Thinking of getting an MT-07, Maintenance cost and issues?

JustForFun
post Oct 13 2024, 03:05 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

The MT-07 is a great bike, the only concern is because you haven't been riding, you may not know how it feels like to handle a big bike in traffic vs mopeds, and what you truly need. Commuting with a big bike comes with some serious inconveniences, your bike isn't gonna be as nimble as the mopeds in traffic, you may not want to install a box on your bike due to aesthetic reasons, are you okay with it getting scratched and maybe even tipped over in a tight parking lot? Are you gonna do long distances travel and can you do it without a windshield? Do you want to clean and lube the chain more frequently during rainy seasons or you'd rather be riding a hassle-free scooter?

I'd suggest you start with something cheaper just to experience commuting with a bike, then work your way up after figuring out what's lacking with your bike that you wish it could do better, before thinking you can settle on your 'end game' bike to be honest. The most practical setup would always be a scooter/moped in the city + an ADV for long distance touring.

Edit: Also, don't forget that because it's your first time riding seriously, you will drop that bike (even seasoned riders do). And the coversets of big bikes cost thousands of ringgit.

This post has been edited by JustForFun: Oct 13 2024, 03:12 PM
JustForFun
post Oct 14 2024, 02:25 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

If you're gonna be weaving through a lot of traffic, get something light and nimble instead of the ER6N/Dominar 400. You can get used to it yes, but the ER6N will not let you cut through lanes like the Duke 390, the same way the 390 will not be as easy as a supermoped. Lighter weight trumps speed anytime of the day in the traffic, as you won't be able to move fast anyway while splitting lane.
JustForFun
post Oct 18 2024, 10:16 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 18 2024, 09:08 AM)
It's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than a fast bike slow.

That aside. Smaller lighter bike is just much easier to filter and cilok around KL traffic. Plus for the commute, you are not planning to hit big speeds anyway so a more efficient bike is welcome.

As for filtering. It's just like jumping into a cold swimming pool. You just have to decide to go through with it. KL drivers are used to bikes filtering so usually they will give you a wide berth. Smaller towns and city not so much...especially for big bikes. Simple matter of fact is, if you don't feel comfortable or safe filtering, just don't. Once you get more riding skill and confidence, it will come naturally...just as long you remember a big bike is a lot wider than a kapchai, especially if you have panniers sticking out beyond your handlebars.

As for rain riding. I usually just ride through it with or without rain gear. Just bring speeds down, stay off painted lines, allow for more braking distance... Standard stuff. But get a helmet with a pinlock.
And also the countless potholes and road bumps within the city. It just occured to me that it must be amazing to ride a scrambler within a city, you fly through potholes and tall bumps like they don't exist, and you ride through curbs and dividers of reasonable heights to make illegal U-turns, damn, must be fun af.

This post has been edited by JustForFun: Oct 18 2024, 10:16 AM
JustForFun
post Oct 18 2024, 10:09 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(Voopoo @ Oct 18 2024, 03:15 PM)
my commute is not on a highway where the lanes are alot wider than normal roads, my route is jalan gasing and old klang road and its always bumper to bumper/standstill traffic during peak hours and the distance between cars are small compared to filtering on a highway. the 250 is alot more easier to filter and cutting across from one side to another in a stand still traffic( doing a sharp 90 degree turn) . on the 650 i would imagine if i made a mistake i would have ended up landing on the car's front bonnet or the rear. its still doable but its just too much work for that plus with impatient kapchais queueing up behind you will only make things worse. will be using the 650 for weekend / long distance rides only
Gotta respect you for riding through Old Klang road, with a sportbike that has less turning radius no less. Tried it a couple of times and decided it's too dangerous for me, the stupid road design forces cars to merge left and right and during peak hours, and that's too dangerous for riders. By the way, does the police saman riders using the bus lane there during morning rush hours?

Btw, I think people have this false impression that filtering traffic is just going one straight line, but a lot of times you will come to these choke points where some cars are close to each other but not exactly parallel, so you'll have to flick your bike left and right fast to avoid knocking people's side mirror off. 200KG of metal will do you no good in such situation, and you better pray that the long queue of kapchais behind you are patient enough to not go crazy on their horns if you're stuck.
JustForFun
post Nov 21 2024, 06:53 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Nov 18 2024, 12:52 AM)
-  Lastly, don't fall from titi. As long you don't fall from titi, you will have 70% chance to pass the test. You are lucky if the JPJ officer forgot, lazy, tired & etc counting time.   icon_rolleyes.gif
This is true, my officer passed my test despite me only spending 6.5+ secs on the titi. I guess as long as you look stable enough, even if you don't reach 7 seconds they will still let it go.

