Thinking of getting an MT-07, Maintenance cost and issues?

alexei
post Oct 14 2024, 09:30 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

the bike is ok, commuter, do it all, reliable, unless you get a lemon or (very) ill maintained bike - suitable for daily, but depending on the road maybe you'll need wind protection and storage

two types, ABS and non-ABS
ABS is known to be intrusive, so if you're a manual car person, you might find this annoying

very basic, nothing spectacular - conventional forks, steel frame, axial brake calipers, halogen lamps

have a feel for the bike, test drive a few units to decide
not a beginner friendly bike, torquey and without rider assistance

180 rear tyre, so slightly more expensive to maintain in this regard, its competitors usually runs with 160 - SV650, Z650 etc

IMO: upgrades needed - suspension components, brake MC
alexei
post Oct 14 2024, 01:21 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

JPlaSMaY666 30km each way, highway or backroads?
alexei
post Oct 14 2024, 03:56 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Oct 14 2024, 03:44 PM)
Ah, thanks! I'll look into it and do my own reading. That's one of the things that worries me as I know the Dominar 400 is roughly 210kgs and yet only has a 400cc engine. But will look around to test it if I can.

When you mention vibrations at highway speed, wouldn't vibrations cause what's known as the 'death wobble' which could be dangerous for a Newbie like me? Hahah, granted I'm not sure how 120km/h feels like on a bike but I'll imagine for someone new, it'll be freaking scary. Hopefully it behaves if I stay below 120km/h..
numbing vibrations on handlebar, footpegs, seat

alexei
post Oct 14 2024, 10:43 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 14 2024, 06:31 PM)
I think you might want to read up what ABS does.

I think Alexei's choice of the words is misinterpreted. Alexei is no greenhorn when it comes to bikes. His complaint of ABS being intrusive only applies to riders that actually know how to use the brakes properly.

But yes, seasoned bikers prefer not to have ABS as they have the skill levels to properly handle the bike without any rider aids. I doubt it applies here. When you are not paying attention like he would be on the track, say when commuting and in the wet, then ABS is crucial.
is good to know the bike has ABS, but ride it like it doesn't have it

for the record, I don't ride on track, just an average rider with many years of riding experience and crashes haha

when MT07 with ABS first came out, I heard about its ABS intrusiveness a few times, and I think the rear ABS triggers easily, I'd say, probably 99% won't feel it

the front, would be another story... see this video from one local rider
I think FortNine made a video about slamming the front brake and causing something like this to happen

riding in the rain is another thing, for me, is to ride it like it doesn't have ABS and practice good safety sense - smooth input to the bike, avoid painted lines

alexei
post Oct 25 2024, 01:06 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Oct 25 2024, 11:12 AM)
Agreed. I'm sure I'll be able to find my preference once I start riding more. As of now, what I do know is I won't be getting a sports bike for sure.

I used to own a 1996 ZX9R and I learn-to-ride/ rode  around without a license more than 15 years back. Around my housing area only, mind you. Thought I could just wing it and learn on the way but dropping the 200+kg bike early on thought me a valuable lesson not to 'mess around and find out' as I could get myself or the people around me killed. Loads of 'fun moments' ensued but I sold off the bike before anything un-towards happened. Fun Fact: As heavy as it is, the bloody bike can give you a nasty shock if you accidentally let go of the clutch.

So this time round, I'm trying a ground up approach and taking steps to learn the right way, hopefully I'll learn to be a rider the right way.
I had a feeling you're not a newbie

alexei
post Oct 25 2024, 03:25 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Oct 25 2024, 02:52 PM)
I'm still a newbie.. TRUST ME. I only owned that bike for 6 months before selling it off as most times, I had to compose myself before taking it off the paddock stand and heading out. The power and sheer weight scared the crap out of me as I didn't have anyone guiding me and mind you, I had no license nor experience riding bikes what more big bikes.

I remember one particular incident where I took the bike out for a test ride around my taman. I fell as I was turning because the handlebars just locked up at an angle, I went down like a bag of bricks. Couldn't even get the bike up, and a few helpful souls at the opposite mamak had to come over and help lift the bike. Lucky I had a fullface on, but 'malu gila' time tu... sold the bike real soon after.

I'm determined to start off on the right foot this time. Proper training, mental preparation, on a bike I can build my confidence on. Hence all these questions. So yea, I'm very much a newbie hoping to learn all I can from all the sifus here  notworthy.gif
the ZX9R is a beginner's bike as much as the MT07, with similar torque number at 5~6k RPM
just different numbers after that RPM range, one goes up, the other goes down
alexei
post Oct 25 2024, 04:27 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Oct 25 2024, 03:39 PM)
Sure didn't feel like it to me especially for someone having never ridden a bike before. It was heavy as hell, with limited turning radius on the handlebars. Most of all, it felt big..WAY TOO BIG for me. Or it could just be my nerves.

And I've only ever went up to 2nd gear.

It took me awhile to figure out left leg controls the gearing and right controls the rear brakes. That's how much or a newbie I was. Even switching gears was a mystery for me with the bike dying a few times as I didn't know which gear I was in and if I am be shifting up or down.

