4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Condo Toilet Floor Leaking or Pipe Cracked?

TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 07:58 PM, updated 2y ago

2,512 posts

I'm staying at Condo. And today, neighbor from downstairs informed that there's water dripping from the ceiling of his toilet (as Video shown).

Before I call the contractor, may I have your advice from your previous experience?
My doubt is whether it's caused by floor leaking or pipe in the wall cracked? Can you tell?
sadukarzz
post Sep 17 2024, 08:06 PM

781 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 07:58 PM)
I'm staying at Condo. And today, neighbor from downstairs informed that there's water dripping from the ceiling of his toilet (as Video shown).

Before I call the contractor, may I have your advice from your previous experience?
My doubt is whether it's caused by floor leaking or pipe in the wall cracked? Can you tell?
Hi, couldn't see the video, perhaps you can try reupload it

Meanwhile, if the leak is a consistent stream / the water leaked is colored (i.e. brownish or soapy) chances are its the pipe

If its white and leaves a crusted stain after wiping, its floor / cement cracks
lj0000
post Sep 17 2024, 08:06 PM

2,200 posts

go to your water meter, observe the running numbers.
dont use water at home for 30min, come back see again.

if numbers increase, means you got clean water leak.
repeat the test by switching off parts of your incoming, eg to toilet

if number no increase, means is dirty water leak. can be toilet, sink seals fail.

in both case, need to call in plumber.

if your house pipes are blue ABS, no need to investigate, straight change whole house pipe.
TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 08:18 PM

2,512 posts

Appreciate all your advices and suggestions!

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Sep 17 2024, 08:06 PM)
Hi, couldn't see the video, perhaps you can try reupload it

Meanwhile, if the leak is a consistent stream / the water leaked is colored (i.e. brownish or soapy) chances are its the pipe

If its white and leaves a crusted stain after wiping, its floor / cement cracks
Ya hor, don't know why video wasn't attached?!🤔
But my pipe has converted to PVC, shouldn't have brownish water?

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 17 2024, 08:06 PM)
go to your water meter, observe the running numbers.
dont use water at home for 30min, come back see again.

if numbers increase, means you got clean water leak.
repeat the test by switching off parts of your incoming, eg to toilet

if number no increase, means is dirty water leak. can be toilet, sink seals fail.

in both case, need to call in plumber.

if your house pipes are blue ABS, no need to investigate, straight change whole house pipe.
Oh? Mine is Blue Pipes leh... Why so sure it's that issue? Always cracked?
knwong
post Sep 17 2024, 08:36 PM

3,559 posts

You shouldn’t call your plumber. You should ask your management office arrange person to check where is the source of the leak. Sometime the fault belong to the owner below - not yours. Follow strata law to solve this
O-haiyo
post Sep 17 2024, 08:42 PM

857 posts

ask your building mgmt first before hiring any plumber. normally, mgmt have dedicated plumber to check all this thing. if the plumber said you need to hire outside plumber to fix the issue, then only go for it
RT8081
post Sep 17 2024, 08:53 PM

354 posts

get ur management to check. usually anything above, the unit above must fix it by strata law.
poks
post Sep 17 2024, 09:21 PM

--[2013 : Going Farming]--
1,567 posts

Usually the gully trap will be the first one that will leak below when it is not properly waterproofed..
knwong
post Sep 17 2024, 09:22 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Sep 17 2024, 08:53 PM)
get ur management to check. usually anything above , the unit above must fix it by strata law.
That is not true. There are times the pipe that leak belongs to owner below
TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 09:26 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 17 2024, 08:36 PM)
You shouldn’t call your plumber. You should ask your management office arrange person to check where is the source of the leak. Sometime the fault belong to the owner below - not yours. Follow strata law to solve this
I got the idea but our management owned by the resident, haha ...
In fact, I'm curious, it could be leak from unit downstairs?any piping on the ceiling?

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Sep 17 2024, 08:42 PM)
ask your building mgmt first before hiring any plumber. normally, mgmt have dedicated plumber to check all this thing. if the plumber said you need to hire outside plumber to fix the issue, then only go for it
Our old place a little special, as mentioned, managed by resident, haha ... Most probably deal between relevant units.

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Sep 17 2024, 08:53 PM)
get ur management to check. usually anything above, the unit above must fix it by strata law.
I'm the Upper Unit 🤣

*Sad that could not attached video. Someone could help?*
From the water dripping pattern, I'm curious whether it's floor leaking or pipe inside the wall cracked?

