Sofa - Genuine Leather or Easy Clean Fabrics?, Help, decision paralysis

TSkoalanne
post Oct 23 2024, 03:13 PM, updated 2y ago

130 posts

Shopping for a 3 seater sofa and have been researching online and physically across more than 10 brands already. I know what my requirements are but the main problem is I can't decide btwn fabric or leather.

From my research, I gathered that:

Leather - generally easier to clean and more durable in the long run, but my 2 main concerns are:

1) if it's hot and humid day, your body will stick to it

(I know good quality leather won't have this issue but how do I tell if the leather is really of good quality because you know...salesperson can say anything or..may not even know what they talking abt. Economy is bad > ppl prioritising profits > trust issues)

My budget is 8k for leather, not sure if it's unrealistic for a good quality leather sofa but 2 brands I've found (Sofa Library and Leather+) has those. They are manufacturers as well hence the claim of affordable leather couches as no middlemen cost

2) I'm very particular about cleanliness (I have contamination OCD) so being able to have a relatively clean sofa is top priority for me. Eg. I never sit on my couch when I come back from outdoors and If i have guests over, I'd need to clean the couch after.

I know harsh chemicals like sanitisers cannot be used on leather but not sure if things like baby wipes or febreeze can?

Fabric - Comfier, softer, and the canggih fabrics these days have spill and water resistant properties and supposedly very easy to clean/maintain but my concerns:

1) Because it's still fabric, dirt and dust can accumulate and get into the fabric so will still need to do vacuuming, steaming, etc. Some models I've seen don't even have removable covers cos the salesperson said not suppose to wash them

2) Not sure how much easier or more effective it is to clean when i need to in situations like Leather Point no. 2 above. Not sure if sanitisers or other cleaning agents might damage the material coating or what not

I've shortlisted my options to the brands below:

Leather - Harvey Norman, Cellini, Sofa Library, Leather+
Fabric - Harvey Norman, Cellini, Joy Design, Ruma

If you made it to this part, thanks alot for reading this long ass post abt my sofa decision lol. Appreciate any input, esp from those who are in the industry or those with experience of owning a leather couch.

SUSifourtos
post Oct 23 2024, 03:19 PM

2,256 posts

Fabric = Great Smell absorber.
Leather otherwise, quite resistant to it.

Depend usage.

If mostly own use.. ok lah
no pet.. ok lah
house very clean.. ok lah.

There is a very very obvious reason, premium auto nearly all Leather.
skloda
post Oct 23 2024, 03:22 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

i use easy clean eco fabrics - because of pets . bought from harvey norman too .

how i clean it , just vacuum & wet wipes .
marfccy
post Oct 23 2024, 05:12 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Oct 23 2024, 03:19 PM)
Fabric = Great Smell absorber.
Leather otherwise, quite resistant to it.

Depend usage.

If mostly own use.. ok lah
no pet.. ok lah
house very clean.. ok lah.

There is a very very obvious reason, premium auto nearly all Leather.
for the premium feel and looks, yes leather is king

but wow man, in malaysia weather if your car park under sun you try sit on the leather chairs feel like can die sweat.gif

abit same for leather sofas, especially if your living room is hot and under sunlight. its not gonna be comfy unless open AC
SUSifourtos
post Oct 23 2024, 05:28 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 23 2024, 05:12 PM)
for the premium feel and looks, yes leather is king

but wow man, in malaysia weather if your car park under sun you try sit on the leather chairs feel like can die  sweat.gif

abit same for leather sofas, especially if your living room is hot and under sunlight. its not gonna be comfy unless open AC
turn on car air-cond for 3~5 min before enter the car.
APPs can do it.

Candino
post Oct 23 2024, 06:15 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(koalanne @ Oct 23 2024, 03:13 PM)
Shopping for a 3 seater sofa and have been researching online and physically across more than 10 brands already. I know what my requirements are but the main problem is I can't decide btwn fabric or leather.

From my research, I gathered that:

Leather - generally easier to clean and more durable in the long run, but my 2 main concerns are:

1) if it's hot and humid day, your body will stick to it

(I know good quality leather won't have this issue but how do I tell if the leather is really of good quality because you know...salesperson can say anything or..may not even know what they talking abt. Economy is bad > ppl prioritising profits > trust issues)

My budget is 8k for leather, not sure if it's unrealistic for a good quality leather sofa but 2 brands I've found (Sofa Library and Leather+) has those. They are manufacturers as well hence the claim of affordable leather couches as no middlemen cost

2) I'm very particular about cleanliness (I have contamination OCD) so being able to have a relatively clean sofa is top priority for me. Eg. I never sit on my couch when I come back from outdoors and If i have guests over, I'd need to clean the couch after.

I know harsh chemicals like sanitisers cannot be used on leather but not sure if things like baby wipes or febreeze can?

