Toilet Floor Leaking, Need Advice

TSadvTech
post Aug 20 2024, 10:52 AM, updated 2y ago

198 posts

My terrace house have 2 toilets upstairs, both have leaking problem and cause the lower floor ceiling having cracks and rust. Pictures below are actual photos of the ceiling under the toilets.

A contractor told me this can be done by completely hack away and redo the floors of both toilets, add in water prooving. But this method will create a lot of havoc. I also heard of the new nano technology but don't know much about it.

Can sifus help me make a decision: traditional method / nano?

Front toilet:

Back toilet:

This post has been edited by advTech: Aug 25 2024, 04:53 PM
keanutan
post Aug 20 2024, 11:04 AM

87 posts

Old method hack with proper waterproofing = at least 10year no headache but lots of work and dust ,
New method less work and faster to complete but 3-5years problem come back
acbc
post Aug 20 2024, 11:15 AM

9,036 posts

This one too far gone for nano treatment.

Still need to hack, redo the waterproofing and then redo the tiles. If pipes, need to replace all the leaking pipes.

As for waterproofing, don't use those water based ones. Won't last long. Opt for bitumen based. Stinks but will last easily 10 years. And when applying, make sure at least 2 ft from floor to wall too. Applying multiple coats just to make sure.
BL98
post Aug 20 2024, 11:19 AM

742 posts

Lazada got sell those invisible paint for waterproofing. Can directly paint on the tiles. One can is like RM20. Maybe can try and see first. If cannot then hack lo
stanck
post Aug 20 2024, 11:19 AM

81 posts

Need to identify whether it's the floor or pipe.
If floor, you can do Nano (if u don't want to hack option & redo waterproofing).. But this are temporarily fix, it will come back... Just don't know when only.

moiskyrie
post Aug 20 2024, 11:27 AM

3,212 posts

Mine also face this problem...
But mine is apartment.....
The upper floor say they toilet also same so wait for 3rd floor to repair first....
But 3rd floor is use to rent as Airbnb I think cos everytime different people stay...
So thinking got any way to repair without hacking and wait for upper floor owner....
Zot
post Aug 20 2024, 11:28 AM

7,934 posts

Just hack and redo the floor waterproofing. It will not be that messy since it is in confined space. I think it is just a quick job. Just hack shallow depth only on floor and few inches on wall inside bathroom.

Anyway, need to find root cause first. Was it caused by cracked floor due to house structure shift? Probably leak is just around the water outlet.
Zot
post Aug 20 2024, 11:31 AM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Aug 20 2024, 11:27 AM)
The upper floor say they toilet also same so wait for 3rd floor to repair first....
But 3rd floor is use to rent as Airbnb I think cos everytime different people stay...
So thinking got any way to repair without hacking and wait for upper floor owner....
No way to repair from underneath. If you put some king of waterproofing material at that location, the water will sip to another location. smile.gif

Just need to inform apartment management to inform the owner of the troubled unit.
seinganchai
post Aug 20 2024, 11:34 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(advTech @ Aug 20 2024, 10:52 AM)
My terrace house have 2 toilets upstairs, both have leaking problem and cause the lower floor ceiling having cracks and rust. Pictures below are not mine but they look similar.

A contractor told me this can be done by completely hack away and redo the floors of both toilets, add in water prooving. But this method will create a lot of havoc. I also heard of the new nano technology but don't know much about it.

Can sifus help me make a decision: traditional method / nano?

Once report to Property MGT............the fight begins
air_ed22
post Aug 20 2024, 11:41 AM

40 posts

Well I'm facing the same leakage problems as we speak now and the different is only that mine is condo and yours landed now.

As for condo I'd to pay for affected unit and communicate with them and management, very super leceh.

For landed if it's washroom u can opt to not use the current host and redo a new 1 without hacking....a lot landed doing this....
2nd option is you hack but dunno which part if causing the issues and would take times to identify and costly....

