Dash cam for very old Perodua Kancil?, Totally noob, please help.

TSadonhhk
post Oct 19 2024, 07:42 PM, updated 2y ago

137 posts

I have a very old Kancil, I think early 2000.

Manual gear, no digital.

Any idea what dash cam would work? What brand and model should I get?

I prefer set with front and back cameras.

Best if the type that can monitor when parked, in case people hit my parked kancil. haha

Kasawari 2
post Oct 19 2024, 07:58 PM

127 posts

Just check shopee or lazada on ddpai or 70mai that suits yr budget. Just need to plug into car cigarette lighter point and route wires either diy or pay some shop. Hardwire kid needed if you want it to run even after power off yr car.
TSadonhhk
post Oct 20 2024, 01:26 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Kasawari 2 @ Oct 19 2024, 07:58 PM)
Just check shopee or lazada on ddpai or 70mai that suits yr budget. Just need to plug into car cigarette lighter point and route wires either diy or pay some shop. Hardwire kid needed if you want it to run even after power off yr car.
I just tape the wire to the ceiling can? hehe

It's old kancil, I don't need look pretty.

What is hardwire kid?

Cannot run on external battery?
Kasawari 2
post Oct 20 2024, 03:53 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(adonhhk @ Oct 20 2024, 01:26 PM)
I just tape the wire to the ceiling can? hehe

It's old kancil, I don't need look pretty.

What is hardwire kid?

Cannot run on external battery?
At least tug or hide the wire in the headliner and door panel. Easy to DIY. Check YouTube.

https://youtu.be/Stc-XAhFiSg?si=id36DehDyXtqBCQI

It shd be hardwire kit, not kid. Must be auto correction error. Need this if you want 24hr camera "on". This is safer done by expert.
TSadonhhk
post Oct 20 2024, 11:08 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Kasawari 2 @ Oct 20 2024, 03:53 PM)
At least tug or hide the wire in the headliner and door panel. Easy to DIY. Check YouTube.

https://youtu.be/Stc-XAhFiSg?si=id36DehDyXtqBCQI

It shd be hardwire kit, not kid. Must be auto correction error. Need this if you want 24hr camera "on". This is safer done by expert.
Ok, but I don't want the trouble of paying expert, it's only old kancil.

So no such thing as external power bank camera mode?
speedy3210
post Oct 21 2024, 02:08 PM

520 posts

Own a kancil too..... personally don't recommend hot-wire the dashcam on any kancil. Reason beong; kancil has a small batt and not so great alternator. The alternator hardly can supply enough juice/current to charge the battery, when you have aircond blower blasting at full speed.

Used to use rearview mirror attached type of dashcam on kancil.

Pros :
Widen the view of stock rearview mirror and be dashcam 2-in-1 solution
stealthy coz nothing that standout like a sore thumb anywhere
Can become reverse camera monitor if you have rear camera

Cons :
Higher end model can be too heavy for stock kancil rearview mirror to support (those with big screen)
difficult to hide wiring coz kancil roof liner is a bit"special"; lower than roof frame so can't hide anything

Alternatively, maybe can check if those latest dashboard mounted Android player with dashcam be mounted without hitting the front windscreen. If can fit, you achieve car entertainment player and dashcam upgrade 2-in-1.
TSadonhhk
post Oct 21 2024, 09:39 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 21 2024, 02:08 PM)
Own a kancil too..... personally don't recommend hot-wire the dashcam on any kancil. Reason beong; kancil has a small batt and not so great alternator. The alternator hardly can supply enough juice/current to charge the battery, when you have aircond blower blasting at full speed.

Used to use rearview mirror attached type of dashcam on kancil.

Pros : 
Widen the view of stock rearview mirror and be dashcam 2-in-1 solution
stealthy coz nothing that standout like a sore thumb anywhere
Can become reverse camera monitor if you have rear camera

Cons :
Higher end model can be too heavy for stock kancil rearview mirror to support (those with big screen)
difficult to hide wiring coz kancil roof liner is a bit"special"; lower than roof frame so can't hide anything
Alternatively, maybe can check if those latest dashboard mounted Android player with dashcam be mounted without hitting the front windscreen. If can fit, you achieve car entertainment player and dashcam upgrade 2-in-1.
I got question, the rear camera you put inside car or outside?

Should be inside right?

What model you recommend?
speedy3210
post Oct 21 2024, 11:08 PM

520 posts

I didn't install the rear cam although the dashcam I bought came with one. Cos as said earlier, there was no way I can hide the wires. I figured the rear cam can just be affixed by the good ole strong double side tape at the rear roof structure.

