post Sep 6 2009, 11:33 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 6 2009, 05:08 PM)
@aeronlim,
Cold Storage accepts AMEX as well.
tht good.
cold storage nearby my area is going to open soon.

guanteik
post Sep 7 2009, 12:36 PM

2,656 posts

@vin_ann,
That's good to know! However, I kinda feel Cold Storage sells items more expensive than other supermarts. Anyway, there are lots of varieties Cold Storage offers compared to the rest too...

Added on September 7, 2009, 9:46 pmGuys, for those who applied for that American Express Gold Credit Card, does your online/e-statement comes seperately from MBB AMEX Gold Or is it combined into one statement?

This post has been edited by guanteik: Sep 7 2009, 09:46 PM
vampbreak
post Sep 8 2009, 04:52 PM

157 posts

Hello All,

Just to update you guys regarding interest rate that previously discussed.

A day before do the purchase, I ring Amex to get confirmation that there is no extra charge fee for any purchase with their card. Amex has confirm this.

Situation 1 - Buying IT Stuff

I go to Low Yat plaza and try different shop to do the comparison. I bought printer, laptop, ps3 game and external hard drive. ALL of this merchant charge 2-3% for credit/charge card transaction. I try to argue but it seems to be useless. vmad.gif All they is say is "You Can Ask Any Shop, All Is The Same". mad.gif So I pay cash instead. shakehead.gif
[/U]
Situation 2 - Buying Car

I went to car dealer and decide to pay the down payment ( MYR 17,500 ) with my AMEX Charge Card, the merchant want to charge 3%. I argue and I call AMEX again, then put on loud speaker so the entire people in the office can hear brows.gif I'm glad CS from AMEX are VERY STRONG in made the statement. "THERE IS NO FEE CHARGE ON GOODS OR SERVICE WHEN USING THE CREDIT/CHARGE CARD. MERCHANT ARE NOT SUPPOSE TO CHARGE CUSTOMER AS THE SERVICE CHARGE FOR USING CREDIT/CHARGE ARE BETWEEN THE BANK OF ISSUER AND MECHANT. There is still small argument going but after that they accept the payment using my charge card with no bullshit fee. thumbup.gif

So people, fight for our right !! nod.gif
zzzxtreme
post Sep 8 2009, 04:59 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

vampbreak, i go to the IT shop at lowyat ground floor selling notebooks, priced competitively, they don't charge any extra fee. some big stores don't charge fee also, like AllITHypermart.

the fee is understandable, since their profit margin is so low for computer products
Gen-X
post Sep 8 2009, 05:26 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Sep 8 2009, 04:52 PM)
Situation 2 - Buying Car

I went to car dealer and decide to pay the down payment ( MYR 17,500 ) with my AMEX Charge Card, the merchant want to charge 3%. I argue and I call AMEX again, then put on loud speaker so the entire people in the office can hear  brows.gif  I'm glad CS from AMEX are VERY STRONG in made the statement. "THERE IS NO FEE CHARGE ON GOODS OR SERVICE WHEN USING THE CREDIT/CHARGE CARD. MERCHANT ARE NOT SUPPOSE TO CHARGE CUSTOMER AS THE SERVICE CHARGE FOR USING CREDIT/CHARGE ARE BETWEEN THE BANK OF ISSUER AND MECHANT. There is still small argument going but after that they accept the payment using my charge card with no bullshit fee. thumbup.gif
So people, fight for our right !!  nod.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

can I ask what car dealer?

anyway, for electrical stuffs, I nowadays purchase them at Harvey Norman. Use AMEX no surcharge and no need to argue. Not only that, Harvey Norman do give discounts if you do single swipe i.e. no installment plans, just ask and tell them you serious in buying it if they give offer. Bought my son a HP notebook last month using AMEX where Harvey Norman at Ikano gave me RM100 discount whereas shops at Low Yat won't give any discount and have surchage for using CC. Last week at Harvey Norman, I asked for discount and got 5% for a samsung washing machine (JJ also giving 5% discount/offer in view of Raya) and best of all RM400 off (from 2499 to 2099) for a elextrolux dryer (with petronas voucher RM120), both latest model.

