Why not rent?

jrshow
post Sep 26 2024, 11:32 AM

2,186 posts

**For family**
sugguest to buying a own house, so that you can be more generous to renovate the house and make it more comfortable to stay, whereas if rent, the house condition will not be that good. of course have to be apple to apple. if you want to rent a good renovate house the rental wil be high as well

***for single***
i agree to rent a house, because there is many bills to pay,
November11
post Sep 26 2024, 11:35 AM

164 posts

Reading thru the comments, I agree with the comment contributors that renting is a good option for you guys 👍🏻

Anyway, I still want to buy property. Otherwise, who going to rent to you guys !!!
egeokow
post Sep 26 2024, 11:39 AM

no1ask
376 posts

buy house before age 30, settle in age 60. if rent until age 60, do u think any owner will rent to u while u in that age? no job and still need pay rent.
Rinth
post Sep 26 2024, 11:39 AM

1,263 posts

Seriously i really wished that moving forward more and more Gen Z / Alpha / beta just focus on renting.

When more ppl are keen towards renting, rents will only go up, and my properties price will appreciate and able to sell higher to investor when i exit.
TSnauticat99
post Sep 26 2024, 12:14 PM

587 posts

Looking at the current property developments, I don’t foresee rentals going to go up anytime soon. Too many condos being built near the city or further away from the cities. I am no property expert, just based on observations past 20 years, don’t think the overhang is going to clear soon.
15cm
post Sep 26 2024, 12:14 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Sep 26 2024, 11:39 AM)
Seriously i really wished that moving forward more and more Gen Z / Alpha / beta just focus on renting.

When more ppl are keen towards renting, rents will only go up, and my properties price will appreciate and able to sell higher to investor when i exit.
rent price can go up without sale price going up

like right now

also just because people rent doesnt mean they are not price sensitive
icemanfx
post Sep 26 2024, 01:34 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(egeokow @ Sep 26 2024, 11:39 AM)
buy house before age 30, settle in age 60. if rent until age 60, do u think any owner will rent to u while u in that age? no job and still need pay rent.
With money saved and invested could buy a small retirement home in many places e.g thailand, philippines, tuscany, etc.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Sep 26 2024, 01:35 PM
TSnauticat99
post Sep 26 2024, 01:39 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 26 2024, 01:34 PM)
With money saved and invested could buy a small retirement home in many places e.g thailand, philippines, tuscany, etc.
One of the plus point- not stuck to one place forever. Can move wherever and whenever. When really too old to move, check in to the nursing home.
lonely66
post Sep 26 2024, 01:50 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Sep 26 2024, 10:26 AM)
That’s exactly why I said rent is a better option than owning properties. A few of my neighbours paid 4-5 k per month for their house instalments but can only rent their units for 2-2.5 k.  Imagine their losses over 30 years and vice versa your savings if you rent instead.
I forgot to add in the mandatory property maintenance charge by management plus your own wear and tear repair. That could work out and extra 500-700 per month.
if installment 5k collect rent 3k actually considers as total loss already ...

cause for the first 10 year of your installment about 60% of it actually you are paying the interest ..

Jagalat
post Sep 26 2024, 05:38 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(November11 @ Sep 26 2024, 12:35 PM)
Reading thru the comments, I agree with the comment contributors that renting is a good option for you guys 👍🏻

Anyway, I still want to buy property. Otherwise, who going to rent to you guys  !!!

