Electrical questions

TSSotsotzaii
post Oct 1 2024, 12:04 PM, updated 2y ago

2,531 posts

Hello. A little backstory, my house is a double storey Semi-D, currently on 1-phase, it's a 20+ years old house, 1 DB box at ground floor, 1 at 1st floor. As we do not have the budget to change to a bigger DB box, or to 3-phase.

My electrician recommends that to evenly spread out the electricity and have enough electricity for the entire house, by default there is already 2 DB BOX, one at the ground floor, one at the 1st floor, electrician recommends us that he will add 1 more DB BOX at the ground floor kitchen area, so the electrical appliances like fridge and washing machine, ground floor aircon and so on, will connect to this new DB BOX located at the back kitchen, so in total there will be 3 DB BOX. Is this method a better option and does it work like that ?

P/S - Not that I don't trust my electrician, I do, but I'm just seeking for 3rd party opinions, just to be on the safe side, because that extra DB box alone will costs 850.
COOLPINK
post Oct 1 2024, 12:15 PM

3,655 posts

How long have you been staying there?
Have u encountered any electrical problems before?

TSSotsotzaii
post Oct 1 2024, 12:16 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 1 2024, 12:15 PM)
How long have you been staying there?
Have u encountered any electrical problems before?
Actually I haven't stayed in there yet, it's currently under renovation, so far no electrical problems that I am aware of. But also because we aren't using much electricity.
COOLPINK
post Oct 1 2024, 12:21 PM

3,655 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Oct 1 2024, 12:16 PM)
Actually I haven't stayed in there yet, it's currently under renovation, so far no electrical problems that I am aware of. But also because we aren't using much electricity.
Well since its under renovation before you move in, yeah can consider adding another DB.

But if the previous owner has no problems then IMHO it would not be necessary unless you plan on installing like 10++ aircon, heater, dryer....

kitsunegeisha
post Oct 1 2024, 12:23 PM

250 posts

change 3 phase better
TSSotsotzaii
post Oct 1 2024, 12:25 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(kitsunegeisha @ Oct 1 2024, 12:23 PM)
change 3 phase better
Not enough budget tongue.gif 3-phase easily costs 2-3K, excluding TNB's deposit.

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Oct 1 2024, 12:21 PM)
Well since its under renovation before you move in, yeah can consider adding another DB.

But if the previous owner has no problems then IMHO it would not be necessary unless you plan on installing like 10++ aircon, heater, dryer....
In total the house will have maximum of 5 aircons, 2 at ground floor, 3 at 1st floor, in this case, is it necessary to add 1 more new DB box at ground floor ?
Zot
post Oct 1 2024, 12:27 PM

7,934 posts

Evenly spread out electricity? Not sure what he meant by that but a DB (Distribution Box) is a point where power is distributed and nothing to do with evenly distribute electricity. Not sure he meant something else smile.gif

My house is like your about same age and originally comes with only 1 DB, but I added one more DB Box at the kitchen so that it is easier/shorter to pull wires from there to rooms at the back of the house with no A/C outlet. Another reason also is to have 20A point for my induction/ceramic hobs. I did not have separate DB upstairs like yours.

Yes, you add DB because your existing one maybe almost full and like my case, it is way more easier to pull wire to nearer DB than to pull up from front of the house. I pulled big cable along rooftop to the back going up and down through riser with help from my friend during some renovation before I moved in. Saved lots of money. laugh.gif

If house is already occupied, you probably do not want to pull multiple long wire to the back of the house. Long wire means more power loss too.
TSSotsotzaii
post Oct 1 2024, 12:29 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 1 2024, 12:27 PM)
Evenly spread out electricity? Not sure what he meant by that but a DB (Distribution Box) is a point where power is distributed and nothing to do with evenly distribute electricity. Not sure he meant something else  smile.gif

My house is like your about same age and originally comes with only 1 DB, but I added one more DB Box at the kitchen so that it is easier/shorter to pull wires from there to rooms at the back of the house with no A/C outlet. Another reason also is to have 20A point for my induction/ceramic hobs. I did not have separate DB upstairs like yours.

Yes, you add DB because your existing one maybe almost full and like my case, it is way more easier to pull wire to nearer DB than to pull up from front of the house. I pulled big cable along rooftop to the back going up and down through riser with help from my friend during some renovation before I moved in. Saved lots of money.  laugh.gif

If house is already occupied, you probably do not want to pull multiple long wire to the back of the house. Long wire means more power loss too.
I seem to remember my electrician talking about adding a new DB box in the kitchen so that the wiring doesn't have to pull from the main DB box that is located at the front, he also say pulling wires that is long will add much more costs to it, so I think I get ur point.

As for the reason to add a new DB box, he simply say that it's so the back portion of the house and the back room, including electrical appliances and aircon, all connects to this new DB box, so it doesn't overload the front DB box, does that make sense ?
Zot
post Oct 1 2024, 12:31 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Oct 1 2024, 12:25 PM)
Not enough budget  tongue.gif  3-phase easily costs 2-3K, excluding TNB's deposit.
In total the house will have maximum of 5 aircons, 2 at ground floor, 3 at 1st floor, in this case, is it necessary to add 1 more new DB box at ground floor ?
Ops I missed additional info that your house is under renovation. DB box is not something necessary but more systematic layout I guess.

The normal power to a single phase is 63A by TNB if not mistaken, but you can request for 100A. My house is also single phase. Not using much electricity.
TSSotsotzaii
post Oct 1 2024, 12:34 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 1 2024, 12:31 PM)
Ops I missed additional info that your house is under renovation. DB box is not something necessary but more systematic layout I guess.

