Is google drive worth it?, For personal use not for work

TSlIAmLegendl
post Aug 9 2024, 11:55 PM, updated 2y ago

305 posts

I been wanting to store my personal files lately and I thought about cloud storage. I saw google drive offering RM42.90 per month for 2TB but I'm kind of a bit stingy with money because RM42.90 per month is like RM500++ in a year, I feel like I rather use that RM500++ to buy myself a portable HDD or SSD. I feel like google drive is good for work usage where you need to store files for other colleagues to access, what do you guys think? Like in terms of personal use, should I go with cloud still or just buy external drives?
soul78
post Aug 9 2024, 11:59 PM

935 posts

it's 2024 .... just go storj.io

decentralized cloud storage on blockchain/web3

no one trusts amazon, microsucks, google anymore...

This post has been edited by soul78: Aug 10 2024, 12:04 AM
annoymous1234
post Aug 10 2024, 12:40 AM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(lIAmLegendl @ Aug 9 2024, 11:55 PM)
I been wanting to store my personal files lately and I thought about cloud storage. I saw google drive offering RM42.90 per month for 2TB but I'm kind of a bit stingy with money because RM42.90 per month is like RM500++ in a year, I feel like I rather use that RM500++ to buy myself a portable HDD or SSD. I feel like google drive is good for work usage where you need to store files for other colleagues to access, what do you guys think? Like in terms of personal use, should I go with cloud still or just buy external drives?
Just go with external HDD/SSD to save cost. keep a backup copy in ur pc too. If one if it fails, u always have a backup.
ecrl
post Aug 10 2024, 12:58 AM

36 posts

Why you need 2TB for personal?

I 100GB onedrive also struggling to fill-up.
xhruso00
post Aug 10 2024, 01:09 AM

120 posts

Google drive is not backup. Google can accidentally delete your files. Neither iCloud Drive is a backup.

silverhawk
post Aug 10 2024, 01:57 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

Cloud is not just for sharing, the benefit of cloud is the redundancy in their infrastructure. Its very unlikely for their storage servers to go down, so your data is much safer with them than any device you own.

External hard disks can fail, the larger the disk, the higher the impact/loss of an external disc. If you want to spend a bit of money upfront, set up a NAS with at least 2 drives to reduce your chances of failure.

Best solution is actually to use microsoft onedrive. M365 comes with 1TB of cloud storage per user. Personal plan is about RM300 and family plan is about RM400. You get access to the microsoft office suite as well, so a pretty good deal. After 1TB the price is expensive.

Depending on your back up purposes, you might also consider just directly storing the data in AWS S3. You can choose the infrequent access tiers like glacier if you don't access the back up data often.

ttmm2016
post Aug 10 2024, 02:11 AM

98 posts

I think all cloud around the same price except the Microsoft bundle plan
gashout
post Aug 10 2024, 04:31 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Aug 10 2024, 12:40 AM)
Just go with external HDD/SSD to save cost. keep a backup copy in ur pc too. If one if it fails, u always have a backup.
i'd personally use external hard drive.

never know when these companies sell your data or own your data, they can change their confusing tnc easily

hard drive rosak then go repair, rm600 or so can do the job.
gashout
post Aug 10 2024, 04:37 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

our lives also filled with such 'needs', add on such costs, this that, then we complain why do we have such little salary.

end of the days, how often we open those photos and videos and watch. once in a blue moon. but we paying so much to keep them well.

one needs to do digital cluttering also.
JimbeamofNRT
post Aug 10 2024, 06:41 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(ecrl @ Aug 10 2024, 12:58 AM)
Why you need 2TB for personal?

I 100GB onedrive also struggling to fill-up.
some ppl take too much live photo I guess
kidmad
post Aug 10 2024, 07:59 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2024, 04:37 AM)
our lives also filled with such 'needs', add on such costs, this that, then we complain why do we have such little salary.

end of the days, how often we open those photos and videos and watch. once in a blue moon. but we paying so much to keep them well.

one needs to do digital cluttering also.
At the same time rm450 a year is a small money to keep all your memories throughout the years. Family to your baby. Both me and wife uses a total of 4xxgb and I'm subscribing to the 2tb plan.

