10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Proton e.Mas 7 - RM120K, EV buatan Malaysia

ye0073
post Oct 28 2024, 05:16 PM

477 posts

For charging, the max DC rate is 80 kW for the 49.52 kWh battery and 100 kW for the 60.22 kWh unit, while AC charging is 11 kW max for both.

Don't know why their DC charging rate is so low. 80kw? and 100kw?

BYD seal is 150kw, and tesla model Y is 170kw

gobiomani
post Oct 28 2024, 05:41 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 28 2024, 04:34 PM)
Yes but since there's so many good EV brands from China why consider a niche brand? If really want to get a China branded EV might as well go for one which is more popular in their home country or worldwide.

Also no AA or AC at that price. Some might say it doesn't matter but to me unless your software is as good as Tesla it matters a lot. But then nowadays these cars also come with OTA update so they can easily add the feature in future

Another car I missed in direct competition with emas7 - Omoda E5. Probably in the same group as Atto 3 and MG4
Actually Leapmotor is doing very well and growing quite fast right now. With the backing of Stellantis especially in EMEA they are predicted to do very well. The No AA/AC is a big turn off for sure and based on reviews their ADAS seems to be very intrusive as well. I'm willing to chance it if the price is right especially with Stellantis now doing a better job than Naza and Bermaz previously. I own a Peugeot and our club members have been happy overall with how Stellantis has been trying to fix the issues created by past distributors. But since the price is not right IMO, makes a lot of sense to look at others instead.

gobiomani
post Oct 28 2024, 05:42 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(ye0073 @ Oct 28 2024, 05:16 PM)
Don't know why their DC charging rate is so low. 80kw? and 100kw?

BYD seal is 150kw, and tesla model Y is 170kw
Price range also different ma. But a bit disappointing that the DC FC is so low.
celciuz
post Oct 28 2024, 06:02 PM

14,033 posts

Is the DCFC speed so critical though?

I drive M3LR, 250kW peak... I rarely get that on Superchargers (need low SoC and preconditioned battery) and probably less than 3 minute throughout the charging session.

The other day was at Ipoh, also limited to 60kW Gentari. These >200W chargers are pretty limited, and if available also is for the 800V cars.

100kW can fully utilize most DCFC now already la (assuming charging curve is good).
gobiomani
post Oct 29 2024, 10:57 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 28 2024, 06:02 PM)
Is the DCFC speed so critical though?

I drive M3LR, 250kW peak... I rarely get that on Superchargers (need low SoC and preconditioned battery) and probably less than 3 minute throughout the charging session.

The other day was at Ipoh, also limited to 60kW Gentari. These >200W chargers are pretty limited, and if available also is for the 800V cars.

100kW can fully utilize most DCFC now already la (assuming charging curve is good).
This is true, charging curve is very important and Tesla is known to charge at substantially below the max kwh for most of the charging session. In practice I think the lower kwh DCFCs stations operate closer to their max which is better than a 150kwh charger but only charge at a lower rate most of the time.
Anyway, I think most people who are buying EVs now will charge at home and only occasionally at a DCFC, so not a big deal in the bigger scheme of things.
celciuz
post Oct 29 2024, 11:11 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Oct 29 2024, 10:57 AM)
This is true, charging curve is very important and Tesla is known to charge at substantially below the max kwh for most of the charging session. In practice I think the lower kwh DCFCs stations operate closer to their max which is better than a 150kwh charger but only charge at a lower rate most of the time.
Anyway, I think most people who are buying EVs now will charge at home and only occasionally at a DCFC, so not a big deal in the bigger scheme of things.
Tesla charge curve gradually reduces, this is probably what they have learnt to maximize charge speed and battery life span probably over the years. For Tesla it actively monitors the temperature of the battery pack, if your AC radiator is clogged and it doesn't cool the battery pack as efficiently you don't get top speed either.

Some brands, I think brands like BMWs does it step by step... depending on the %. Not sure how is it like on the e.MAS 7.

