LIAM CEO Stunned By Hospital Bill For RM19,000, Minor Hernia Surgery

halglory
post Aug 29 2024, 11:38 AM

NEEDS MOAR OF IT
995 posts

QUOTE(POYOZER @ Aug 29 2024, 09:11 AM)
Its the time to terminate and boycott insurance service.
go for it dude, don't go begging for insurance to cover you when you got pre-existing conditions or accident
go for gov hospital? can, the public healthcare system is already overcrowded because of rm1 initiative, if you got terminal disease the best they can do is to provide you palliative care, not recovery.
zerorating
post Aug 29 2024, 11:38 AM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Aug 29 2024, 11:31 AM)
This is the issue loh. You see the neurologist want to do all sort of test but to insurance companies, there must be justification.

Doing all sorts of tests which might not be necessary are one of the reasons why medical bills become so expensive.

Ask yourself honestly. If it’s your own money, will you be asking whether all the tests necessary?
so instead of issuing low value guarantee letter, they just throw the patient under the bus. sure sure.
anyway paham already permainan insurans kompeni, want patient to pay first for the expensive test first, if found something baru cari balik insurans kompeni (maybe cant claim back test with normal result).

joking aside i went gomen hospital via ED for some case, the same day refer to internal med, order thousand dollar of tests. thanks taxpayers lol.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Aug 29 2024, 11:41 AM
Enigmatic
post Aug 29 2024, 11:39 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Aug 29 2024, 11:31 AM)
This is the issue loh. You see the neurologist want to do all sort of test but to insurance companies, there must be justification.

Doing all sorts of tests which might not be necessary are one of the reasons why medical bills become so expensive.

Ask yourself honestly. If it’s your own money, will you be asking whether all the tests necessary?
Dropping by just to say you have the most sensible takes on this thread.

The rest... Hah.
DM52
post Aug 29 2024, 11:42 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Aug 29 2024, 10:21 AM)
adenoid ablation and tonsil removal. 2 night in hospital.

RM16000
What year is this?. I do the exactly same things. lol. u must be osa patient right?. My bill is way lower than u, thats why really keen to know ur operation year.
TS30624770
post Aug 29 2024, 11:49 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(kenuism @ Aug 29 2024, 12:38 PM)
I'm stunned that he's stunned
You understand why he’s talking about this or not?
xeNOS
post Aug 29 2024, 11:49 AM

.:floccinaucinihilipilification:.
1,194 posts

Private hospitals really do have their KPIs for doctors (e.g. how many operations done, MRI referered etc.) which is really something that should not be practiced in the first place. Some independent body shld have a look into this before the whole healthcare industry turns into a greater mess
haturaya
post Aug 29 2024, 11:50 AM

2,559 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 29 2024, 08:16 AM)
both industries colluding with each other... leaving patients with increasing insurance premium every year

both unethical, unprofessional, and money driven. PUI!
And they ALWAYS come with heaps of fine prints ranting.gif
sportivo
post Aug 29 2024, 12:06 PM

64 posts

Businessmen BODs cum accountants always find loopholes to maximise profits
Legit way uses by private healthcare centre to scam your hard-earned medical care insurance.

This post has been edited by sportivo: Aug 29 2024, 12:07 PM
emburrar
post Aug 29 2024, 12:31 PM

14 posts

Shocked pikachu jpg
andrewhtf
post Aug 29 2024, 12:33 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Aug 29 2024, 08:25 AM)

What was he doing during those decades of serving his clients? Takkan all sihat walafiat until he no chance/ never encountered itemized hospital bill before?
You barking up the wrong tree. He as CEO doesn't serve the "clients". He serves the board of directors.
Irzani
post Aug 29 2024, 12:34 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

The Insurance CEO just know this? Where is he previously? Sky?
cursetheroad01
post Aug 29 2024, 12:36 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Aug 29 2024, 08:14 AM)
How is insurance industry causing hospitals to overcharge?

Claims affects their profits. No insurance companies will like to settle expensive claims.
So are they going to deny medical card claims that is clearly covered by the policy just because "naaaaah your doctor is overcharging"?
TS30624770
post Aug 29 2024, 12:37 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Aug 29 2024, 01:34 PM)
The Insurance CEO just know this? Where is he previously? Sky?
He’s bringing this up because it’s getting out of hand.

For a insurance industry guy to voice out, you know it’s seriously something wrong.
pakmulau
post Aug 29 2024, 12:39 PM

589 posts

Ini semua mainan hospital.saja. Capitalist industry. Sapa mau untung kecik sapa mau kerja gaji sikit.
cursetheroad01
post Aug 29 2024, 12:41 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(halglory @ Aug 29 2024, 11:38 AM)
go for it dude, don't go begging for insurance to cover you when you got pre-existing conditions or accident
go for gov hospital? can, the public healthcare system is already overcrowded because of rm1 initiative, if you got terminal disease the best they can do is to provide you palliative care, not recovery.
And that is why we have to lobby for gomen to increase our healthcare budget so it is more universal aka all people regardless of income could get treatment.

But naaaah
Better to pay insurance and support private hospital that will prioritise profit.
Besides, mana boleh doktor gaji besar tapi tak buat kerja.
Hint: They are understaffed and we all know gomen won't allocate money for more hires but instead spend it on useless departments like jais and shit, and we all okay with it.

This post has been edited by cursetheroad01: Aug 29 2024, 12:42 PM
cubiclecarbonate
post Aug 29 2024, 12:41 PM

558 posts

It's a business, not health care
TS30624770
post Aug 29 2024, 12:43 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(cursetheroad01 @ Aug 29 2024, 01:41 PM)
And that is why we have to lobby for gomen to increase our healthcare expenditure so it is more universal aka all people regardless of income could get treatment.

But naaaah
Better to pay insurance and support private hospital that will prioritise profit.
Besides, mana boleh doktor gaji besar tapi tak buat kerja.
Hint: They are understaffed and we all know gomen won't allocate money for more hires but instead spend it on useless departments like jais and shit, and we all okay with.
How much higher you want government to increase healthcare expenditure?

RM1 still not enough?

delon85
post Aug 29 2024, 12:54 PM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Aug 29 2024, 08:38 AM)
Like my relative that work in private hospital....
She keep complaint...
The patient already no hope already,
Better send the patient home to live last few moment with family...
But the hospital management and doctor keep don't want and keep do unnecessary operation,  medication,  etc just so can utilise 100% patient insurance which at 1~2 million.....
This should be made illegal. But hard to pass law.
mushigen
post Aug 29 2024, 01:00 PM

4,955 posts

QUOTE(Minolta @ Aug 29 2024, 11:06 AM)
I am replying in the context of why nurse ask for insurance or not during his outpatient consult with a specialist.

To apply for GL. That is standard.
Everytime i see my gastroenterologist, i have to get a GL. Go earlier, register, apply GL then get breakfast while waiting. Once GL approved, i can see. If my limit burst, i will wait till next year’s outpatient limit refresh, then see.
If you answer no, you will incur lower bill. If you answer yes, you will incur higher bill. It's related.

In addition to asking you in order to get the GL, you will also get extra bill.
anakkk
post Aug 29 2024, 01:08 PM

2,120 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Aug 29 2024, 08:59 AM)
Must be serious. Mine was hospitalized for 3 days each. Cost 4.7k each.

Doctor:900
Nursing: 600
Room: 400

Rest was facilities, tests, equipment, medicine, etc.
nothing serious, just influenza, I think the doc just took a ride on us. keep do blood test, tell me this and that, blood test result no good kind of thing, we need to chase his tail to ask for discharge.

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:40 AM