Google photo is amazing it reminds you daily about your memory in the past. It made me stop down a little from my busy schedule to look into memories once captured somewhere in the world.

Unfortunately it's no longer something I can live without.
mystvearn
post Aug 10 2024, 08:09 AM

6,639 posts

If you have a dedicated Internet line, flat rate, buy a synology NAS 2 bay. It will be cheaper in the 3rd year onwards.

I've migrated from onedrive enterprise to synology nas. I don't miss any apps synology has both mobile, pc and Mac software.
Synology photos = Google photos
Onedrive software = synology drive app

I am currently using synology ds420+. Now 4th year. I have unifi wired. It connects to a UPS which connects to the NAS which powers on and off automatically. Already completed the 3 2 1 backup setup. 2 users are using the NAS full time.

Synology nas hardware is slightly expensive, but you get lifetime software support. If you think it is quite hard, try synology beestation. Plug and play.

Though synology beestation sold out now.. A lot of IPTA people buying since Microsoft onedrive no more 1 tb, now to 10 GB.

This post has been edited by mystvearn: Aug 10 2024, 08:17 AM
hksgmy
post Aug 10 2024, 08:23 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

I'm old school. External drives, esp SSD ones, FTW for me.
acbc
post Aug 10 2024, 08:38 AM

9,050 posts

2TB is a waste.

100GB is more than enough.

Anything larger better keep offline because it will take hours to download when accessing GD over 4/5G or public WiFi.

Mine is 100GB primarily for email and photos. Large files I dumped at OneDrive and only download when needed. Per year I only spent 90 bucks.
thankyou
post Aug 10 2024, 08:41 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 10 2024, 07:59 AM)
At the same time rm450 a year is a small money to keep all your memories throughout the years. Family to your baby. Both me and wife uses a total of 4xxgb and I'm subscribing to the 2tb plan.

Google photo is amazing it reminds you daily about your memory in the past. It made me stop down a little from my busy schedule to look into memories once captured somewhere in the world.

Agree with you, Google Photos and FB (my case) really brings back memories in the past. Im still considering moving my photos to OneDrive since the 200GB GDrive is filling up due to the videos I uploaded....
ktek
post Aug 10 2024, 08:56 AM

小喇叭
13,214 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2024, 08:23 AM)
ssd need to power up once in a while
else he unable retain memory
YoungMan
post Aug 10 2024, 10:06 AM

6,825 posts

Rm500++, you can buy 2 external hard disk and store 2 copies of the files as backup. When 1 of the drive fail, just buy another to replace.
Sunshape
post Aug 10 2024, 11:28 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Aug 9 2024, 11:59 PM)
it's 2024 .... just go storj.io

decentralized cloud storage on blockchain/web3

no one trusts amazon, microsucks, google anymore...

Quite cheap if 100gb only USD0.40 per month?

Safe or not?

soul78
post Aug 10 2024, 11:32 AM

935 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Aug 10 2024, 11:28 AM)
Quite cheap if 100gb only USD0.40 per month?

Safe or not?
already 2yrs + I'm using.. no complaints
YamiBear
post Aug 10 2024, 11:37 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Aug 10 2024, 01:57 AM)
Cloud is not just for sharing, the benefit of cloud is the redundancy in their infrastructure. Its very unlikely for their storage servers to go down, so your data is much safer with them than any device you own.

External hard disks can fail, the larger the disk, the higher the impact/loss of an external disc. If you want to spend a bit of money upfront, set up a NAS with at least 2 drives to reduce your chances of failure.

Best solution is actually to use microsoft onedrive. M365 comes with 1TB of cloud storage per user. Personal plan is about RM300 and family plan is about RM400. You get access to the microsoft office suite as well, so a pretty good deal. After 1TB the price is expensive.

