Condo Toilet Floor Leaking or Pipe Cracked?

TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 07:58 PM, updated 2y ago

2,512 posts

I'm staying at Condo. And today, neighbor from downstairs informed that there's water dripping from the ceiling of his toilet (as Video shown).

Before I call the contractor, may I have your advice from your previous experience?
My doubt is whether it's caused by floor leaking or pipe in the wall cracked? Can you tell?
sadukarzz
post Sep 17 2024, 08:06 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 07:58 PM)
I'm staying at Condo. And today, neighbor from downstairs informed that there's water dripping from the ceiling of his toilet (as Video shown).

Before I call the contractor, may I have your advice from your previous experience?
My doubt is whether it's caused by floor leaking or pipe in the wall cracked? Can you tell?
Hi, couldn't see the video, perhaps you can try reupload it

Meanwhile, if the leak is a consistent stream / the water leaked is colored (i.e. brownish or soapy) chances are its the pipe

If its white and leaves a crusted stain after wiping, its floor / cement cracks
lj0000
post Sep 17 2024, 08:06 PM

2,199 posts

go to your water meter, observe the running numbers.
dont use water at home for 30min, come back see again.

if numbers increase, means you got clean water leak.
repeat the test by switching off parts of your incoming, eg to toilet

if number no increase, means is dirty water leak. can be toilet, sink seals fail.

in both case, need to call in plumber.

if your house pipes are blue ABS, no need to investigate, straight change whole house pipe.
TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 08:18 PM

2,512 posts

Appreciate all your advices and suggestions!

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Sep 17 2024, 08:06 PM)
Hi, couldn't see the video, perhaps you can try reupload it

Meanwhile, if the leak is a consistent stream / the water leaked is colored (i.e. brownish or soapy) chances are its the pipe

If its white and leaves a crusted stain after wiping, its floor / cement cracks
Ya hor, don't know why video wasn't attached?!🤔
But my pipe has converted to PVC, shouldn't have brownish water?

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 17 2024, 08:06 PM)
go to your water meter, observe the running numbers.
dont use water at home for 30min, come back see again.

if numbers increase, means you got clean water leak.
repeat the test by switching off parts of your incoming, eg to toilet

if number no increase, means is dirty water leak. can be toilet, sink seals fail.

in both case, need to call in plumber.

if your house pipes are blue ABS, no need to investigate, straight change whole house pipe.
Oh? Mine is Blue Pipes leh... Why so sure it's that issue? Always cracked?
knwong
post Sep 17 2024, 08:36 PM

3,559 posts

You shouldn’t call your plumber. You should ask your management office arrange person to check where is the source of the leak. Sometime the fault belong to the owner below - not yours. Follow strata law to solve this
O-haiyo
post Sep 17 2024, 08:42 PM

857 posts

ask your building mgmt first before hiring any plumber. normally, mgmt have dedicated plumber to check all this thing. if the plumber said you need to hire outside plumber to fix the issue, then only go for it
RT8081
post Sep 17 2024, 08:53 PM

354 posts

get ur management to check. usually anything above, the unit above must fix it by strata law.
poks
post Sep 17 2024, 09:21 PM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

Usually the gully trap will be the first one that will leak below when it is not properly waterproofed..
knwong
post Sep 17 2024, 09:22 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Sep 17 2024, 08:53 PM)
get ur management to check. usually anything above , the unit above must fix it by strata law.
That is not true. There are times the pipe that leak belongs to owner below
TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 09:26 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 17 2024, 08:36 PM)
You shouldn’t call your plumber. You should ask your management office arrange person to check where is the source of the leak. Sometime the fault belong to the owner below - not yours. Follow strata law to solve this
I got the idea but our management owned by the resident, haha ...
In fact, I'm curious, it could be leak from unit downstairs?any piping on the ceiling?

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Sep 17 2024, 08:42 PM)
ask your building mgmt first before hiring any plumber. normally, mgmt have dedicated plumber to check all this thing. if the plumber said you need to hire outside plumber to fix the issue, then only go for it
Our old place a little special, as mentioned, managed by resident, haha ... Most probably deal between relevant units.

