American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

SUSOptiplex330
post Dec 23 2008, 08:48 AM

12,696 posts

Just want to ask a simple question. Why even bother with AMEX if far fewer outlet accept AMEX? I cut mine many years ago when US Dell do not accept AMEX. That was the last straw.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 10 2009, 07:10 AM

12,696 posts

You people are lucky you don't have this one:

American Expess has increased the cost of borrowing on one of its credit cards to 46 per cent — more than 30 times the Bank of England base rate.

The company now charges 46 per cent APR on the British Airways Premium Plus card, making it Britain’s most expensive credit card.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 10 2009, 09:31 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 9 2009, 11:21 PM)
Also, don't forget when U use your Amex in foreign currency it is double conversion.  It will first convert to USD and from USD to MY.  So unless ur buying something in USD, it doesn't convert twice biggrin.gif
I think Mastercard and Visa also convert the foreign currency to USD. Then from USD to Malaysian Ringgit as well. No difference to American Express.

On top of conversion, majority of credit card add in 1 or 2% of transaction or processing fee to your statement. The only one I know that don't is Alliance Bank.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 10 2009, 09:32 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 10 2009, 10:26 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 10:07 AM)
@Optiplex330,
If ur Visa/Mastercard is issued locally the conversion will be direct; as in from AUD to RM instead of AUD --> USD --> RM.
I didn't know that. All I know is, I once buy something from UK in GBP. MC converted the GBP to USD and from USD to RM.

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 27 2009, 08:17 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Aug 26 2009, 06:17 PM)
for oversea spending ... visa n master , which offer a lower conversion rate??? although most bank charge 1% on top of the rate but the rate visa/master will determine the nett amount also rite???
A few bank don't charge the 1 or 2% on top of the rate. AFAIK, Alliance don't.

Added on August 27, 2009, 8:27 amThis thread is so long that I don't think I have the patience to read through them all so please bear with my few questions. Thanks.

1. Does Malaysian AMEX belongs to Maybank?

2. On payment. I do not bank with Maybank. But I read on AMEX website saying you pay your pure AMEX at Maybank but don't seems to see it mentioning other bank. I do not want the hassle of sending check by post.

3. I notice you can get pure AMEX CC, Maybank AMEX and others. Which would you people advise getting?

4. How is AMEX's (not Maybank) customer service? Any good? Do they only work office hours like Alliance?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 27 2009, 08:27 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 27 2009, 10:12 AM

12,696 posts

Thank you for your very detailed and specific answers. Thank you.

On the 5 x reward point system on petrol and telco. I do not see any expire date on AMEX website so I presume it will be ongoing forever?

I already have too many cards based on Mastercard so was thinking of getting another one from a different company, either VISA or AMEX, for the just-in-case situation that MC system is down.

And I just realized something. Take Alliance card for example. If you lost your card while overseas, you have to make a long distance call back to Alliance Malaysia to make the report. Calling Mastercard International overseas will not do. How's that with AMEX?

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 29 2009, 04:06 PM

12,696 posts

So which should I go for? American Express Gold CC or the Maybank version (how come it is not free)? And why?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 29 2009, 04:10 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 29 2009, 04:21 PM

12,696 posts

From the picture on Maybank's website, there don't seems to be any Maybank logo on the AMEX card. Is that right?

It mentioned payment of Maxis by Express Autopay qualifies for 5 x membership rewards. Does Auto Debit also qualifies for 5 x rewards?

And if I have a non-MBB AMEX Gold CC and I make payment by cheque at MBB branch, are there any additional out-station cheque charges?

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 29 2009, 06:26 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 29 2009, 05:27 PM)
The cheque should be made payable to Maybankard centre. So if your cheque is issued by some banks in KL and you pay it in KL, there shouldn't be any additional charges.
Am not in KL.

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 30 2009, 07:33 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 30 2009, 06:50 AM)
1. With the CTCS rollout, only newly designed cheques will be accepted from 1st Sept 09 onwards. Besides, local and outstation cheques will be cleared on the same day and fund will be deposited within 2 working days. There will be no commission fee for outstation cheques.

2. Following the introduction to Amex Gold cc which is free for life, Amex Plat cc apparently has nothing to shout about. I don't find any rationale of paying RM800 AF but getting less benefit than the Gold cc. biggrin.gif
Yes, I know about the CTCS but not very sure about the charges. Thanks for clearing thing up for me.

IMO, anyone who still want to pay for annual fees are either needing a hole in their head or just wanted to show off. Free annual fee and cash rebate iare my No.1 priorities. The later is simply money given for doing absolutely nothing.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 2 2009, 10:28 PM

12,696 posts

Sorry for such stupid question. I downloaded the application form from AMEX malaysia website but there is no mention as to where to send the form to. Not even a telephone or fax number on the form. And I don't fancy a Maybank AMEX. Now what?

http://www.americanexpress.com.my/WebBank/...dCreditCard.pdf

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 2 2009, 11:26 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 2 2009, 11:17 PM)
This is one of the FAQ in M2U:

How do i apply for an American Express® Gold Credit Card?

