Nintendo NAT Type for Maxis 5G Home WIFI

TSflexpanda
post Aug 25 2024, 04:40 PM, updated 2y ago

23 posts

Hi sifus

I have gotten the Maxis 5G Home Wifi plan (RM 99 one, 100mbps capped speed for 5G) instead of a fibre plan as my area doesn't have a fibre line support.

So far the speed is great, but when I want to play online on my Nintendo Switch - I can't seem to connect to any servers. I checked my NAT type, it is on 'C'. Apparently I need to be on NAT Type 'B' or 'A' to be able to play online with other people on the Switch.

Has anybody encountered this before/what can I do to change the NAT Type?

The 5G router I'm using is the ZTE MC888... I have enabled UPnP, DMZ and Port Forwarding methods but nothing seems to be working so far... (unless I have configured wrongly)..

Appreciate any help I can get biggrin.gif
OKLY
post Aug 25 2024, 05:41 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(flexpanda @ Aug 25 2024, 04:40 PM)
Hi sifus

I have gotten the Maxis 5G Home Wifi plan (RM 99 one, 100mbps capped speed for 5G) instead of a fibre plan as my area doesn't have a fibre line support.

So far the speed is great, but when I want to play online on my Nintendo Switch - I can't seem to connect to any servers. I checked my NAT type, it is on 'C'. Apparently I need to be on NAT Type 'B' or 'A' to be able to play online with other people on the Switch.

Has anybody encountered this before/what can I do to change the NAT Type?

The 5G router I'm using is the ZTE MC888... I have enabled UPnP, DMZ and Port Forwarding methods but nothing seems to be working so far... (unless I have configured wrongly)..

Appreciate any help I can get  biggrin.gif
I'm not sure if Nintendo's server supports IPv6 now, but if it doesn't, I believe the IPv4 given by Maxis is CGNAT, technically you do not have a public IP address and you will have issues. You need to get a public IPv4 address from Maxis. If I'm not wrong, they charge RM10 monthly for it.

Check this:
FAQ: Maxis Home Fibre IP Address

Usually people request it for CCTV, but some online games are affected by it also.

This post has been edited by OKLY: Aug 25 2024, 05:46 PM
TSflexpanda
post Aug 25 2024, 06:16 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Aug 25 2024, 05:41 PM)
I'm not sure if Nintendo's server supports IPv6 now, but if it doesn't, I believe the IPv4 given by Maxis is CGNAT, technically you do not have a public IP address and you will have issues. You need to get a public IPv4 address from Maxis. If I'm not wrong, they charge RM10 monthly for it.

Check this:
FAQ: Maxis Home Fibre IP Address

Usually people request it for CCTV, but some online games are affected by it also.
Unfortunately I called Maxis customer service.. The public IP address is only available for Maxis Fibre service and its not available if its the Maxis Home Wifi (which is using postpaid broadband plan and not fibre cable)...

Been trying to crack my head on a workaround sad.gif(
OKLY
post Aug 25 2024, 06:26 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(flexpanda @ Aug 25 2024, 06:16 PM)
Unfortunately I called Maxis customer service.. The public IP address is only available for Maxis Fibre service and its not available if its the Maxis Home Wifi (which is using postpaid broadband plan and not fibre cable)...

Been trying to crack my head on a workaround sad.gif(
Perhaps try to talk them and see if can escalate the case. I believe they can offer public IP address to those on mobile network, but it is not publicly offered. Got to tell them reasonable reasons like Maxis Fibre is not available in your area so you have no choice but to get their Maxis 5G Home plan, but it is not able to serve your usage because of the lack of public IPv4 address. Ask them what options do you have.

0.0144sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:47 PM