How to identify edition of Logitech mouse?, Or even fake mouse.

TSry8128
post Aug 16 2024, 09:17 PM, updated 2y ago

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

Guys, this is a continuation from this thread last night: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5476237&hl=

I am facing the same issue with TS where the Logitech mouse I just bought is different with another set bought earlier. I believe both are genuine, but how to know which is older/newer edition? And which is suppose to 'better' quality and build, knowing both are the same exact model but manufactured in different factory?

FYI, this is Logitech M240. Below are the photos of the packaging. There are quite a number of differences, especially the bottom part where you can see one is made in China and the other one is Vietnam.

Hope can receive some valuable feedbacks from the pros here.

Front:

Left:

Right:

Back:

Bottom (see the made in China and Vietnam words):

NathanJeans
post Aug 16 2024, 09:17 PM

77 posts

Can check under
TSry8128
post Aug 16 2024, 09:17 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

cc big boss mouse expert JimbeamofNRT for assistance
Pikichu
post Aug 16 2024, 09:20 PM

2,278 posts

does the cheaper one have a bulging box due to the weight of overstacking?
brkli
post Aug 16 2024, 09:21 PM

592 posts

mouse je need untill like this. better just get cheapo china brand. no need scare fake. coz no point faking.
pisces88
post Aug 16 2024, 09:21 PM

3,969 posts

any distributor sticker?
jmas
post Aug 16 2024, 09:22 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

find serial number, register warranty
https://support.logi.com/hc/en-gb/requests/...id=360000994993
zerorating
post Aug 16 2024, 09:25 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

whichever packaging feel lower quality are newer one.
problem with logitech were they are keeping the same model for way too long, but still they need to keep the price or make it abit lower, so they choose to cut corners.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Aug 16 2024, 09:27 PM
TSry8128
post Aug 16 2024, 09:29 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(NathanJeans @ Aug 16 2024, 09:17 PM)
Can check under
What to see under?

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Aug 16 2024, 09:20 PM)
does the cheaper one have a bulging box due to the weight of overstacking?
Due to ayam tertekan it sweat.gif

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 16 2024, 09:21 PM)
any distributor sticker?
Yup, both got.

QUOTE(jmas @ Aug 16 2024, 09:22 PM)
Good idea, but can we put the serial number to check if it exists without pressing submit and activate warranty? As I might give this a someone as present, so prefer to keep the warranty intact.

QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 16 2024, 09:25 PM)
whichever packaging feel lower quality are newer one.
problem with logitech were they are keeping the same model for way too long, but still they need to keep the price or make it abit lower, so they choose to cut corners.
Hmmm, let me try and see if i can differentiate it.

jmas
post Aug 16 2024, 09:35 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 16 2024, 09:29 PM)
What to see under?
Due to ayam tertekan it  sweat.gif
Yup, both got.
Good idea, but can we put the serial number to check if it exists without pressing submit and activate warranty? As I might give this a someone as present, so prefer to keep the warranty intact.
Hmmm, let me try and see if i can differentiate it.
can
after submit serial, will show u the model, n ask to submit purchase details
TSry8128
post Aug 16 2024, 09:46 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Aug 16 2024, 09:35 PM)
can
after submit serial, will show u the model, n ask to submit purchase details
Thanks man. Both able to show me the model like below. hmm.gif

johnnycp
post Aug 16 2024, 09:49 PM

600 posts

Entry level mouse also nitpicky meh. Just plug and play only

This post has been edited by johnnycp: Aug 16 2024, 09:50 PM
Szzz
post Aug 16 2024, 09:51 PM

120 posts

Solution:

Don't buy Logitech
TSry8128
post Aug 16 2024, 09:51 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Aug 16 2024, 09:49 PM)
Entry level mouse also nick picky meh. Just plug and play only
Depends on how you view it. You view it as cheap thing so no need to care. I view it as a knowledge gain which would be beneficial in the long term and if i purchase something more expensive.

Dont tell me if you own a kancil, you dont care what maintenance is needed? And you only care once you own a beemer?
Kylow
post Aug 16 2024, 10:08 PM

56 posts

my logitech g pro superlight, got thai words but was like RM200 off, connects to ghub so confirm genuine
nate_nightroad
post Aug 16 2024, 10:19 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

Install the logi+ if can detect and show serial and firmware then can d la
h@ksam
post Aug 16 2024, 10:23 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Aug 16 2024, 10:19 PM)
follow this advice as your model is listed for Logi Options+

for G series mice, use Logitech G Hub to detect genuine Logitech mice.

This post has been edited by h@ksam: Aug 16 2024, 10:24 PM
TSry8128
post Aug 16 2024, 10:25 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Aug 16 2024, 10:19 PM)
QUOTE(h@ksam @ Aug 16 2024, 10:23 PM)
follow this advice as your model is listed for Logi Options+

for G series mice, use Logitech G Hub to detect genuine Logitech mice.
Thanks, thanks. notworthy.gif

0.0207sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:07 AM