Continental MC7 vs Michelin Primacy 4

TSVroomtyres
post Sep 20 2024, 03:30 PM, updated 11 months ago

Hi guys, as my tyres are almost botak, so was thinking to choose between continental mc7 or the Michelin primacy 4 (currently using uc6) the reason of comparing between these 2 diff range tyres is because of their similar prices. Which one performs better in term of wet and dry grip, comfort, and noise? I’m mostly driving around klang valley and sometimes abit of fun driving, only crossing states 1-2 times a year. TIA
Scissorshand
post Sep 21 2024, 11:27 PM

1,691 posts

Both has what you need except primacy goes the distance
TSVroomtyres
post Sep 28 2024, 04:05 PM

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Sep 21 2024, 11:27 PM)
Both has what you need except primacy goes the distance
Meaning MC7 and Primacy 4 has the same level of grip?

ktek
post Sep 29 2024, 12:37 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

both are not high grip choice
TSVroomtyres
post Oct 6 2024, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 29 2024, 12:37 PM)
both are not high grip choice
If for normal street use, should be more than enough?

ktek
post Oct 6 2024, 05:20 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

enough.i wont say more than enough
lifespan is good
TSVroomtyres
post Oct 9 2024, 05:32 PM

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 6 2024, 05:20 PM)
enough.i wont say more than enough
lifespan is good
I see.. Thanks for the info man!

Scissorshand
post Oct 12 2024, 10:29 PM

1,691 posts

littlefire
post Oct 14 2024, 03:34 PM

2,712 posts

Both are different category, why compare apple with orange?

MC7 = UHP
Primacy 4 = Premium Touring tires

Want comfort, less noise get Primacy 4, want better grip, traction in corners get MC7.
autodriver
post Nov 19 2024, 08:25 AM

404 posts

MC7 is considered as entry UHP like Bridgestone RE004. A lot of tyres named as UHP but there are entry level and high end UHP.
littlefire
post Nov 19 2024, 09:10 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Nov 19 2024, 09:25 AM)
MC7 is considered as entry UHP like Bridgestone RE004. A lot of tyres named as UHP but there are entry level and high end UHP.
High end UHP already got a term of it, knew as UUHP ( Ultra-Ultra High Performance ).
JON97
post Nov 20 2024, 10:02 PM

341 posts

Mine also almost botak. Now using UC6 in wet quite slippery. Not sure after this want to try which brand. Here for a survey.

UC6 When its new very good. But almost botak it become not so.

This post has been edited by JON97: Nov 20 2024, 10:03 PM
constant_weight
post Nov 26 2024, 08:57 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Nov 19 2024, 08:25 AM)
QUOTE(littlefire @ Nov 19 2024, 09:10 AM)
High end UHP already got a term of it, knew as UUHP ( Ultra-Ultra High Performance ).
autodriver is totally correct on MC7 as low-end UHP. We are not even considering UUHP, which is different class and NOT to be confused as "high end UHP".

MC7 is budget UHP even compared among the peer of same class like PS5. MC7 is APAC only, not sure Africa, definitely not officially distributed in Europe.

Continental real UHP is PC7. UUHP is SC7 that goes direct comparison with PS4S

A bit of history, MC5 used to be touring tyre. They started to market it as UHP from MC6 onwards.
Same PC5 used to be premium touring, where UHP was SC5 and UUHP was SC5P. At 6th gen, they merged touring/UHP into PC6 as premium touring/UHP, and UUHP as SC6, eliminated the SC6P

PremiumContact is a very successful UHP/touring merge IMHO, where PC6 turn-in is a lot more crisp, direct, precise than PS4 and PS5, while retaining much of touring tyre comfort. The only downside is the mileage, but that's vs PS4 only, its mileage still align with the rest of UHP players in the market.
**This is my personal first hand experience, not reading online review.

