American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

winner
post Sep 9 2009, 10:18 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 9 2009, 10:04 PM)
oops, the only high amount purchases i can think off are buying house, car & holiday package....i'll cross houses from my list then...
You can buy a brand new property directly from developer then. biggrin.gif I came across a project which allows customer paying a whopping RM60k of booking fee by cc. And of course, the total purchase price is huge.
MilesAndMore
post Sep 9 2009, 10:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 9 2009, 06:06 PM)
This is interesting. I thought credit card is credit card but it seems some are not as useful than others. Now I am having 2nd thought as to the usefulness of AMEX. Imagine going traveling and merchant not accepting it here and there.
This is where VISA and Mastercard come in handy tongue.gif

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 9 2009, 09:32 PM)
i owned the amex gold charge card. it claimed it has no credit limit. eager to try that out last time when purchasing new car for my sis a month ago. in the end i still resort to old banker's cheque payment. anyone ever swipe 5 or 6 figures amount with your amex charge card? interested to share?
In the States people use AMEX charge card to pay for private jet plane bill as well as to pay for Bentley, Lexus etc. You might want to give it a try biggrin.gif

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 9 2009, 10:03 PM)
btw,

did any1 have tried on the Amex online paying?
You mean paying your AMEX via M2U ?
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 9 2009, 11:09 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 9 2009, 08:08 PM)
GE is associated with OCBC.

pay via OCBC card can get cash rebate.
Care to give more details? How much is the rebate and is there any annual fees?

ellimist
post Sep 10 2009, 06:36 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 9 2009, 09:32 PM)
i owned the amex gold charge card. it claimed it has no credit limit. eager to try that out last time when purchasing new car for my sis a month ago. in the end i still resort to old banker's cheque payment. anyone ever swipe 5 or 6 figures amount with your amex charge card? interested to share?
there's no limit, but they have an unwritten single transaction limit assigned to you i.e. they would most likely block a transaction above rm xx.
before making large really large swipes, you can just call them up to inform them. once they approve it, you'll swipe with no problems. and if you settle promptly, your single transactionl limit will default to the particular large amount you swiped and settled.
pisang
post Sep 10 2009, 10:18 AM

854 posts

i plan to apply for amex gold credit card.
it states that the Required documents are:

1.Copy of NRIC (both sides) or Passport, including that of supplementary applicant's
2.Latest BE form with official tax receipt
3.Latest 2 months' salary slips
4. Latest 3 months' savings account activity/current account statements

question is.. do i have to submit all these documents? it's a bit troublesome for me to get 2. and 4.

anyone can share? thanks.
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 10 2009, 11:33 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Sep 10 2009, 10:18 AM)

1.Copy of NRIC (both sides) or Passport, including that of supplementary applicant's

question is.. do i have to submit all these documents? it's a bit troublesome for me to get 2. and 4.

Photostat of your existing card and it's statement will do sometimes.
arsenal
post Sep 10 2009, 11:38 AM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 9 2009, 10:00 PM)
ok. noted.

during application, the bank staff never mentioned this to me.

hmmm, if they charge me, i can blame the bank staff.
I also did not tick the 5 bucks statement and i receive it..

I tried paying AMEX through Maybank2u and it updated immediately..
aeronlim
post Sep 10 2009, 11:39 AM

370 posts

Yeah, photocopy your current credit card more than 12 months and IC will be enough

If you are existing Maybank Credit card holder, it will be more simple, just fax the form together with IC to AMEX office.
winner
post Sep 10 2009, 11:41 AM

2,221 posts

You needn't provide all those P&C documents. You can only provide a copy of your 1) IC and 2) existing cc (must be Gold cc or above) which has been used for more than 12 months. If you don't have item no. 2, you then need to provide your latest 2 month's salary slip.
cute_boboi
post Sep 10 2009, 11:43 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 9 2009, 07:51 PM)
Guys, for those who applied for that American Express Gold Credit Card, does your online/e-statement comes seperately from MBB AMEX Gold Or is it combined into one statement?
Amex's Amex Gold CC is in separate statement. The other MBB master/visa all in another separate single statement rojak.
cheahcw2003
post Sep 10 2009, 11:50 AM

5,379 posts

i browse thru amex malaysia website, it seems that there are 2 platinum amex in their list.
a) AMEX platinum credit card (annual fee:rm800)
b) The Platinum card (annual fee:rm2380)
i do not know what is the difference in the benefit since the annual fee different by so much. I was told that AMEX platinum, cannot apply, it is by invitation only, what abt access to the airport lounge worldwide. Both above cards gain u the free access? anyone know abt it?
pisang
post Sep 10 2009, 02:18 PM

