Serious Are You Open to Marriage First, Romance Later?, Asking men

fearless_kiki
post Oct 24 2024, 08:26 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Oct 23 2024, 06:04 PM)
to me, marriage is to legally bind, or "officiate" 2 individuals together. If you need marriage to commit to a relationship then you probably shouldn't marry in the first place.
Preach!

TLDR of marriage before romance? NO, NO and NO.

TS thoughts of marriage is rather naive. If only a life partner can be easily found with just an interview of questionnaire, then divorce lawyers and couple counselling will be out of business 😂

There is a saying “don’t get married for the sake of marriage”. This statement could not be more real. Marriage not just involves romance. It’s in fact, romance is just one element. Commitment, responsible, care, attraction, trust… it is more complex than merely love. Marriage is a marathon. There would be mundane days, there will be challenges. How are you and your partner going to face the problems ahead? Especially there is no foundation beforehand? Add a baby into the mix and challenges tenfolds 😂

Even if two people are good people that tying the knot, there is no guarantee that the marriage will last. Married first is like turning a gashapon and hoping you will get the one you wanted. You have no idea what is inside before putting your money on it. What are their values? What are their beliefs? Their behaviour? Is it aligned with yours? Is he what he claimed to be? That can’t be easily test with just a questionnaire. Like what Takudan have said, going through a divorce is much more messy than a merely bf gf relationship. The financial and time lost, finance split, child custody…

The reason why you see those people cheat after married is because they assumed tying the knot is the end game and they lazy to manage the relationship anymore. As time goes by, love fades away then cheating comes in. Or maybe, some of those people are the one you refer, marriage before romance, but it didn’t work out.

I wish TS all the best in finding true love. Instead of married first, why not select friendship first before romance? Those are often the happiest couples, as what I realised and noticed 😃

fearless_kiki
post Oct 24 2024, 08:49 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Oct 23 2024, 06:22 PM)
I had this "debate" with my best friend many years ago. It initially started around the topic of sex before marriage and its evolved into arranged marriages and such.

As a christian he was of course on the side that sex should be reserved for marriage, and that time my argument was along the lines of you have to try and know each other first before making the commitment.

He understood my point, but also emphasized that in a relationship the commitment to commitment is actually more important. Then he brought up how arranged marriages do work if the couple and their social circle helps enforce it.

After all, you change in marriage and you may not become compatible in 10 years when you are compatible now. I strongly disagreed at that time, but now that I'm older, married and with kids, I've come around to his perspective.

That said, there are many pre-requisites for it to work. The partners typically need to be chosen and vetted by trusted members of the social circle and they all have to be invested in the relationship to make sure it works. Holding the partners accountabie to each other.

Generally if the couple are good people, I don't see why a marriage couldn't work out and romantic love blossom. If anything, it has been the natural way for most of human history
At least in your friend’s case, it is still OK as they only lack in the sex part of the relationship, which I think still can be cultivated provided that they are compatible in beliefs, values etc. Unless one of them has weird fetish, then I think need to tell beforehand…
fearless_kiki
post Oct 24 2024, 11:59 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Oct 24 2024, 10:42 AM)
I'm just narrating what those men told me. You should ask them where they got the idea from. Not one man, but several men thought like this.

This is why I'm curious to find out from this thread. I'm thinking from the other POV (those men's POV) that women don't usually agree with. Just thought it was kinda interesting to explore the reasons behind and general views.
It doesn’t matter male or female. To have this type of marriage to exist, both male and female also have to agree / have the same mentality right? Can’t use one hand to clap.
fearless_kiki
post Oct 24 2024, 12:29 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Oct 24 2024, 12:18 PM)
Just because it's less common, doesn't mean it's wrong yeah.
I never said it was wrong. It’s more of not agreeing to this type of marriage due to likely to be a failure, hence the gachapon metaphor. Need to pay before knowing what you get, it’s either a good or bad outcome.
fearless_kiki
post Oct 24 2024, 01:19 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Oct 24 2024, 01:07 PM)
Erm... correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems like there's underlying assumption that you think both partners will not have at least 6 months to date and get to know each other first, before the actual ROM and wedding?

I'm not talking about random, instant marriage here in which one just goes to ROM shortly after knowing a stranger. That's obviously reckless and highly risky.

My initial question was: What if we prioritized marriage first and then allowed romance to develop afterward?

The process of marrying with pragmatism is something like this, in reality:

First meeting → both individuals unofficially discuss and agree to marry → continue to know each other better and discuss more details (feelings can develop during this phase, or can break up if suddenly feel tak ngam) → if still ngam, meet parents to get approval → approved, then prepare for wedding & ROM

Estimate about 6-12 months before tying the knot.

As compared to the more common process (paktor first, marry later):

First meeting → paktor for 2-3 years (feelings develop first) → only then talk about marriage (or cohabit first) → only then meet parents to inform the big decision → take another 1-2 years to prepare for wedding and ROM.
Regardless, 1 month, 2 months, 9 months… you can’t possibly know a person WELL with such a short amount of time. How many times of conversing before the marriage? Unless the person is already a friend/colleague/mutual you known for some time (x amount of years). Then it’s different story. And if the person have only marriage on their mind, they could mask it during the short period. wink.gif

This post has been edited by fearless_kiki: Oct 24 2024, 01:21 PM
fearless_kiki
post Oct 24 2024, 06:54 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Oct 24 2024, 01:36 PM)
Partially true.