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Sep 17 2024, 08:53 PM)
get ur management to check. usually anything above, the unit above must fix it by strata law.
I'm the Upper Unit 🤣

*Sad that could not attached video. Someone could help?*
From the water dripping pattern, I'm curious whether it's floor leaking or pipe inside the wall cracked?

Any idea how to...?
TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 09:49 PM

2,512 posts

Sorry, I still can't attach video. Hopefully the screenshot picture would let all understand a little about the leaking point.

RT8081
post Sep 17 2024, 09:57 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 17 2024, 09:22 PM)
That is not true. There are times the pipe that leak belongs to owner below
well that is what i was told by JMB rep unless the leak is clearly reported as unit below's fault
RT8081
post Sep 17 2024, 09:58 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 09:26 PM)
I got the idea but our management owned by the resident, haha ...
In fact, I'm curious, it could be leak from unit downstairs?any piping on the ceiling?
Our old place a little special, as mentioned, managed by resident, haha ... Most probably deal between relevant units.
I'm the Upper Unit 🤣

*Sad that could not attached video. Someone could help?*
From the water dripping pattern, I'm curious whether it's floor leaking or pipe inside the wall cracked?

Any idea how to...?
better also get a third party contractor/plumber to give his assessment la
Boomwick
post Sep 17 2024, 10:05 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 09:49 PM)
Sorry, I still can't attach video. Hopefully the screenshot picture would let all understand a little about the leaking point.
Looks like your toilet is covered with plaster ceiling.

So your downstair neighbor got leaking from the floor, is obviously from your toilet.

From my experience, got a few potential point

1. Water floor trap side dun have good finishing, hence water go in seep inside

2. The WC dun have proper water proof at the bottom during installation

3. The floor dont have proper water proofing or floor cement crack due to floor expand from heat or minor shaking, so causing the water proof layer to tear off, hence got leaking.

Quick solution is using PU injection from neighbor toilet ceiling. They will drill a few holes and inject the solution and hardened up.. so lesser mess to ur side..

If not u need to crack all tiles and redo .. bigger mess.. will cost u around 3k to do it

This post has been edited by Boomwick: Sep 17 2024, 10:06 PM
TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 10:48 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 17 2024, 10:05 PM)

So your downstair neighbor got leaking from the floor, is obviously from your toilet.

3. The floor dont have proper water proofing or floor cement crack due to floor expand from heat or minor shaking, so causing the water proof layer to tear off, hence got leaking.

Quick solution is using PU injection from neighbor toilet ceiling. They will drill  a few holes and inject the solution and hardened up.. so lesser mess to ur side..

If not u need to crack all tiles and redo .. bigger mess.. will cost u around 3k to do it
Wow... Wow... Real experienced advices! Thanks!
Anyways, the floor should waterproof good enough since renovation 15 years ago! And, I think your 3rd point perhaps the issue of the current incident!

Ok. The injection, yes I saw that works before in my office! And it seems quite work well ya!

Another consideration, whether those Acrylic Waterproof Liquid products Ok for my leaking issue? I heard many of them out there used it and quiet happy with the result! What do you think?

Lastly, as your experience, that's definitely not the Pipes Cracked (inside wall) ?
Lanchio
post Sep 18 2024, 12:00 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Sep 17 2024, 09:21 PM)
Usually the gully trap will be the first one that will leak below when it is not properly waterproofed..
QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 17 2024, 10:05 PM)

Quick solution is using PU injection from neighbor toilet ceiling. They will drill  a few holes and inject the solution and hardened up.. so lesser mess to ur side..

These 2. Re gully trap, if old condo, just need to replace the screw in cap.
TSmactreouser
post Sep 18 2024, 12:09 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Lanchio @ Sep 18 2024, 12:00 AM)
Thanks! In fact what is Gully Trap? And, which screw in cap means?
TSmactreouser
post Sep 18 2024, 12:21 AM

2,512 posts

Update:
6 hours of Not Using Toilet, neighbor reports "Still Leaking/water dripping"!

What does it mean?
vapanel
post Sep 18 2024, 12:57 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 18 2024, 12:21 AM)
Update:

What does it mean?
It means internal piping is leaking water.