I can not say the same for MC merge. My take since PC is mostly 19"+ only, Continental strategy is if one have smaller wheel size, they go MC for budget UHP.
This is awkward, if one have no budget constrain and want smaller wheel, why force them to downgrade, and not offer eg:. PC7 for 17".
If one is on tight budget, want to save tire cost... this group of buyer is generally not in the market for UHP. They probably go UC that offers very wide range of sizes.
Also there is a compelling choice of PS5, it is a no brainer to not consider PS4/PS5 17", 18".

Bridgestone line up is also a bit off vs Michelin.
RE004 is entry budget UHP. But their UHP Potenza Sport performance is between PC7 and very close to SC7 at least in dry.
Their new tyre Potenza Race is supposedly better than SC7 in handling track heat in casual track day (wanted to try this, but I'm eyeing on PSS5 for road use when my SC7 worn, also Potenza Race has no direct size for my car, I need to drop 40 profile to 35. Maybe just stick to SC7).

With SC7 rivaling Cup2 for short track and time attack, I believe Potenza Race is even closer to Cup2. Again close doesn't mean yes, there is always RE-71RS direct Cup2/Cup2R competitor.
So modern UUHP is something as good as Max Performance (MP - I call them semi-slick, although Quazacolt don't agree... but we are both cool about it laugh.gif) over short track distance or one off time-attack, endurance they overheat too fast. They often used as wet tire for track day to replace MP tyre.

One should not call UUHP as just "high end UHP". Then for most UHP is just UHP.

There are some marketed as UHP, but not quite UHP... that's MC7 and RE004... haven't tested MC7, but Mc6 was a totally meh, balance but whoever think MC6/7 is UHP please test drive PC6/7.
RE004 is different where very good in dry, like putting all the skill point in dry and scarify others.
Quazacolt
post Nov 26 2024, 10:16 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Nov 26 2024, 08:57 AM)
So modern UUHP is something as good as Max Performance (MP - I call them semi-slick, although Quazacolt don't agree... but we are both cool about it  laugh.gif) over short track distance or one off time-attack, endurance they overheat too fast. They often used as wet tire for track day to replace MP tyre.

There are some marketed as UHP, but not quite UHP... that's MC7 and RE004... haven't tested MC7, but Mc6 was a totally meh, balance but whoever think MC6/7 is UHP please test drive PC6/7.
RE004 is different where very good in dry, like putting all the skill point in dry and scarify others.
With current trends of UUHP, Max performance tend to lean more to comfort and touring, while UUHP leans towards performance

Something like this:

Race/semi slicks (generally no longer DOT rated /Street legal)
^
EHP
^
UUHP or Max Performance
^
UHP or premium touring
^
The general masses/touring tires
^
Eco/Basic /budget tires

MC7 today seems to be a huge contender in view of top tire recently done review
Scored higher than PS5 in most categories.

In fact, something I was aiming until Michelin camp throw price while continental marketing was still sleeping very soundly.
No exact 215 45 17 size was also a bummer.
constant_weight
post Nov 26 2024, 12:49 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 26 2024, 10:16 AM)
With current trends of UUHP, Max performance tend to lean more to comfort and touring, while UUHP leans towards performance

Something like this:
Race/semi slicks (generally no longer DOT rated /Street legal)
^
EHP
^
UUHP or Max Performance
^
UHP or premium touring
^
The general masses/touring tires
^
Eco/Basic /budget tires

MC7 today seems to be a huge contender in view of top tire recently done review
Scored higher than PS5 in most categories.

In fact, something I was aiming until Michelin camp throw price while continental marketing was still sleeping very soundly.
No exact 215 45 17 size was also a bummer.
Hahaha, long story again... but I initially just wanted to point out autodriver is not comparing to UUHP when he/she said MC7 is budget UHP.

I think when I said MP, I'm referring to EHP in your list. I'm referring to Cup2, RE71-RS etc.

