Thinking of getting an MT-07, Maintenance cost and issues?

Voopoo
post Oct 16 2024, 03:21 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Oct 14 2024, 09:23 PM)
Right, something to add to the list of features I should be looking out for then. Which means the beginner bike that ticks all boxes is the Dominar.. Hahah, guess I know what to look out for now.

By the way, can anyone share their experiences starting out on their path to a B Full license? How was it in the beginning? And how long did it take for you to have the confidence to take it on the road for real?
i too have never rode a bike in my life and signed up for B full license right before c19. i was eyeing to purchase a 650 immediately but after reading and asking for opinions, i bought a light weight 250 instead as a leaner's bike . i've just gotten myself a 650 after 3 yrs of riding a 250

thinking back, I am glad i started off with a 250 instead of jumping straight to 650 else i would have dropped quite a number of times or maybe have an accident here and there.

i can still remember my adrenalin pumping when i see the road ahead jam pack of cars and i started out queueing behind cars alot.

you mentioned that you'll be using federal highway often meaning you'll be using the motorcycle lane. In my experience as a newbie, the m lane is narrow as heck and alot of kapchais will be flying past you during peak hours, hence being able to maintain a straight line allowing the other bikes to pass is crucial. no room for error man

This post has been edited by Voopoo: Oct 16 2024, 04:02 PM
Voopoo
post Oct 16 2024, 05:14 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 16 2024, 04:34 PM)
Yes indeed. Start off on a smaller cheap bike.

It's easier to build confidence and skill up faster than if you jumped right into a big bike that is too powerful, too heavy and too tall for your skill level.

Once you have managed to build the skills and confidence, then upgrade.
yes, thank you to all you sifus for your advise
after riding a 145 kg 250cc bike for 3 years and switched to a 200kg 650, the weight difference is huge....can immediately feel it during slow speed maneuver.
when i just got my L license, the weight of a bike didnt even cross my mind when i wanted to get a 650cc bike right from the start.
Voopoo
post Oct 17 2024, 12:09 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Oct 17 2024, 04:53 AM)
what is the 250cc you bhave rode back then?
CB250R, still riding it as my daily ride to work. Wasn't my plan to ride to work but due to the jam nowadays, i prefer riding than driving
Voopoo
post Oct 18 2024, 03:15 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Oct 17 2024, 09:03 PM)
How big of a jump was it when you moved up from the 250 to 650? I mean obviously the weight and power, but did it take you long to adjust? And for bikes to queue behind cars, how did you overcome that fear to start filtering between traffic?
I'm still in the process of breaking in the 650 and its an inline 4, not much low end torque but it is noticeably slightly more powerful than the single cylinder 250 during acceleration from a complete stop. can't give any comparison with a MT07 which has shitloads of low end torque. after a couple of rides, i am getting used to it, but there are things i won't do what i normally do on the 250 while riding in heavy/standstill traffic due to its weight. the 250 is far more forgiving compared to a 200 kg bike. I am able to hold the bike upright for mistakes i made due to it being lightweight and its a definite fall if its done on the 650 and its mistakes that i feel can only learn from experience( esp slow speed manuever/parking/u turn on slopes) , its not taught in institutes .

for getting rid of the fear of filtering between traffic. i only ride during weekends when there's not that many cars around and crazy kapchais speeding. and also practice slow speed manuevers especially a straight line at slow speed till i know i am ready to give it a go and it will progress naturally and the fear will eventually go away. just lots of practice.

just to share with you how i finally decided to start off with a 250 instead of a 650 is during my first lesson on the ER6N, everything was going well and i thought a 650 should be manageable for someone like me with 0 experience in riding a bike until i had a fall, front wheel was slightly turned and i grabbed the front brake to stop at very slow speed and down the bike went with no chance of holding the bike up due to its weight. that incident made me change my mind.