But don't dread the titi, put in the hours there because it really teaches you how to balance your bike in slow speed condition, you'll need it when riding in jam.

This post has been edited by JustForFun: Nov 21 2024, 06:53 AM
JustForFun
post Jan 6 2025, 08:35 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Jan 6 2025, 08:09 AM)
Thanks for sharing. All across the board, I've been hearing the MT-07 maintenance is pretty OK considering it's a bigger CC bike. And riding it in my school has given me a feel of what this bike can do. I'm starting to get why they call it the 'Master of Torque'. Hahah

By the way, I think everyone has their own definition of 'ride fast' la. For me, even 110km/h is considered fast but that's coming from a 'greenhorn' rider  sweat.gif

The chap who sold me my current bike did tell me, he's giving me 6 months at most and I'll start to realize the difference between a 250cc and the bigger CCs. With my current bike, I'm going up and down my gears but at the driving school, sad to say I've only needed to stay on 1st gear most times on the MT07. He further added, one year at most, I'll be looking to upgrade. Hahah, which is kinda true..

Already looking at bikes to move up to and the few in my shortlist. 2nd Hand of course...
- MT07 V1
- Z900
- TNT 600

The MT07 still cost quite a fair bit on the second hand market even though it's quite an old bike with no ABS which is quite surprising. Don't understand why I should spend a chunk more money on the MT-07 when the Z900 could be had for a few thousand more and it comes with ABS as standard. The MT07 is light though, I'll give it that...

Oh well, guess I still have a few months more to go before deciding. Hopefully by mid year, the 2nd hand market will be a bit more reasonable..

(By the way, I've managed to cross the 'Titi' consistently thanks to all your tips, kawans  notworthy.gif . How I just gotta nail it when I finally go for my JPJ exam. Hahah)
ABS recently saved my life on the highway. Was riding at 100+kmh then a Bezza suddenly merged into my lane and forced me to emergency brake at that speed. I could feel very clearly my rear tyre was slowly sliding right while I try to keep my bike straight. Luckily for me it was all ok in the end, but it reminds me again that people will do stupid shit like that and I have to always be careful.
JustForFun
post Jan 6 2025, 09:11 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Jan 6 2025, 11:49 AM)
I don't speed that much but I always try to leave a 'safe gap' when I'm on the road
That was me when I first started, even had the good practice such as preloading my brake levers, and gone as far as a little honk when the space between cars get too tight. Now I just speed through everything, which is bad I know.

Sometimes you tend to get into an autopilot mode, especially when you are driving. Your mind wanders off to other things while you only have 20% maybe left on the drive/ride itself, that's when things get really dangerous.

I wouldn't get anything without ABS anymore, it's kinda like medical insurance, you may not need it all the time, but you'll be glad you have it when you need it.
JustForFun
post Feb 24 2025, 09:05 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Feb 24 2025, 07:47 AM)
By the way, what's the official take on the Federal Highway with a big CC bike? Motorcycle lane or no? How do you otais on bigger bikes find our motorcycle lanes?
I hated it in the beginning, but am starting to appreciate the safety of being away from the cars.

What I learned riding a 400cc (and a particularly light one) among the kapcais in motorcycle lane is that the kapzais will always be faster than big bikes at the turns as their bikes are a lot more flick-able due to the light weight and thinner tyres. However, you can utilize your power advantage in straight road to overtake them fast. Actually, if the sole purpose of your bike is to travel through the federal motorcycle lane, you will have worse experience upgrading to bigger bike simply due to the weight. Some of the tunnels are so tight and twisty that you have to ride really slow to be safe. Plus if you were riding a kapcai, you can speed through the potholes and road bump as much as you like since the front forks are cheap to replace... can't say the same for big bikes.
JustForFun
post Feb 25 2025, 02:16 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Feb 25 2025, 01:43 PM)
I keep an average speed of around 80 with burst of 100 on the straights in the motorcycle lane, all good and dandy. The problem comes when I commute on the actual highways, that's when you can really feel the 250cc being stressed pushing 115 (Dare not go faster also coz the bike seems light and shaky).. and this is where I really feel the limitations of the bike. All things considered, it's a nice bike to ride, just not when you hit the highways.

You know what they say la... no replacement for displacement  sweat.gif

For now, I'm just going to focus on riding techniques and also building on my roadcraft. But of course, keeping an eye out for bike deals and also reading up about bike issues and maintenance so I'll be better prepared once I take the jump to a bigger CC bike.
Biasness aside, I think the sweet spot is actually at 400cc. This is where you can still share tyre models with kapchais, giving you a lot of options even if you want to go cheap, and yet you're fast enough to overtake most vehicles on the road, and can cruise at 130-140 pretty easily.
JustForFun
post Feb 26 2025, 06:21 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Feb 26 2025, 05:56 PM)
Ok, I see where the confusion stems from. I understand front brakes are where most of the stopping power of the bike comes from.