Both requiring water proofing, 1 way is using self DIY e proxy if the toilet is seldom use and less wet kind else for long run need redo the water proofing depending on your size ranging at a minimum of 2k onwards...good luck
moiskyrie
post Aug 20 2024, 11:55 AM

3,212 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 20 2024, 11:31 AM)
No way to repair from underneath. If you put some king of waterproofing material at that location, the water will sip to another location.  smile.gif

Just need to inform apartment management to inform the owner of the troubled unit.
inform management already,
management say the problem inside the unit is owner self settle...
upper floor owner know already just 3rd floor owner missing i think....
Zot
post Aug 20 2024, 12:14 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Aug 20 2024, 11:55 AM)
inform management already,
management say the problem inside the unit is owner self settle...
upper floor owner know already just 3rd floor owner missing i think....
I know it is the owner problem but I was thinking that the 3rd floor owner might not know the problem and hoping the management will contact to inform the owner.

This article may give you idea what to do next

https://jomtanyapeguam.com/kebocoran-antara...hak-pengurusan/
Momo33
post Aug 20 2024, 03:12 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(advTech @ Aug 20 2024, 11:52 AM)
My terrace house have 2 toilets upstairs, both have leaking problem and cause the lower floor ceiling having cracks and rust. Pictures below are not mine but they look similar.

my house also 2 upstairs toilets leak .
tried many sealing product around 25 rm each .. not effective /still slow leak

decided to try nippon epoxy as can DIY easy . under coat, and epoxy cost around 300 rm .
already 4 year now , no issues.

you can also try product s with polyurethane . this 1 easy to apply .
POLYURETHANE WATERPROOFING DELIVERS DURABLE PROTECTION. Polyurethane waterproofing products are excellent materials for waterproofing, which is an absolute must during most construction processes. Polyurethane waterproofing products protect buildings from water and humidity, as well as providing excellent UV resistance

https://swcconstruction.com.sg/blogs/nano-c...-waterproofing/

loki
post Aug 20 2024, 03:16 PM

2,109 posts

i use those ladaza rm15.00 waterproofing clear paint. of course i ask my upstairs to cooperate for 2 days and not use their toilet. Its the toilet bowl connection to the pipe that is leaking. Start with 1 coat, blow dry with hair dryer, then apply at least 4 more layers , everytime let it dry first and reapply. Works and already 1 year no leaking....
kitsunegeisha
post Aug 20 2024, 03:18 PM

250 posts

what estimate price for this??
anakkk
post Aug 20 2024, 03:20 PM

2,111 posts

the management need to send the borang 28, if no reply in the time, management can fix it then charge back to the owner, check with your MO what to do.
TSadvTech
post Aug 21 2024, 06:41 PM

198 posts

Wah I didn't know that this issue affects so many people....
TSadvTech
post Aug 21 2024, 06:44 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Aug 20 2024, 03:12 PM)
my house also  2 upstairs toilets leak .
tried  many  sealing product  around 25  rm  each  ..  not effective /still slow leak 

decided  to try  nippon epoxy  as  can DIY  easy  .  under coat, and epoxy cost around 300 rm .
already 4  year now  , no issues. 

you can also try product s  with  polyurethane .    this 1 easy to apply .
POLYURETHANE WATERPROOFING DELIVERS DURABLE PROTECTION. Polyurethane waterproofing products are excellent materials for waterproofing, which is an absolute must during most construction processes. Polyurethane waterproofing products protect buildings from water and humidity, as well as providing excellent UV resistance
May I know, do you employ ppl to do or DIY?
Momo33
post Aug 22 2024, 08:50 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(advTech @ Aug 21 2024, 07:44 PM)
May I know, do you employ ppl to do or DIY?
DIY .
buy from shopee
follow instruction as on the can
Learn from some videos on youtube.

TSadvTech
post Aug 25 2024, 04:58 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Aug 20 2024, 03:12 PM)
my house also  2 upstairs toilets leak .
tried  many  sealing product  around 25  rm  each  ..  not effective /still slow leak 

decided  to try  nippon epoxy  as  can DIY  easy  .  under coat, and epoxy cost around 300 rm .
already 4  year now  , no issues. 

you can also try product s  with  polyurethane .    this 1 easy to apply .
I get it that the epoxy part I can DIY. Now take a look at the actual photos of my ceiling downstairs, Do I still have to find contractors to repair these?

Front toilet:

Back toilet:

0.0152sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:41 PM