Depending on your back up purposes, you might also consider just directly storing the data in AWS S3. You can choose the infrequent access tiers like glacier if you don't access the back up data often.
Onedrive so good. It allows me to be braver on installing softwares and do reformat without worry. Just sync and your PC is as good as yesterday.
Sunshape
post Aug 10 2024, 11:42 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Aug 10 2024, 11:32 AM)
already 2yrs + I'm using.. no complaints
For backup or sync like google drive/onedrive?
romuluz777
post Aug 10 2024, 12:09 PM

2,220 posts

I'm old school too and would go for a couple of 2TB SSD drives, Transcend, WD or Sandisk.
Quite affordable these days and pretty fast.
Icehart
post Aug 10 2024, 01:07 PM

14,901 posts

Personal files just stick to traditional NAS/HDD setup.

Cloud are for critical files that need the nine nines redundancy.
teslaman
post Aug 10 2024, 01:08 PM

1,154 posts

if poor buy hdd

if want security go for cloud
kidmad
post Aug 10 2024, 01:10 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Aug 10 2024, 08:41 AM)
Agree with you, Google Photos and FB (my case) really brings back memories in the past. Im still considering moving my photos to OneDrive since the 200GB GDrive is filling up due to the videos I uploaded....
One drive it's much adorable but it doesn't have googles photo capability. I'm still waiting.
hksgmy
post Aug 10 2024, 01:15 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 10 2024, 08:56 AM)
ssd need to power up once in a while
else he unable retain memory
Yes, but I back up all my important data (especially patient data) daily anyway.
Starbucki
post Aug 10 2024, 01:27 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(YamiBear @ Aug 10 2024, 11:37 AM)
Onedrive so good. It allows me to be braver on installing softwares and do reformat without worry. Just sync and your PC is as good as yesterday.
Syncing also means if you accidentally delete your file, the backup will be deleted too right?
silverhawk
post Aug 10 2024, 01:59 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2024, 04:31 AM)

never know when these companies sell your data or own your data, they can change their confusing tnc easily

For starters, the cloud back up should not be your only back up. So don't rely on it 100%

If you scared company sell your data, just make sure its encrypted before storage.

For 2TB, can go up to 2k depending on the level of the problem. RM600 is only for problem like partition failure. If other problem like disk damage, head damage, etc. The cost is higher.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2024, 08:23 AM)
External SSDs are good if you plug them in often, even if they hit their write threshold you should still be able to read from it. However as a long term back up, they are a very bad solution. If you keep an external SSD unplugged for a long time, the loss of charge over time will lead to data corruption. SSDs are essentially RAM, they have mechanisms to hold the charge longer, but its not indefinite. SLC based ssds can retain data longer (~10 years), but MLC/QLC might only have a span of 1-2 years, your mileage will vary.

You have the means to do a good back up strategy, so my advice is you do a simple set up.

[pc/laptop/external ssd] ---> [NAS (e.g. Synology)] ----> [Cloud backup]

For your NAS, get a 2-4 bay and make sure its mirrored. You'll only have 1/2 capacity of your drives but you will be very resilient against hardware failures. Any drive fail, you can just buy a new one to plug back in to rebuild.

Then for cloud backup, go with a service like backblaze.com which is 6USD/month/TB.

GHBZDK
post Aug 10 2024, 02:27 PM

173 posts

There are a lot of cheap shared cloud service on taobao you just need to look. The seller buy family pack and lease out. Costs like rm100 for 2tb a year.
Downside is you take the risk it ends before 1 year is up la.
So far I used 1 year and renewed already.
culain99
post Aug 10 2024, 02:36 PM

-----
765 posts

QUOTE(GHBZDK @ Aug 10 2024, 02:27 PM)
There are a lot of cheap shared cloud service on taobao you just need to look. The seller buy family pack and lease out. Costs like rm100 for 2tb a year.
Downside is you take the risk it ends before 1 year is up la.
So far I used 1 year and renewed already.
what is keyword in chinese characters?
GHBZDK
post Aug 10 2024, 02:38 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Aug 10 2024, 02:36 PM)
what is keyword in chinese characters?
Icloud
OneDrive
Sort by sales
Tell seller size and duration
Buy
Sunshape
post Aug 10 2024, 02:55 PM

1,027 posts

Anyone has this problem with Googledrive that when you upload new file or update new file, it won't sync on the spot and when you access the file from other device, it is still the old file until certain hour or day.
soul78
post Aug 10 2024, 03:01 PM

935 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Aug 10 2024, 11:42 AM)
For backup or sync like google drive/onedrive?
I use it for backups... not syncs...

connect their S3 storage using mountainduck if your on windows..

for mobile i'm using BucketAnywhere

Sunshape
post Aug 10 2024, 03:10 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Aug 10 2024, 03:01 PM)
I use it for backups... not syncs...

connect their S3 storage using mountainduck if your on windows..

for mobile i'm using BucketAnywhere
Do they have their own app for Windows and Mobile?

