What should do if tenant break tenancy agreement?

TSgoolie
post Aug 12 2024, 08:47 AM, updated 2y ago

795 posts

I rented house to a tenant but I just found out that tenant break the tenancy agreement. He made alterations and partitions to premises without written consent to me (owner) and windows, locks were damaged purposely (not wear and tear), and also made modifications to original wiring in order to steal electric from TNB. The tenancy is for 2 years contract but it's now into 2nd month. What should I do as a landlord? Can i sue him under Distress Act 1951 (Act 255) since the tenant break the tenancy agreement? If yes, where should i go to approach a Judge or Registrar to issue a warrant of distress?

This post has been edited by goolie: Aug 12 2024, 09:48 PM
mini orchard
post Aug 12 2024, 09:00 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 12 2024, 08:47 AM)
I rented house to a tenant but I just found out that tenant break the tenancy agreement. He made alterations and partitions to premises without written consent to me (owner) and windows, locks were damaged purposely (not wear and tear), and also made modifications to original wiring in order to steal electric from TNB. The tenancy is for 2 years contract but it's now into 2nd month. What should I do as a landlord? Can i sue him underĀ  Distress Act 1951 (Act 255) since the tenant break the tenancy agreement? If yes, where should i go to approach a Judge or Registrar to issue a warrant of distress?
Are you mentally and financially prepared to go the legal route ?

Before going the legal way, landlord must gives notice to tenant in writing stating the breach and to give him sufficient time to rectify.

I am not sure what you meant "made modifications to original wiring in order to steal electric from TNB" ? Alternatively, you can lodge a report with TNB requesting them to initiate an investigation.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 12 2024, 09:30 AM
cedyy
post Aug 12 2024, 09:07 AM

1,404 posts

How you found out so soon? You went to spot check?
apendots
post Aug 12 2024, 09:09 AM

226 posts

your tenancy agreement didnt state what happens if the tenant break the agreement?
OrangeGamer
post Aug 12 2024, 09:13 AM

238 posts

Crypto farm? if they steal electric for crypto mining its very bad for you.. TNB will come get you to pay for the thousands your tenant stole from them if they could not get to them.

This post has been edited by OrangeGamer: Aug 12 2024, 09:14 AM
nexona88
post Aug 12 2024, 09:44 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,570 posts

Wah...

Tenant also got like this...

.and it's only into 2nd month.... Very daring person....

Anyway... Can report to TNB first.... Because anything problem... Owner to be blame....

Then report police too... They won't do much... But it's like to cover you for any blame...
TSgoolie
post Aug 12 2024, 09:44 PM

795 posts

QUOTE(OrangeGamer @ Aug 12 2024, 10:13 AM)
Crypto farm? if they steal electric for crypto mining its very bad for you.. TNB will come get you to pay for the thousands your tenant stole from them if they could not get to them.
Considering the consequences that I may suffer, it's better to terminate the tenancy immediately? It's the tenant breach the agreement as there is no request for my consent to do such wiring modification. I have stated that in agreement.

This post has been edited by goolie: Aug 12 2024, 09:44 PM
TSgoolie
post Aug 12 2024, 09:47 PM

795 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Aug 12 2024, 10:00 AM)
Are you mentally and financially prepared to go the legal route ?

Before going the legal way, landlord must gives notice to tenant in writing stating the breach and to give him sufficient time to rectify.

I am not sure what you meant "made modifications to original wiring in order to steal electric from TNB" ? Alternatively, you can lodge a report with TNB requesting them to initiate an investigation.
Is is some form of letter in writing to inform him to do some rectification? If he cannot agree, means I have the rights to terminate contract?
mini orchard
post Aug 13 2024, 06:49 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 12 2024, 09:47 PM)
Is is some form of letter in writing to inform him to do some rectification? If he cannot agree, means I have the rights to terminate contract?
Yes, in written form. Verbal will be difficult to argue later.

Sufficient reasonable time to be given to the tenant to rectify the breach or the TA will be terminated.

One notice may not be sufficient if the tenant fails to do it. You have to follow up with the 2nd and 3rd notices.

If notices fail, then terminate the TA in writing demanding VP.

If VP fails, then consult a lawyer.

Going the legal way is time consuming and costly.

Being a landlord is not easy UNLESS one is 'tough' and able to handle such tenant without going the legal way.

forever1979
post Aug 13 2024, 07:55 AM

2,854 posts

if you confirm with proof that he steal eletricity, u can lodge a police report. its kind of criminal case already
Jason
post Aug 13 2024, 12:42 PM

6,356 posts

I think first thing you should do, is report police. Next you should cut the power supply if it's under your name at TNB -- the charges would have far exceeded your deposit by now. So tell TNB to cut it. Oh and if its under your name you are liable.

How do you know they steal TNB power? If you are so sure, report to TNB and get TNB to take action against them as well (TNB got more lawyers, more fire power).
OrangeGamer
post Aug 13 2024, 03:44 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 12 2024, 09:44 PM)
Considering the consequences that I may suffer, it's better to terminate the tenancy immediately? It's the tenant breach the agreement as there is no request for my consent to do such wiring modification. I have stated that in agreement.
no idea, what if they don't want to leave? probably going through the legal channel would be best.

kena once before during mco time, i'm lucky that when i found out they already leaving, check and rectified everything and hope tnb never found out about the electric stealing.

heard from other cases that tnb found out and the fee incur can be really big especially when crypto mining can consume electric heavily, they could not find the tenant so they go after the owner for the huge amount, owner decided not to pay, just letting the level empty without electricity reconnected.
thx2012
post Aug 13 2024, 04:57 PM

877 posts

Tenant break u tenancy, u break the tenant... easy..

0.0227sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:39 AM