American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

cute_boboi
post Sep 24 2009, 12:10 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(clicker186 @ Sep 24 2009, 11:32 AM)
So any promotion for AMEX Application now?
Better to apply by walk in Maybank or apply online?  hmm.gif
What does that mean with AI Req: 36K, Graduate 30K?
Means annual income from basic/fixed salary is RM36,000.
i.e. RM3,000/mth income
It does not include variables like OT, claims, mileage, performance/KPI, etc.

If you have degree, RM30,000 annual income can apply already.
cute_boboi
post Sep 28 2009, 05:49 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

The usual true reason is Amex charge merchant higher. Each RM1k = RM10 more. If 10k=RM100 extra profit gone. Best is the merchant will ask you pay cash on the spot. doh.gif

Try complain to Apple and get their disti terminated. thumbup.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 2 2009, 05:22 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(atah @ Oct 2 2009, 05:03 PM)
any idea on the differences between these 2 cards? do they get to enjoy the benefits of amex gold charge card?
I have both. What I call it.

Left is MBB Amex Gold Credit Card. Has Maybankard name/logo on top.

Right is Amex's Amex Gold Credit Card.

Difference:
1) MBB Amex earns TP. Amex's Amex earns MR.
2) Amex's Amex autopay can earn 5x with TM and Maxis postpaid. Also, 2x with TNB. Can't do it with MBB Amex for autopay.
3) MBB Amex not free for life. Amex's Amex is free for life.
4) TP can combine with MBB Visa/Master to redeem. MR is separate catalogue, except during annual treatpoints fair.
5) MR can redeem 200 points = RM1 , so called cash back.

Similiarities:
1) Both earns 2x points
2) Both has credit limit, unlike charge card.
3) Both statement bills can settle through online M2u from MBB savings/current a/c.

Now, I'm solely using Amex's Amex. Will redeem MBB Amex points and cancel it next year.
cute_boboi
post Oct 2 2009, 05:50 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 2 2009, 05:44 PM)
For Express Autopay, you can get 5x MR points for telco, TM and TNB.
I got the express auto-pay form in front of me. Also, my TNB already deducted from Amex's Amex in M2u.

Municipal (DBKL, MPSJ, etc.), TNB and Astro = RM1 = 2x MR

Fixed line tel bill (e.g. TM), Mobile Phone Bill, Internet Services = RM1 = 5x MR

cute_boboi
post Oct 2 2009, 05:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 2 2009, 05:51 PM)
Well, that's a big surprise. You rarely use it or what ?
Surprise ? No lah. I've been using MBB Amex for 3 yrs plus regularly for 2x TP. What I don't like is the annual fee.

Amex's Amex offers the same 2x points (MR).

To me, Adv for Amex's Amex as compared to MBB Amex:
1) Autopay 2x and 5x
2) Free for life
3) Can redeem 200 pts = RM1

Disad:
1) Cannot combine with my MBB Visa to redeem TP
2) Not all merchant accepts Amex.

cute_boboi
post Oct 2 2009, 06:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 2 2009, 05:58 PM)
Oh, you mean you are going to cancel your current Maybank AMEX Gold and switch over to AMEX Gold ? I thought you said you were using solely AMEX'S AMEX  sweat.gif
I still have both with me. Recently MBB Amex free AF over, and I have to beg for 1 year waiver. sweat.gif Still got a lot of points there, due to 2x. But now keep in drawer.

Now, I solely use Amex's Amex as MBB Amex replacement.

One free day, I will redeem all MBB Amex TP and cancel it by next year.

cute_boboi
post Oct 3 2009, 06:58 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Oct 2 2009, 07:37 PM)
@cute_boboi
I would like to comment on your post that Maybank AMEX AF is waived if you spend average RM500 a month in a year. All you need to do is call them up beg to ask for AF waiver...
tongue.gif That's my direct translation for it.

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 3 2009, 06:19 AM)
Thank you for refreshing my mind. smile.gif All the while I thought TNB bill payment via Express Autopay is entitled for 5x MR points. And now, I have discovered that it would only give a mere 2x MR instead. doh.gif
Welcomed smile.gif TNB bill is the most difficult, as far as I know, no charge/credit card can use to pay for it except:
1) Amex Charge Card
2) Amex's Amex Credit Card
Both must be through auto-debit. No manual pay.

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 3 2009, 06:19 AM)
Btw, none of my 5 autopay request has been done so far after 1 month of Express Autopay form submission. 
MBB CS screwed up my TNB and TM. Deducted but not reflected. I'm still following up mad.gif vmad.gif

But once it is settled, it'll be peace of mind. Hopefully. Keep my fingers crossed.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Oct 3 2009, 06:59 PM
cute_boboi
post Oct 6 2009, 11:48 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

My 8x promo points is still not fully settled. Only got 80%+ so far... doh.gif
mad.gif
I'm still following up with MBB CS.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top