I'm shopping for the wife, long distance drive will be using my M3LR which has more range... this one is most for town drive (or occasionally going to nearer outstations say Melaka-KL or Melaka-Muar kinda trips), or when need to fetch more people (M3 when fetch more people very stressful when I see speed bumps laugh.gif ).
post Oct 29 2024, 11:15 AM

836 posts

they can't even decide on the pricing, really MY style
gobiomani
post Oct 29 2024, 11:19 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 29 2024, 11:11 AM)
Tesla charge curve gradually reduces, this is probably what they have learnt to maximize charge speed and battery life span probably over the years. For Tesla it actively monitors the temperature of the battery pack, if your AC radiator is clogged and it doesn't cool the battery pack as efficiently you don't get top speed either.

Some brands, I think brands like BMWs does it step by step... depending on the %. Not sure how is it like on the e.MAS 7.

I'm shopping for the wife, long distance drive will be using my M3LR which has more range... this one is most for town drive (or occasionally going to nearer outstations say Melaka-KL or Melaka-Muar kinda trips), or when need to fetch more people (M3 when fetch more people very stressful when I see speed bumps  laugh.gif ).
I think most if not all the new EVs manage the charging actively based on temperature and SoC. Only the old EVs like Nissan Leaf that does not do that.

I think the emas 7 makes a lot of sense for your use case and maybe can consider the Dolphin also, BYD is offering discounts on them as well.
celciuz
post Oct 29 2024, 11:28 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Oct 29 2024, 11:15 AM)
they can't even decide on the pricing, really MY style
I see the new trend now is announcing RM xxx and below, instead of the usual "from RM xxx". *cough* Zeekr *cough*. Looks like they are testing the market interest before announcing the actual price. Maybe if less bookings = lower price? drool.gif

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Oct 29 2024, 11:19 AM)
I think most if not all the new EVs manage the charging actively based on temperature and SoC. Only the old EVs like Nissan Leaf that does not do that.

I think the emas 7 makes a lot of sense for your use case and maybe can consider the Dolphin also, BYD is offering discounts on them as well.
Personally, I think e.MAS 7 is a good choice. Only issue now is convincing my wife as she is kinda allergy towards the kucing logo mega_shok.gif . We went to test drive BYD Dolphin and BYD Atto 3 two weeks ago, she strike off Dolphin cause of the interior and front headlamp design. Atto 3 under consideration, offered about 135k for 2024 model... which IF the e.MAS 7 is 129k for long range, no brainer to go for e.MAS 7! Only will consider the Dolphin if it is indeed about 120k like what I read on FB... that also hard sell la because I still value the space and interior design of the e.MAS 7 and most important is the 11kW OBC. My house been using 16A x 3 so far and has been rock solid... don't wanna be using 32A single phase that I might need to do some load balancing at my home pulak.
post Oct 29 2024, 11:48 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 29 2024, 11:28 AM)
I see the new trend now is announcing RM xxx and below, instead of the usual "from RM xxx". *cough* Zeekr *cough*. Looks like they are testing the market interest before announcing the actual price. Maybe if less bookings = lower price?  drool.gif
Personally, I think e.MAS 7 is a good choice. Only issue now is convincing my wife as she is kinda allergy towards the kucing logo  mega_shok.gif . We went to test drive BYD Dolphin and BYD Atto 3 two weeks ago, she strike off Dolphin cause of the interior and front headlamp design. Atto 3 under consideration, offered about 135k for 2024 model... which IF the e.MAS 7 is 129k for long range, no brainer to go for e.MAS 7! Only will consider the Dolphin if it is indeed about 120k like what I read on FB... that also hard sell la because I still value the space and interior design of the e.MAS 7 and most important is the 11kW OBC. My house been using 16A x 3 so far and has been rock solid... don't wanna be using 32A single phase that I might need to do some load balancing at my home pulak.
they alrdy decided base price will be RM120k for the SR, technically they are stucked at where shld the ER price sits, the information is widely available now, everyone knows the prices in China, every EV will be subsidized whether is it domestically sold or for export, and with the BYD M6 which just hammered the price, proton technically don't dare to reveal the price to avoid bashing , imo laaaa

