What is the best bang for buck SUV 130-140k, Advise Please

SportyHandling
post Sep 18 2024, 07:26 AM
S
722 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 18 2024, 06:20 AM)
Cbu or ckd unit? The gb issues only on the cbu cz using old, 6 gear auto torque converter while ckd use DCT. Few cases of DCT when had issues are due to HCA pump, but kudos to Proton, they can take this under warranty within 5 years unlimited mileage.

Suv size with small displacement turbo engine fc sure on high side if really push it. But considerate drive (120-140kmh) long distance travel gets me 8.4L/100km. City drive meanwhile different story, can easily hit 10L/100km for KL massive jem
I'm not sure if CKD or CBU but it's a model that's more than 5 years old. The gearbox costs RM29k and the total cost of replacement plus other parts and labour costs RM33k which is an astronomical figure just for the gearbox alone. Pity the owners if the gearbox malfunctions out of warranty period.

dwRK
post Sep 18 2024, 09:53 AM
D
the consummate chartist
6,303 posts

Male
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 18 2024, 06:25 AM)
Now in Indonesia, take their Grab for 70km distance, on Toyota Avanza (Alza) manual here, with 5 gear. On 110-120kmh, it kinda high rpm (seem similar to Toyota Aruz). This car for those who had 3-4 kids but with affordable price, engine wise I believe it's an underpower. But no issues for normal driving drive without pushing
1.3 or 1.5 ?

mt will always rev higher at high speed/highway... no such high rev problem with cvt during my holiday drive...

in fact i tot it was turbo until my friend corrected me... i find the power adequate, handling firm and ride comfortable...

end of the day, up to ts to test drive it...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Sep 18 2024, 10:30 AM
ayamxxx
post Sep 18 2024, 11:30 AM

4,190 posts

Male

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Sep 18 2024, 07:26 AM)
I'm not sure if CKD or CBU but it's a model that's more than 5 years old. The gearbox costs RM29k and the total cost of replacement plus other parts and labour costs RM33k which is an astronomical figure just for the gearbox alone. Pity the owners if the gearbox malfunctions out of warranty period.
I assume it is a cbu due to the price u mentioned. Cz dct so far only need the HCA pump replacement after high mileage for few cases.
ayamxxx
post Sep 18 2024, 12:01 PM

4,190 posts

Male

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 18 2024, 09:53 AM)
1.3 or 1.5 ?

mt will always rev higher at high speed/highway... no such high rev problem with cvt during my holiday drive...

in fact i tot it was turbo until my friend corrected me... i find the power adequate, handling firm and ride comfortable...

end of the day, up to ts to test drive it...

Its a basic unit, manual, 1.3L. It struggling at climbing hill when reaching my hotel area.

For Alza with CVT, sure the rpm much lower than manual, somemore P2 use 1.5L engine.

For that budget, consider good already for P2 with including safety features
touristking
post Sep 26 2024, 10:59 AM
T
5,856 posts

QUOTE(MoneyChaser @ Sep 12 2024, 10:39 AM)
thanks for the opening the thread , i am in a similar limbo , driving a 2009 Honda City , time for an upgrade year end.

Need reccomendations for a SUV , but i dont have kids ... i enjoy the pleasure of driving an SUV.. the cross seems to be a winner in my analysis
I think other countries' cross come with 2.0 liter engine whereas Malaysia's still 1.8. And the foot brake vmad.gif
touristking
post Sep 26 2024, 11:01 AM
T
5,856 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Sep 13 2024, 01:49 AM)
If cap at 140k, new car,

Existing model - Cross if want hassle free, now got lots "stock clearance" discount, just that you have to live with foot brake (sometimes ppl just can't accept it), then HRV, then J7, if budget up a bit then go for Forester previous year, you won't go wrong with SAWD driving experience and stability

Coming soon model will be Jetour, new P2 SUV, Yaris Cross, expected is end of this year but no launch date. and the most recent is the xPander, spacious and SUV driving experience (It's a MPV)
I didn't consider the Forrester because overseas they are comparing the 2.5 liter with the Honda 1.5T. Malaysia's only 2.0
yhcyber
post Sep 26 2024, 11:52 AM

484 posts

Male
QUOTE(touristking @ Sep 26 2024, 11:01 AM)
I didn't consider the Forrester because overseas they are comparing the 2.5 liter with the Honda 1.5T. Malaysia's only 2.0
2.0NA is gonna EOL, since the upcoming will be CBU from Japan for SEA market

Rumors on 1.8T to reduce the tax, but the price will not from 160k, maybe 180k and above

TSPowerGadget
post Oct 1 2024, 02:35 PM
P
835 posts

Just test drive X70 recently and it looks good for its price tag especially the executive variant which is about 100k.

Thinking of getting either X70 executive or Premium. Not sure the premium justify the 13k extra as compared to the executive though.

Have young children and worry the light colour seat might get stained easily.

What do you guys think?