My take is.
- UUHP lack of the endurance vs MP (or EHP in your list) if trying maximize the pace, but modern UUHP can keep up over short distance/time before overheated.
- Agree UHP shifted slightly to touring, UUHP pull a gap in performance. The marketing UHP vs UUHP is clearer, but UHP vs Premium Touring is getting blur.
- This is because UUHP is now good enough for daily drive, with premium GT having such good NVH. I'm super happy of having UUHP as daily driver.
- UHP DNA from the beginning is still different from tyres having Touring DNA but shifted closer to UHP.
- Maybe some generations later, no more different between them?

Size available + no budget constrains... PC7 is the way to go. But there's hefty price gap between MC7 vs PC7 + PC7 is 19"+ only
Maybe for vast majority of population, PC7 is off limit. Most shop don't carry this vs MC7 and PS5 always ready stock.
MC7 is much cheaper than PS5 if shop not throwing price... thus become poor man UHP (for me it is still a Premium Touring in it's DNA and performance gap vs PC7 judging from MC6 vs PC6 both I've driven).

PS5 inch towards touring with UHP DNA. Road feel PC7 is sharper than PS5, tyre twist a lot less (judging from my PC6 vs PS5)
Imagine when I tested my friend car (exact same model) with PS5, I started to feel all the rubber twist that I couldn't perceive previously (there's where I learned).
Then he jumped into mine with SC7... he was like WTF...

If low mileage, drive until rubber harden and still plenty of tread left (that's me)... SC7 grey import price is similar to PS5... unfortunately no size for your car tongue.gif

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Nov 26 2024, 12:56 PM
Quazacolt
post Nov 26 2024, 05:06 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Nov 26 2024, 12:49 PM)
I think when I said MP, I'm referring to EHP in your list. I'm referring to Cup2, RE71-RS etc.

- This is because UUHP is now good enough for daily drive, with premium GT having such good NVH. I'm super happy of having UUHP as daily driver.

MC7 is much cheaper than PS5 if shop not throwing price... thus become poor man UHP (for me it is still a Premium Touring in it's DNA and performance gap vs PC7 judging from MC6 vs PC6 both I've driven).

yeah and i am merely just following current trends. EHP is also very commonly called "semi slicks" locally. and especially among older kaki.
but Max performance, that's just weird to me sweat.gif
https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre-Type/ Attached Image

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre-Type/Passe...formance-Tyres/

on bolded, well, its kinda a vicious cycle of premium GT/conti cars removing NVH and feedback, then get back the feedback (and to an extent, NVH) from the tires.
also another vicious cycle of added weight (with all the tech and creature comforts), needing more ponies, then needing better tires, then all that added more weight, then needing more ponies... you see where i'm going. lol.

MC6 yes. MC7 price rose significantly (and so is its performance, according to tests anyways. i have yet to personally tested them) putting it on par, if not even more expensive than PS5 considering the lack of sizes, economics of scale, and conti marketing is just SO SLOW.
again, i would urge that you forget your experience with MC6 (yes i've driven both MC5 and 6, lol) and give a clean slate to MC7 if you're going to place judgement.

Everything in our world is changing at a rapid pace, and i am glad tha tires are not that much slower than our every day technology.

personally, i find the PS5 was yet a step up from PS4, and NOT leaning towards touring. its initial compression is softer than PS4, and most probably that is what gives off that statement of yours. but push it a bit more, it will very progressively become stiffer than PS4. (top tire review surprisingly highlighted higher NVH HAHAHA! yes that's sitting together with CHINA tire Sailun) I pull around/over 1G of lateral G with less than -0.3 camber and yet my Fronts don't ever rub beyond the michelin head marking laugh.gif
Attached Image "The Pilot Sport 5 feels stiff and a bit noisy, causing the car to shake over bumps" laugh.gif

to me, that's EHP levels of sidewall stiffness. imagine that in a UHP! (if it were PS4, the michelin man head already rubbed clean off)

constant_weight
post Nov 26 2024, 06:48 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 26 2024, 05:06 PM)
MC6 yes. MC7 price rose significantly (and so is its performance, according to tests anyways. i have yet to personally tested them) putting it on par, if not even more expensive than PS5 considering the lack of sizes, economics of scale, and conti marketing is just SO SLOW.
again, i would urge that you forget your experience with MC6 (yes i've driven both MC5 and 6, lol) and give a clean slate to MC7 if you're going to place judgement.

