QUOTE(J'Daniel @ Jan 13 2009, 12:55 PM)
mine is still pending,hope it will approved...but they took quite sometime to process as i hand it the application on 15 dec,but receive on 26 decThis post has been edited by wcs2798: Jan 13 2009, 02:58 PM
American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™
Jan 13 2009, 02:46 PM
673 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(J'Daniel @ Jan 13 2009, 12:55 PM) mine is still pending,hope it will approved...but they took quite sometime to process as i hand it the application on 15 dec,but receive on 26 decThis post has been edited by wcs2798: Jan 13 2009, 02:58 PM |
Jan 13 2009, 11:49 PM
2,921 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Jan 13 2009, 02:46 PM) mine is still pending,hope it will approved...but they took quite sometime to process as i hand it the application on 15 dec,but receive on 26 dec So far the Amex processing is the slowest among all the card i've encountered before. The first Amex gold took roughly 6 weeks for processing and another week to reach my hand so does my Amex Plat CC. |
Jan 23 2009, 02:26 AM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
quick question(s).
i'm in dire need to boost my enrich points quickly. so this is my question; does the amex card issued by maybank (with NO maybank logo embedded on it) has any affiliation with the enrich program? if yes, can it rival cimb's dedicated enrich credit card? thanks This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jan 23 2009, 02:27 AM |
Jan 23 2009, 01:21 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@Dozz,
I am. What kinda feedback would U like on the card? @nokia2003, I've not done a calculation [ain't Enrich member] but from what I read on the Amex communication materials, their Enrich points transfer is the best (if not, one of the best) in town *shrugs* Y don't U calculate it and see if it's better than DA. I don't know how it works so never bothered calculating it This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jan 23 2009, 01:22 PM |
Jan 23 2009, 01:58 PM
374 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jan 23 2009, 02:26 AM) quick question(s). Erm,i'm in dire need to boost my enrich points quickly. so this is my question; does the amex card issued by maybank (with NO maybank logo embedded on it) has any affiliation with the enrich program? if yes, can it rival cimb's dedicated enrich credit card? thanks Amex points gained are not affiliated with maybank at all anyway. It is deceiving that they lump it together with my treat points at Maybank2u but they are quite different so dont worry whether there is a logo or not. You can exchange your membership points with enrich points (And many many other airlines as well) 5,600 Membership Rewards points (RM2,800) = 1,000 Airmiles If you have platinum Credit card / Charge card, there are some platinum partners like parkson,machines,best,dragon-i,etc that offers 10x points, which in this case is RM560 only to get 1000 Airmiles. http://www2.americanexpress.com.my/members...programme.shtml CIMB Enrich is RM6000 Spent is 1,500 Airmiles (Standard) - NOT including Petrol. AMEX offer double points for everything incl petrol If you purchase from CIMB ENRICH Partners, You get 3 extra Enrich Miles per RM1 You also get buy 1 free 1 business class ticket CIMB Enrich PLATINUM Only *Need to compare with heavily discounted First Class Seat* CIMB is more generous now with the annual fee waiver because when i enquired a few months back, they didn't give me. However, the requirement is still high.. Gold needs a minimum 50k per annum income. http://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?ch=su...7&tpt=cimb_bank I Think generally Amex is more flexible, and the points can be used for a lot of other stuff (And other airlines). I think unless you pick up the CIMB Enrich Platinum, AMEX is better off especially their platinum Partners (10x points) are the ones you are more likely to go to (E.G. Parkson, Dragon-I, etc) rather than all the golf courses, hotels that CIMB Enrich Partners offer. The only reason i mention the CIMB Enrich Platinum is the Buy One free One policy (Need to compare with heavily discounted First Class Seat) Cheers, Soo This post has been edited by pmsoo: Jan 30 2009, 10:58 AM |
Jan 23 2009, 04:41 PM