Find the plumber that use sonar to identify leaking point. No need hack.

Fast and efficient. Don't use low tech plumber. He go hack all your ceiling and floor you will die.
vapanel
post Sep 18 2024, 12:59 AM

1,075 posts

Update:

What does it mean?
Another confirmation is turn off all water.

Release all water until all pipe no water

Flush the toilet bowl until no water

Stay one night in hotel

Then come back ask if the leaking still got

If don't have 100% pipe leaked

This post has been edited by vapanel: Sep 18 2024, 12:59 AM
TSmactreouser
post Sep 18 2024, 01:20 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Sep 18 2024, 12:57 AM)
It means internal piping is leaking water.

Find the plumber that use sonar to identify leaking point. No need hack.

Fast and efficient. Don't use low tech plumber. He go hack all your ceiling and floor you will die.
Oh...then, after detected by "sonar", what's the next?
I really hate hacking la 😭

QUOTE(vapanel @ Sep 18 2024, 12:59 AM)
Another confirmation is turn off all water.

Release all water until all pipe no water

Flush the toilet bowl until no water

Stay one night in hotel
Then come back ask if the leaking still got

If don't have 100% pipe leaked
Oh ... Got the idea!

** Btw, today I forgot to clear and turn off water supply when leaving home for 6 hours ** sight

Phoenix_KL
post Sep 18 2024, 02:33 AM

156 posts

idea.

dye the water.
see same color water appeared or not.
don't say what color you used.
TSmactreouser
post Sep 18 2024, 06:42 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Phoenix_KL @ Sep 18 2024, 02:33 AM)
idea.

dye the water.
see same color water appeared or not.
don't say what color you used.
I see! So,
1) what material to use to coloring water?
2) pour the coloring water on the floor and dye the water of the toilet flushing container?
Boomwick
post Sep 18 2024, 07:12 AM

983 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 10:48 PM)
Anyways, the floor should waterproof good enough since renovation 15 years ago! And, I think your 3rd point perhaps the issue of the current incident!

Ok. The injection, yes I saw that works before in my office! And it seems quite work well ya!

Another consideration, whether those Acrylic Waterproof Liquid products Ok for my leaking issue? I heard many of them out there used it and quiet happy with the result! What do you think?

Lastly, as your experience, that's definitely not the Pipes Cracked (inside wall) ?
I dunno how your piping work, but usually the pipe will not go so near with the drainage pipe...

Old condo pipe some are pipe go from ground and go up.. some are from up to down..

But for ur case, maybe u ask for drawing from management..
And usually condo unit pipe rarely burst one la... usually la
If there is a burst, the leak will be very powerful and spread round round area watermark one.. i dunno for ur case la.

Best option now is do PU injection and hope it works..
If dun works, then only do hacking..

gaman
post Sep 18 2024, 08:09 AM

86 posts

I had similar complain from downstair neighbor about leaking in toilet.

Upon checking realized those old tile grout were cracked and some were missing along the toilet floor and wall.

Managed to resolved by resealing all the corners and tile gaps in toilet with silicone sealant.
TSmactreouser
post Sep 18 2024, 08:35 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 18 2024, 07:12 AM)
I dunno how your piping work, but usually the pipe will not go so near with the drainage pipe...

Old condo pipe some are pipe go from ground and go up.. some are from up to down..

If there is a burst, the leak will be very powerful and spread round round area watermark one.. i dunno for ur case la.

As what I can see, those piping system from up to down (stop valve at ceiling/above plaster ceiling)
If pipe burst, then injection will help? It doesn't solve the pipe cracked?!
In facts, water pressure in house very super low, so will this causes burst pipe?

QUOTE(gaman @ Sep 18 2024, 08:09 AM)
I had similar complain from downstair neighbor about leaking in toilet.

Upon checking realized those old tile grout were cracked and some were missing along the toilet floor and wall.

Managed to resolved by resealing all the corners and tile gaps in toilet with silicone sealant.
Wow... That simple? How & where was the leaking point if observe from downstairs?
gaman
post Sep 18 2024, 08:50 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 18 2024, 08:35 AM)
Wow... That simple? How & where was the leaking point if observe from downstairs?

