QUOTE(soul78 @ Aug 10 2024, 11:32 AM)
For backup or sync like google drive/onedrive?Is google drive worth it?, For personal use not for work
Is google drive worth it?, For personal use not for work
Aug 10 2024, 11:42 AM
1,027 posts Joined: Jul 2018 |
Aug 10 2024, 12:09 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,222 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
I'm old school too and would go for a couple of 2TB SSD drives, Transcend, WD or Sandisk.
Quite affordable these days and pretty fast. |
Aug 10 2024, 01:07 PM
14,901 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
Personal files just stick to traditional NAS/HDD setup.
Cloud are for critical files that need the nine nines redundancy. |
Aug 10 2024, 01:08 PM
1,154 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
QUOTE(lIAmLegendl @ Aug 9 2024, 11:55 PM) I been wanting to store my personal files lately and I thought about cloud storage. I saw google drive offering RM42.90 per month for 2TB but I'm kind of a bit stingy with money because RM42.90 per month is like RM500++ in a year, I feel like I rather use that RM500++ to buy myself a portable HDD or SSD. I feel like google drive is good for work usage where you need to store files for other colleagues to access, what do you guys think? Like in terms of personal use, should I go with cloud still or just buy external drives? if poor buy hddif want security go for cloud |
Aug 10 2024, 01:10 PM
4,482 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(thankyou @ Aug 10 2024, 08:41 AM) Agree with you, Google Photos and FB (my case) really brings back memories in the past. Im still considering moving my photos to OneDrive since the 200GB GDrive is filling up due to the videos I uploaded.... One drive it's much adorable but it doesn't have googles photo capability. I'm still waiting. |
Aug 10 2024, 01:15 PM
7,847 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
Aug 10 2024, 01:27 PM
1,389 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Aug 10 2024, 01:59 PM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2024, 04:31 AM) i'd personally use external hard drive. never know when these companies sell your data or own your data, they can change their confusing tnc easily For starters, the cloud back up should not be your only back up. So don't rely on it 100% If you scared company sell your data, just make sure its encrypted before storage. QUOTE For 2TB, can go up to 2k depending on the level of the problem. RM600 is only for problem like partition failure. If other problem like disk damage, head damage, etc. The cost is higher. QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 10 2024, 08:23 AM) External SSDs are good if you plug them in often, even if they hit their write threshold you should still be able to read from it. However as a long term back up, they are a very bad solution. If you keep an external SSD unplugged for a long time, the loss of charge over time will lead to data corruption. SSDs are essentially RAM, they have mechanisms to hold the charge longer, but its not indefinite. SLC based ssds can retain data longer (~10 years), but MLC/QLC might only have a span of 1-2 years, your mileage will vary. You have the means to do a good back up strategy, so my advice is you do a simple set up. [pc/laptop/external ssd] ---> [NAS (e.g. Synology)] ----> [Cloud backup] For your NAS, get a 2-4 bay and make sure its mirrored. You'll only have 1/2 capacity of your drives but you will be very resilient against hardware failures. Any drive fail, you can just buy a new one to plug back in to rebuild. Then for cloud backup, go with a service like backblaze.com which is 6USD/month/TB. hksgmy liked this post
Aug 10 2024, 02:27 PM
173 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
There are a lot of cheap shared cloud service on taobao you just need to look. The seller buy family pack and lease out. Costs like rm100 for 2tb a year.
Downside is you take the risk it ends before 1 year is up la. So far I used 1 year and renewed already. |
Aug 10 2024, 02:36 PM
765 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(GHBZDK @ Aug 10 2024, 02:27 PM) There are a lot of cheap shared cloud service on taobao you just need to look. The seller buy family pack and lease out. Costs like rm100 for 2tb a year. what is keyword in chinese characters?Downside is you take the risk it ends before 1 year is up la. So far I used 1 year and renewed already. |
Aug 10 2024, 02:38 PM
173 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Aug 10 2024, 02:55 PM
Anyone has this problem with Googledrive that when you upload new file or update new file, it won't sync on the spot and when you access the file from other device, it is still the old file until certain hour or day.
Aug 10 2024, 03:01 PM
937 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Aug 10 2024, 03:10 PM
Aug 10 2024, 03:21 PM
937 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(Sunshape @ Aug 10 2024, 03:10 PM) Do they have their own app for Windows and Mobile? maybe now they might have for mobile... Can also backup all photos and videos in phone gallery like google photo? you can backup anything from your phone to the storage. of course it's not sync... it's manually you select what you want to copy over to the storage. |
Aug 10 2024, 03:22 PM
48 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 10 2024, 01:27 PM) Yes. To go around this, my most important files would also be backed on GDrive. OneDrive usually for work files that's always updated.One Drive = what I consider important such as work, personal etc. GDrive = Files in one Drive that is important to have more softcopy backup Buy new PC hardware and if also need to change SSD and everything, I would just login my windows account and sync it on the internet. Then I would have my basic files and personalization to start working immediately after syncing. Apps kena install sendiri lah. Edit: I'm using Windows 11 This post has been edited by YamiBear: Aug 10 2024, 03:27 PM |
Aug 10 2024, 03:25 PM
Aug 10 2024, 03:44 PM
1,441 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
G Drive since nowadays android phone no longer support microsd.
Windows laptop install GDrive app to sync. 200gb sub. Just need to check last sync time to time. |
Aug 10 2024, 06:04 PM
93 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Depends on how often you access upload your personal files. If once in a while then better of with cloud service as like other ktards said, external drive may fail & you will need 2 drives to be on the safe side.
Personally, I prefer cloud storage & as long you have decent stable Internet connection. Then u are ok, but mine is only 100gb basic package, so I can understand your reluctant to spend rm500 annually. |
Aug 10 2024, 10:49 PM
422 posts Joined: Apr 2022 |
QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 10 2024, 04:31 AM) i'd personally use external hard drive. you dont need to guessnever know when these companies sell your data or own your data, they can change their confusing tnc easily hard drive rosak then go repair, rm600 or so can do the job. they DO use your data, not necessarily sell it, but use it to train AI and meta is the worse, one of their product if you want to delete your data , there is a clause that says you can only delete it after they have used it to train their AI This post has been edited by 15cm: Aug 10 2024, 10:50 PM gashout liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0191sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:44 PM |