854 posts

tks to Optiplex330,aeronlim and winner.
guanteik
post Sep 10 2009, 07:59 PM

2,656 posts

@cute_boboi,
Thanks for the reply smile.gif Luckily the seperated it else it really look messy...
ellimist
post Sep 10 2009, 08:13 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 10 2009, 11:50 AM)
i browse thru amex malaysia website, it seems that there are 2 platinum amex in their list.
a) AMEX platinum credit card (annual fee:rm800)
b) The Platinum card (annual fee:rm2380)
i do not know what is the difference in the benefit since the annual fee different by so much. I was told that AMEX platinum, cannot apply, it is by invitation only, what abt access to the airport lounge worldwide. Both above cards gain u the free access? anyone know abt it?
The main difference is that the (a) is a credit card, where you have a credit limit, and can't spend beyond that before settling at least a portion of the bill.

The 2nd is a charge card, where you have no pre set spending limit. But for charge cards, you can't choose to pay a minimum amount in a month (since you don't have an actual line of credit),and thus would have to settle the bill in full each month if u want to continue using it.

Not too sure, but yea, I believe you can't just apply for The Plat Card.

The significantly higher fee for the charge card is because of its' prestige, as well as additional benefits. (refer to amex malaysia website and compare the 2)
knwong
post Sep 10 2009, 09:43 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 9 2009, 10:31 PM)

In the States people use AMEX charge card to pay for private jet plane bill as well as to pay for Bentley, Lexus etc. You might want to give it a try  biggrin.gif

unfortunately no private jet service here. i want to fly to bali, rent a Bentley & sip martini before going on gambling cruise! drool.gif

but i think i will pokai faster afterwards... blush.gif
vin_ann
post Sep 10 2009, 10:48 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 9 2009, 10:31 PM)
This is where VISA and Mastercard come in handy  tongue.gif
In the States people use AMEX charge card to pay for private jet plane bill as well as to pay for Bentley, Lexus etc. You might want to give it a try  biggrin.gif
You mean paying your AMEX via M2U ?
i mean online purchase. like buying GSC movie tickets, pay Air Asia tickets... etc etc

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 9 2009, 11:09 PM)

i wish i have the details, but its hard to find.

annual fees shd be waived. but i dun know the condition.

cute_boboi
post Sep 10 2009, 11:59 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 10 2009, 07:59 PM)
@cute_boboi,
Thanks for the reply smile.gif Luckily the seperated it else it really look messy...
Side track: I like your Lolento Ah Lek avatar laugh.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 11 2009, 08:18 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 10 2009, 10:48 PM)
i mean online purchase. like buying GSC movie tickets, pay Air Asia tickets... etc etc

annual fees shd be waived. but  i dun know the condition.
I finally went down to Great Eastern office and got details of this OCBC-GE card and here are the details.

Payment of GE insurance 3% with maximum of RM450 a year
Retail rebate is tiered starting from 0.5% and once above RM20,000, it is 3% with a maximum of RM3000 a year.

Annual fee is RM138 and only 1st year free.

And this morning, I found this:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ca...m?bcid=M5_C1_S4

What i don't quite understand is these are not considered retail purchases:
Recurring Payment/Auto Debit transactions, Easi-Payment Plan (EPP), Balance Transfers, Cash
Advance, Call-for-Cash, Dial-a-Cash, Dial-a-Cheque,

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Sep 11 2009, 08:22 AM
winner
post Sep 11 2009, 08:21 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 10 2009, 09:43 PM)
unfortunately no private jet service here. i want to fly to bali, rent a Bentley & sip martini before going on gambling cruise!  drool.gif

but i think i will pokai faster afterwards... blush.gif
There is private jet charter service in Malaysia. The fee is HUGE. It costs >100k from KL to Middle East. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 9 2009, 11:09 PM)

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 10 2009, 10:48 PM)

annual fees shd be waived. but  i dun know the condition.
This cc gives good rebate for GE premium but small percentage of rebate for other transactions, and no reward points will be given.

It is FOC for 1st year. Request for AF waiver for second year onwards WILL NOT BE ENTERTAINED. See the link below.

http://ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Cards/FAQWebR1.pdf

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 11 2009, 08:31 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 11 2009, 08:21 AM)

This cc gives good rebate for GE premium but small percentage of rebate for other transactions, and no reward points will be given.
Purchase over RM20,000 is 3%. At that rate, there is no need for anymore reward points. So if you want to buy big ticket items up to RM100,000, this is very enticing indeed because it is giving you back RM3000.

127 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:46 AM