Wife / GF who earns more, seeking opinions, views and comments

romuluz777
post Sep 4 2024, 03:05 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 4 2024, 02:41 PM)
Part time consulting work, probably no more than a couple of days per week ... this is to keep my mind sharp and stave off dementia for as long as I can ...
Make sure to blow a few hours per week (or day) on LYN forum
That'll keep the mind active as well.
Happy retirement and all the best, you are a true gentleman !
hksgmy
post Sep 4 2024, 03:56 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Sep 4 2024, 03:05 PM)
Make sure to blow a few hours per week (or day) on LYN forum
That'll keep the mind active as well.
Happy retirement and all the best, you are a true gentleman !
Thank you kind sir!
SUSw19
post Sep 10 2024, 02:25 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Sep 4 2024, 08:17 AM)
as a man we are so called " head of family" regardless earn more or not doesnt matter.. most important is not to lose your job / income. unker been thru this and its sucks.. sorry had to use the language.. trust me however faithful your wifey is ( 10 yrs marriage/ 15 yrs marriage, 30 yrs marriage) if really no income as a man the woman will leave you unless she herself also no value la... seriously no joke!! just sharing its a life experience
101% agree!!!!!!!
ZZR-Pilot
post Sep 26 2024, 06:27 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(abangmantap @ Aug 29 2024, 12:13 PM)
To all the sifus in this forum, I have been around for some time and i realise a lot of you guys are very experienced and wise on a lot of issues with relationships. I am somewhat still young so i would like to hear some of your opinions and wisdom.

To husbands / long term mature boyfriends: Have you guys been around or experienced a situation where, your wives / gfs start earning a lot more than you (50% - 100% your salary more) and then start losing feelings for you? Maybe it can come in shape of being annoyed more with a particular trait that may never have been raised.

To wives / long term mature gfs: Honestly, would you feel or  have you felt less attracted to your husbands and bfs if you start realising you do / can earn way more than your husband / bf?

Any comments and views are extremely welcome. Please let me know what you guys think of this type of situation.
The law of hypergamy - a woman who thinks she is attractive will seek to date up and find a man of a higher value than her. Income plays a significant role in her value assessment.

So if she chooses a guy who makes half of what she makes, she might eventually see that as settling for less and not fully optimizing her own value in the dating marketplace.

Alternately, a man who makes half of what she makes might also feel he loses his sense of authority or leadership in the relationship due to his financial position, which is usually viewed negatively by society.

For a relationship in which the income disparity heavily favours the woman to work, the man must have some other overwhelmingly redeeming qualities to overcome the law of hypergamy.
nihility
post Oct 8 2024, 10:47 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Sep 3 2024, 05:50 PM)
When I was a doctor in the service (in Singapore) and still taking specialist exams, waifu made heaps more as she was an accountant with one of the big four companies (also in Singapore - we both pendatang'ed across the Causeway almost as soon as we graduated). She continued to climb up the corporate ladder while I continued to slave away in the public sector until I cleared all my exams (that took nearly 10 years, from 1st paper until all exit papers were completed). She took care of the bulk of the expenses.

Of course, things are different now, she took early retirement last year and I'm the one left holding the fort - so in our case, it was fair: early days, I took shelter under her umbrage (the original meaning, not the new mistranslation), while she's now enjoying the fruits of her labour in the form of a grateful husband who became a success in the latter years in no small part due to her hard work in taking care of the finances and freeing his time and mind and energy to pursue his studies.

So, even if it's $500,000 or even a million per month difference, I say stick with it - because we did it, and we're more successful together as a couple than we could have been apart and alone.
Borrowing your reply to express some thought on the decision making + observations taking place lately.

1) You yourself being a doctor in service makes a different. Profession like doctor is highly looked upon traditionally & it "promises" a boundless future prospect. Hence, it would not be difficult decision to be made by your wife, to stack all on you while watching you to develop. If not a doctor, a profession like a lawyer, architect, accountant, etc may have the same effect. What if you are not in the line with boundless prospect traditionally ? It is easier to make decision in life if there were proven examples from the previous generation. What if the field you in, there was no known success record, would the wife decision making still be the same ? I believe this part somehow will have significant influence on the her decision making.

2) The intellectual level of your wife also plays important role. Her, being the top student during the pre-u time + both of you enrolled into the same university, it is no surprise that she already attained certain level of wisdom to make the calculated risk decision.

If not a doctor, then what else she wanted to "exchange" it with? Wise ppl will only take risk if the risk reward is way significant. Risking it for a lawyer? an accountant ? an architect etc. is it worth the risk to "exchange" or it is a waste of time? Hence, eventually sticking to the doctor candidate seems to most rationale. Had she was not from the "intellectual" capable category, the past observations from the previous generation would have lead it to the same decision - stick to the doctor.

3) The "action" that the doctor already sitting for the specialist examinations back then carry a significant weightage. Many ppl discuss & talk about their plan but never executed the plan. In the end ,nothing progress.