Hahah and thanks for pointing it out. Let me clarify, I'm trying to say I've been exclusively using the front brakes only which is not the best way to stop the bike. Did not touch the rear brakes AT ALL.

What I meant was, I'm working/practicing towards learning how to use both front and rear brakes together which is a challenge to do right and something I'm learning as I'm told that's a skill that can help better control the bike and stop faster.

Even now, I'm only starting to keep the bike in gear with throttle while I'm taking turns. I used to have this bad habit of pulling the clutch during turns to smoothen out the engine braking which is dangerous as I'm told.

Loads to learn but I'm practicing as much as I can.
Like you, I actually tried to use rear brake also, but just last week my rear skidded because I was panicking to exit the lane and applied the rear brake in a turn.

I don't think I will ever try to use the rear brake much anymore... that introduces a complexity that I think I cannot handle in emergency situations.
JustForFun
post May 30 2025, 05:18 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 30 2025, 10:52 AM)
Yalar. But i'm more referring to people that daily their bikes to work wearing minimal protective gear. Regardless of higher speed highway use or not.

Most crashes are lower speed close to home (say 50-80kmh). Accidents like getting cut off, running into things. Protection is more for impact than slide. Crashes that would cause you to faceplant something.

People just loose concentration close to home and go on autopilot, both cars and bikers alike. I had more close calls 5km from home than in all my long rides and high speed runs. People are just tired from a day's work or just haven't fully woken up and distracted in the morning. In fact, my only accident to date (minor one) was someone rear ending me just 1km from home at the lights turning into my taman,at the row of shops where I usually do my small groceries runs by a fellow taman resident staying 2 streets over.

Fortunately I was on the was on the way back from work so I was in full gear. Even then, I got a few bruises and a sprained ankle from the bike falling on me. If I hadn't had my boots on, I might have ended up with a broken leg or foot or a broken wrist if not for my gloves. No lost skin. So, just saying.
What gloves do you wear for commute?

I'm also contemplating upgrading, but those really protective ones are leather which is not only not breathable but also makes handling the bike less enjoyable

JustForFun
post May 31 2025, 09:40 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

My current pair of gloves that I got back in 2021 when I started riding my EX5. The fabric is so thin that I may as well be riding with naked hands.

Time to get a pair of new gloves.
JustForFun
post Sep 9 2025, 06:56 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Sep 9 2025, 07:40 AM)
After nearly a year of riding, today marks a memorable day for me as I've moved up to the next comfortable level for me at 600cc. The power difference is quite drastic, keeping in mind my experience with larger CC bikes were confined to the driving school and friends who let me to take their bikes out for a quick spin around the block.
Congratulation, so what led you to the Benelli BN600 (if Google was accurate)?

And I remember you commute via federal right? How do you find the experience given such drastic change in motorcycle weight and size?
JustForFun
post Sep 12 2025, 08:16 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Sep 10 2025, 05:45 PM)
What is your route?
Sportbike, Superbike really not fun for daily commute.....

CBR user here.
Are you on the 250RR or 650/R?

CBR650R is on my list of potential upgrades, but 99% of my bike riding is also done within Klang Valley, so I am not sure if it'd be any good when I already find the Ninja 400 annoying sometimes in the city.

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Sep 12 2025, 05:22 PM)
I see.. I've been keeping to the left lane trying to get used to the wind. Haven't dared push the throttle yet but at 120km/h. I think the tension mostly comes from my lack of confidence as a new rider. I guess I have to go on more rides to acclimatize myself.

Ah, I don't dare overtake heavy vehicles unless I have a good healthy margin. Even driving my pickup truck also I can feel the 'turbulence' from these heavy vehicles sometimes. No joke.
Surely you would have ridden your Leoncino 250 at those speeds? I am surprised it sounded like a new experience to you.

The first ride after I got my bike from the shop, I rode it up to 150+kmh on my way home trying to find the top speed.
JustForFun
post Sep 15 2025, 01:40 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(JPlaSMaY666 @ Sep 14 2025, 09:42 AM)
Not exactly a new experience. Just that I've ridden my Leoncino at 110 - 120km/h before but never really got used to the feeling of going fast. Besides, on a 250cc, those speeds are already at the 'upper limit' of what the machine can do and the light weight + vibration does contribute to the insecurity i feel going at those speeds.
Think you're just not used to it. I used to ride 120-130 cruising on highway long distance for 2 hours straight, and it didn't require any technique at all, and I'm huge with an entry LS2 helmet so wind affects me a lot.

Your 600cc is gonna feel a lot more planted given the weight.

0.0185sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:18 AM