4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Lemon? Proton X70 2025 Engine Vibration, December 9th Update(Different SC)

littlefire
post Oct 21 2024, 01:30 PM

2,505 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Oct 21 2024, 01:56 PM)
1. Yes I test drive quite many times, but there is difference with my unit 
2. I picked up 3 days ago. It’s 119km <- Not even 1st service yet, you need at least 1000km for proper ECU/Engine/Gearbox setting to be mature
3. Not yet finish the first tank, SA help to pump full tank shell 95 <- Also not yet try other fuel already complaining, Shell for me su*ks even BHP also better than them.
4. When it moves, it’s obvious like jumping around and vibrate. <- Go back to no.2, also check your tire pressure, balancing & allignment. (A lot of time new car tire balancing also tak boleh pakai, need redo)

Conclusion - Either the SA did not really explain well, or TS really 1st time buy new car. laugh.gif

Ya, to add on. Please also read the car driver manual book to understand your car features.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Oct 21 2024, 01:51 PM
ktek
post Oct 21 2024, 02:52 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,903 posts

half fill a water bottles. put at car seat or wherever nearby vibration that u personally felt.

record his water waves
ayamxxx
post Oct 21 2024, 04:32 PM

3,676 posts

Hi Ts, ur location?

Based on my experience with Proton (X70), Kelana Jaya 3S near Balai Polis KJ one, helps customer greatly. Try checking there for warranty.

My experience with brake juddering, all SC only offer skim under warranty, here, they claim new rotor front for me
ayamxxx
post Oct 21 2024, 04:34 PM

3,676 posts

Mine is 1.8T CKD, and if u ask others, this 1.8T 4 cylinders smooth as butter. But once rent Socar from Klia2, x70 standard with 1.5T ckd, it can felt the vibration harshly from inside, especially the steering wheel, got sound etc. I am foresee it is the mounting issue.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Oct 21 2024, 04:41 PM
TSPowerGadget
post Oct 21 2024, 04:55 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 21 2024, 01:30 PM)
Conclusion - Either the SA did not really explain well, or TS really 1st time buy new car.  laugh.gif

Ya, to add on. Please also read the car driver manual book to understand your car features.
SA just pass me the key and ask me sign.. that's all...

Didn't know that I need to send my car for balancing and alignment, good to know for now.. Will try to send car to workshop soon

Have bring down the manual already and read it when this problem persist.

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 21 2024, 02:52 PM)
half fill a water bottles. put at car seat or wherever nearby vibration that u personally felt.

record his water waves
Thanks! That's very helpful. Would bring along a half filled water bottle for testing when they schedule the inspection.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 21 2024, 04:32 PM)
Hi Ts, ur location?

Based on my experience with Proton (X70), Kelana Jaya 3S near Balai Polis KJ one, helps customer greatly. Try checking there for warranty.

My experience with brake juddering, all SC only offer skim under warranty, here, they claim new rotor front for me
Unfortunately I am from East Malaysia.

Both service centre that near to me aren't helpful. One said because I not buying from them, so they can't do much.

The one I bought it from said they not only need to serve me, they need to serve 70+ cars per day. So can't do much as well.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 21 2024, 04:34 PM)
Mine is 1.8T CKD, and if u ask others, this 1.8T 4 cylinders smooth as butter. But once rent Socar from Klia2, x70 standard with 1.5T ckd, it can felt the vibration harshly from inside, especially the steering wheel, got sound etc. I am foresee it is the mounting issue.
Oh yes! Heard a lot of good things about that 1.8T version but unfortunately they don't offer 4 cyc variant anymore which is a sad case..

Never expect the QC of proton would be that poor though.