Fabric - Comfier, softer, and the canggih fabrics these days have spill and water resistant properties and supposedly very easy to clean/maintain but my concerns:

1) Because it's still fabric, dirt and dust can accumulate and get into the fabric so will still need to do vacuuming, steaming, etc. Some models I've seen don't even have removable covers cos the salesperson said not suppose to wash them

2) Not sure how much easier or more effective it is to clean when i need to in situations like Leather Point no. 2 above. Not sure if sanitisers or other cleaning agents might damage the material coating or what not

I've shortlisted my options to the brands below:

Leather - Harvey Norman, Cellini, Sofa Library, Leather+
Fabric - Harvey Norman, Cellini, Joy Design, Ruma

If you made it to this part, thanks alot for reading this long ass post abt my sofa decision lol. Appreciate any input, esp from those who are in the industry or those with experience of owning a leather couch.
Real leather dont stick yr body ..only PU will

kennykck
post Oct 23 2024, 10:25 PM

!!!~~<((Bankai))>~~!!!
1,711 posts

If you want leather sofa, can try Yew Hoong sofa. Heard they supply sofa to Harvey Norman.

Plenty of choices and design in the show room that fits your budget.

You can go to Tekni Direct FB to check on their show unit clearance sale
johorian
post Oct 24 2024, 08:34 AM

159 posts

if leather you need to purchase those cowhide leather sofa. Don't purchase those fake leather.

Visit Harvey Norman for quality guaranteed leather or easy clean fabric sofa.
Candino
post Oct 24 2024, 11:36 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(johorian @ Oct 24 2024, 08:34 AM)
if leather you need to purchase those cowhide leather sofa. Don't purchase those fake leather.

Visit Harvey Norman for quality guaranteed leather or easy clean fabric sofa.
Sofa Library is ok or not ?
corad
post Oct 24 2024, 11:40 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,401 posts

try going to KING Living showroom. At least the leather there come with cert and grade.

I ended up with the Fabric (sales person will pour soy sauce on it, let it sit then wipe it up). 5 years in still fine and survived kids playing/eating/napping on it.
johorian
post Oct 24 2024, 01:03 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(Candino @ Oct 24 2024, 11:36 AM)
Sofa Library is ok or not ?
I found it the price could be more competitive since it claimed sofa produced from own factory. End up I dealed with Harvey Norman.
TSkoalanne
post Oct 25 2024, 04:06 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Oct 24 2024, 11:40 AM)
try going to KING Living showroom. At least the leather there come with cert and grade.

I ended up with the Fabric (sales person will pour soy sauce on it, let it sit then wipe it up). 5 years in still fine and survived kids playing/eating/napping on it.
Way above budget so I didn't consider them hahaa
TSkoalanne
post Oct 25 2024, 04:08 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(johorian @ Oct 24 2024, 01:03 PM)
I found it the price could be more competitive since it claimed sofa produced from own factory. End up I dealed with Harvey Norman.
May i know why you decided to go with Harvey norman in the end?

I read online some ppl said their product quality not that great but...i wouldn't know, never bought their furniture before.

How is your Harvey norman sofa so far? 😁

TSkoalanne
post Oct 25 2024, 04:30 PM

130 posts

Thanks for the input everyone. After much researching, I'm leaning towards leather again and have shortlisted these 4 brands to choose from:

1) Cellini: RM 7000
- Top grain cowhide leather
- Has springs with the cushion foam
- No power recliner
- Frame: ??
- Warranty: ??
https://www.cellini.com.my/sofa/leather-sof...pe-leather-sofa

2) Harvey Norman: RM 7000
- Not sure what leather type yet (have to ask at the showroom)
- Frame and warranty: TBC
- 1 Power recliner seat

Another Harvey Norman i saw on sale: RM 5000 only
- Picture attached
- Supposedly full leather but haven't "interrogate" the SA on other details 😬

3) Sofa Library: RM 7000 - 8000 for the designs i like
- Full bovine leather
- Frame: Meranti & Australian pine wood
- Warranty: 6 yrs frame, 2 yrs leather, 1 yr mechanisms
- Manufacturer, so omit middle man costs and, easier to do repairs if needed?
https://sofalibrary.com.my/how/

4) Leather+ Sofa: RM 7000

- Thick bovine leather
- Frame & Warranty: TBC
- Not sure if they're a manufacturer, but some design look almost the same as Sofa Library 🤔🤔
https://theleatherplussofa.com/l-shape-series/nio
https://theleatherplussofa.com/maison?search=Maison

I think a key factor in the decision making process is the quality and reliability of the product itself and after sales service since the prices are all quite similar.

If anyone had any experiences (or know someone) dealing with either of these brands, appreciate your feedback 🙏

This post has been edited by koalanne: Oct 25 2024, 04:30 PM

holynoob
post Oct 25 2024, 07:16 PM

94 posts

There are leather sofas nowadays that are resistant to cat scratches, it's engineered leather so are cheaper than genuine leather. At least I see them a lot on Taobao
johorian
post Oct 29 2024, 08:55 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(koalanne @ Oct 25 2024, 04:08 PM)
May i know why you decided to go with Harvey norman in the end?

I read online some ppl said their product quality not that great but...i wouldn't know, never bought their furniture before.

How is your Harvey norman sofa so far? 😁
Due to its price and promotion. And the sofa suit me, it supports lumbar, back and neck. A lot of sofa do not have neck support.

So far, the seat cushion still firm and other mechanism all well functioning after almost 1 year. My usage as below:
Weekdays - 2 to 3 hours seat, weekend - 5 - 6 hours seat

Normal 2-3k sofa, mostly cushion become soft and settled after 1 year used.

0.0317sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:48 PM