For TV and other stuff, if can wait for JJ members' day the best, get extra discount and addition RM10 voucher for every RM100.

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Sep 8 2009, 04:59 PM)
vampbreak, i go to the IT shop at lowyat ground floor selling notebooks, priced competitively, they don't charge any extra fee. some big stores don't charge fee also, like AllITHypermart.
are you sure All IT don't charge a surchage? I think they do.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 8 2009, 05:27 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 8 2009, 05:40 PM

12,696 posts

Hello All,

A day before do the purchase, I ring Amex to get confirmation that there is no extra charge fee for any purchase with their card. Amex has confirm this.

I go to Low Yat plaza and try different shop to do the comparison. I bought printer, laptop, ps3 game and external hard drive. ALL of this merchant charge 2-3% for credit/charge card transaction. I try to argue but it seems to be useless. vmad.gif  All they is say is "You Can Ask Any Shop, All Is The Same".  mad.gif So I pay cash instead. shakehead.gif
[/U]
Situation 2 - Buying Car

I went to car dealer and decide to pay the down payment ( MYR 17,500 ) with my AMEX Charge Card, the merchant want to charge 3%. I argue and I call AMEX again, then put on loud speaker so the entire people in the office can hear  brows.gif  I'm glad CS from AMEX are VERY STRONG in made the statement. "THERE IS NO FEE CHARGE ON GOODS OR SERVICE WHEN USING THE CREDIT/CHARGE CARD. MERCHANT ARE NOT SUPPOSE TO CHARGE CUSTOMER AS THE SERVICE CHARGE FOR USING CREDIT/CHARGE ARE BETWEEN THE BANK OF ISSUER AND MECHANT. There is still small argument going but after that they accept the payment using my charge card with no bullshit fee. thumbup.gif
When using credit card from any bank, there are definitely charges because nothing is free in this world. Ranges from 1 to 2% or more.

Rather the question now is, who pays for these charges. If the profit margin is high, then the retailer will be happy to foot those charges. But if the profit margin is very low, and if you are now the retailer, do you still want to foot those charges?

aeronlim
post Sep 8 2009, 07:32 PM

370 posts

Hello All,

Situation 2 - Buying Car

Hi vampbreak, Nice decision made for the buying the car, as you can see, 3% of the RM 17.5K is not a small amount, this is not fair for the customer to bear the merchant fee, as it will let me have a feeling that we pay for their merchant, and they are free to use it (normally credit card terminal will charge some fees 1-3% for the shops).
For the lowyat plaza IT sometimes it is already like "people charge why i don't charge", hard to change their mind already.

Still want to repeat the same say, It is unfair for customer to pay for their "service/admin/processing/bs fee"

Thumbs up for you thumbup.gif
santaclaus
post Sep 8 2009, 07:53 PM

310 posts

damn it , after 3 weeks mbb stil havent get my application submission vmad.gif ... tht sales ask me apply tht time say she no sales ... now no submission pulak ...

im thinking of applying again thru another branch ... mbb need existing cc over 6mths or 12mths period??? damn i juz cancelled all my older cc ... all left now is those i got this year doh.gif
vin_ann
post Sep 8 2009, 07:53 PM

10,912 posts

@vampbreak

nice job.

@Gen-X

hmmm... perhaps i should included Harvey Norman when want to get electrical goods.
its good to hear this.
vampbreak
post Sep 8 2009, 08:41 PM

157 posts

the fee is understandable, since their profit margin is so low for computer products
Customer is more piss off when retailer say "I have to charge you extra 2-3% for cc transaction". I think retailer should included that 2-3% into the price if it really necessary. Again, retailers provide cc transaction to attract customers like us who collecting point. So I think it is fair for them to borne the cost... Correct ? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 8 2009, 05:26 PM)

can I ask what car dealer?