You may walk into any Maybank branch nationwide to fill up an application form, or call 603-22958877 for personal assistance. Alternativelty, you could also visit these websites to print out an application form: www.americanexpress.com.my or Maybank2u.com.
But I don't want a Maybank AMEX. And as I said, there are no instruction/address/phone number on the application form itself as to where to send the completed application to.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 2 2009, 11:33 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 2 2009, 11:28 PM)
Before you start shooting me, please visit:

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Bear in mind that this card has no MBB logo and exactly the same as the one shown in AMEX website.

Click on the More FAQ on the right side.
Sorry, I should have make another thing clear, beside not wanting MBB logo. I also do not want to have a Maybank account because I already have too many accounts and find it hard to keep track of them all. The link you provided says i must have one. Hence thinking of getting one issued by American Express itself and then go to Maybank to do monthly card payment using my other bank's cheque.
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 3 2009, 07:01 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 3 2009, 06:51 AM)
Only foreigners who wish to apply for the AMEX Gold credit card must open a Maybank account.
Thank you all for all the replies. Appreciated it.

So here are the details for pure (non-MBB) AMEX Gold CC,
1. Maybank is doing the handling so application form goes to them.
2. For Malaysian, you do not need to be a Maybank customer, now or in the future when you got the card.
3. You can use your other bank's cheque to pay for the AMEX bills at any MBB branch cheque deposit machine.

So how widely or restricted are the merchant accepting this AMEX credit card? Does Air Asia takes them? I am asking because in most online merchant payment, there is a drop down list of type of credit card and from memories, there are usually either MC or VISA. Never taken note of AMEX, hence asking.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 5 2009, 08:59 PM

12,696 posts

So it seems this AMEX CC is pretty useless in many places?

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 8 2009, 05:40 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Sep 8 2009, 04:52 PM)
Hello All,

Just to update you guys regarding interest rate that previously discussed.

A day before do the purchase, I ring Amex to get confirmation that there is no extra charge fee for any purchase with their card. Amex has confirm this.

Situation 1 - Buying IT Stuff

I go to Low Yat plaza and try different shop to do the comparison. I bought printer, laptop, ps3 game and external hard drive. ALL of this merchant charge 2-3% for credit/charge card transaction. I try to argue but it seems to be useless. vmad.gif  All they is say is "You Can Ask Any Shop, All Is The Same".  mad.gif So I pay cash instead. shakehead.gif
[/U]
Situation 2 - Buying Car

I went to car dealer and decide to pay the down payment ( MYR 17,500 ) with my AMEX Charge Card, the merchant want to charge 3%. I argue and I call AMEX again, then put on loud speaker so the entire people in the office can hear  brows.gif  I'm glad CS from AMEX are VERY STRONG in made the statement. "THERE IS NO FEE CHARGE ON GOODS OR SERVICE WHEN USING THE CREDIT/CHARGE CARD. MERCHANT ARE NOT SUPPOSE TO CHARGE CUSTOMER AS THE SERVICE CHARGE FOR USING CREDIT/CHARGE ARE BETWEEN THE BANK OF ISSUER AND MECHANT. There is still small argument going but after that they accept the payment using my charge card with no bullshit fee. thumbup.gif
So people, fight for our right !!  nod.gif
When using credit card from any bank, there are definitely charges because nothing is free in this world. Ranges from 1 to 2% or more.

Rather the question now is, who pays for these charges. If the profit margin is high, then the retailer will be happy to foot those charges. But if the profit margin is very low, and if you are now the retailer, do you still want to foot those charges?

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 9 2009, 05:52 PM

12,696 posts

Do insurance company, general or life, accept Amex credit card? Specifically AXA, Great Eastern and Prudential. Thks.
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 9 2009, 06:06 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 9 2009, 05:58 PM)
Great Eastern does not accept Amex.
This is interesting. I thought credit card is credit card but it seems some are not as useful than others. Now I am having 2nd thought as to the usefulness of AMEX. Imagine going traveling and merchant not accepting it here and there.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 9 2009, 11:09 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 9 2009, 08:08 PM)
GE is associated with OCBC.

pay via OCBC card can get cash rebate.
Care to give more details? How much is the rebate and is there any annual fees?

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 10 2009, 11:33 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Sep 10 2009, 10:18 AM)
i plan to apply for amex gold credit card.
it states that the Required documents are:

1.Copy of NRIC (both sides) or Passport, including that of supplementary applicant's
2.Latest BE form with official tax receipt
3.Latest 2 months' salary slips
4. Latest 3 months' savings account activity/current account statements

question is.. do i have to submit all these documents? it's a bit troublesome for me to get 2. and 4.

anyone can share? thanks.
Photostat of your existing card and it's statement will do sometimes.

0.0427sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:54 PM