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Oct 17 2024, 09:06 PM)
Curious though, why ride then 250 when you have the 650? Hahah, wouldn't the whole reason for upgrading is so you can move up?
my commute is not on a highway where the lanes are alot wider than normal roads, my route is jalan gasing and old klang road and its always bumper to bumper/standstill traffic during peak hours and the distance between cars are small compared to filtering on a highway. the 250 is alot more easier to filter and cutting across from one side to another in a stand still traffic( doing a sharp 90 degree turn) . on the 650 i would imagine if i made a mistake i would have ended up landing on the car's front bonnet or the rear. its still doable but its just too much work for that plus with impatient kapchais queueing up behind you will only make things worse. will be using the 650 for weekend / long distance rides only

QUOTE(acid_head @ Oct 17 2024, 09:29 PM)
i love this bike. Mind to share how much you have bought? Is it hard to find the spare part as I read many people’s complaining the honda parts availability is a mess now.
I bought it brand new ard 24K, can't remember the exact figure. yes they were having issues with bringing in bikes and spare parts for 2 years for reasons that we do not know. but since the beginning of this year everything has resumed as normal. for spare parts you can also contact a seller(he's in the whatsapp group as well) that assist in bringing in original parts from thailand should you not want to purchase it from bigwing.

if you're interested in 2nd unit, the market price right now is around 10-12K and you still can nego with them. you can also join the whatsapp group for this bike to know more. So far i have yet to see anyone complaining about the bike and there's one rider who has rode it for > 100,000km with no issues
Voopoo
post Oct 21 2024, 11:51 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Oct 19 2024, 06:22 PM)

Let me guess, your 650 is CB650R?
His bike is CB250, not CBR 250. Is a naked bike.
nod.gif
Voopoo
post Nov 18 2024, 05:53 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 17 2024, 07:49 PM)
which driving school is this? usually they use er6n or z650.. mt07 is kinda unusual to be used in driving school here laugh.gif

like jaycee said, give a lil bit of speed before going up the bumb, then its all fine control between rear brake, clutch and throttle.

then you can start counting on the bridge '1001','1002','1003', until seven to since you need to stay on it for 7 seconds minimum.
i did mine in metro puchong. Learn using er6n but during test, i was given mt 07....totally different bike but no choice...
Voopoo
post Jan 6 2025, 02:01 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Jan 6 2025, 08:09 AM)
Thanks for sharing. All across the board, I've been hearing the MT-07 maintenance is pretty OK considering it's a bigger CC bike. And riding it in my school has given me a feel of what this bike can do. I'm starting to get why they call it the 'Master of Torque'. Hahah

By the way, I think everyone has their own definition of 'ride fast' la. For me, even 110km/h is considered fast but that's coming from a 'greenhorn' rider  sweat.gif

The chap who sold me my current bike did tell me, he's giving me 6 months at most and I'll start to realize the difference between a 250cc and the bigger CCs. With my current bike, I'm going up and down my gears but at the driving school, sad to say I've only needed to stay on 1st gear most times on the MT07. He further added, one year at most, I'll be looking to upgrade. Hahah, which is kinda true..

(By the way, I've managed to cross the 'Titi' consistently thanks to all your tips, kawans  notworthy.gif . How I just gotta nail it when I finally go for my JPJ exam. Hahah)
yes I too have the itch to upgrade as well after getting my license and riding the 250cc. after 3 years i gotten myself the 650 but after riding it for 6 months, i'll choose to ride my 250 in town compared to the 650. now i kinda understand why some said you'll enjoy riding smaller bikes after riding heavier bikes for a long period.
Voopoo
post Apr 30 2025, 03:44 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Apr 11 2025, 11:49 AM)
Wasn't at my best today as it was an eventful day yesterday. My bike refused to start when I wanted to head back yesterday and I ended up having to take the train home from PJ. Sampai rumah pukul 10pm.

t:
so what happened to your bike?
Voopoo
post May 26 2025, 12:30 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(selenium @ May 25 2025, 07:55 PM)
I am using a Shoei GT air 2. Even expensive - its worth every single penny
care to share how its worth every single penny for the premium pricing compared to other helmets such as scorpion, nexx, shark,etc?

0.0348sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:49 AM