The leak point was observed at the joint between the toilet bowl and floor. Especially after cleaning the entire toilet.

Instead of spending effort and money to check and repair what is the main cause, which could be any. I opt for cheaper option by sealing all floor corners and tile gaps with silicone sealant. Two tubes of sealant and one day work. That's all.

Boomwick
post Sep 18 2024, 10:03 AM

983 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 18 2024, 08:35 AM)
As what I can see, those piping system from up to down (stop valve at ceiling/above plaster ceiling)
If pipe burst, then injection will help? It doesn't solve the pipe cracked?!
In facts, water pressure in house very super low, so will this causes burst pipe?
Water pressure low in old condo is very common..
Probably due to common pipe outside already rusted inside with dirt and mud eating up the spaces already. Or u got a outdoor filter never change.. or u are staying at the top 2 floor and condo do not have water pump to pump pressure.

If pipe burst, will maybe temporary solve using pu injection.
Pipe burst case ofcuz is change the whole pipe lo.

But since u say is from top to down.. meaning that pipe is ur downstair neighbor sendiri punya pipe lo..

Lanchio
post Sep 18 2024, 10:15 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 18 2024, 12:09 AM)
Thanks! In fact what is Gully Trap? And, which screw in cap means?
Lanchio
post Sep 18 2024, 10:34 AM

487 posts

Update:

What does it mean?
Had a leak in the wall once & it was traced to the shower tap. Had to hack the wall a bit to remove & replace the tap

acbc
post Sep 18 2024, 10:44 AM

9,041 posts

U may need to hack and redo th to waterproofing for the bathroom. Waterproofing from the developer max also 3-4 years only.

Otherwise, pump PU into the pores and cavity. This one easily over 2k and max guarantee about 5 years.

If still leaks, use bitumen or tar for the pipe perimeters.
Phoenix_KL
post Sep 18 2024, 11:20 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 18 2024, 06:42 AM)
I see! So,
1) what material to use to coloring water?
2) pour the coloring water on the floor and dye the water of the toilet flushing container?
put color water where you think the leak coming from.
yeeck
post Sep 18 2024, 11:22 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 10:48 PM)

Even waterproofing can fail after such a long time!
lj0000
post Sep 18 2024, 11:33 AM

2,199 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 08:18 PM)
Appreciate all your advices and suggestions!
Ya hor, don't know why video wasn't attached?!🤔
But my pipe has converted to PVC, shouldn't have brownish water?
Oh? Mine is Blue Pipes leh... Why so sure it's that issue? Always cracked?
blue pipes is ABS. aku break sendiri

when the contractor come, ask them to quote for whole house replacement. pain one time.
you can go for pvc or copper
keybearer
post Sep 18 2024, 01:09 PM

409 posts

Still have trouble uploading the video?

Use this website:
https://thumbsnap.com/

Once uploaded, copy the direct link (https://xxxx.mp4) and insert into
CODE
[video][/video]

TSmactreouser
post Sep 18 2024, 05:31 PM

2,512 posts

Guys, appreciate all your precious replies!
The update here is — Maybe the Connection/Joint from the Toilet Bowl to the Main Sewage Pipe leaking!

And the management said "it's INSIDE Your House NOT OUTSIDE of your house, so Owner have to bare it themselves"

CORRECT?

gogocan
post Sep 18 2024, 05:41 PM

485 posts

Done this last year.. neighbour upstairs leaking to my toilet. Report to mgmt..then plumber come fix invoice to owner above..the 6 months later unit below complaint leaking same thing plumber come mgmt bill me for the repair.
TSmactreouser
post Sep 18 2024, 05:42 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Sep 18 2024, 05:41 PM)
Done this last year.. neighbour upstairs leaking to my toilet. Report to mgmt..then plumber come fix invoice to owner above..the 6 months later unit below complaint leaking same thing plumber come mgmt bill me for the repair.
Hahaha ~ take turn pula!
What's your incident? How much in total?
gashout
post Sep 18 2024, 07:18 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 18 2024, 05:31 PM)
Guys, appreciate all your precious replies!
The update here is — Maybe the Connection/Joint from the Toilet Bowl to the Main Sewage Pipe leaking!

