Gerbils Hut V6, I wont bite you, I wont stink either!
matt_1712
Dec 30 2007, 06:31 PM
hey ppl! am new to the gerbil thread. plan to adopt 2 male gerbils from crazymouse. have been pm-ing her but maybe i can get faster replies if i post here.
is delikate bedding okay for gerbils?
and how to i make holes in my plastic tank for the water bottle, if i dont have any drilling thingy?
i went to pets family in klang and i dont think they have sand bath. can i get everything that gerbils need in pet safari, ikano?
thanks a bunch!!
matt_1712
Dec 30 2007, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Dec 30 2007, 07:22 PM) yes most of us use delikate. erm.. no drill? use hot nail/screwdriver. Heat the nail or screwdriver over the stove until it's hot enough and burn a hole. Pets family you mean at taman megah? The other day ( a week ago) I just saw the delikate snowy sand bath there. You can use that. Pet safari can get almost anything.. however imo, the price there a bit high. Hahah.. since I stay near the pets family i buy most of my stuff from there. Get membership card can get more dc. okay delikate it is. and good idea on the hot screwdriver thingy. didn't think of that. pets family in bukit tinggi, klang. i'm from klang  and i have membership card too. maybe i will ask them if they will restock soon. thanks a bunch!
matt_1712
Dec 31 2007, 07:21 PM
i just realised... after putting 2 inches of bedding.. the hole for my water bottle is too low and might wet the hay. or the gerbils are too tall to drink from it. HOW???????? help! and nezu also told me that i should feed them with an aroma burner. is this an aroma burner? if no, can someone show me what an aroma burner is? This post has been edited by matt_1712: Dec 31 2007, 07:34 PM
matt_1712
Jan 1 2008, 03:12 AM
thanks all for the link to aroma burners and other toys. will go get them asap! crazymouse, how do we contact we other to meet? i'm excited already  and.. nobody can help me fix my too low water holes? This post has been edited by matt_1712: Jan 1 2008, 03:14 AM
matt_1712
Jan 1 2008, 10:24 AM
oh yeah! can i reuse driftwoods from the aquarium for the gerbils?
and if i get the coconuts, where do i get the metal rod so that the coconut can hang from?
This post has been edited by matt_1712: Jan 1 2008, 10:44 AM
matt_1712
Jan 1 2008, 11:00 PM
thanks heng! am going to pet shack in sunway mentari tomorrow to look around
matt_1712
Jan 3 2008, 12:19 PM
can i put chipsi corn cob into the gerbil tank?
matt_1712
Jan 3 2008, 09:27 PM
i stuck masking tape... filled up the hole with silicon, and stuck another layer of masking tape from the other side. that's my remedy lol.
matt_1712
Jan 3 2008, 10:41 PM
nezu teach wan. she say either silicon or masking tape. so.. i just do both to be kiasu haha.. but my tank is still gerbil-less. lol..
matt_1712
Jan 9 2008, 04:05 PM
gerbil's new home!    can't wait for them to arrive tomorrow!
matt_1712
Jan 10 2008, 03:04 AM
QUOTE(babymoli @ Jan 9 2008, 10:46 PM) matt_1712, welcome to the gang. You're getting your gerbils from nezu right? If not mistaken, that 2 boys (Sp DEH & Sp Nutmeg) should be yours. Lolz.. Treat them nicely k. They are lovely boys.  yah you are right! will treat them the best i can! when they're comfortable and happy d, will upload more pics  Added on January 10, 2008, 3:05 amQUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 10 2008, 01:51 AM) nice tank setup matt.. sure you'll be a good owner... wondering when i can join gerbil gang..  thanks! you can join the gang anytime! u can get them from nezu, crazymouse, and some other ppl on this thread! This post has been edited by matt_1712: Jan 10 2008, 03:05 AM
matt_1712
Jan 10 2008, 09:14 PM
yahoo! finally got my 2 cute boys! been playing around with them the whole day. tried to hand feed them some kuaci.. they still a bit shy.. but already started to crawl around my hand.. hope to be able to pick them up soon! after i went out for a few hours and when i came home, the whole tank was renovated! they made their own tunnels and rearranged the toys! they're still happily digging now. nezu, thank u so much for the both of them! and taro's a good boy too! nezu, you should go watch game plan if u have the time and check out spike, the bulldog in the show   This post has been edited by matt_1712: Jan 10 2008, 09:40 PM
matt_1712
Jan 11 2008, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 11 2008, 10:31 AM) Sushi is a good color... I like!  it's a sp deh  Added on January 11, 2008, 3:39 pmQUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jan 11 2008, 01:48 PM) haha matt, hope you will have fun there. yes plain to watch that movie too.. hehe been playing with them alot. but they still quite shy. and the food.. i don't know if they are eating or not. cause when i leave the tank and come back after a while, the food would be less, but i think they just buried them or something. is it normal for them to not really eat in a new environment? my friend say taro's color is nicer den spike in the movie haha This post has been edited by matt_1712: Jan 11 2008, 03:39 PM
matt_1712
Jan 11 2008, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 10 2008, 11:54 PM) Hahah.. Great! New gerbil owner. Glad you got your gerbils already. yeah! now i'm in the family! hehe QUOTE Your gerbils definitely have nice colors biggrin.gif. Mine just 2 reg brown colors and one grey with red eyes. LOVES them so much. Haha~ thanks! yeah i love mine too! very playful and both like to dig around.
matt_1712
Jan 16 2008, 10:16 PM
hmm.. one of my boys wont stop scratching the corner of the tank. any idea why?
matt_1712
Jan 17 2008, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(abang brother @ Jan 17 2008, 07:19 PM) Guys, I'm gonna buy a pair of same sex gerbils, may i know what type of toys i should give? Should i put beddings very thick? Then, should i give them alot of Alfafa Hay? Btw, can i give them a home like the hamsters? hmm.. you can give them toilet paper roll as toys. i put a driftwood, aroma burner, porcelain bowls, and a coconut inside for them to hide and play around with. as for bedding, 5 inches would be nice because gerbils are diggers  alfalfa hays, the gerbils sometimes play with them and eat them. so.. i guess you can put as much as you like. and no, you cannot use a hamster home for them because they will chew themselves out, or even injure themselves. use a 1.5ft or 2ft plastic aquarium tank instead. hope that helps.
matt_1712
Jan 19 2008, 01:12 AM
hey all! i'm a little worried. one of my boy's fur is a little messy. i've already given him a sand bath, but it's still messy like this:  any idea why? btw, here are 2 pictures of my 2 boys. hope you guys like it!  sp deh - sushi  sp nutmeg - fatty
matt_1712
Jan 19 2008, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(babymoli @ Jan 19 2008, 02:34 PM) You can put in another tank only for sand bath or if you have container and put inside their tank. As for the color sand, I'm not sure whether it is suitable or not. But if the sand is too fine, please don't give them. It may cause respiratory problem to them. Hahahahaha.... Normal to have messy fur. Some gerbils fur can last longer after sand bath but some after while already messy. hmm.. okok den i won't worry too much. maybe will give cod liver oil for the fur to be nicer
matt_1712
Jan 30 2008, 02:36 PM
sp deh
matt_1712
Jan 30 2008, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(matt_1712 @ Jan 30 2008, 02:36 PM) sp deh  i got mine from nezumitaro. you can pm her if she still has them. her gerbils are nice