Whereas, the ppl who execute their imperfect plan (fails , try again) will eventually reach their new milestone. Just like the smartphone - just launched the version 1.0 even though with bugs or defects , improvise it on the version 2.0, 3.0, 4.0 ,etc along the way. This should be adapted to the way of living. Start living, not waiting for the perfection.

Then ppl will say, it is easy to say if you are the doctor or professional with prospects, what if we belong not to the professional field ? There were these the interesting encounters I met by chance over the time ( around 9~10 real life cases).

The most recent one, a school dropout, became the hairstylists at the age of 18 y.o by moving from the small town to KL. From a hairstylist job, he ventured into fashion/garment business because his then gf ( now his wife) feeling heartache seeing him suffering for skipping the lunch & dinner just to ensure his customer's hair was done. He then became rich & made his $$ from the fashion/garment business ( leveraging by expansion). However, the good time do not last forever. The e-commerce revolution thing caught him unprepared. From the millions he made previously, he ran into debts, owing his suppliers money & loan sharks. He didn't gave up his fate, he faced the obstacles. Slowly, he regained his foot again, cleared his debts. Now he is the co-owners(with his wife) a real estate agency hiring 50~60 real estate agents.

There are more than 1 of such real life stories, each of them are showing a common trait - they displayed the " rich people attitude". It just that the frequency of meeting such ppl is getting more frequent, I just think such observation need to be posted.

For the girls - if you manage to find the candidate that keep standing up on their foot up even though he got beaten badly over & over = action displaying this "rich people attitude". Stick to this kind of candidate before they get mature because this will the auto self-upgrading smart phone which will relaunch themselves over the times, version 1.0, 2.0,3.0…16.0 , etc. It is matter of time they will reach the "rich" state. The life journey from version 1.0, 2.0, 3.0, till version 16.0 etc will be so "rich" and envied by most ppl. This type of people values " the charcoal sent to them during the winter".

If you are targeting the rich candidate + quality candidate - which is very rare to be available / single (unless his previous SO passed away due to illness / unfortunate incident), you will never be able to enter the deepest region in their heart for the "absolute submission". Over the time, ppl gained wisdom & will question the motive/intention. That's why it is harder for the older ppl to make new friends.

To the TS - you want to address the issue about the salary different with gf/wife, you need to move yourself to this self-upgrading smart phone sector. "A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step".

To the doc, having a clear path in life is a blessing by Heaven - your path is the example/ benchmark for many. Too many choices in the life sometime can become a misfortune as it will become a distraction.

disclaimer - purely for the idea & thought, nothing on personal level.
achong09
post Oct 10 2024, 08:11 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(w19 @ Aug 31 2024, 04:35 AM)
Wife / GF earn more is not a problem.

The main problem is character of the person (MORAL)!

My real life experience. My wife. Poor family background from small town. Father is businessman, now bankrupt. Brother is scammer (money game, direct sales, coin, forex, investment, car sales....) Leader in school. STPM top student. Degree, Master n DBA (No 1 result in class but didnt complate.) UM student. Did you know how hard for Chinese in Malaysia to study in UM please!? Its superb hard! Now, she in pro industry. Dept head. Income near half million.

First, she fall in love with her uncle which are older 12 years. Beside that, this uncle is married with kid! She can stay in uncle house, even having xxx with uncle in uncle aunt bedroom. This uncle is a Dato. Pro industry also. MD in listed company. She still keep in touch with uncle.

After she meet me, I ask her stop all this non sense. Serious, I know its never stop.

Second, flirt around with another guy in office (Her Superior). Go travel together with him, let me know company trip.

Third, Flirt around with another guy who are same industry. Go travel together with him, let me know group of friend.

Forth, Flirt with supplier (IT).

Fifth, Flirt with another guy in office.

Sixth, Flirt with DBA classmate, XXX, Video, Photo. Married man with kid. Strongly believe her video n photo is online.

This is what I know!!!!

Me simple person. Poor family. Without education like her. Investment industry. Income up n down. I spend A to Z on her even I pay for her university fee.

Serious, life is about choice, no wrong no right, Just try to think who want suffer with you please!?

P/S: Most of her friend with same character.
hmm.. flirt with IT supplier?? oh gosh.. is that your wife? hmm... not saying anything i think i know who liao
novblaze
post Oct 10 2024, 08:12 AM

328 posts

My wife earns more.

So I left my job to jaga baby
TSabangmantap P
post Oct 10 2024, 01:46 PM

Probation
13 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Oct 8 2024, 10:47 AM)
Borrowing your reply to express some thought on the decision making + observations taking place lately.

1) You yourself being a doctor in service makes a different. Profession like doctor is highly looked upon traditionally & it "promises" a boundless future prospect. Hence, it would not be difficult decision to be made by your wife, to stack all on you while watching you to develop. If not a doctor, a profession like a lawyer, architect, accountant, etc may have the same effect. What if you are not in the line with boundless prospect traditionally ? It is easier to make decision in life if there were proven examples from the previous generation. What if the field you in, there was no known success record, would the wife decision making still be the same ? I believe this part somehow will have significant influence on the her decision making.

