, go gov.