Can also backup all photos and videos in phone gallery like google photo?
soul78
post Aug 10 2024, 03:21 PM

935 posts

QUOTE(Sunshape @ Aug 10 2024, 03:10 PM)
Do they have their own app for Windows and Mobile?

Can also backup all photos and videos in phone gallery like google photo?
maybe now they might have for mobile...

you can backup anything from your phone to the storage. of course it's not sync... it's manually you select what you want to copy over to the storage.
YamiBear
post Aug 10 2024, 03:22 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 10 2024, 01:27 PM)
Syncing also means if you accidentally delete your file, the backup will be deleted too right?
Yes. To go around this, my most important files would also be backed on GDrive. OneDrive usually for work files that's always updated.

One Drive = what I consider important such as work, personal etc.

GDrive = Files in one Drive that is important to have more softcopy backup

Buy new PC hardware and if also need to change SSD and everything, I would just login my windows account and sync it on the internet. Then I would have my basic files and personalization to start working immediately after syncing. Apps kena install sendiri lah.

Edit: I'm using Windows 11

This post has been edited by YamiBear: Aug 10 2024, 03:27 PM
Sunshape
post Aug 10 2024, 03:25 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Aug 10 2024, 03:21 PM)
maybe now they might have for mobile...

you can backup anything from your phone to the storage. of course it's not sync... it's manually you select what you want to copy over to the storage.
Once selected, need to always do manual backup or it will auto backup?
kembayang
post Aug 10 2024, 03:44 PM

1,441 posts

G Drive since nowadays android phone no longer support microsd.
Windows laptop install GDrive app to sync.
200gb sub.

Just need to check last sync time to time.
arkasi
post Aug 10 2024, 06:04 PM

93 posts

Depends on how often you access upload your personal files. If once in a while then better of with cloud service as like other ktards said, external drive may fail & you will need 2 drives to be on the safe side.

Personally, I prefer cloud storage & as long you have decent stable Internet connection. Then u are ok, but mine is only 100gb basic package, so I can understand your reluctant to spend rm500 annually.
15cm
post Aug 10 2024, 10:49 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2024, 04:31 AM)

you dont need to guess

they DO use your data, not necessarily sell it, but use it to train AI

and meta is the worse, one of their product if you want to delete your data , there is a clause that says you can only delete it after they have used it to train their AI

This post has been edited by 15cm: Aug 10 2024, 10:50 PM
Zeliard
post Aug 11 2024, 09:05 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Aug 10 2024, 07:59 AM)

I have a growing child. With a google photo widget on my screen, it automatically searches for my child's face, and projects all the pics. very very nice memory. but i'm not prepared to fork up extra. neither am i willing to live without this too.
jimbet1337
post Aug 11 2024, 09:17 PM

meh
2,672 posts

For me? Yeah. RM85/year for the 100GB.

Been using Gdrive since 2012. Started getting the 100GB plan since 2 years ago.
kidmad
post Aug 11 2024, 10:39 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Aug 11 2024, 09:05 PM)
I have a growing child. With a google photo widget on my screen, it automatically searches for my child's face, and projects all the pics. very very nice memory. but i'm not prepared to fork up extra. neither am i willing to live without this too.
I've been shooting travel photography with my girlfriend to now wife since 2010. So all those memories are continually replying on my Google nest and tv.. yes it's awesome.. it's always a conversation topic for my first who comes to my place. Where's that? What's interesting etc.

Also you can setup one nest displays all family moments, another your vacation moments and another all the highlights. At least that's how I set it up
nelson969
post Aug 11 2024, 11:19 PM

321 posts

of course worth if u want store something, if u can pay why not, everyone doing it

0.0262sec    1.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:28 PM