And the management said "it's INSIDE Your House NOT OUTSIDE of your house, so Owner have to bare it themselves"

CORRECT?
Correct. In this case. Management will be the facilitator. Given the leak is your side, you will need to foot the bill.
gogocan
post Sep 18 2024, 07:44 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Sep 18 2024, 05:41 PM)
Not much less than RM 400. to fix the leaking & replace some part of affected plaster ceiling. The longer u delay the repair the bigger the affected area and u will need to pay more
msacras
post Sep 18 2024, 09:21 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 18 2024, 07:12 AM)

Correction

Actually the following combination is con9lan7haifirm to leak one:

Blue ABS pipe + condo

Cause condos actually sway around to due to wind load if you’re not noticing. Next the blue ABS pipe aged worse than yesterday’s milk, it’s brittle and subject to cracks or leaks if used in condo (landed also not anywhere better).
Boomwick
post Sep 18 2024, 10:13 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Sep 18 2024, 09:21 PM)
Correction

Actually the following combination is con9lan7haifirm to leak one:

Blue ABS pipe + condo

Cause condos actually sway around to due to wind load if you’re not noticing. Next the blue ABS pipe aged worse than yesterday’s milk, it’s brittle and subject to cracks or leaks if used in condo (landed also not anywhere better).
Like this lok hai lo..
Do a new one from inlet to all over ur place lo.. haha
Ayambetul
post Sep 19 2024, 12:06 AM

331 posts

If pipe burst then hack the wall is the choice.

Condo all pipe is in the wall.
TSmactreouser
post Sep 19 2024, 12:11 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 18 2024, 07:18 PM)
Correct. In this case. Management will be the facilitator. Given the leak is your side, you will need to foot the bill.
Ok. At least I pay with black & white support.

QUOTE(gogocan @ Sep 18 2024, 07:44 PM)
Not much less than RM 400. to fix the leaking & replace some part of affected plaster ceiling. The longer u delay the repair the bigger the affected area and u will need to pay more
So cheap! You meant injection, right? As my case , do you think injection works?
TSmactreouser
post Sep 19 2024, 02:58 PM

2,512 posts

Another UPDATE:
Contractor just came to inspect this morning. And he reminded me about water bill, once check, Alamak... From 10 raised up to 28! Which means the pipe of the water source leakage!

Still, while turned of the valve of the bathroom, and without using water the whole unit, meter still running! So it's quite confirm of the Pipe inside the water leaking. Further more, the toilet is using Blue Pipe (they called it pipe hantu 🤣).

Btw, to ensure it's, they'll came tomorrow for "pressure test". Otherwise, the possibility might be bathtub drainage connectors leaking.

Update you guys then 😊
Boomwick
post Sep 19 2024, 03:13 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 19 2024, 02:58 PM)
Another UPDATE:
Contractor just came to inspect this morning. And he reminded me about water bill, once check, Alamak... From 10 raised up to 28! Which means the pipe of the water source leakage!

Still, while turned of the valve of the bathroom, and without using water the whole unit, meter still running! So it's quite confirm of the Pipe inside the water leaking. Further more, the toilet is using Blue Pipe (they called it pipe hantu 🤣).

Btw, to ensure it's, they'll came tomorrow for "pressure test". Otherwise, the possibility might be bathtub drainage connectors leaking.

Update you guys then 😊
Full.. so wad u plan to do?
Hack and lay new pipe? Or use install pipe using hidden by trunking? (Mean outside laying pipe)
cooldog_777
post Sep 19 2024, 03:20 PM

55 posts

water leaking is the most tedious to check.
my above unit neighbour house also leaking water to my ceiling.
Took almost a year, management people + 2 contractors to find the exact cause.
done water proofing, PU injection and finally the cause is air-con piping leaking.
LA773
post Sep 19 2024, 03:50 PM

1,063 posts

Pinjam thred,

If my case is car park is leaking from above facility floor ie gym pool etc
Report to management office almost 6mths ago, haven't settled till now
What else can we do? Just continue call office?
Lanchio
post Sep 19 2024, 05:02 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 19 2024, 02:58 PM)
Another UPDATE:

Update you guys then 😊
Wah, getting complicated. Lucky contractor knows what he's doing.

