96 posts

This is my current RIG, I'm using..

Motherboard: Asus PRIME B450M-K
RAM: 16GB RAM HyperX
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Six-Core Processor
Current GPU : MSI GTX 1070 AERO ITX
Casing: Basic Cooler Master Casing - No idea of the model name
Power Supply : Cooler Master Elite V4 - 600W

Just planning to change the GPU.. What are my options or recommendations?

I'm currently looking at these 2 options.
1. Palit GeForce RTX 3070 Gaming Pro 8GB GDDR6 LHR
2. Gigabyte Radeon RX 6700 XT Gaming OC 12GB GDDR6

The PC is solely for playing games only. I work on another device. I play diablo 4, dota 2 and Destiny 2. Thanks.
littlegamer
post Oct 4 2024, 01:41 PM

666 posts

I think those specs are just fine with the games you are playing. No need to upgrade.

Wait for 2 more generations then direct up to Am5 or what is the mainstream by that time.

loki
post Oct 4 2024, 01:48 PM

2,109 posts

not much improvements in for the games you play. you need at least 4060/4070 to see any difference
whydoikeep doingthis
post Oct 4 2024, 02:25 PM

40 posts

paling penting monitor.....apa monitor pakai? kalau tak no point
wailam
post Oct 4 2024, 02:42 PM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

if you play RT games, Nvidia.
Non RT, AMD. They have RT core but lag behind nvidia
Not saying AMD is bad but in terms of ray trace games nvidia do it better.
So you gotta choose your games.
TristanX
post Oct 4 2024, 06:06 PM

Where is my stars?
24,353 posts

QUOTE(joblessman @ Oct 4 2024, 01:20 PM)

The PC is solely for playing games only. I work on another device. I play diablo 4, dota 2 and Destiny 2. Thanks.
Avoid 8GB or less GPUs. New games these days are more demanding with the VRAM.
babylon52281
post Oct 5 2024, 01:05 PM

2,706 posts

If you can get the RX 6700 XT, then its the better option. Later can upgrade to 5700X3D
Gargamel_gibson
post Oct 5 2024, 01:09 PM

526 posts

PSU not enough power. Upgrade PSU too
babylon52281
post Oct 5 2024, 03:20 PM

2,706 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Oct 5 2024, 01:09 PM)
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/radeo...x-6700-xt.c3695
Barely still can just under the wattage. Also 6000series takes well to undervolting.
Gargamel_gibson
post Oct 5 2024, 04:14 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 5 2024, 03:20 PM)
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/radeo...x-6700-xt.c3695
Barely still can just under the wattage. Also 6000series takes well to undervolting.
Barely can means not enough. Any surge and you are risking things. Can't over clock even slightly and next time if upgrade to 5600x3d also not enough.
babylon52281
post Oct 5 2024, 04:30 PM

2,706 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Oct 5 2024, 04:14 PM)
Barely can means not enough. Any surge and you are risking things. Can't over clock even slightly and next time if upgrade to 5600x3d also not enough.
Depends on usage. Gaming only doesnt draw full power
TSjoblessman
post Oct 8 2024, 03:57 AM

96 posts

Just a quick question, would it be recommended to change an entirely new CPU rather than upgrading it part by part?

Appreciate all the feedback above. Thank you so much.
gacktleong
post Oct 8 2024, 12:11 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Oct 5 2024, 01:09 PM)
Agree, never cheap out PSU
babylon52281
post Oct 8 2024, 12:52 PM

2,706 posts

QUOTE(joblessman @ Oct 8 2024, 03:57 AM)
Just a quick question, would it be recommended to change an entirely new CPU rather than upgrading it part by part?

Its a dated system alright. Not really good bones either. But for gaming ONLY i see some potential but it needs some work...

A GPU upgrade will be most obvious boost to game FPS.

CPU upgrade is obvious, a 65W 5700X will be fine but if you want to max out you could stick in a 5700x3d. However at stock it might throttle as the VRM are poor plus no heatsinks over them so if you do want to, stick some heatsinks over the VRM.