Sorry can't recommend mine coz dunno if the seller still selling it or not as it was bought some 10yrs ago. Strangely, mine was the real dashcam meant for RHD cars, unlike most of the LHD cams (for these mirror type) in the market now.

lj0000
post Oct 21 2024, 11:11 PM

2,209 posts

Dashcam no difference between kancil and masili
Get the one u can afford
TSadonhhk
post Oct 22 2024, 12:18 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Oct 21 2024, 11:11 PM)
Dashcam no difference between kancil and masili
Get the one u can afford
I want compatible with old kancil, since I don't have many "digital" ports to connect.

TSadonhhk
post Oct 22 2024, 12:20 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 21 2024, 11:08 PM)
I didn't install the rear cam although the dashcam I bought came with one. Cos as said earlier, there was no way I can hide the wires. I figured the rear cam can just be affixed by the good ole strong double side tape at the rear roof structure.

Sorry can't recommend mine coz dunno if the seller still selling it or not as it was bought some 10yrs ago. Strangely, mine was the real dashcam meant for RHD cars, unlike most of the LHD cams (for these mirror type) in the market now.

Cool, I will just tape the wire on the ceiling, I don't care about beauty or not. haha

But I worry when parking cam is off, if something happen no recording.

I don't want connect to car battery, later got banyak issue.

Maybe use external battery? Got this setup?

But then I worry battery explode in my car during hot day, HAHAHAHA.
lj0000
post Oct 22 2024, 08:26 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(adonhhk @ Oct 22 2024, 12:18 AM)
I want compatible with old kancil, since I don't have many "digital" ports to connect.
What digital port?
Just need cig lighter port for 12v
speedy3210
post Oct 22 2024, 12:24 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(adonhhk @ Oct 22 2024, 12:20 AM)
Cool, I will just tape the wire on the ceiling, I don't care about beauty or not. haha

But I worry when parking cam is off, if something happen no recording.

I don't want connect to car battery, later got banyak issue.

Maybe use external battery? Got this setup?

But then I worry battery explode in my car during hot day, HAHAHAHA.
That is part and parcel of car ownership, you can only protect that much and the rest is up to someone up above.

Dashcams mostly get their power from ciggy port, so just make sure your kancil's ciggy port is still in good shape.

As for aesthetic thing, you can at least try to run the wires

a) front - if mirror dashcam - along the surround rubbers of door frame...... if dashboard mounted - easier to hide along the openings of dashboard panels
b) rear - run downward to carpet and along the door frames, then go up the rear backrest and door frame rubber. Can't hide much at the roof area though. If possible, try get those rear cam with mini 4pins connector, not RCA type for easier hiding.

As for external battery, don't think it is a feasible solution as again you will come back to limited charging capacity of kancil's alternator. Not sure if your L500 with EFI engine has a higher capacity alternator. If yes, then hot-wired dashcam trick may work though, but still not recommended for long parking time like when go holiday.
TSadonhhk
post Oct 22 2024, 01:50 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 22 2024, 12:24 PM)
That is part and parcel of car ownership, you can only protect that much and the rest is up to someone up above.

Dashcams mostly get their power from ciggy port, so just make sure your kancil's ciggy port is still in good shape.

As for aesthetic thing, you can at least try to run the wires

a) front - if mirror dashcam - along the surround rubbers of door frame...... if dashboard mounted - easier to hide along the openings of dashboard panels
b) rear - run downward to carpet and along the door frames, then go up the rear backrest and door frame rubber. Can't hide much at the roof area though. If possible, try get those rear cam with mini 4pins connector, not RCA type for easier hiding.

As for external battery, don't think it is a feasible solution as again you will come back to limited charging capacity of kancil's alternator. Not sure if your L500 with EFI engine has a higher capacity alternator. If yes, then hot-wired dashcam trick may work though, but still not recommended for long parking time like when go holiday.
I googled got some lithium ion battery pack, but afraid too hot later explode inside car. haha

I don't want play with car battery, afraid ruin battery or fius later. sweat.gif

I guess parking just have to pray no stupid people bang car.

If rich can get those new car with parking mode and external battery built in.

WhatMan
post Oct 22 2024, 08:26 PM

1,623 posts

QUOTE(adonhhk @ Oct 19 2024, 07:42 PM)
I have a very old Kancil, I think early 2000.

Manual gear, no digital.

Any idea what dash cam would work? What brand and model should I get?

I prefer set with front and back cameras.

Best if the type that can monitor when parked, in case people hit my parked kancil. haha
Any modern dashcam can work with Kancil as long as you have the cigarette lighter slot power working.

No digital port required. See how this guy did it.

This post has been edited by WhatMan: Oct 22 2024, 08:34 PM
TSadonhhk
post Oct 23 2024, 01:08 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 22 2024, 08:26 PM)
Any modern dashcam can work with Kancil as long as you have the cigarette lighter slot power working.

No digital port required. See how this guy did it.

wow, thank you. notworthy.gif
Chrix
post Oct 23 2024, 08:06 AM

1,188 posts

ala 2000 je

my 80s car also using dashcam la but old B1W...else any cam from reputable brand will do

0.0212sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:47 PM