Location, Location, Location is a myth, For highrise property in Klang Valley
TS888-Alien
Aug 12 2024, 12:29 AM, updated 2y ago

What are the criteria to select a good property? Many are trapped with “good location”, “prime location” “last piece of project in XXX location” House buyer are fooled by developers / agents about the exact meaning of location
This post has been edited by 888-Alien: Aug 12 2024, 12:30 AM
victorian
Aug 12 2024, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(888-Alien @ Aug 12 2024, 12:29 AM) What are the criteria to select a good property? Many are trapped with “good location”, “prime location” “last piece of project in XXX location” House buyer are fooled by developers / agents about the exact meaning of location location, location, location still holds true until today. only then we look at other factors like the entry price, developer etc.
Tan&tan
Aug 12 2024, 02:10 AM
I really don’t understand the word location …. Everywhere is good location … ah beng stay rawang coz his factory at rawang . Ah kow stay sg buloh coz his koptiam at sg buloh , ah lim stay semenyih coz he retired and his son study at semenyih ✌️.. they stay at their fav location coz easy for them .. don’t tell me klcc dpc bangsar good location , ya I know is good , but my ah kow ah beng ah lim don’t give a d , coz their daily activity is not there … so what’s up with location ? You senang with that place you buy there la .
taitianhin
Aug 12 2024, 02:22 AM
QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Aug 12 2024, 02:10 AM) I really don’t understand the word location …. Everywhere is good location … ah beng stay rawang coz his factory at rawang . Ah kow stay sg buloh coz his koptiam at sg buloh , ah lim stay semenyih coz he retired and his son study at semenyih ✌️.. they stay at their fav location coz easy for them .. don’t tell me klcc dpc bangsar good location , ya I know is good , but my ah kow ah beng ah lim don’t give a d , coz their daily activity is not there … so what’s up with location ? You senang with that place you buy there la . When they say location....is abt investment. It is not where you want your house to be stay or near to your working location la Apa Ah Beng For investment, we gonna know the location where the property will see good capital gain or fetch good rental to offset the installment/investment If we is to buy a property to stay, it is like buying Genting share and stay/live with the Genting Share, regardless of it price/dividend/appreciation. You buy it just feel like owning it...
SUSceo684
Aug 12 2024, 02:24 AM
Depends on your needs. Want easy to rent must have easy access to the main attractions (e.g. walkable to LRT, or close to university), not a 30 mins drive just to touch the highway.
kopiride
Aug 12 2024, 03:21 AM
It's not a myth. Good location comes in many different forms. Near city, easy access to transport with walking distance, big malls area. Some would say near school consider good location. Thus the word prime location, where everyone perceives and agree that location is the best. Pay premium for such area.
ManutdGiggs
Aug 12 2024, 03:46 AM
Rule of thumb
When a so proclaimed sifu or guru or master tells u his or her location then it's a genuine sinkalan hypothesis to sell u his or her products.
A real good location is simply real and that good. It's as simple as that. However, not all props in the same vicinity can perform the same. That's fact and it's that harsh and that cruel
icemanfx
Aug 12 2024, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Aug 12 2024, 03:46 AM) Rule of thumb When a so proclaimed sifu or guru or master tells u his or her location then it's a genuine sinkalan hypothesis to sell u his or her products. A real good location is simply real and that good. It's as simple as that. However, not all props in the same vicinity can perform the same. That's fact and it's that harsh and that cruel Perhaps you should list these locations in kv.
gks
Aug 12 2024, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Aug 12 2024, 02:10 AM) I really don’t understand the word location …. Everywhere is good location … ah beng stay rawang coz his factory at rawang . Ah kow stay sg buloh coz his koptiam at sg buloh , ah lim stay semenyih coz he retired and his son study at semenyih ✌️.. they stay at their fav location coz easy for them .. don’t tell me klcc dpc bangsar good location , ya I know is good , but my ah kow ah beng ah lim don’t give a d , coz their daily activity is not there … so what’s up with location ? You senang with that place you buy there la . For own stayers, as long as they are happy any place is good place for them. Even under the bridge if that's all they can afford. LocationX3 mantra require a little more finesse to understand. However for investors, essentially is how much capital a location can attract and grow in long term. Once you understand it as investors, you should only put monies in property where your capital can grow aka capital gain. These Ah Kow Ah LIm may stay happily in Semenyih Rawang etc.. but they may not tell you they park their monies elsewhere la....
tekkaus
Aug 12 2024, 09:02 AM
It depends on your purpose and aim for the property, no?