anyway, for electrical stuffs, I nowadays purchase them at Harvey Norman. Use AMEX no surcharge and no need to argue. Not only that, Harvey Norman do give discounts if you do single swipe i.e. no installment plans, just ask and tell them you serious in buying it if they give offer. Bought my son a HP notebook last month using AMEX where Harvey Norman at Ikano gave me RM100 discount whereas shops at Low Yat won't give any discount and have surchage for using CC. Last week at Harvey Norman, I asked for discount and got 5% for a samsung washing machine (JJ also giving 5% discount/offer in view of Raya) and best of all RM400 off (from 2499 to 2099) for a elextrolux dryer (with petronas voucher RM120), both latest model. 

For TV and other stuff, if can wait for JJ members' day the best, get extra discount and addition RM10 voucher for every RM100.
are you sure All IT don't charge a surchage? I think they do.
It's a used car dealer in Selayang. I can't remember the name, but they only sell import car. Near pasar borong there. I will check their business card and let you know later. Car I bought is Nissan Fairlady 350Z. Thanks for the info on Harvey Norman!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 8 2009, 05:40 PM)
When using credit card from any bank, there are definitely charges because nothing is free in this world. Ranges from 1 to 2% or more.

Rather the question now is, who pays for these charges. If the profit margin is high, then the retailer will be happy to foot those charges. But if the profit margin is very low, and if you are now the retailer, do you still want to foot those charges?
Think this as advertising or marketing cost. Or they can included this in the retail price so no need to add fee. smile.gif
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 8 2009, 07:53 PM)
@vampbreak

nice job.

TQ Im happy to see my MR grow~ rclxm9.gif
vin_ann
post Sep 8 2009, 09:44 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Sep 8 2009, 08:41 PM)
Customer is more piss off when retailer say "I have to charge you extra 2-3% for cc transaction". I think retailer should included that 2-3% into the price if it really necessary. Again, retailers provide cc transaction to attract customers like us who collecting point. So I think it is fair for them to borne the cost... Correct ? hmm.gif
It's a used car dealer in Selayang. I can't remember the name, but they only sell import car. Near pasar borong there. I will check their business card and let you know later. Car I bought is Nissan Fairlady 350Z. Thanks for the info on Harvey Norman!!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Think this as advertising or marketing cost. Or they can included this in the retail price so no need to add fee. smile.gif

TQ Im happy to see my MR grow~ rclxm9.gif
5X MR point!!! laugh.gif

now u got more points once u got ur fairlady...
Shinichi
post Sep 8 2009, 09:54 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, just received my MBB Amex Gold today rclxm9.gif
Now still trying to figure out what does the 3 digit code at back is used for. Its not CID and I couldn't any any info via Google.

Added on September 8, 2009, 11:40 pmAlso how long do I need to wait before I can register my card on Amex Malaysia online?

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Sep 8 2009, 11:40 PM
arsenal
post Sep 9 2009, 12:36 AM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Sep 8 2009, 09:54 PM)
Hi all, just received my MBB Amex Gold today rclxm9.gif
Now still trying to figure out what does the 3 digit code at back is used for. Its not CID and I couldn't any any info via Google.

Added on September 8, 2009, 11:40 pmAlso how long do I need to wait before I can register my card on Amex Malaysia online?
You cant register cc. You only can register charge card
cute_boboi
post Sep 9 2009, 10:34 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Update on my Amex's Amex Gold Credit Card Auto-pay Bills

Maxis - no problem. Already deducting 2nd month

TNB #1 - no problem.

TNB #2 - not deducting blink.gif

TM - not deducting for 2 months bill already. blink.gif

I call up MBB CS. They say have some technical problem to link/pay the bill. doh.gif Ask me to pay manual first while they resolve before my TNB & TM line is cut off. mad.gif

As usual, Malaysia Boleh !!! vmad.gif

SUSDavid83
post Sep 9 2009, 10:50 AM

52,874 posts

TM said that they cannot add my Ikhwan AMEX into their Auto Debit system. They asked me to change to another card like Visa and Mastercard. Few days later, I saw that it has been credted my AMEX but I have already submmited the card change form. Now my Auto Debit is associated with my Visa. WTF!
cute_boboi
post Sep 9 2009, 11:58 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

David83,

Exactly. I did not submit other forms to redirect auto-pay for TM. If I want to pay by Visa/Master, I can pay manual myself through Maybank2u.