Everything in our world is changing at a rapid pace, and i am glad tha tires are not that much slower than our every day technology.

personally, i find the PS5 was yet a step up from PS4, and NOT leaning towards touring. its initial compression is softer than PS4, and most probably that is what gives off that statement of yours. but push it a bit more, it will very progressively become stiffer than PS4. (top tire review surprisingly highlighted higher NVH HAHAHA! yes that's sitting together with CHINA tire Sailun)  I pull around/over 1G of lateral G with less than -0.3 camber and yet my Fronts don't ever rub beyond the michelin head marking laugh.gif
Attached Image "The Pilot Sport 5 feels stiff and a bit noisy, causing the car to shake over bumps" laugh.gif

to me, that's EHP levels of sidewall stiffness. imagine that in a UHP! (if it were PS4, the michelin man head already rubbed clean off)
Ok, point taken. I'll insist MC7 improves, so as PC7, always PC7 sit above MC7 as the real and better UHP from Continental. But yes, given chance I'll test it.

Opposite with you, I find PS5 side wall very very soft. Turn in has obvious rubber twist.
I get the progressing stiffer part, I felt it within 2 corners off the Elantra Sport that I'm very familiar. Although to me it is more like 2 stages, soft initially but after certain compression it hold up.

But my feeling of it towards Touring is mainly the slow turn-in, rubber twist before the car move. Where competitors PC7, F1A6, Potenza Sport all making their new offering significantly sharper.

Performance wise, it is a miracle. I never test it myself, but so many folks getting lap time on par with PS4. Again what we both always said... good handling feel is not always means good grip.

I think a lot of review rate NVH, the noise part base on instrument that gauge loudness, don't take that literally.
There is another factor which is frequency, same loudness but less annoying. Different people sensitive to different frequency noise.
From the review and official spec sheet PS5 and SC7 both are 72 db. My ears say no way they are the same, lol.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Nov 26 2024, 07:00 PM
Quazacolt
post Nov 27 2024, 01:34 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Nov 26 2024, 06:48 PM)
I get the progressing stiffer part, I felt it within 2 corners off the Elantra Sport that I'm very familiar. Although to me it is more like 2 stages, soft initially but after certain compression it hold up.

I think a lot of review rate NVH, the noise part base on instrument that gauge loudness, don't take that literally.
I agree with you that it's 2 stages - and it isn't exactly very intuitive and smooth transition either. To unfamiliar driver that definitely doesn't instill confidence.

And that's where I just utilise what I have - just move on to the stiffer stage by forcing compression on it.
I am assuming - Easier and safer for me car to do it as it's lighter and meant for sporting application. Won't over compress and overwhelm the tire.

For particularly top tire review, get got both sections that's using the noise meter or sound (decibels) meter.

And subjective comfort score.
Both of which, yes I agree not to be taken literally.
Just making a point against your claim regarding PS5 being too soft (yes I also agree the "first stage" is a bit too soft that my car will be bouncing around with the similarly soft stock 2+kg/mm springs)
buckbugs
post Dec 14 2024, 04:43 PM

63 posts

MC7 vs. Primacy 4? Of course la MC7 better because MC7 is a UHP tire.

However, if it’s MC7 vs. PS5, this comparison might provide a more definitive result.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6zaU4i7aDA
TSVroomtyres
post Jan 4 2025, 12:47 PM

How about UC7 and Primacy 4 ST? Anyone has tried these 2 tyres before?

0.0231sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:43 AM