Berak: Xiaomi taps out way making 3nm chips

TSpremier239
post Oct 21 2024, 06:35 PM, updated 2y ago

173 posts

Xiaomi successfully “tapes out” China’s first 3nm smartphone chip
Oct 21, 2024
Xiaomi has been rumored to be working on its very own smartphone chip for a while now. Looks like the company has now reached an important milestone.

A report by Chinese media MyDrivers suggests that Xiami has successfully “taped out” the country’s first 3nm smartphone SoC.

The announcement came from the Chief Economist of the Beijing Municipal Bureau of Economy and Information Technology on BRTV, a government-owned television network in China. Below is the announcement video of the same, in Chinese of course, posted by an X user.

Xiaomi’s own smartphone SoC?

The report doesn’t provide details about the CPU or GPU and only mentions that it is a 3nm chip. It also doesn’t specify whether Xiaomi is using TSMC, Samsung, or another node for production.

However, the “tape-out” process in silicon design means the chip has reached the final stage before it’s sent to the manufacturing facility for production. In other words, Xiaomi has successfully completed the design phase and the chip is now ready for fabrication.

That said, this doesn’t mean the SoC is ready for mass production or smartphone use yet. Xiaomi will still need to test the chip once it’s fabricated by a manufacturer like TSMC or Samsung. Also, if the initial yield (the percentage of working chips) is low, they may need to tweak the manufacturing process or the chip design to improve it.

In case you didn’t know, Xiaomi has already released a smartphone with its own SoC. The Mi 5C, launched in 2017, featured Xiaomi’s Pengpai (or Pinecone) S1 chip, a 28nm, 8-core processor with a big-little architecture and a maximum clock speed of 2.2GHz.

While Xiaomi hasn’t launched another smartphone SoC since then, it has been developing chips for charging, battery management, and image signal processing in its Surge G, P, and C series. For instance, the Xiaomi 14 Ultra uses the Surge P2 and G1 chips to improve charging efficiency and extend battery life.

So, chip production certianly isn’t an unfamiliar territory for Xiaomi. It remains to be seen if the company can successfully develop and launch its own smartphone SoC (again), and how it will stack up in terms of performance.

This post has been edited by premier239: Oct 21 2024, 06:41 PM
AfraidIGotBan
post Oct 21 2024, 06:38 PM

246 posts

walauweh!
kaizoku30
post Oct 21 2024, 06:40 PM

86 posts

Yaoyao
Raddus

239 posts

Huashit
Avex

570 posts

murica shouting sanction sanction
pandah
post Oct 21 2024, 06:42 PM

719 posts

Didn't know got previous chip, how was the pinecone? Can rival sd or mediatek midrange?
andyng38
post Oct 21 2024, 06:45 PM

2,402 posts

fooyuh! i didn't even know that xiaomi was designing their own chips.
killdavid
post Oct 21 2024, 06:54 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Oct 21 2024, 06:45 PM)
Gonna be buggy just like their software
xHj09
post Oct 21 2024, 07:13 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

But.. ipong already using 3nm chip.

Why need to copy
pobox
post Oct 21 2024, 07:14 PM

551 posts

So Huawei kalah?
vhs
post Oct 21 2024, 07:42 PM

90 posts

use own chip so that can spy properly. otherwise israel put a bomb there also dont know.
nasiputih
post Oct 21 2024, 07:51 PM

256 posts

we build for ghaina
zerorating
post Oct 21 2024, 07:58 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

in other news, samseng want to use inferior exynos chip because qualcomm soc is too expensive.

https://www.sammobile.com/news/samsung-exyn...med-first-time/
Pikichu
post Oct 21 2024, 07:59 PM

2,278 posts

Looks like PRC hybrid capitalism innovation can rival USA free market capitalism.
h@ksam
post Oct 21 2024, 08:01 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ Oct 21 2024, 06:40 PM)
Huashit
now now

zerorating
post Oct 21 2024, 08:08 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(h@ksam @ Oct 21 2024, 08:01 PM)
now now

should rename to ussmc instead.
darkterror15
post Oct 21 2024, 08:13 PM

359 posts

once remember someone comment huawei will only spend time talking about their chip if it is self designed, but other china phone company will spend 30 min talking about chip that they dont even design.