Boy96
post Oct 1 2024, 02:52 PM

That's a tripod.
3,862 posts

Male
If you have access to home charging, the Neta X is not a bad choice. Or you can get Omoda E5 and Atto 3 at sub rm130k
dogbert_chew
post Oct 1 2024, 03:57 PM

1,601 posts

Male
QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Oct 1 2024, 02:35 PM)
Thinking of getting either X70 executive or Premium. Not sure the premium justify the 13k extra as compared to the executive though.
Apart from the 18" -> 19" rims and adaptive cruise control, do you depend on the additional safety tool?
Blind spot, autonomous braking, lane keep, collision warning
angelgemini
post Oct 1 2024, 04:03 PM
A
1,754 posts

Male
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 18 2024, 12:01 PM)
Its a basic unit, manual, 1.3L. It struggling at climbing hill when reaching my hotel area.

For Alza with CVT, sure the rpm much lower than manual, somemore P2 use 1.5L engine.

For that budget, consider good already for P2 with including safety features
P2 and safety never come together.

P2 = moving coffin.

dogbert_chew
post Oct 1 2024, 04:37 PM

1,601 posts

Male
QUOTE(angelgemini @ Oct 1 2024, 04:03 PM)
P2 and safety never come together.

P2 = moving coffin.
P2 supplies all the safety tools even for lowest variant for each model (excl old Axia E) to help avoid accidents.

But if really kena, then survival rate in Proton likely higher
angelgemini
post Oct 1 2024, 04:41 PM
A
1,754 posts

Male
QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Oct 1 2024, 04:37 PM)
P2 supplies all the safety tools even for lowest variant for each model (excl old Axia E) to help avoid accidents.

But if really kena, then survival rate in Proton likely higher
those safety feature is useless in Malaysia highway.

cause those feature will not out smart Hilux and lorry on highway, specially PLUS..............

if feel life too long, then go get P2.

if on budget but still value life over face, go get P1.

This post has been edited by angelgemini: Oct 1 2024, 04:42 PM
ayamxxx
post Oct 1 2024, 04:47 PM

4,190 posts

Male

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Oct 1 2024, 02:35 PM)
Just test drive X70 recently and it looks good for its price tag especially the executive variant which is about 100k.

Have young children and worry the light colour seat might get stained easily.

What do you guys think?
If it me, don't really needed the autonomous level 2, buy used prefacelift (those with black color below bumper trim), premium variant. Used price looks great
Autocountstick
post Oct 1 2024, 04:50 PM
A
721 posts

mazda or cross
autodriver
post Oct 2 2024, 08:13 AM
A
419 posts

Male
QUOTE(matrix88 @ Sep 11 2024, 02:04 PM)
peace of mind buy japanese - toyota / honda
Peaec of mind, buy Japanese Toyota or Mazda, not Honda.
autodriver
post Oct 2 2024, 08:29 AM
A
419 posts

Male
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 18 2024, 06:25 AM)
Now in Indonesia, take their Grab for 70km distance, on Toyota Avanza (Alza) manual here, with 5 gear. On 110-120kmh, it kinda high rpm (seem similar to Toyota Aruz). This car for those who had 3-4 kids but with affordable price, engine wise I believe it's an underpower. But no issues for normal driving drive without pushing
How to definite it is underpowered? I got a new Alza for wife and I find the power is enough for daily drive, it is capable to drive up to Genting with 5 adults. For family car please do not expect 0-100km/h is as quick as compact car as in similar engine displacement. The CVT will open up high ratio in low speed to help pushing the car, in return you will hear loud screaming sound from the engine.
ayamxxx
post Oct 2 2024, 10:02 AM

4,190 posts

Male

QUOTE(autodriver @ Oct 2 2024, 08:29 AM)
How to definite it is underpowered? I got a new Alza for wife and I find the power is enough for daily drive, it is capable to drive up to Genting with 5 adults. For family car please do not expect 0-100km/h is as quick as compact car as in similar engine displacement. The CVT will open up high ratio in low speed to help pushing the car, in return you will hear loud screaming sound from the engine.
As mentioned in Indonesia they use 1.3L engine. One I ride is manual. Need really gear 1 and slowly ride some hill in my hotel area last time.
junetan
post Oct 3 2024, 05:03 PM
J
70 posts

i own honda city 2013. now air cond got issue, sometimes will suddenly not cold, after on off few times, then cold again.... and recently having sound from bottom(i haven't bring to shop check) when pass through speed bump.

i am also looking for car.....

i tested X50, X70, HRV, cross, Alza, omoda 5

X70- i feel some dizzy after test drive, the car is like very heavy... need press more on the Accelerator Pedal.
X50- i can not easy look on the info in meter, block by steering i think
HRV(V spec) - most sastify. good power, smooth drive. but i didn't drive in highway. and i dun like the middle bump at the rear seat.
Cross - eventually the space is smaller than HRV, and like heavy to drive the car move.
omoda 5 - very powerful, and the i not get used on the brake. like no brake when i press. and after the sales demo remote start-up, then audio in the car is being mute, and they dun know how to turn it on until i left the service centre.

PS: cross facelift is arround the corner. heard the battery is change to Lithium.

gobiomani
post Oct 3 2024, 06:58 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Oct 1 2024, 02:52 PM)
If you have access to home charging, the Neta X is not a bad choice. Or you can get Omoda E5 and Atto 3 at sub rm130k
Atto 3 selling for RM150k no? Can get discount?

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0294sec    0.59    9 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th May 2026 - 09:11 AM