Coffee as a relief for migraine, I just found out

TSBlofeld
post Sep 7 2024, 10:12 AM, updated 2y ago

4,697 posts

I suffer from regular migraine for several years and I just discovered that coffee works like a drug.

I'm not a coffee drinker.

Just coincidentally a few months ago, i took a few sips of Americano/Kopi-0 when i have had a migraine. At that time, my wife bought a cup of Americano and i just gave a try because it just smells nice.

Miraculously, the migraine went away roughly one hour after i took the few sips.

I suspected it's the caffeine in the coffee. Because it's weird that the migraine disappeared just like that.

So, I did it again and again every time I have had a migraine and it went away roughly one hour after i started sipping the few sips of coffee. I did not even drink a cup of coffee. Few sips is just enough for me.

Otherwise, I would have taken panadol everytime I have had a migraine. And sometimes, the panadol doesn't even really relieve the migraine. So, sometimes i don't bother to take panadol at all and just bear the pain.

Still, i don't drink coffee and i just treat it as a drug for me.
SUSGagalLand
post Sep 7 2024, 10:44 AM

237 posts

Because coffee (not only caffeine) is tonic for our brain cells

This post has been edited by GagalLand: Sep 7 2024, 10:45 AM
SupermanLick
post Sep 7 2024, 07:50 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,455 posts

We drink no more coffee, coffee make us sick and insomnia
Life suffering with coffee
rayeonlee
post Sep 13 2024, 10:31 AM

123 posts

great that you found a relief for your migraine but TS should still try to find its underlying cause. btw how long does the coffee help in subsiding the migraine before it comes back?
TSBlofeld
post Sep 13 2024, 03:20 PM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(rayeonlee @ Sep 13 2024, 10:31 AM)
great that you found a relief for your migraine but TS should still try to find its underlying cause. btw how long does the coffee help in subsiding the migraine before it comes back?
it doesn't come back until the next round. So, it works like panadol.

Let's say for example, i had a migraine attack on the morning of 1st August. I took a few sips and the migraine is gone.

Then later, let's say i have another migraine on 15th August. I took a few sips and the migraine is gone.

I suspect the migraine is related to lack of sleep. I see most of the times is due to this especially if i sleep late the day before.

But sometimes (not too often) it can still come even if I have had enough of sleep the day before. So, i don't know what is the root cause.
fist_Aileron
post Sep 13 2024, 03:27 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Sep 7 2024, 10:12 AM)
I suffer from regular migraine for several years and I just discovered that coffee works like a drug.

I'm not a coffee drinker.

Just coincidentally a few months ago, i took a few sips of Americano/Kopi-0 when i have had a migraine. At that time, my wife bought a cup of Americano and i just gave a try because it just smells nice.

Miraculously, the migraine went away roughly one hour after i took the few sips.

I suspected it's the caffeine in the coffee. Because it's weird that the migraine disappeared just like that.

So, I did it again and again every time I have had a migraine and it went away roughly one hour after i started sipping the few sips of coffee. I did not even drink a cup of coffee. Few sips is just enough for me.

Otherwise, I would have taken panadol everytime I have had a migraine. And sometimes, the panadol doesn't even really relieve the migraine. So, sometimes i don't bother to take panadol at all and just bear the pain.

Still, i don't drink coffee and i just treat it as a drug for me.
Boss caffox and caffergot, both are migraine medicine whixh uses caffeine. So yes, caffein works tp relieve the headache. However be warned that caffein can worsen gut issue which is probably the reason why u have migrain in the first place.
You probably have some allergies or gut issue i presume

Zot
post Sep 13 2024, 03:29 PM

7,934 posts

Caffeine can help relief migraine as well as can cause migraine if too much. Migraine medication indeed contains caffeine
em_on
post Sep 13 2024, 03:29 PM

On My Way
612 posts

ts, ever consider to check w Dr or body check-up may reveal the cause?
Zot
post Sep 13 2024, 03:32 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ Sep 13 2024, 03:29 PM)
ts, ever consider to check w Dr or body check-up may reveal the cause?
Yes, this is more important than taking relief.
Just2centslah
post Feb 19 2025, 01:08 PM

261 posts

Well it’s better find a way to solve a problem in a healthy method. Coffee is not obviously one. Quick, easy and probably cheaper depending on the source though.

This post has been edited by Just2centslah: Feb 19 2025, 01:09 PM
OrangeGamer
post Feb 19 2025, 01:11 PM

237 posts

try medical cannabis, i heard it works too

0.0173sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:22 PM