This post has been edited by 812799: Oct 29 2024, 11:49 AM
gobiomani
post Oct 29 2024, 12:05 PM

702 posts

I see the new trend now is announcing RM xxx and below, instead of the usual "from RM xxx". *cough* Zeekr *cough*. Looks like they are testing the market interest before announcing the actual price. Maybe if less bookings = lower price?  drool.gif
Personally, I think e.MAS 7 is a good choice. Only issue now is convincing my wife as she is kinda allergy towards the kucing logo  mega_shok.gif . We went to test drive BYD Dolphin and BYD Atto 3 two weeks ago, she strike off Dolphin cause of the interior and front headlamp design. Atto 3 under consideration, offered about 135k for 2024 model... which IF the e.MAS 7 is 129k for long range, no brainer to go for e.MAS 7! Only will consider the Dolphin if it is indeed about 120k like what I read on FB... that also hard sell la because I still value the space and interior design of the e.MAS 7 and most important is the 11kW OBC. My house been using 16A x 3 so far and has been rock solid... don't wanna be using 32A single phase that I might need to do some load balancing at my home pulak.
e.MAS 7 will be a better value for sure. My wife is also not so happy to buy thundercat logo and I was considering the G6 but she also doesn't like the Xpeng name. She liked the BYD M6 but to me it looks like a cheaply made vehicle. Will need to wait a few more months to decide.
brianklc
post Oct 31 2024, 04:06 PM

372 posts

since when you got the pricing for atto 3? deepa promo is 22k rebate

post Oct 31 2024, 09:13 PM

283 posts

I'd consider an electric car when electric buggy is a norm on the road, else I wont touch anything high tech with 12ft pole.
celciuz
post Oct 31 2024, 09:13 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(brianklc @ Oct 31 2024, 04:06 PM)
since when you got the pricing for atto 3? deepa promo is 22k rebate
Someone in MyEVOC shared this, he got it for 115k and said others can get for 120k. I only got the 135k one.
brianklc
post Nov 2 2024, 12:57 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Oct 28 2024, 12:06 PM)
With regards to EV, there is no incentive or point to develop in house, since China is too far ahead with regards to EV tech, even Conti EV oso cannot compete. Best way is to go back to basics and rebadge lor. Perodua been doing it since day 1 till today yet no one complains. At least Proton did try to build a car in house, even if it failed miserably.
Assembly for ICE and EV are very diff, huge investments needed to assemble EV, best to use CBU route… Gov shld extend the tax incentives for CBU EV… coz cost of setting EV assembly plant is expensive…
fadzly
post Nov 3 2024, 12:45 PM

1,757 posts

Anybody knows where to review this car? Any showroom has this model?
gobiomani
post Nov 3 2024, 08:43 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 3 2024, 12:45 PM)
I think selected proton showroom got. Ask proton salesman in Facebook.
littlefire
post Nov 4 2024, 09:09 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(brianklc @ Nov 2 2024, 01:57 AM)
Assembly for ICE and EV are very diff, huge investments needed to assemble EV, best to use CBU route… Gov shld extend the tax incentives for CBU EV… coz cost of setting EV assembly plant is expensive…
Assembly plant is easy, the problem is how to CKD the EV battery that is the major cost.
mlamlam
post Nov 4 2024, 09:21 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 3 2024, 12:45 PM)
Proton Center of Excellence at Shah Alam have
TScontagiouseddie
post Nov 4 2024, 04:18 PM

304 posts

I think should just let any CBU/CKD to be sold below 100K but slap the necessary taxes. This will allow the market to move naturally. Too much of protection only leaves Malaysian getting either sub-par product by so-called national car maker or excessively priced non-national EV cars.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:14 PM