While familiarity over a longer time is good and beneficial, but there's also the fact that... the length of knowing each other doesn't guarantee successful outcomes in marriage.

There are people who get married after several months of knowing each other, and they still stay married happily for 20-30 years.

& There are couples who know each other since high school, get married, but still divorced in the end.

Of course there’s no guarantees in life. Same as those who had 10 years relationship might not enter into marriage.

But at least knowing a person can eliminate unnecessary arguments, misunderstandings and culture shock. I once know a girl who got married to a guy within few months (if not for covid it would be faster). She is the one that you described, marry first, love later. The first year of her marriage she received culture shock as her husband is not willing to do some of her hobbies/interest like Zumba and tufting. He however does cafe hop with her. She went all upset learning that her husband is not willing to do certain things, to the point that ad hoc went back to her mom’s house. After that she slowly learn that she actually can HAVE A LIFE apart from marriage, like getting friends from Zumba class etc. But yeah, if she learnt that before marriage maybe it won’t escalate until such a big drama.

This post has been edited by fearless_kiki: Oct 24 2024, 06:55 PM
fearless_kiki
post Oct 25 2024, 09:30 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Oct 24 2024, 01:07 PM)
As compared to the more common process (paktor first, marry later):

First meeting → paktor for 2-3 years (feelings develop first) → only then talk about marriage (or cohabit first) → only then meet parents to inform the big decision → take another 1-2 years to prepare for wedding and ROM.

From my observation, this process may not work well sometimes when the bf and gf have different goals before/after marriage, e.g. change mind about marriage, or don't wanna have kids, or one party suddenly migrates to work overseas, etc.

Subject to many changes since formal agreement about marriage and family planning is not firmly discussed, established and announced beforehand.

Break ups happen at much later stage (2-3 years into the relationship), which cause loss of time, energy and resources to both men and women.

That’s why communication is important. Communicate, communicate, communicate. That is why we always need to communicate. Be open with each other. When there is a problem, talk it out and tackle the issue.

Those who mostly have different goals are those who marry early, early 20s probably. They just started to see the world and experience a lot of new stuff. Views might change and goals might not align. Early 20s is the time to test the relationship whether it will last or not. Late 20s to early 30s are a good sweet spot to get married as people become more mature and mostly they know what they want in life already. It’s kind of rare to have people change their minds after that. It’s rare but doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen.

I know someone that was into food with his ex wife. They always eat happily until one day the man found out from doctor that if he doesn’t change his habit, he only have few years to live. Then the guy started to change his life to have healthier lifestyle, and even got into bodybuilding. And that means having a very strict diet. But the ex wife is never into this kind of lifestyle and just like to eat. End up she cheated behind his back with someone who can eat with her. But this kind of case is RARE.

As for people that break up 2-3 years after, it’s very normal. How many of us that lucky to have a childhood gf bf that can last until marriage? Most of us need to search until we find the right one. It’s because of the incompatibility, people cut the losses and move on before it gets worse (tying the knot or have a baby) Eg, finding out your partner that he/she doesn’t want kids. Of course need to break and find until getting the right one. If continue to stay in a dysfunctional relationship for yearsssssss then then it’s on you. And I don’t think people will change minds about kids that easily….

As in the case of migration, weight the pros and cons then decide where to stay lor, no need to break up one lah 😂

This post has been edited by fearless_kiki: Oct 25 2024, 09:32 AM
fearless_kiki
post Oct 25 2024, 11:27 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Oct 25 2024, 12:19 AM)
BUT, I've never heard of a non monetary "pragmatic" arrangement though, cuz that would mean you need two individuals with equal financial statuses... What would you seek to get from the other party through marriage then? Personally, I can only think of things that require a marriage certificate to benefit, such as seeking to maximise insurance coverage at work via spousal coverage, optimise tax filing and relief. Everything else, you don't need to marry...

on top of my mind would be getting a HDB flat in Sg. Or getting a green card in IS. But I think for green card the other party needs to gain something monetary too in order to work.

As for other marriage benefits like tax, medical, migration, inheritance … those I think only with love only worth it.

As for having a kid, don’t think it works well. Split 50/50 of house expenses? Ok. After that housework do you still split 50/50? What about taking care of the child/children? 50/50 or not? What if one is not available to do house chores due to OT? Does the other willing to cover? I never believe in the 50/50 finance quota. Because it’s practically impossible to 50/50 in reality. Different amount of salary, difference in burden (house loan, car loan, parents allowance…), expenses (child expenses, groceries…). Pregnancy checkup and confinement… 50/50 also? Breastfeed, pregnant and give birth how to 50/50?

Even romantic couples sometimes struggle with this. Often will hear one party say they shoulder most or all of the family expenses while the other party doesn’t save or demand a lot. Or stories of the partner doesn’t help around the house chores or taking care of kids etc. And with a “pragmatic” marriage, the empathy and care is lesser as there is no love foundation.

0.0157sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:36 PM