Xiaohongshu, China’s answer to Instagram

TS30624770
post Sep 24 2024, 03:16 PM, updated 2y ago

269 posts

KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 24 — If you are Chinese Malaysian and fluent in Mandarin, chances are you have a Xiaohongshu account.

According to Xiaohongshu’s official data as of February 2023, there are more than 2.5 million Xiaohongshu users in Malaysia, which is the second highest country outside of China after Taiwan.

By rough calculation, that would mean over 36.7 per cent of Malaysia’s overall ethnic Chinese population of 6.8 million are registered Xiaohongshu users.

Dubbed China’s answer to Instagram — which is blocked by Chinese regulators — and serving as a product search engine, Xiaohongshu boasts roughly 312 million monthly active users in 2023, making it the fastest-growing social media platform in China.

At present, the platform serves as a go-to space for user-generated content, digital community-building and word-of-mouth advertising.

The home feed features three tabs to display Following, Explore and Nearby content that is personalised, based on the user’s interests, location, and behaviour on the platform. — Screenshots of Xiaohongshu app
So wait... tell us more about Xiaohongshu

Xiaohongshu, which translates to “Little Red Book” — not to be confused with Chairman Mao Zedong’s famous text which shares the same name — is commonly referred to as XHS in the local Malaysian context.

Founded in Shanghai by Miranda Qu and Charlwin Mao back in 2013, the early iteration of the app functioned as an online guide for users to review products and share their shopping experiences with the community.

Its early focus on fashion and beauty trends saw its user base of over 90 per cent predominantly made up of urban, young and highly-educated women in its early years.

While the vast majority of active users are confined on the mainland, the influence of the app also boasts a reach extending to the wider Chinese diaspora elsewhere like those residing in Malaysia or Singapore.

Though it may lack the global name recognition of Western social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram or X, Xiaohongshu has since become the go-to platform for Millennials (those born 1981 to 1996) and Gen Z (those born 1997 to 2012) Mandarin-speaking communities since its launch.

In Malaysia, Xiaohongshu is predominantly utilised by its users to discuss topics of common concern including sharing of user-based content like work life, food, travel and fashion and even semi-taboo topics like domestic disputes or relationships.

Why is it so well-liked?

While many Western social networks were created to keep up with friends’ lives, most Xiaohongshu users use the platform to search and share new products and services; post product or service reviews based on personal experiences or even gossip about local happenings.

But what truly sets it apart from other platforms such as Instagram or Pinterest is that it also allows long-form articles and a strong focus on e-commerce where local businesses have used the platform to promote their establishments.

Xiaohongshu’s “game changer” algorithm—users often cite its precision and effectiveness in detecting their content preference—is a big part of the app’s allure.

This “algorithm” serves as a recommendation system responsible for curating a user’s uniquely personalised “For You” page that matches their interests.

Xiaohongshu search result on 'food' showing various search-related user-generated content. — Screenshots of Xiaohongshu app
At present, Xiaohongshu e-commerce features are still restricted for domestic users within China and users outside of China including Malaysia are unable to purchase products from within the app.

TLDR: As one of the fastest growing social media and e-commerce platforms that combines lifestyle inspiration and social media marketing alongside communities of influencers, content creators and consumers both locally and internationally, Xiaohongshu has become a must-have Chinese marketing channel for businesses.

https://www.msn.com/en-my/news/national/a-l...bab17ea8b&ei=15
MasBoleh!
post Sep 24 2024, 03:18 PM

3,599 posts

It's more than IG. It's like IG+ Pinterest
Raddus
post Sep 24 2024, 03:19 PM

239 posts

The app got english or not
TS30624770
post Sep 24 2024, 03:20 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ Sep 24 2024, 04:19 PM)
If you can't read Chinese, no point download it
keyser soze
post Sep 24 2024, 03:22 PM

569 posts

I read chinese but not interested to download.
WhiteMaker
post Sep 24 2024, 03:22 PM

158 posts

Need English version so that can spy on banana
nelson969
post Sep 24 2024, 03:26 PM

321 posts

glorified flex
kaizoku30
post Sep 24 2024, 03:27 PM

86 posts

Can kutuk xipeepee o not first?
DValentine
post Sep 24 2024, 03:34 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ Sep 24 2024, 03:19 PM)
english version?

lemon8 by bytedance
pobox
post Sep 24 2024, 03:35 PM

551 posts

I don't have
DValentine
post Sep 24 2024, 03:35 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(kaizoku30 @ Sep 24 2024, 03:27 PM)
Can kutuk xipeepee o not first?
dont bodo pls

u kutuk CCP in CCP apps

u bodo?

U KUTUK HARINI KENA BAN SEMALAM
iSean
post Sep 24 2024, 03:37 PM

iz old liao.
4,503 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 24 2024, 03:18 PM)
IG with Facebook Photo replies + Useful Searches.

Unlike IG. yawn.gif
MasBoleh!
post Sep 24 2024, 03:39 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Sep 24 2024, 03:37 PM)
IG with Facebook Photo replies + Useful Searches.