Good luck.
TSmactreouser
post Sep 19 2024, 06:26 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 19 2024, 03:13 PM)
Full.. so wad u plan to do?
Hack and lay new pipe? Or use install pipe using hidden by trunking? (Mean outside laying pipe)
Yes, pull install pipes outside. I don't care about the beauty of appearance anymore, the key is I can reach the pipes and work on it if there's any problems in future (even I can pull for extended pipe from it if needed then). I even don't want to cover it with casing...hahaha ... Ugly?!

QUOTE(LA773 @ Sep 19 2024, 03:50 PM)
Pinjam thred,

Just keep complaining, if you got find a few more neighbors feedback to management is better! My place's car park also having such issue, management solved it immediately with 3 injections! Maybe that's a "warranty" from the contractor whom just renovated the swimming pool?!
gashout
post Sep 19 2024, 07:44 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Sep 19 2024, 03:50 PM)
Pinjam thred,

Go management office every 2 weeks. Ask them for progress.
Boomwick
post Sep 19 2024, 08:10 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 19 2024, 06:26 PM)
Yes, pull install pipes outside. I don't care about the beauty of appearance anymore, the key is I can reach the pipes and work on it if there's any problems in future (even I can pull for extended pipe from it if needed then). I even don't want to cover it with casing...hahaha ... Ugly?!
Just keep complaining, if you got find a few more neighbors feedback to management is better! My place's car park also having such issue, management solved it immediately with 3 injections! Maybe that's a "warranty" from the contractor whom just renovated the swimming pool?!
Well it actually depend on your condo how it is build..
If u got plaster ceiling.. then run from plaster ceilng top lo..

If not then put trunking lo.. haha..
If bare laid.. then also ok one.. but will sekat dust and see nail rust at those support point
LA773
post Sep 19 2024, 08:42 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 19 2024, 06:26 PM)
QUOTE(gashout @ Sep 19 2024, 07:44 PM)
Go management office every 2 weeks. Ask them for progress.
I went there every 1-2 mths,
Their answer standard, in queue, recently rain season cannot do yet

Me no choice, need to wait rain season ends
. Fkk

Sometimes really feel loke raising voice, but haizzz.. Spoil mood pulak

I dono can escalate to who
TSmactreouser
post Sep 19 2024, 10:49 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 19 2024, 08:10 PM)
Well it actually depend on your condo how it is build..
If u got plaster ceiling.. then run from plaster ceilng top lo..

If not then put trunking lo.. haha..
If bare laid.. then also ok one.. but will sekat dust and see nail rust at those support point
Ya lo, but no problem la, even casing also dust will stay on it, haaa...

So, if tomorrow confirmed is the Blue Pipe problem, how much (around) to install the pipe (pull from the source which at above plaster ceiling) for a Condo Master Bedroom Toilet/Bathroom? And what material should I go for? Contractor did mention PVC, COPPER, STAINLESS STEEL... (To me, those normal grey pipes will do, as long as thick enough)

QUOTE(LA773 @ Sep 19 2024, 08:42 PM)

. Fkk

It's better to ask neighbors to voice out together! Keep kacau them... Or look for MP, ask for opinion!
Boomwick
post Sep 19 2024, 10:51 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 19 2024, 10:49 PM)
Ya lo, but no problem la, even casing also dust will stay on it, haaa...

So, if tomorrow confirmed is the Blue Pipe problem, how much (around) to install the pipe (pull from the source which at above plaster ceiling) for a Condo Master Bedroom Toilet/Bathroom? And what material should I go for? Contractor did mention PVC, COPPER, STAINLESS STEEL... (To me, those normal grey pipes will do, as long as thick enough)
It's better to ask neighbors to voice out together! Keep kacau them... Or look for MP, ask for opinion!
Good quality grey color pvc pipe will do.. make sure they seal the join properly to avoid joint leaking

Stainless steel will be expensive

TSmactreouser
post Sep 19 2024, 10:54 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 19 2024, 10:51 PM)
Good quality grey color pvc pipe will do.. make sure they seal the join properly to avoid joint leaking