hualawei last time kena use sd chip, during product promo only use 5 sec say to talk what chip is that. kek

btw, since last year alot china brand already shift to use their own screen supplier, own glass supplier, own camera sensor supplier and so on.

now most flagship use BOE/TCL screen, use their own glass and u hardly hear any gorilla glass, use their own OV camera sensor, and use their own SiC battery.

next year on wards, most flagship will habe more than 6000mah battery already
netmatrix
post Oct 21 2024, 08:13 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

If Epal can, so can they.

But don;t buy their cars until at least 3rd version. laugh.gif
ckseong80
post Oct 21 2024, 08:14 PM

368 posts

If Xiaomi's 3nm tape-out uses TSMC or Samsung fab, it's no difference because if kena US sanction, the supply to Xiaomi will also be halted.

JohnL77
post Oct 21 2024, 08:29 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Oct 21 2024, 08:13 PM)
once remember someone comment huawei will only spend time talking about their chip if it is self designed, but other china phone company will spend 30 min talking about chip that they dont even design.

hualawei last time kena use sd chip, during product promo only use 5 sec say to talk what chip is that. kek

btw, since last year alot china brand already shift to use their own screen supplier, own glass supplier, own camera sensor supplier and so on.

now most flagship use BOE/TCL screen, use their own glass and u hardly hear any gorilla glass, use their own OV camera sensor, and use their own SiC battery.

next year on wards, most flagship will habe more than 6000mah battery already
So did you buy the Huawei Pura 70 Ultra?

Do you love the fact that an almost RM7000 phone cannot record video in 8K?

The photos look amazing though. But who are you kidding, woomiao? The Kirin processor is slower than a RM1500 Poco F6 by a wide margin.

https://nanoreview.net/en/phone-compare/xia...i-pura-70-ultra
Raddus
post Oct 21 2024, 08:40 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(h@ksam @ Oct 21 2024, 08:01 PM)
now now

Hualaoweiii
darkterror15
post Oct 21 2024, 08:41 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Oct 21 2024, 08:29 PM)
So did you buy the Huawei Pura 70 Ultra?

Do you love the fact that an almost RM7000 phone cannot record video in 8K?

The photos look amazing though. But who are you kidding, woomiao? The Kirin processor is slower than a RM1500 Poco F6 by a wide margin.

https://nanoreview.net/en/phone-compare/xia...i-pura-70-ultra
i buy xiaomi cannot? and for what u buy huawei if u dont get to use the harmonynext? u buy that to experience side load google? like that u can get any other china android what?

and no kidding u, i still use a poco f3 that has sd870. more than enough for me. i have xiaomi 13 pro as well and i turn on power saving mode for both my phone because i dont need that processing power, but i need the battery endurance.

and u praise huawei photo for what? u wumao?
JohnL77
post Oct 21 2024, 09:06 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Oct 21 2024, 08:41 PM)
i buy xiaomi cannot? and for what u buy huawei if u dont get to use the harmonynext? u buy that to experience side load google? like that u can get any other china android what?

and no kidding u, i still use a poco f3 that has sd870. more than enough for me. i have xiaomi 13 pro as well and i turn on power saving mode for both my phone because i dont need that processing power, but i need the battery endurance.

and u praise huawei photo for what? u wumao?
The topic is about processors, why you try to derail by talking about Chinese manufacturers making their own screens, glass and camera sensors?

The point I'm trying to make is the Pura 70 Ultra takes excellent photos, but the video quality is severely dragged down by the outdated Kirin processor.

So what if China can make the best camera sensor but the slow CPU cannot record video in 8K?

So what if China can make the best screens but the GPU sucks?