In hindsight, I was lucky I didn't kill myself or anyone else jumping into something so dangerous without the proper preparation.
how did you buy it in the first place?
alexei
post Oct 26 2024, 07:14 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Oct 25 2024, 04:39 PM)
You're going to laugh at this but... after a bad breakup, I decided to buy a superbike off a nice chap from Mudah and my friend rode it home for me while I drove a car.

Young and Stupid of me. I thought I was invincible. Boy, did I learn quick once I felt the weight of the bike for the first time and doubts started creeping in. You know those moments where you're hit with that sudden realization and question your decision like, what have I done.
I'm laughing because you sold the bike

anyway, you're glad you're still alive
hope you enjoy re-learning to ride
alexei
post Nov 17 2024, 08:27 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Nov 17 2024, 11:37 AM)
One thing that caught me is always the 'bump' going up the titi and it takes me half a second to steady myself once I'm fully on it. As time in the driving school is always limited, does anyone have any other tips on how else I can practice the skills needed to pass this 'wall'? Hahah

Thanks Kawans!
line the bike straight before the line, then, go up faster
alexei
post Nov 21 2024, 09:48 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

during practice, the first time is the one that matters the most

This post has been edited by alexei: Nov 22 2024, 02:06 PM
alexei
post Mar 25 2025, 07:53 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Mar 25 2025, 10:07 AM)
Entering my 4th month of commuting on my bike. Have more or less acclimatized to riding on highways and motorcycle lanes with a more confidence than when I first started.

Some stuff things I would like to ask the sifus here though

- Each time I get on the bike, I still get that little uneasy feeling for absolutely no reason at all. I had these feelings when I first started commuting on the bike but I thought it was just greenhorn jitters but 4 months in with regular commutes 3 or 4 times a week, I still get that feeling albeit it's a lot lesser then when I started. Is this normal?

- While lane filtering/lane splitting, I could be going between 55kmh and 65kmh amidst slow or stopped cars but there will be speeding kapchais overtaking me and whizzing through, cutting dangerously. I do give way as soon as I notice people speeding and coming up fast behind me while lane splitting/lane filtering but these bikers will 'shoot the gap' no matter how tight the space is without allowing me to cut into the left or right lane. Am I doing something wrong? Am I going too slow? How fast is too fast to lane filter/lane split?

- Going on the motorcycle lane, I noticed some riders tend to cut during tight turns or through tunnels when it's clearly dangerous. It's quite unnerving especially when you're managing the turns and another bike just cuts into your lane forcing you to brake. I do ride based on traffic flow and I don't think I'm going too slow as I tend to overtake quite a bit especially when there are other bikes going slower than 60 - 70kmh. Is this something you guys faced as well when it comes to using the motorcycle lane?
your bike got "P"?
alexei
post Mar 26 2025, 10:38 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Mar 26 2025, 08:04 AM)
Takde boss, no 'P'... I do have an 'L' on my bike though.

Have been taking my sweet time with the 'mandatory' bike school hours because I felt I could learn so much more and faster having 'real world 'experience. Will however be taking my final 3 hours of classes this Sunday and hopefully book myself for the exams in a week or 2. Doakan saya, kawans kawans  notworthy.gif
yeah, that "L" is part of the reason for the hostility
be safe lah
alexei
post Apr 11 2025, 12:58 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Apr 11 2025, 11:49 AM)

So TLDR, I passed! and I want to thank you all for being part of this journey from Page 1 of this thread when I have no prior riding experience! You are all MVPs and part of what makes this community awesome!! notworthy.gif
congrats!
alexei
post May 29 2025, 09:05 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ May 28 2025, 11:55 AM)
Depends on people preferences I guess. tongue.gif
you've seen this, right?

alexei
post May 29 2025, 09:09 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

scars, are not cool, when they're not needed

This post has been edited by alexei: May 29 2025, 08:55 PM
alexei
post May 29 2025, 09:15 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

when choosing to ride, balance out riding aids, and protection

This post has been edited by alexei: May 29 2025, 08:56 PM
alexei
post Jun 4 2025, 12:27 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

get one that fits, and preferably CE rating
Five RFX-1 is good starting point
alexei
post Jul 3 2025, 10:21 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jun 30 2025, 02:22 PM)
Yea. For someone don't really owned a bike like you..will say like this.
Just individual preferences. Not hard feeling. biggrin.gif
I would encourage more ppl to ride, so when they drive, they know better

alexei
post Jul 4 2025, 10:03 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Jul 3 2025, 09:20 PM)
Yes..one of my childhood friend just become biker last year and he has went thru alot which he never get it when he driving car.
It also change some of his driving habit. flex.gif
congrats to that friend bruce.gif
alexei
post Sep 10 2025, 09:03 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Sep 9 2025, 11:38 PM)
TNT600..ok la this bike...very intro 4 cylinder..spare part dirt cheap... tongue.gif
you bila 4cyl?

0.0248sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:01 AM