Visa/Master = 2x TP
Amex = 5x MR

The thing is, the Amex's Amex Auto-pay bill form has TM in it and I already faxed in like... 2 months ago ?

2nd funny thing is, TNB#1 is deducted. TNB#2 is not deducted. rclxub.gif

As I've always say, dealing with MBB/CS/human is troublesome. But once set properly into system and automatic, everything will run smooth. doh.gif

Added on September 9, 2009, 12:19 pmUpdate: Wah, MBB quite efficient. CS call me up and let me know the itemised details on approved 8x transactions. Already identified those valid ones and asked them to check again.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Sep 9 2009, 12:19 PM
SUSDavid83
post Sep 9 2009, 12:44 PM

52,874 posts

Auto Debit with TM offers RM 2 rebate in the next bill.

That's why I submitted an auto debit with TM with Ikhwan AMEX. RM 2 + 2x TP.
winner
post Sep 9 2009, 01:33 PM

2,221 posts

Hello All,

I go to Low Yat plaza and try different shop to do the comparison. I bought printer, laptop, ps3 game and external hard drive. ALL of this merchant charge 2-3% for credit/charge card transaction. I try to argue but it seems to be useless. vmad.gif  All they is say is "You Can Ask Any Shop, All Is The Same".  mad.gif So I pay cash instead. shakehead.gif
[/U]
Situation 2 - Buying Car

I had already told you last time, most of the car dealers would impose a surcharge if you wanna pay the down payment via cc. It's not worthwhile to pay the 3% surcharge, unless your have cash rebate cc which could give you more than 3% rebate.

Recently I also made a big purchase of 40k via cc. The best thing was that the merchant did not impose any surcharge, and I gained a whopping 40k points and some cash rebates from the purchase. However, Amex was not accepted by the merchant.

I guess most of the merchants in Lowyat Plaza do impose a surcharge for purchases made via cc. I had to buy a new handphone by cash a few months back, as the retailer wanted to charge me another 3% extra fee.

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 8 2009, 09:44 PM)
5X MR point!!!  laugh.gif 

now u got more points once u got ur fairlady...
It was a car, and thus 2x MR only. blink.gif
arsenal
post Sep 9 2009, 02:30 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 9 2009, 01:33 PM)
I had already told you last time, most of the car dealers would impose a surcharge if you wanna pay the down payment via cc. It's not worthwhile to pay the 3% surcharge, unless your have cash rebate cc which could give you more than 3% rebate.

Recently I also made a big purchase of 40k via cc. The best thing was that the merchant did not impose any surcharge, and I gained a whopping 40k points and some cash rebates from the purchase. However, Amex was not accepted by the merchant.
I guess most of the merchants in Lowyat Plaza do impose a surcharge for purchases made via cc. I had to buy a new handphone by cash a few months back, as the retailer wanted to charge me another 3% extra fee.
It was a car, and thus 2x MR only.  blink.gif
Longines watch?
jack2
post Sep 9 2009, 03:05 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 9 2009, 10:50 AM)
TM said that they cannot add my Ikhwan AMEX into their Auto Debit system. They asked me to change to another card like Visa and Mastercard. Few days later, I saw that it has been credted my AMEX but I have already submmited the card change form. Now my Auto Debit is associated with my Visa. WTF!
It has been credited my AMEX?

Debited la.... doh.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 9 2009, 12:44 PM)
Auto Debit with TM offers RM 2 rebate in the next bill.

That's why I submitted an auto debit with TM with Ikhwan AMEX. RM 2 + 2x TP.
So you are on AMEX with TM or Visa?

This post has been edited by jack2: Sep 9 2009, 03:06 PM

127 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0703sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:05 AM