Any idea how to...?
TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 09:49 PM

2,512 posts

Sorry, I still can't attach video. Hopefully the screenshot picture would let all understand a little about the leaking point.

RT8081
post Sep 17 2024, 09:57 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 17 2024, 09:22 PM)
That is not true. There are times the pipe that leak belongs to owner below
well that is what i was told by JMB rep unless the leak is clearly reported as unit below's fault
RT8081
post Sep 17 2024, 09:58 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 09:26 PM)
I got the idea but our management owned by the resident, haha ...
In fact, I'm curious, it could be leak from unit downstairs?any piping on the ceiling?
Our old place a little special, as mentioned, managed by resident, haha ... Most probably deal between relevant units.
I'm the Upper Unit 🤣

*Sad that could not attached video. Someone could help?*
From the water dripping pattern, I'm curious whether it's floor leaking or pipe inside the wall cracked?

Any idea how to...?
better also get a third party contractor/plumber to give his assessment la
Boomwick
post Sep 17 2024, 10:05 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 17 2024, 09:49 PM)
Sorry, I still can't attach video. Hopefully the screenshot picture would let all understand a little about the leaking point.
Looks like your toilet is covered with plaster ceiling.

So your downstair neighbor got leaking from the floor, is obviously from your toilet.

From my experience, got a few potential point

1. Water floor trap side dun have good finishing, hence water go in seep inside

2. The WC dun have proper water proof at the bottom during installation

3. The floor dont have proper water proofing or floor cement crack due to floor expand from heat or minor shaking, so causing the water proof layer to tear off, hence got leaking.

Quick solution is using PU injection from neighbor toilet ceiling. They will drill a few holes and inject the solution and hardened up.. so lesser mess to ur side..

If not u need to crack all tiles and redo .. bigger mess.. will cost u around 3k to do it

This post has been edited by Boomwick: Sep 17 2024, 10:06 PM
TSmactreouser
post Sep 17 2024, 10:48 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 17 2024, 10:05 PM)

So your downstair neighbor got leaking from the floor, is obviously from your toilet.

3. The floor dont have proper water proofing or floor cement crack due to floor expand from heat or minor shaking, so causing the water proof layer to tear off, hence got leaking.

Quick solution is using PU injection from neighbor toilet ceiling. They will drill  a few holes and inject the solution and hardened up.. so lesser mess to ur side..

If not u need to crack all tiles and redo .. bigger mess.. will cost u around 3k to do it
Wow... Wow... Real experienced advices! Thanks!
Anyways, the floor should waterproof good enough since renovation 15 years ago! And, I think your 3rd point perhaps the issue of the current incident!

Ok. The injection, yes I saw that works before in my office! And it seems quite work well ya!

Another consideration, whether those Acrylic Waterproof Liquid products Ok for my leaking issue? I heard many of them out there used it and quiet happy with the result! What do you think?

Lastly, as your experience, that's definitely not the Pipes Cracked (inside wall) ?
Lanchio
post Sep 18 2024, 12:00 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(poks @ Sep 17 2024, 09:21 PM)
Usually the gully trap will be the first one that will leak below when it is not properly waterproofed..
QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 17 2024, 10:05 PM)

Quick solution is using PU injection from neighbor toilet ceiling. They will drill  a few holes and inject the solution and hardened up.. so lesser mess to ur side..

These 2. Re gully trap, if old condo, just need to replace the screw in cap.
TSmactreouser
post Sep 18 2024, 12:09 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Lanchio @ Sep 18 2024, 12:00 AM)
These 2. Re gully trap, if old condo, just need to replace the screw in cap.
Thanks! In fact what is Gully Trap? And, which screw in cap means?
TSmactreouser
post Sep 18 2024, 12:21 AM

2,512 posts

Update:
6 hours of Not Using Toilet, neighbor reports "Still Leaking/water dripping"!

What does it mean?
vapanel
post Sep 18 2024, 12:57 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 18 2024, 12:21 AM)
Update:

What does it mean?
It means internal piping is leaking water.

Find the plumber that use sonar to identify leaking point. No need hack.

Fast and efficient. Don't use low tech plumber. He go hack all your ceiling and floor you will die.
vapanel
post Sep 18 2024, 12:59 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(mactreouser @ Sep 18 2024, 12:21 AM)
Update:

What does it mean?
Another confirmation is turn off all water.

Release all water until all pipe no water

Flush the toilet bowl until no water

Stay one night in hotel

Then come back ask if the leaking still got

If don't have 100% pipe leaked

This post has been edited by vapanel: Sep 18 2024, 12:59 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:27 AM