For school/uni? For work? For rental?
Eventually, your purpose equates to location.
victorian
Aug 12 2024, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Aug 12 2024, 02:10 AM) I really don’t understand the word location …. Everywhere is good location … ah beng stay rawang coz his factory at rawang . Ah kow stay sg buloh coz his koptiam at sg buloh , ah lim stay semenyih coz he retired and his son study at semenyih ✌️.. they stay at their fav location coz easy for them .. don’t tell me klcc dpc bangsar good location , ya I know is good , but my ah kow ah beng ah lim don’t give a d , coz their daily activity is not there … so what’s up with location ? You senang with that place you buy there la . Own stay and investment is 2 different ball game. Ah Beng may prefer to stay Rawang now because his workplace is there, but what if he changes job or his wife prefer to stay somewhere closer in KL/with public transport? Then only he realize that he is stuck with his property because of poor rental/minimal appreciation.
Matchy
Aug 12 2024, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Aug 12 2024, 02:10 AM) I really don’t understand the word location …. Everywhere is good location … ah beng stay rawang coz his factory at rawang . Ah kow stay sg buloh coz his koptiam at sg buloh , ah lim stay semenyih coz he retired and his son study at semenyih ✌️.. they stay at their fav location coz easy for them .. don’t tell me klcc dpc bangsar good location , ya I know is good , but my ah kow ah beng ah lim don’t give a d , coz their daily activity is not there … so what’s up with location ? You senang with that place you buy there la . this one mainly for investment la... good location generally will have high demand. so it is easily to rent/sell.
Clueless07
Aug 12 2024, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(victorian @ Aug 12 2024, 09:29 AM) Own stay and investment is 2 different ball game. Ah Beng may prefer to stay Rawang now because his workplace is there, but what if he changes job or his wife prefer to stay somewhere closer in KL/with public transport? Then only he realize that he is stuck with his property because of poor rental/minimal appreciation. Yup agree.... a property value or location... it is not only based on your own condition/location/work place. it is based on when you want to sell, if you want to sell.... are there many buyers/demand. when you condition dont works for others- the property will just be stale, and no value. at the end, you are literally "shiok sendiri"
Boomwick
Aug 12 2024, 10:52 AM
I would say f u to location
All i want is clean air, no smelly burning rubbish dump or sewerage beside.
Tan&tan
Aug 12 2024, 12:03 PM
Oh ya investment … thought you all ckp own stay … my bad … btw condo still can invest meh ? Siapa mahu masuk
victorian
Aug 12 2024, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Aug 12 2024, 12:03 PM) Oh ya investment … thought you all ckp own stay … my bad … btw condo still can invest meh ? Siapa mahu masuk not to say impossible but its very hard now. not worth the effort imo.
Aaron212
Aug 12 2024, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Aug 11 2024, 10:10 PM) I really don’t understand the word location …. Everywhere is good location … ah beng stay rawang coz his factory at rawang . Ah kow stay sg buloh coz his koptiam at sg buloh , ah lim stay semenyih coz he retired and his son study at semenyih ✌️.. they stay at their fav location coz easy for them .. don’t tell me klcc dpc bangsar good location , ya I know is good , but my ah kow ah beng ah lim don’t give a d , coz their daily activity is not there … so what’s up with location ? You senang with that place you buy there la . its location for ur potential tenants example condo in bangsar vs condo in semenyih which 1 easier to rent out? which 1 have a bigger rental pool for u as owner to choose?
Jason
Aug 12 2024, 02:07 PM
What myth. You butt hurt bought Cyberjaya is it? I don't see people buying Desapark complaining. All syukur they bought Desapark.