Stainless steel will be expensive
Thanks for your advice! Roughly around how much will be cost in KL?
Boomwick
post Sep 19 2024, 10:56 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 19 2024, 10:54 PM)
Thanks for your advice! Roughly around how much will be cost in KL?
Whole house will cost less than 3k la i guess since is a condo..
TSmactreouser
post Sep 19 2024, 11:42 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 19 2024, 10:56 PM)
Whole house will cost less than 3k la i guess since is a condo..
I see! Then, if only the main toilet? RM500?
Boomwick
post Sep 19 2024, 11:52 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 19 2024, 11:42 PM)
I see! Then, if only the main toilet? RM500?
Hack n find pipe.. tile and replace.. then when hack tat time maybe other parts of pipe weaken by the hacking shake..
Then next time other place burst again.. lol
TSmactreouser
post Sep 20 2024, 12:19 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 19 2024, 11:52 PM)
Hack n find pipe.. tile and replace.. then when hack tat time maybe other parts of pipe weaken by the hacking shake..
Then next time other place burst again.. lol
That's why I wouldn't apply the Hack & Replace method. Just right away pull from the main supply (reached my toilet ceiling, exposed), then connect from there and Piping to all around the toilet like toilet bowl!

In this case, without hacking, how much will be cost?
LA773
post Sep 20 2024, 01:08 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 20 2024, 12:19 AM)
That's why I wouldn't apply the Hack & Replace method. Just right away pull from the main supply (reached my toilet ceiling, exposed), then connect from there and Piping to all around the toilet like toilet bowl!

In this case, without hacking, how much will be cost?
Between 3-4k to pull from main supply into the house, then the whole house piping will be on the wall type.
Few of my neighbours just kena. developer use low quality pipe

But dont just do one part of the bathroom or so, once u do, do all together. U fix a small portion, later another part will come with same problem
TSmactreouser
post Sep 20 2024, 02:05 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Sep 20 2024, 01:08 AM)
Between 3-4k to pull from main supply into the house, then the whole house piping will be on the wall type.
Few of my neighbours just kena.  developer use low quality pipe

But dont just do one part of the bathroom or so, once u do, do all together. U fix a small portion, later another part will come with same problem
Yup, I got the idea! In fact, I don't mind to fix others in future, just settle part by part.

What I would like to know is, according to part requirements, pulling from the source of the pipe in the bedroom and piping without hacking and casing, what's the estimated cost?
gashout
post Sep 20 2024, 04:11 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Sep 19 2024, 08:42 PM)

. Fkk

WhatsApp group so other residents know as well.

Must call out incompetent management

Attend AGM. Talk about this issue
Porkycorgi5588
post Sep 20 2024, 08:15 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 07:58 PM)

need to reapply waterproofing if lucky.
can use pantone on tiles.

if unlucky, pipe leak inside the walls/floor.
condo, really dont know how to do...
TSmactreouser
post Sep 20 2024, 08:58 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Sep 20 2024, 08:15 AM)
need to reapply waterproofing if lucky.
can use pantone on tiles.

if unlucky, pipe leak inside the walls/floor.
condo, really dont know how to do...
The worst, hack & replace, a simple way, installing pipe externally.
bryan_x00
post Mar 8 2025, 01:06 PM

1,223 posts

QUOTE(Lanchio @ Sep 18 2024, 12:00 AM)
How much to change this?
@Adele
post Mar 8 2025, 01:39 PM

1,042 posts

Good suggestions from forumers but just ask management/maintenance to send guy to see. They can tell immediately what is the issue instead of you guessing here. Nobody really know. It's FOC so do this step first ba. They will also tell you it's your responsibility to fix or downstairs have to fix it themselves. If it's your responsibility then get a trusted plumber to go see and do the job, I can share with you plumber's contact if you want, fixed the condo leaking at my place before. Usually it just cost few hundred to abt 1k. If u need to hack and redo tiles , which i also did before, workmanship for Chinese is abt 2.6k for normal size toilet, tiles u buy yourself. If indon can be slightly cheaper gua.

0.0275sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:38 AM