Aiyo.... you reveal an investent recipe already...
rjmsfire
post Sep 26 2024, 08:40 PM

77 posts

You will have to save and invest sufficiently, otherwise you may have problem paying rent when you're no longer working. And with inflation, rental when you're old will be much higher than today's rates. Ditto if you want to go to a nold folks home. Home ownership gives peace of mind that you'll have a roof over your head when you're old.
bryan_x00
post Sep 27 2024, 01:53 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(rjmsfire @ Sep 26 2024, 08:40 PM)
You will have to save and invest sufficiently, otherwise you may have problem paying rent when you're no longer working. And with inflation, rental when you're old will be much higher than today's rates. Ditto if you want to go to a nold folks home. Home ownership gives peace of mind that you'll have a roof over your head when you're old.
Rent have been stagnant for many years
bryan_x00
post Sep 27 2024, 01:55 PM

1,228 posts

No job no savings no money to pay for maintenance of your house at 60 also gg
elimi8z
post Sep 27 2024, 03:31 PM

940 posts

QUOTE(bryan_x00 @ Sep 27 2024, 01:55 PM)
On average, maintenance fees of flats, apartments and condos still cheaper than rent. If no money pay maintenance, just default until JMB petition for auction. I’m sure you wouldn’t outlive that
elimi8z
post Sep 27 2024, 03:34 PM

940 posts

Also, gahmen released a reverse mortgage scheme for retirees, remortgage to them, u still can live on the prop till you pass then they’ll kautim it. If no asset, build what equity?
egeokow
post Sep 27 2024, 06:00 PM

no1ask
376 posts

QUOTE(bryan_x00 @ Sep 27 2024, 01:55 PM)
when im 60 i only pay few hundred for maintainance only, and u still need to pay few thousand for rent. which one more worth? remind : if u reach 60 do u think people still rent to u?
bryan_x00
post Sep 27 2024, 07:10 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(elimi8z @ Sep 27 2024, 03:31 PM)
On average, maintenance fees of flats, apartments and condos still cheaper than rent. If no money pay maintenance, just default until JMB petition for auction. I’m sure you wouldn’t outlive that
Ops maintenance for 30 years old house. Not maintenance fee ya.
bryan_x00
post Sep 27 2024, 07:13 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(egeokow @ Sep 27 2024, 06:00 PM)
when im 60 i only pay few hundred for maintainance only, and u still need to pay few thousand for rent. which one more worth? remind : if u reach 60 do u think people still rent to u?
U paid mortgage for until 60 years the difference say 1k + repair + insurance + mgmt fee + assessment etc compare u rent so saved those expenses. Those u saved not enough for you to pay rent after you're 60?
bryan_x00
post Sep 27 2024, 07:29 PM

1,228 posts

I Kasi u 6 months deposit + sharp sharp every month 1st day transfer rental to you. You don't want rent to me?
wsoon82
post Sep 27 2024, 08:04 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Sep 26 2024, 09:56 AM)
Why need to buy a house most of the time is because we tend to keep old midset inherit from previous generation. Like our parents most of them buying a house and they expect children do the same. But when the time parents bought house 30 years ago the house price is very cheap.

Imagine buying a 500k house now after 35 years paid total we paid will be almost double. If buying a landed house maybe after 35 years can sell 700k or maybe 1m and yet we actually not earning (total paying principal + interest will be 1m). Worse for high rise because house price down after 15 years built especially for high rise built after 2015. How many of us willing to pay 500k for a second hand high rise with age more than 35?

500k high rise mean monthly instalment 2300 + 200 (maintenance fee) will be 2500. If we rent the unit at 1500 and save up the 1000 put into KWSP account. 35 years later your KWSP account will be about 1.2m (yearly 5.5% dividend). This is saving from instalment, if with our monthly salary withdrawal add on it is easily surpass 2m.
You calculation is misleading, you won't get to rent a 500k unit at the same rate for 35 years. Real life example is I bought a 22x85 unit 7 years ago net 913k, got key 4 years ago. This year my friend was "forced" to buy a nearby 22x70 unit at 10% higher net price. He said no choice. At this point, the rental can already cover my installments if I rent out because I bought earlier at better price.
I am sure 35 years later you will think 500k property is dirt cheap, and why you didn't buy when it was at 500k.
There are thousands of discussions here whether to buy or rent, won't get a conclusion. I can only say I will advise my kids to buy for many reasons.

This post has been edited by wsoon82: Sep 27 2024, 08:11 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0201sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:59 PM