Better buy Xiaomi phones before the U.S. sanctions them.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Oct 21 2024, 09:28 PM
capsulr
post Oct 21 2024, 09:15 PM

472 posts

Samsoong also kalah
h@ksam
post Oct 21 2024, 09:22 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Oct 21 2024, 09:15 PM)
Samsoong also kalah
Samseng kalah itself due to foundry bisnes need severe help

WhatMan
post Oct 21 2024, 09:31 PM

1,623 posts

Need to wait until got actual 3nm chip in production. Now is just all hype.
JohnL77
post Oct 21 2024, 09:37 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 21 2024, 09:31 PM)
Need to wait until got actual 3nm chip in production. Now is just all hype.
Better quietly make it and sell it to Huawei and other Chinese manufacturers la.

Phones for domestic Chinese market use Xiaomi chips, phones for global market use Snapdragon/MediaTek.

Announcing it so early without an actual product just inviting the U.S. to sanction them.
darkterror15
post Oct 21 2024, 10:03 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Oct 21 2024, 09:06 PM)
The topic is about processors, why you try to derail by talking about Chinese manufacturers making their own screens, glass and camera sensors?

The point I'm trying to make is the Pura 70 Ultra takes excellent photos, but the video quality is severely dragged down by the outdated Kirin processor.

So what if China can make the best camera sensor but the slow CPU cannot record video in 8K?

So what if China can make the best screens but the GPU sucks?

Better buy Xiaomi phones before the U.S. sanctions them.
if u dont like u can dont answer to my post what. u choose to, then live with it, not to come out nonsense when kena tembak. beside u self talking cock derail to pura 70 that i didnt come out with it at all.

This post has been edited by darkterror15: Oct 21 2024, 10:03 PM
sonic_cd
post Oct 21 2024, 10:07 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

later USA boh song again
tankerbell12345
post Oct 21 2024, 10:14 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Oct 21 2024, 10:03 PM)
if u dont like u can dont answer to my post what. u choose to, then live with it, not to come out nonsense when kena tembak. beside u self talking cock derail to pura 70 that i didnt come out with it at all.
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 21 2024, 10:07 PM)
later USA boh song again

only hkkien empire / old chna have the ability to make the most advanced chip.

lvl 1 (yin)- european
lvl2 (yang)- jews
lvl 3 most advanced version (ying and yang moving in perfect harmony) - old orignal chna / hkkien empire (skorea, japan, taiwan, sg and my)

don butthurt ya. Unfortunately its not you who is going to accompany me to the end. The fake motherland dont have the ability to create chip.

This post has been edited by tankerbell12345: Oct 21 2024, 10:19 PM
FappyBird
post Oct 21 2024, 10:29 PM

70 posts

Must have lots of ads
GHBZDK
post Oct 21 2024, 10:34 PM

173 posts

0.01nm but spoil in 6 month in the end ericson t10 or 3310 also better
tankerbell12345
post Oct 21 2024, 10:36 PM

58 posts

This song is not about love but about family affection. It tells the story of a mother's wish to go to Tokyo to see the Eiffel Tower, but her daughter was too busy with work to have time. After her mother passed away, she went to see the Eiffel Tower with her mother's wish, but her mother was no longer there, and she only felt regret in her heart. I hope everyone cherishes their loved ones and spends more time with them.

old chna (skorea, japan and taiwan) - the real motherland. She regretted that she didnt go to japan with her mother when she was still alive.

The rest are all fake rubbish

This post has been edited by tankerbell12345: Oct 21 2024, 10:39 PM
kamfoo
post Oct 21 2024, 10:56 PM

847 posts

Prefer vivo
Taikor.Taikun
post Oct 21 2024, 11:10 PM

1,019 posts

1nm next
asparagsu
post Oct 21 2024, 11:52 PM

82 posts

taps out and tape out have a complete opposite meaning here..
cursetheroad01
post Oct 21 2024, 11:54 PM

55 posts

Fuck this shit.
Now where can i get cheap snapdragons?
teutonic
post Oct 22 2024, 12:13 AM

147 posts

64 bit?