QUOTE(autodriver @ Nov 19 2024, 08:25 AM)
MC7 is considered as entry UHP like Bridgestone RE004. A lot of tyres named as UHP but there are entry level and high end UHP.
QUOTE(littlefire @ Nov 19 2024, 09:10 AM)
High end UHP already got a term of it, knew as UUHP ( Ultra-Ultra High Performance ).
autodriver is totally correct on MC7 as low-end UHP. We are not even considering UUHP, which is different class and NOT to be confused as "high end UHP".
MC7 is budget UHP even compared among the peer of same class like PS5. MC7 is APAC only, not sure Africa, definitely not officially distributed in Europe.
Continental real UHP is PC7. UUHP is SC7 that goes direct comparison with PS4S
A bit of history, MC5 used to be touring tyre. They started to market it as UHP from MC6 onwards.
Same PC5 used to be premium touring, where UHP was SC5 and UUHP was SC5P. At 6th gen, they merged touring/UHP into PC6 as premium touring/UHP, and UUHP as SC6, eliminated the SC6P
PremiumContact is a very successful UHP/touring merge IMHO, where PC6 turn-in is a lot more crisp, direct, precise than PS4 and PS5, while retaining much of touring tyre comfort. The only downside is the mileage, but that's vs PS4 only, its mileage still align with the rest of UHP players in the market.
**This is my personal first hand experience, not reading online review.
I can not say the same for MC merge. My take since PC is mostly 19"+ only, Continental strategy is if one have smaller wheel size, they go MC for budget UHP.
This is awkward, if one have no budget constrain and want smaller wheel, why force them to downgrade, and not offer eg:. PC7 for 17".
If one is on tight budget, want to save tire cost... this group of buyer is generally not in the market for UHP. They probably go UC that offers very wide range of sizes.
Also there is a compelling choice of PS5, it is a no brainer to not consider PS4/PS5 17", 18".
Bridgestone line up is also a bit off vs Michelin.
RE004 is entry budget UHP. But their UHP Potenza Sport performance is between PC7 and very close to SC7 at least in dry.
Their new tyre Potenza Race is supposedly better than SC7 in handling track heat in casual track day (wanted to try this, but I'm eyeing on PSS5 for road use when my SC7 worn, also Potenza Race has no direct size for my car, I need to drop 40 profile to 35. Maybe just stick to SC7).
With SC7 rivaling Cup2 for short track and time attack, I believe Potenza Race is even closer to Cup2. Again close doesn't mean yes, there is always RE-71RS direct Cup2/Cup2R competitor.
So modern UUHP is something as good as Max Performance (MP - I call them semi-slick, although
Quazacolt don't agree... but we are both cool about it

) over short track distance or one off time-attack, endurance they overheat too fast. They often used as wet tire for track day to replace MP tyre.
One should not call UUHP as just "high end UHP". Then for most UHP is just UHP.
There are some marketed as UHP, but not quite UHP... that's MC7 and RE004... haven't tested MC7, but Mc6 was a totally meh, balance but whoever think MC6/7 is UHP please test drive PC6/7.
RE004 is different where very good in dry, like putting all the skill point in dry and scarify others.