2) The intellectual level of your wife also plays important role. Her, being the top student during the pre-u time + both of you enrolled into the same university, it is no surprise that she already attained certain level of wisdom to make the calculated risk decision.

If not a doctor, then what else she wanted to "exchange" it with? Wise ppl will only take risk if the risk reward is way significant. Risking it for a lawyer? an accountant ? an architect etc. is it worth the risk to "exchange" or it is a waste of time? Hence, eventually sticking to the doctor candidate seems to most rationale. Had she was not from the "intellectual" capable category, the past observations from the previous generation would have lead it to the same decision - stick to the doctor.

3) The "action" that the doctor already sitting for the specialist examinations back then carry a significant weightage. Many ppl discuss & talk about their plan but never executed the plan. In the end ,nothing progress.

Whereas, the ppl who execute their imperfect plan (fails , try again) will eventually reach their new milestone. Just like the smartphone - just launched the version 1.0 even though with bugs or defects , improvise it on the version 2.0, 3.0, 4.0 ,etc along the way. This should be adapted to the way of living. Start living, not waiting for the perfection.

Then ppl will say, it is easy to say if you are the doctor or professional with prospects, what if we belong not to the professional field ? There were these the interesting encounters I met by chance over the time ( around 9~10 real life cases).

The most recent one, a school dropout, became the hairstylists at the age of 18 y.o by moving from the small town to KL. From a hairstylist job, he ventured into fashion/garment business because his then gf ( now his wife) feeling heartache seeing him suffering for skipping the lunch & dinner just to ensure his customer's hair was done. He then became rich & made his $$ from the fashion/garment business ( leveraging by expansion). However, the good time do not last forever. The e-commerce revolution thing caught him unprepared. From the millions he made previously, he ran into debts, owing his suppliers money & loan sharks. He didn't gave up his fate, he faced the obstacles. Slowly, he regained his foot again, cleared his debts. Now he is the co-owners(with his wife) a real estate agency hiring 50~60 real estate agents.

There are more than 1 of such real life stories, each of them are showing a common trait - they displayed the " rich people attitude". It just that the frequency of meeting such ppl is getting more frequent, I just think such observation need to be posted.

For the girls - if you manage to find the candidate that keep standing up on their foot up even though he got beaten badly over & over = action displaying this "rich people attitude". Stick to this kind of candidate before they get mature because this will the auto self-upgrading smart phone which will relaunch themselves over the times, version 1.0, 2.0,3.0…16.0 , etc. It is matter of time they will reach the "rich" state. The life  journey from version 1.0, 2.0, 3.0, till version 16.0 etc will be so "rich" and envied by most ppl. This type of people values " the charcoal sent to them during the winter".

If you are targeting the rich candidate + quality candidate - which is very rare to be available / single (unless his previous SO passed away due to illness / unfortunate incident), you will never be able to enter the deepest region in their heart for the "absolute submission". Over the time, ppl gained wisdom & will question the motive/intention. That's why it is harder for the older ppl to make new friends.

To the TS - you want to address the issue about the salary different with gf/wife, you need to move yourself to this self-upgrading smart phone sector.  "A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step".

To the doc, having a clear path in life is a blessing by Heaven - your path is the example/ benchmark for many. Too many choices in the life sometime can become a misfortune as it will become a distraction.

disclaimer - purely for the idea & thought, nothing on personal level.
Wow! So much wisdom in one reply. Thanks for taking the time! Very insightful and useful to learn. Thanks!
xboxrockers
post Oct 11 2024, 05:04 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ Oct 10 2024, 08:12 AM)
My wife earns more.

So I left my job to jaga baby
For real? How's life as househusband?
novblaze
post Oct 11 2024, 06:31 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(xboxrockers @ Oct 11 2024, 05:04 AM)
For real? How's life as househusband?
Jaga baby is a lot of work
Tktsbl P
post Oct 22 2024, 04:40 PM

Probation

My wife was h.wife for more than 10yrs while am breadwinner.

Somehow, there is time where could not cope with high living cost.

Kids growing, edu fee also growing.

Vehicle also not anymore from point A to B. It's more toward safety & comfort of family

Food that consume not about nutrition & fill the hunger, but add on about tastyness & ig'able.

Esp after covid, perception about life changed.

With ventured into insurance industry, her take home pay escalated >1-2x than mine

Off course felt about less alpha nowadays

MishimaZ
post Oct 24 2024, 09:37 AM

269 posts

As equal or as feminist any woman portray, from experience they are likely to respect men who are more capable then her. All these are biologically ingrained, nothing wrong with that though. Despite all the empowerment, nearly all expect their men to handle the bills plus the hard labor part as any man should.

Though not the norm, imagine you guys had been paying all bills 50:50 and one day you guys had an argument and she blurted that she is the man of the house, how would you feel?

This post has been edited by MishimaZ: Oct 24 2024, 09:38 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0231sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:39 AM