I collect the car with roof rail wide open, then interior oily with stains, then now vibrating seats and floor.. It's going to be my first and last proton...would spend more with other brand in future.
ru40342
post Oct 21 2024, 07:44 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Oct 21 2024, 12:56 PM)

I see there is forumer have suspension problem with his x50 when brand new. but he’s not active in this forum anymore.
I also own a x50 and like x70, even though both only have 3 cylinders, I cannot feel any vibration similar to 4 cylinder cars. No problem so far except for a warranty claim for the "hi proton" thing not working.
ktek
post Oct 21 2024, 09:59 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,903 posts

activatee massage chair laugh.gif
joey2000
post Oct 21 2024, 10:50 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Oct 21 2024, 04:55 PM)

Didn't know that I need to send my car for balancing and alignment, good to know for now.. Will try to send car to workshop soon

Thanks! That's very helpful. Would bring along a half filled water bottle for testing when they schedule the inspection.

Both service centre that near to me aren't helpful. One said because I not buying from them, so they can't do much.

The one I bought it from said they not only need to serve me, they need to serve 70+ cars per day. So can't do much as well.
Oh yes! Heard a lot of good things about that 1.8T version but unfortunately they don't offer 4 cyc variant anymore which is a sad case..

I collect the car with roof rail wide open, then interior oily with stains, then now vibrating seats and floor.. It's going to be my first and last proton...would spend more with other brand in future.
You learned it the hard way. Remember, no matters what other people said, Proton is always a proton. I will stay away from this brand.
Roman Catholic
post Oct 22 2024, 08:27 AM

3,393 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Oct 21 2024, 04:55 PM)

Wait what ? Hand over the key fob and terus sign DO ? Why didn't you request to inspect the vehicle first before signing off the DO ? Aiyoyo, what if there were damages on the new vehicle only to be discovered after signing the DO ? Don't worry the SC will take care of it ?

Roof rail opened, oily stains, vibrating seats, no wonder it's "Here's your key to your brand new X70 and you have to sign the document now."

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Oct 22 2024, 08:33 AM
TSPowerGadget
post Oct 23 2024, 04:40 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(ru40342 @ Oct 21 2024, 07:44 PM)
I also own a x50 and like x70, even though both only have 3 cylinders, I cannot feel any vibration similar to 4 cylinder cars. No problem so far except for a warranty claim for the "hi proton" thing not working.
I eventually feel that it's much comfortable than my old myvi but not the case for my new x70.

But everyone tell me to accept it as 3 cylinder behaviour.. hmmmm..

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 21 2024, 09:59 PM)
activatee massage chair laugh.gif
Surprise pikachu feature.. Thanks Proton!

QUOTE(joey2000 @ Oct 21 2024, 10:50 PM)
You learned it the hard way. Remember, no matters what other people said, Proton is always a proton. I will stay away from this brand.
Yes, seriously, I learned it in hard and expensive way right now.

But selling it now would incur quite a lot of cost, think need to bear with this lemon for at least 5 years.

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Oct 22 2024, 08:27 AM)
Wait what ? Hand over the key fob and terus sign DO ? Why didn't you request to inspect the vehicle first before signing off the DO ? Aiyoyo, what if there were damages on the new vehicle only to be discovered after signing the DO ? Don't worry the SC will take care of it ?

Roof rail opened, oily stains, vibrating seats, no wonder it's "Here's your key to your brand new X70 and you have to sign the document now."
I did asked but my SA told me their service centre has done the QC inspection on behalf.

Sigh.. I did asked why it's not so clean, he said their cleaning team not so efficient.

Since it's cosmetic problem, I don't really mind as I going to send the car for tint installation and coating/ppf those.

Now learned a very expensive and hard lesson

UPDATE: NEW VIDEO with engine sound, not sure whether it's normal.
Roman Catholic
post Oct 23 2024, 08:28 PM

3,393 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Oct 23 2024, 04:40 PM)
I eventually feel that it's much comfortable than my old myvi but not the case for my new x70.

But everyone tell me to accept it as 3 cylinder behaviour.. hmmmm..
Surprise pikachu feature.. Thanks Proton!
Yes, seriously, I learned it in hard and expensive way right now.

But selling it now would incur quite a lot of cost, think need to bear with this lemon for at least 5 years.
I did asked but my SA told me their service centre has done the QC inspection on behalf.

Sigh.. I did asked why it's not so clean, he said their cleaning team not so efficient.