Unlike IG.  yawn.gif
kannn.. and a lot of malaysian love to go there to flex biggrin.gif but also a lot of useful informations.
adamw
post Sep 24 2024, 03:42 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 24 2024, 03:39 PM)
kannn.. and a lot of malaysian love to go there to flex  biggrin.gif  but also a lot of useful informations.
I only see a lot of idiots posting things for likes! And some F&B posters has ulterior motives so never even bother to download!

This post has been edited by adamw: Sep 24 2024, 03:42 PM
msacras
post Sep 24 2024, 03:44 PM

1,767 posts

I must be not cainis enough as I don’t have tiktok nor XHS.
MR_alien
post Sep 24 2024, 03:45 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

no i don't have an acocunt in XHS...i found out there's a lot of useless, pointless video there
MasBoleh!
post Sep 24 2024, 03:46 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Sep 24 2024, 03:42 PM)
I only see a lot of idiots posting things for likes! And some F&B posters has ulterior motives so never even bother to download!
Yep, a lot of F&B post their advertisement in XHS, which is very effective. Because that's how PRC's tourists able to know them and goes to their eateries.

I have knew some local eateries that are mediocre but flocks with PRC tourists, they all said they knew the shop from XHS
MasBoleh!
post Sep 24 2024, 03:46 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Sep 24 2024, 03:44 PM)
I must be not cainis enough as I don’t have tiktok nor XHS.
u have douyin mou?
adamw
post Sep 24 2024, 03:47 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 24 2024, 03:46 PM)
Yep, a lot of F&B post their advertisement in XHS, which is very effective. Because that's how PRC's tourists able to know them and goes to their eateries.

I have knew some local eateries that are mediocre but flocks with PRC  tourists, they all said they knew the shop from XHS
Scammers, get people to post 5 star reviews but the food sucks!
DValentine
post Sep 24 2024, 03:48 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 24 2024, 03:46 PM)

I have knew some local eateries that are mediocre but flocks with PRC  tourists, they all said they knew the shop from XHS
whistling.gif u dunno their paid post is even toxic than fb ig

This post has been edited by DValentine: Sep 24 2024, 03:49 PM
JasonthegreatTWO
post Sep 24 2024, 03:49 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Sep 24 2024, 03:35 PM)
dont bodo pls

u kutuk CCP in CCP apps

u bodo?

U KUTUK HARINI KENA BAN SEMALAM
Nanti kena meet XJP in China to answer like the guy from TikTok answer to US senate
SUSredic

330 posts

CCP apps

zero freedom of speech

fk sohai CCP
karazure

70 posts

xhs...more like another toxic for society
DValentine
post Sep 24 2024, 03:50 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(JasonthegreatTWO @ Sep 24 2024, 03:49 PM)
Nanti kena meet XJP in China to answer like the guy from TikTok answer to US senate
sorry we dont do that in commies land

either u follow our script:

-say agenda MURICA
-write apology letter and cry
-masuk re-education aka brainwash camp
Autocountstick
post Sep 24 2024, 03:51 PM

675 posts

i delete IG showoff luxury, now use littleredbook, FB still useful
MegaCanonF
post Sep 24 2024, 04:05 PM

875 posts

got kyky?
fantasy1989
post Sep 24 2024, 04:07 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Sep 24 2024, 03:22 PM)
I read chinese but not interested to download.
quite famous to new gen

my friend kid 7 8 years old all see xhs

fb is for grandma
insta is for aunty
chinti
post Sep 24 2024, 04:10 PM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Sep 24 2024, 03:18 PM)
many lenglui amoi there hngggh
il0ve51
post Sep 24 2024, 04:13 PM

1,054 posts

XHS too many fake review
dennis008
post Sep 24 2024, 04:13 PM

545 posts

alot good info there though...
comment also not as toxic as ig and tiktok
DValentine
post Sep 24 2024, 04:23 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(dennis008 @ Sep 24 2024, 04:13 PM)
alot good info there though...
comment also not as toxic as ig and tiktok
talk cock la

jilat ccp syok sendiri punya comment berlambak,

racist sama yindia punya comment pun sama
MasBoleh!
post Sep 24 2024, 04:31 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Sep 24 2024, 03:47 PM)
Scammers, get people to post 5 star reviews but the food sucks!
A lot of them, posting there to cheat the PRC lol.

QUOTE(DValentine @ Sep 24 2024, 03:48 PM)
whistling.gif u dunno their paid post is even toxic than fb ig
And it is super big money there for local digital marketing companies

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 24 2024, 04:10 PM)
many lenglui amoi there hngggh
Damn right !!! both local and oversea... sometimes got taiwanese also biggrin.gif
KitZhai
post Sep 24 2024, 04:31 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Sep 24 2024, 04:20 PM)
If you can't read Chinese, no point download it
There is. Instead of someone that read it, I can be someone that makes people read me.

Problem is I can't even read the apps
vhs
post Sep 24 2024, 08:42 PM

90 posts

Word for word, red book should be a match for face book.

kons
post Sep 24 2024, 09:22 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

nowadays many are using xhs to show off their stuff. sort of like fb. instead of constructive post/comments...
Koranshita
post Sep 24 2024, 09:25 PM

435 posts

Xhs better than TikTok full or retard
p4n6
post Sep 24 2024, 09:29 PM

5,974 posts

Used by CCP to influence election jeng jeng jeng…

0.0245sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:09 AM