Undervolting will also help. Remember to update bios first with the 2600 if you go this route!

Then next is the PSU which as I said just barely enough, so if you boost that CPU you need a new PSU and the wattage depends on the GPU you want. Ideally a 650W bronze at least; MSI A650BN or FSP HV PRO 650W. Get the PSU with the CPU upgrade! Your 500W unit wont take both upgrade!

Then for storage if your using SATA SSD or HDD, an easy fix is to get Gen3 NVME SSD ie SX8200Pro or 970 Evo plus. Gen4 is a waste as mobo only until Gen3 but you could port that to next build.

So GPU > NVME SSD > CPU + PSU
k!nex
post Oct 9 2024, 11:49 AM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(joblessman @ Oct 8 2024, 03:57 AM)

The games you play , your current rig will do just fine.
Only upgrade when you are not happy with the performance of your current system. Don't upgrade for no clear objective.

Its not worth upgrading your current rig. I think its better that you build a new system altogether. Those GPU u listed mostly warranty over already, it's risky because many of those are from mining rigs during the peak crypto boom in 2020~2022.
Take the opportunity to migrate to Windows 11 as well since Win 10 is ending support next year.

chocobo7779
post Oct 12 2024, 09:31 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

6700XT - simply because the larger VRAM pool should work better in future games icon_idea.gif
But I think both GPUs are discontinued so buy with caution icon_idea.gif

Note: you will want a PSU (your current model is borderline garbage) and optionally a CPU upgrade to take full advantage of your new GPU icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Oct 12 2024, 10:20 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 8 2024, 12:52 PM)
Its a dated system alright. Not really good bones either. But for gaming ONLY i see some potential but it needs some work...

A GPU upgrade will be most obvious boost to game FPS.

CPU upgrade is obvious, a 65W 5700X will be fine but if you want to max out you could stick in a 5700x3d. However at stock it might throttle as the VRM are poor plus no heatsinks over them so if you do want to, stick some heatsinks over the VRM.

Undervolting will also help. Remember to update bios first with the 2600 if you go this route!

Then next is the PSU which as I said just barely enough, so if you boost that CPU you need a new PSU and the wattage depends on the GPU you want. Ideally a 650W bronze at least; MSI A650BN or FSP HV PRO 650W. Get the PSU with the CPU upgrade! Your 500W unit wont take both upgrade!

Then for storage if your using SATA SSD or HDD, an easy fix is to get Gen3 NVME SSD ie SX8200Pro or 970 Evo plus. Gen4 is a waste as mobo only until Gen3 but you could port that to next build.

So GPU > NVME SSD > CPU + PSU
On gaming loads it'll be fine - X3D chips are incredibly efficient at gaming, and I don't think they will stress the boards VRM much icon_idea.gif

The PSU on the other hand, it's borderline cap ayam quality and I definitely recommend TS to switch to a higher quality one icon_idea.gif

mike9407
post Nov 1 2024, 05:45 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 12 2024, 10:20 AM)
On gaming loads it'll be fine - X3D chips are incredibly efficient at gaming, and I don't think they will stress the boards VRM much icon_idea.gif

The PSU on the other hand, it's borderline cap ayam quality and I definitely recommend TS to switch to a higher quality one icon_idea.gif
4090 better
SUSroswell666
post Nov 3 2024, 09:42 PM

14 posts

oth GPUs you're considering are solid picks for gaming! I recently upgraded my GPU and went with the RTX 3070, and I've loved the performance, especially in games with ray tracing like Cyberpunk. It pairs really well with my Ryzen setup. The RX 6700 XT is also a great choice, especially with its extra VRAM, which can help in games like Dota 2. If you're planning to stick with titles like Diablo 4 and Destiny 2, either will serve you well, but I think the 3070 gives a bit more future-proofing.
mike9407
post Nov 4 2024, 01:39 PM

611 posts

Suggest rtx 4090

0.0242sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:59 PM