Since it's cosmetic problem, I don't really mind as I going to send the car for tint installation and coating/ppf those.

Now learned a very expensive and hard lesson
UPDATE:  NEW VIDEO with engine sound, not sure whether it's normal.
Next time when you want to buy a new vehicle, ask if they allow you to do a Pre-registration Inspection on the new unregistered vehicle. This is not the norm but it can be done. I had already done it for 2 of my vehicles and 1 for my client. Many will try to discourage you from doing so but stand your ground. Not Pre-Delivery Inspection that's rubbish and that is what exactly had happened in your case.

It's like entering into a contract and you need to list down your terms and conditions. I don't play by their rules, I play by my rules something like that.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Oct 23 2024, 08:30 PM
ayamxxx
post Oct 23 2024, 08:51 PM

3,676 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Oct 20 2024, 04:02 PM)
Hi guys, I just received my x70 2025 but the car currently vibrate more than my myvi.

I sit in my old myvi is much comfy than this x70 2025, SA told me should get better after first service.

I went back to their showroom to test out the test drive unit and found out their unit don't have harsh vibration on their seat.

Not sure how should I deal with this car  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Or I need to leave the car few days for inspection and it's rather sad to leave a new car that I just received for inspection.

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Update with video : they told me it's normal though. is it acceptable?

My idea, since Im not physically see your car/engine.

1. It is really that characteristics for 3 cylinders engine.
2. Slight harsh sound or clutter sound thanks to GDI. This was a famous question raised by new owners in X70, X50 in FB. Until some mentioned, his/her BMW F10 and G30 clutter sound more harsher due to GDI configuration.
3. Personally tested the X50 and X70 in 1.5T 3 cylinders form (standard variant), I can sense some vibration toward the car interior especially at lower rpm. 2k - 2.5k rpm can felt it, above that then normal.
4. However, my 1.8T 4 cylinders smooth. And any other car with 4 cylinders are smooth in operation. Worst 3 cylinders felt are those from Perodua, even with brand new mounting (stock or aftermarket), its vibrates hard.

If it me, I rather go to few SC and check it vs other car in same form, 1.5T. Try check if there are any engine light pop up on meter all these while, if yes then that different story. As well as FC, from there can determine if the engine works normally
mushigen
post Oct 24 2024, 10:36 PM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 23 2024, 08:51 PM)

2. Slight harsh sound or clutter sound thanks to GDI. This was a famous question raised by new owners in X70, X50 in FB. Until some mentioned, his/her BMW F10 and G30 clutter sound more harsher due to GDI configuration.
3. Personally tested the X50 and X70 in 1.5T 3 cylinders form (standard variant), I can sense some vibration toward the car interior especially at lower rpm. 2k - 2.5k rpm can felt it, above that then normal.
4. However, my 1.8T 4 cylinders smooth. And any other car with 4 cylinders are smooth in operation. Worst 3 cylinders felt are those from Perodua, even with brand new mounting (stock or aftermarket), its vibrates hard.

If it me, I rather go to few SC and check it vs other car in same form, 1.5T. Try check if there are any engine light pop up on meter all these while, if yes then that different story. As well as FC, from there can determine if the engine works normally
I ever rented Bezza 1.0, which should be a 3-cyl car. There was no noticeable vibration felt inside the cabin at all.
saiga
post Oct 25 2024, 10:27 PM

Fear of the Dark
568 posts

Sorry to hear that TS.

I bought my first car, brand new Proton Wira aeroback back in 2005.
Few weeks later got issue with my car. Went to SC to complaint.

The service guy said " what to do, it's a Proton". Damn make me very angry. From that day, I promised myself to never ever buy Proton again in my life.

Turn out one of the best desicion I ever made. Happy with my Jepunis n Jerman now.
M2020
post Oct 26 2024, 01:41 AM

68 posts

If the engine vibration in the video is normal for new 3 cylinders engine, then would make people to avoid 3 cylinders engine.