9,301 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(pmsoo @ Jan 23 2009, 01:58 PM) You also get buy 1 free 1 business class ticket (This is very very interesting) CIMB Enrich PLATINUM Only Not really because you'll be required to pay for a full fare Business Class ticket and a full fare Business Class ticket can sometimes be a little more expensive than a heavily discounted First Class ticket (KUL-LHR vv for example). |
Jan 23 2009, 05:19 PM
3,615 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 23 2009, 04:41 PM) Not really because you'll be required to pay for a full fare Business Class ticket and a full fare Business Class ticket can sometimes be a little more expensive than a heavily discounted First Class ticket (KUL-LHR vv for example). MilesAndMore can you give an idea of how much a heavily discounted First Class ticket is? I recently paid around RM20k for a (supposedly) full fare business class KUL-AMS ticket. RM10k for a biz class seat sounds reasonable to me, does the First class ticket go down that low? |
Jan 23 2009, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 23 2009, 05:19 PM) MilesAndMore can you give an idea of how much a heavily discounted First Class ticket is? I recently paid around RM20k for a (supposedly) full fare business class KUL-AMS ticket. RM10k for a biz class seat sounds reasonable to me, does the First class ticket go down that low? 20k for a return ticket in JCL between KUL/AMS sounds just about right. No way you can get a return JCL ticket between KUL/AMS for only RM10k. But if you want a cheaper JCL ticket to Europe and don't mind making a stop in the Middle East you can give Emirates, Qatar Airways or Etihad Airways a try. Usually a return JCL ticket between KUL/any EU cities in the deeply discounted JCL fare bucket is only RM15k on EK, RM10k on QR and RM18k on EY.A deeply discounted return First Class ticket between KUL/Europe is in the RM30k+ region. This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 23 2009, 08:42 PM |
Jan 23 2009, 11:02 PM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
@ pmsoo
love your explanation. thanks! |
Jan 29 2009, 08:10 PM
128 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Hi All,
Anyone can share experiance how to qualify to apply Amex plat charge card? Does Amex charge card approval being control by Maybank now? Please share. Thanks.......... |
Jan 29 2009, 08:16 PM
I recently received my AMEX Charge Card (the green one) and am a supplementary card holder. May i know how can i register my card to americanexpress.com so that i can keep track of my spending ? Successfully registered my mom's (she's the main card holder) but mine can't seem to go through.
Jan 30 2009, 10:56 AM
374 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 23 2009, 04:41 PM) Not really because you'll be required to pay for a full fare Business Class ticket and a full fare Business Class ticket can sometimes be a little more expensive than a heavily discounted First Class ticket (KUL-LHR vv for example). You are right. I didn't factor that in. Oopsie.Will edit my post. Thanks for pointing that out |
Jan 30 2009, 01:45 PM
227 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
is it having AMEX card is the highest class among same stage cards?
Jan 31 2009, 12:09 AM
6,657 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 29 2009, 08:10 PM) Hi All, it's by invitation only, and the annual fees will shy many away...Anyone can share experiance how to qualify to apply Amex plat charge card? Does Amex charge card approval being control by Maybank now? Please share. Thanks.......... Added on January 31, 2009, 12:10 amif u r talking about AMEX Credit card, then annual income of 130K is needed , annual fee is only 800. Added on January 31, 2009, 12:13 am QUOTE(andy6000 @ Jan 30 2009, 01:45 PM) define same stage cards ?This post has been edited by yewkhuay: Jan 31 2009, 12:13 AM |
Jan 31 2009, 02:37 PM
[quote=yewkhuay,Jan 31 2009, 12:09 AM]
it's by invitation only, and the annual fees will shy many away... Added on January 31, 2009, 12:10 amif u r talking about AMEX Credit card, then annual income of 130K is needed , annual fee is only 800. I know it's by invitation, dat's y ask how to get invitation from them for this Amex plat charge card? I know the AF is RM2380 but it's ok coz want to have a try for this card. For Amex cc I already have it by invitation from Maybank. They waived the 1st year AF for me as well. |
Jan 31 2009, 02:43 PM
594 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Ok, I'm going to apply for an Amex - deciding between the gold charge card and platinum credit card.
