toxic puak mabok work culture

superbike
post Aug 30 2024, 02:33 PM

224 posts

If only i could ripping bongs and having joint shesh with coworkers just like coworkers are having drinks together 😔.
superbike
post Aug 30 2024, 02:52 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Aug 30 2024, 11:24 AM)
I've seen before people buy supplements that they believe helps their liver because they drink a lot. Sohai culture.

Here lots of alcohol drinkers looks down on those who beneath them.

Imagine alcohol drinkers are looking down on those who uses ketamine, methylphenidate and mushroom and calling them penagih but not seeing their drug of choice is substantially worse.

Remember when they tried to ban alcohol back in the days under Nixon administration war on drugs just like any other drugs even though it fails terribly? Alcohol was seen as the devil back then but is now seen as socially acceptable.

Cannabis users are going to the same path as alcoholic drinkers now. Considering many countries are legalising cannabis, more and more people think it is socially acceptable drug now, which to me it should be if alcohol is seen in the same manner. Some cannabis consumers don't even see it as a drug anymore. Cannabis users be like ",oH aT lEaSt i dOn'T dO hEroIn aNd cOcAinE".

Remember, anything that induces psychoactivity effect releasing dopamine in your brain is a drug. Only difference is legality.
superbike
post Aug 30 2024, 02:56 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Kaya Butter Toast @ Aug 30 2024, 02:40 PM)
After work? I'm sure a lot of them do it in overseas.

Being in the service industry, lots of fast food joint workers toke on the job
20 yrs ago i chow tut with my supervisor in the hotel storeroom i used to work. Never weed though:p
superbike
post Sep 4 2024, 06:18 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Sep 4 2024, 05:43 PM)
Those don't drink tend to be uncompromising and often more brutal and violent as seen in the middle east conflict.
Keep on the denial and copium sir if that makes you feel good.

superbike
post Sep 4 2024, 06:39 PM

224 posts

As much as i used to enjoy alcohol, this peer pressure in pressuring you to drink alcohol and thinking it's a macho thing to do the more hammered and shitfaced you go needs to stop. You don't know the health history of the person with you. What if the person you are pressuring to drink is having particular diseases like liver disease or they are on certain medication, say like drinking alcohol while on benzo medication could actually kills them. Drinking while on certain class on antidepressant, like MAOI used in treating depression with high tyramine alcoholic drink could also kills them.

The thing is in some cultures, it can be hard to say "NO" and it is considered rude to reject when someone offers you drink and some of them don't want to take "NO" for an answer.
superbike
post Sep 4 2024, 06:46 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Sep 4 2024, 06:34 PM)
just let them know you allergy to alcohol or have high blood pressure. If drink will die.
In my dad's race culture, it is considered rude to say no when someone is offering you a drink. While some of them can be considerate with you, there are people who insists that you must and say you banyak alasan if you reject.

This is one reason why i rarely going back to my dad's kampung during Gawai. They like to push alcohol on you regardless of your reason. As much as i used to enjoy drinking, i hate it when people are pushing me to drink. Dah lah last time i had Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease.

0.0173sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:12 PM