Any difference between TouchNGo Alipay vs Alipay International app?
traveling to beijing questions, mind to share?
Sep 10 2024, 12:44 AM
14,899 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
Any difference between TouchNGo Alipay vs Alipay International app? leah235 liked this post
Sep 13 2024, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(leah235 @ Sep 12 2024, 03:51 PM) Im in China rn. I'm in China right now as well.Using TnG (change country setting to Mainland China) and wallah, you get TnG partnered with Alipay. No hassle in paying. Everything is scan scan scan, weixin/wechat, Alipay. I still convert some cash tho, in case the line breakdown & pay hotel deposit. Some merchants Alipay cannot accept Touch N Go. Have to use the international version. Also, most discounts on the Mei Tuan App can only use Alipay international version. In the end just transfer 200 yuan x 10 times to my wife's Alipay then transfer back. Wise rate. |
Sep 13 2024, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Sep 13 2024, 12:51 PM) Yes.But in the end I just used my friend's contact because wifey shop a lot. Lazy to do 200 transfer so often. gundamsp01 liked this post
Sep 28 2024, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(when2meets2boy @ Sep 27 2024, 12:48 PM) Also like to add, WeChat MY is gone.TnG (via Alipay+ connect) & cash seems to be the only go to now what WeChat is gone But you can sign up WeChat China and verify passport, and it is good to go. Personally, I think WeChat is bigger and better than Alipay. when2meets2boy liked this post
Sep 28 2024, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(@Adele @ Sep 28 2024, 09:03 PM) Need to scan their QR payment code then it will prompt to sign up for an account.You can't sign up from the app, it will redirect you to Malaysia's useless discontinued message. QUOTE(when2meets2boy @ Sep 28 2024, 09:24 PM) Good to know we can sign up WeChat China, Yes, you can bind international cards to WeChat Pay and use it to pay.But if you have successfully done this, can you also tell us if WeChat China's account WeChatPay, can we bind our Malaysian credit card or bank accounts to transfer fund into WeChat China wallet? Thanks P.S> if you have remaining Ringgit in your WeChat MY wallet, you have until Dec 2024 to transfer the money out, else it will be gone. According to WeChat MY. https://pay.wechat.com/en_my/cessation.html However, you cannot transfer funds to WeChat Wallet. when2meets2boy liked this post
Sep 29 2024, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(when2meets2boy @ Sep 29 2024, 11:29 PM) Thanks for the info I use my Malaysian number."Need to scan their QR payment code then it will prompt to sign up for an account." Does the phone used to scan the in China QR payment code need to be a local China phone number? or if our Malaysian phone number can work too? when2meets2boy liked this post
Sep 29 2024, 11:43 PM
One thing is that while China may be advanced in their implementation of digital payment, I think Malaysia is better in terms of QR code payment implementation.
In China, Alipay QR must use Alipay app and WeChat must use WeChat app. Malaysia, as long as DuitNow QR, any wallet apps also can. |
Sep 30 2024, 02:31 AM
QUOTE(when2meets2boy @ Sep 30 2024, 12:27 AM) From my own experience, it is invaluable to have both Touch and Go (via Alipay+) and WeChat Pay (previously I used WeChat Pay MY) to cover 99.9% of scenarios in China Alipay+ works only when the recipient is using a merchant/business QR code. If they are using a personal QR code, it won't work—though, in most cases (about 80%), merchants use business QR codes.Touch and Go (via Alipay+) sometimes does not work with some China vendors' qrpay payment codes (because they aren't on the Alipay+ payment regime), and all of the time (in my experience), the WeChat Pay can work as the backup. Big retailers also accept VISA, but the charges and bank's exchange rates aren't that competitive (since it's a credit based service, there will be fees and fees). During my last trip to China, DuitNow QR was announced to work in China, but did not. I will try out Maybank's DuitNow QR Scan & Pay as another payment option in the next trip To make payments to personal QR codes, you’ll need to use the Alipay International app, which requires you to preload funds into the account. You cannot pay directly by card through the international version of the app. The same applies to the international version of WeChat Pay. One reason I prefer WeChat Pay is that they sometimes offer promotions when you scan their QR codes. For example, scanning a WeChat QR code might give you better deals than the Mei Tuan app. For instance, HeyTea offers 2 drinks for RMB15 through WeChat promotions. when2meets2boy liked this post
Oct 5 2024, 12:51 PM
I am wondering if we can use MY issued China debit card to top up wallet. Anyone tried before?
Example: Bank of China, ICBC |
Oct 5 2024, 10:47 PM
Oct 26 2024, 01:00 AM
Dec 17 2024, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Dec 17 2024, 06:46 PM) Hi, wanna double check, does it means that if the transaction is below RMB200 when using Malaysian CC linked to Alipay app, there will not be 3% charge by Alipay? But will still need to follow the CC exchange rate which I think will be more than the rate if using the TnG Alipay+ right? Anything below RMB200 will not incur 3% charge. But they will charge RMB to the card and follows the card rate.Thanks I would suggest TnG Visa card as they have 1% cashback program at the moment. |
Dec 18 2024, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Dec 17 2024, 11:09 PM) i just came back from china For a limited time, UnionPay International is currently having a promo that waives all 3% charge.there was one transaction which was above RMB200 and there wasn't any 3% charges in my AliPay. I linked a Bank of China UnionPay debit card to AliPay to pay. https://www.globaltimes.cn/page/202411/1322538.shtml Blofeld liked this post
Dec 18 2024, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Dec 18 2024, 09:10 AM) Yes. QUOTE(@Adele @ Dec 18 2024, 09:35 AM) I didnt get charged for CC. apparently it says first 7 days fees will be waived. That was the message I received WeChat? WeChat got special promo for first time WeChat Wallet users in China. I also have that message on my previous visit few months ago. But last 2 weeks no more for me. |
Dec 18 2024, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Dec 18 2024, 04:48 PM) Ok thanks. BTW I think will be quite similar if add the Wise debit card to Alipay International app as well? Possible. Just no 1% cashback. lowyat101 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0251sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:58 AM |