Can owner take video of Showroom car engine vibration and compare?
voscar
post Oct 26 2024, 12:38 PM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(M2020 @ Oct 26 2024, 01:41 AM)
If the engine vibration in the video is normal for new 3 cylinders engine, then would make people to avoid 3 cylinders engine.

Normal especially when you record video, it will be very obvious shaking due to the video fps something.
acbc
post Oct 26 2024, 12:43 PM

8,845 posts

X70 3 pots using normal rubber engine mounts or fludic engine mounts?
EnergyAnalyst
post Oct 26 2024, 04:47 PM

4,078 posts

More reason why anyone should consider emas7 over X70
lee82gx
post Oct 26 2024, 07:07 PM

I guess I'm special
3,042 posts

I can say only start engine crank was vibrating enough to be felt, during my X70 facelift test drive 1 month ago.
Other than that not much, and not enough to be noticable.
I know and I can feel the additional vibration from the 3 cylinder engine through the low RPM's but it is very very mild, not the type to shake me up.

So, I suggest to TS that if more than 1 person can tell the difference then its valid to complain.

But tyre pressure should indeed be checked. I personally like a slight lower pressure for comfort than factory spec.

The DCT gearbox is very very lively if accelerating, hopefully TS can differentiate this from the "engine vibrating".
TSPowerGadget
post Nov 22 2024, 01:21 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Oct 23 2024, 08:28 PM)
Next time when you want to buy a new vehicle, ask if they allow you to do a Pre-registration Inspection on the new unregistered vehicle. This is not the norm but it can be done. I had already done it for 2 of my vehicles and 1 for my client. Many will try to discourage you from doing so but stand your ground. Not Pre-Delivery Inspection that's rubbish and that is what exactly had happened in your case.

It's like entering into a contract and you need to list down your terms and conditions. I don't play by their rules, I play by my rules something like that.
Thanks! I didn't know got pre-reg inspection. Was looking for a lot of tips on how to avoid lemon unit but yet never see people suggesting thing.

Definitely would keep this in mind with my next purchase.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 23 2024, 08:51 PM)

thanks for your honest opinion.

I do understand about the harshness but seen a lot of YouTube review saying that they don't feel any vibration at all. Not sure whether those reviewer saying the truth.

Even asking them on the comment section, they said they felt 0 vibration in the interior seat. Not sure I am the one being sensitive. But I can really feel vibration when stop and go as well as low rpm speed.

I went to the SC that I bought the car from, currently the head foreman said that's 3 cylinder car, nothing much to expect.

I can feel the difference in smoothness of their test unit (which is being abused) and mine and yet their test drive unit is better in handling the vibration.

But vibration thing is very subjective, hard to argue with them even already spoken with their GM. They can't do much for me except my car break down..

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 24 2024, 10:36 PM)
I ever rented Bezza 1.0, which should be a 3-cyl car. There was no noticeable vibration felt inside the cabin at all.
Oh yes! I rented a bezza before as well, I don't feel the harshness as what my brand new x70 2025 did.

QUOTE(saiga @ Oct 25 2024, 10:27 PM)
Sorry to hear that TS.

I bought my first car, brand new Proton Wira aeroback back in 2005.
Few weeks later got issue with my car. Went to SC to complaint.

The service guy said " what to do, it's a Proton". Damn make me very angry. From that day, I promised myself to never ever buy Proton again in my life.

Turn out one of the best desicion I ever made. Happy with my Jepunis n Jerman now.
Thanks for your sharing!

I also get the typical reply of "this is 3 cylinder car" "I don't feel any abnormal here" "Use first, would get better in long run"

Getting myself so much trouble after getting this x70, most regret decision that I ever made. Went to SC for about 7-8 times in a single month. wasting a lot of time and energy.

QUOTE(M2020 @ Oct 26 2024, 01:41 AM)

I test drive for two units where the session is rather short so I might not notice or paying attention to.

Then I reconfirm the smoothness by watching a lot of YouTube review where those reviewer said 0 vibration.

I do have the video and will upload soon.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0231sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th February 2025 - 09:02 AM