TS888-Alien
Aug 12 2024, 02:47 PM

About 10 years ago, the slogan “this is the last piece of land in Mont Kiara”, Investor rush in to buy And this going on and on, about more than 15 projects being launched again, all using the same marketing talk.
For me location only apply to large plot of land, for landed property, shop lots and industrial properties, these categories of real estate take up big acreage, a 100 units of landed link house require 7-8 acres of land to accommodate. While 7-8 acres of land can build thousand of condos / apts, any land which is less than 3 acres are not viable for landed, but a merely 20K sf of land can build a condo.
Land is scarce is apply to landed properties, not condo. Be wise
This post has been edited by 888-Alien: Aug 12 2024, 02:47 PM
redondo88
Aug 12 2024, 03:07 PM
For an investor mindset, you might think location for a price point is ridiculous. Until you stays there by yourself.
Every day go to work/send your kids to school & feel the rush hour traffic. Come home try to find variable cheap good foods (so you don't have to eat the same thing every day). Weekends look for malls to waste your time, find nearest markets to find cheapest groceries. On emergency need to go to hospital/clinic as fast as you can. Sometimes you wonder why your neighbourhood got so many low class people & lots of crimes.
All these started from location you chose to live at.
This post has been edited by redondo88: Aug 12 2024, 03:08 PM
MalaysiaCEO
Aug 12 2024, 03:41 PM

Just take out your moneh and buy dont talk so much, if not like that how agent earn moneh and how developer pay workers salary, dont forget 房市是经济的火车头,if property down, we all doom.
Tan&tan
Aug 12 2024, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Aug 12 2024, 01:32 PM) its location for ur potential tenants example condo in bangsar vs condo in semenyih which 1 easier to rent out? which 1 have a bigger rental pool for u as owner to choose? Of course bangsar better but same still bleed money monthly . Impossible cover loan unless 30% dp diff cerita
Aaron212
Aug 12 2024, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Aug 12 2024, 01:15 PM) Of course bangsar better but same still bleed money monthly . Impossible cover loan unless 30% dp diff cerita how u consider bleed prop sifu say can cover interest adi consider win some sifu say cover 85% consider win each have own cup of tea for risk and investment buy wrong location u bleed lagi worst so location still ultimate win
Tan&tan
Aug 12 2024, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Aug 12 2024, 05:16 PM) how u consider bleed prop sifu say can cover interest adi consider win some sifu say cover 85% consider win each have own cup of tea for risk and investment buy wrong location u bleed lagi worst so location still ultimate win Cover or earn at the end you need exit plan , assuming condo . Now new projects berlambak , who come and continue to pay loan for your old building . Unless your price 700k , example . New prop tepi you selling 1m , then you got room to play … but what I see nowadays new project cheap af …….
icemanfx
Aug 12 2024, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(MalaysiaCEO @ Aug 12 2024, 03:41 PM) Just take out your moneh and buy dont talk so much, if not like that how agent earn moneh and how developer pay workers salary, dont forget 房市是经济的火车头,if property down, we all doom. Construction industry is less than 5% of GDP. Most re agent behave like scammers, only interested to close sale for commission, don't care of buyers consequences.
jojolicia
Aug 13 2024, 01:01 AM
Dy said many times, sel/kl highrise SA after 2018 cannot buy. Going forward lagi cannot touch regardless of location
This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 13 2024, 01:02 AM
Tan&tan
Aug 14 2024, 12:01 AM
So interesting Topic so few replies ya you know already current prop market …. Hancur ……..
TS888-Alien
Aug 14 2024, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Aug 14 2024, 12:01 AM) So interesting Topic so few replies ya you know already current prop market …. Hancur …….. Property market bullish? Bubble? Market burst? Over supply? All the answers are very subjective, I am shocking to see so many property gurus who don’t even has experience in real estate deal are teaching people about investing, only in Malaysia To me, you need at least 20 years in property dealings, 50 properties ownership to qualify as a “guru” to conduct a property talk. I have not met any solid mentor that can convince me so far.