My question is if the platinum credit card has way more benefits/privileges than the gold card, e.g. airport lounge access, etc? Because the annual fee is much higher at RM800. Also, how difficult is it to apply for the plat? Can I just enclose a copy of my one year old HSBC plat with RM30k CL? |
Jan 31 2009, 03:22 PM
QUOTE I know it's by invitation, dat's y ask how to get invitation from them for this Amex plat charge card? I know the AF is RM2380 but it's ok coz want to have a try for this card. For Amex cc I already have it by invitation from Maybank. They waived the 1st year AF for me as well. Amex Platinum Charge invitation usually for their Gold Charge membership ( at least 1 year old ), usage RM80k above per annum will let you get " invited " . If you are eager to get their attention, after you hit the criteria above, you can straight away call up their platinum hotline and ask for an upgrade. What i mean above is all Charge Card, no Credit Card involved This post has been edited by Reventon: Jan 31 2009, 03:26 PM |
Jan 31 2009, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 31 2009, 03:22 PM) Amex Platinum Charge invitation usually for their Gold Charge membership ( at least 1 year old ), usage RM80k above per annum will let you get " invited " . If you are eager to get their attention, after you hit the criteria above, you can straight away call up their platinum hotline and ask for an upgrade. What i mean above is all Charge Card, no Credit Card involved Hi Reventon,Thanks for the info. RM80k spending a year is not difficult to hit. If manage to hit it within 6 month, then can ask for it rite? Again, thanks for your info brother........ |
Jan 31 2009, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(RockIron @ Jan 31 2009, 04:04 PM) Hi Reventon, I think should not be a problem, if you can hit within 6 month is preferable , anyway Amex Charge would like you to charge more, many out there spends alot but refuse to upgrade to platinum because of that 2k membership fee. Many can afford that fee but it just that most of them feel they do not need the benefits and prefer to stick with their green/gold membership. Wish you good luck bro Thanks for the info. RM80k spending a year is not difficult to hit. If manage to hit it within 6 month, then can ask for it rite? Again, thanks for your info brother........ |
Feb 1 2009, 10:01 AM
2,478 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras |
I would like to share my experience trying to fill up with at Petronas petrol station with my AMEX.
Background: There are two types of Petronas station. One only displays "Kad Diterima". Another displays "Kad Diterima" with clear logos of Visa, MC and AMEX. Case I: Petrol station with no AMEX logo When I slotted in my AMEX card, the machine detected the card & my name. Then it went to getting approval mode, then the AMEX card got ejected out. Some error message blurted out ('error 14' or whatever ..). The machine went offline for 2 minutes before it back to normal. Case II: Petrol station with AMEX logo (Awana Kijal) Similar problem as Case I. I immediately approached the sales counter. They also unable to approve my card usage. Excuse: AMEX network was "offline" which we all know is a silly excuse. Case III: Petrol station with AMEX logo (Kemaman) Not satisfied, I went to another Petronas station. Faced similar problem. When consulted the sales counter, the lady said "selalunya boleh terima AMEX". She then called the "station owner" who was obviously goyang kaki somewhere in Bahamas (hehe, just kidding). Still received no firm answer on why AMEX not accepted when the entrance of the station clearly advertised that AMEX is accepted. I tried to tell her that maybe the station owner had secretly disabled the AMEX facility to avoid high merchant fee. Obviously she had no answer to that, "saya pekerja aje kat sini .." Next step: Those advertised with AMEX logo but secretly disabling the facility are in clear violation and perhaps even tarnish the image of Petronas brand. I intend to call up myMESRA to get clarification on this. If anyone had any experience of filling up with AMEX in Klang Valley, perhaps can share the story with me. I reckon the irresponsible act is often done in less populated area that most likely has lower number of AMEX card holders. Note: Some of you will advise to fill up at Shell or Esso. But well, I also have Maybank Petronas card with 5 Treatpoints per RM fuel, so it's a good alternative. I just prefer to pile up on my Membership Rewards points. |
| Change to: | 0.0367sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:35 AM |