The normal power to a single phase is 63A by TNB if not mistaken, but you can request for 100A. My house is also single phase. Not using much electricity.
So technically for my case, it's not necessary to add 1 more new DB box ?
Zot
post Oct 1 2024, 12:37 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Oct 1 2024, 12:29 PM)
I seem to remember my electrician talking about adding a new DB box in the kitchen so that the wiring doesn't have to pull from the main DB box that is located at the front, he also say pulling wires that is long will add much more costs to it, so I think I get ur point.

As for the reason to add a new DB box, he simply say that it's so the back portion of the house and the back room, including electrical appliances and aircon, all connects to this new DB box, so it doesn't overload the front DB box, does that make sense ?
I would not say overload. The incoming cable is big cable and the main CB will protect it from overload. Each 4mm wire point to point can go up to 32A but the MCB rated at 20A is protecting it.

For me, if you are troubleshooting something a the back of the house, you do not need to run all the way to the front to on and off the MCB since you have DB at the back laugh.gif
Zot
post Oct 1 2024, 12:41 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Oct 1 2024, 12:34 PM)
So technically for my case, it's not necessary to add 1 more new DB box ?
Theoretically it is not a must but since you are renovating I think why not?

If you want to add more sockets in future at the back of the house, would you want to hack wall from back to front of the house to have concealed wiring or just short hack at the back of the house? smile.gif
TSSotsotzaii
post Oct 1 2024, 12:47 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 1 2024, 12:41 PM)
Theoretically it is not a must but since you are renovating I think why not?

If you want to add more sockets in future at the back of the house, would you want to hack wall from back to front of the house to have concealed wiring or just short hack at the back of the house?  smile.gif
QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 1 2024, 12:37 PM)
I would not say overload. The incoming cable is big cable and the main CB will protect it from overload. Each 4mm wire point to point can go up to 32A but the MCB rated at 20A is protecting it.

For me, if you are troubleshooting something a the back of the house, you do not need to run all the way to the front to on and off the MCB since you have DB at the back  laugh.gif
Yeah that makes sense. But all in all, my main question is, whether adding 1 more new DB box at the back kitchen, where the rest of the electricals etc connects to this new DB box, helps to provide more electricity than to compare the use of 1 default DB box at the front ?
cawan
post Oct 1 2024, 12:48 PM

404 posts

here new housing, single phase. renovation suggest that to add 1 db box if need to extend kitchen area. for sure to support w.machine, dryer, cooker, etc. likely same as ur case
Zot
post Oct 1 2024, 12:52 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Oct 1 2024, 12:47 PM)
Yeah that makes sense. But all in all, my main question is, whether adding 1 more new DB box at the back kitchen, where the rest of the electricals etc connects to this new DB box, helps to provide more electricity than to compare the use of 1 default DB box at the front ?
Simple answer is adding more DB will not add more power to your house more than what TNB provided to you. If need more power, then change to 3-phase. That will keep balance power distribution to TNB, not you laugh.gif
TSSotsotzaii
post Oct 1 2024, 12:57 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 1 2024, 12:52 PM)
Simple answer is adding more DB will not add more power to your house more than what TNB provided to you. If need more power, then change to 3-phase. That will keep balance power distribution to TNB, not you  laugh.gif
Ahh ok. So actually what does adding a new DB box does for the house ?

QUOTE(cawan @ Oct 1 2024, 12:48 PM)
here new housing, single phase. renovation suggest that to add 1 db box if need to extend kitchen area. for sure to support w.machine, dryer, cooker, etc. likely same as ur case
Oh yes, forgot to mention, I extended the kitchen area out, including a room.
Zot
post Oct 1 2024, 02:08 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Oct 1 2024, 12:57 PM)
Ahh ok. So actually what does adding a new DB box does for the house ?

It is just a distribution point. Already replied in Post #12 on purpose.
COOLPINK
post Oct 1 2024, 03:19 PM

3,655 posts

Not enough budget  tongue.gif  3-phase easily costs 2-3K, excluding TNB's deposit.
if the existing electrical points is sufficient for your planned electrical appliances then it would not be necessary to add another DB.

But as i said since under renovation yeah u can consider it.
Another DB would be convenient but its also a double edge sword as you have another DB for future preventive maintenance for those breakers inside.

Btw i have seen those old old 2 story bungalows with only 1 DB so the number of DB does not necessarily correlate with house size.

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Oct 1 2024, 03:24 PM
Human Nature
post Oct 1 2024, 03:47 PM

- student of human nature -
26,519 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Oct 1 2024, 12:04 PM)
Hello. A little backstory, my house is a double storey Semi-D, currently on 1-phase, it's a 20+ years old house, 1 DB box at ground floor, 1 at 1st floor. As we do not have the budget to change to a bigger DB box, or to 3-phase.

My electrician recommends that to evenly spread out the electricity and have enough electricity for the entire house, by default there is already 2 DB BOX, one at the ground floor, one at the 1st floor, electrician recommends us that he will add 1 more DB BOX at the ground floor kitchen area, so the electrical appliances like fridge and washing machine, ground floor aircon and so on, will connect to this new DB BOX located at the back kitchen, so in total there will be 3 DB BOX. Is this method a better option and does it work like that ?

P/S - Not that I don't trust my electrician, I do, but I'm just seeking for 3rd party opinions, just to be on the safe side, because that extra DB box alone will costs 850.
What would be the cost without the extra DB at the kitchen, ie pulling wires from main DB for all your kitchen appliances?

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 1 2024, 03:47 PM
SUSceo684
post Oct 2 2024, 12:07 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

No need. Its LPPL lah but if there are a lot of runs frm existing DB that are different floor, then only consider sub DB. For few circuits tak payah new sub DB.

0.0192sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:08 AM