Experience with property agent

TSGlcotan
post Aug 9 2024, 09:27 AM, updated 2y ago

3,334 posts

Just sharing my experience with one of the property agent, not sure if this is normal.

So, I posted my property for sale in mudah, at the lowest asking price. If you sort by price, then this ad will come as first

Then 2 hours later, got one agent msg me, whether I ok to sell at 20% lower, he got buyer. I said already got buyer viewing at my current price

Later, I found out that the agent actually posted in mudah too, about 2 hours after my post, he posted same property with 20% lower than my price.

He still msg me whether I want to sell my current unit or not

Does it actually post with low price without any unit in hand just to attract buyer?
firef0x
post Aug 9 2024, 09:33 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(Glcotan @ Aug 9 2024, 09:27 AM)
Just sharing my experience with one of the property agent, not sure if this is normal.

So, I posted my property for sale in mudah, at the lowest asking price. If you sort by price, then this ad will come as first

Then 2 hours later, got one agent msg me, whether I ok to sell at 20% lower, he got buyer. I said already got buyer viewing at my current price

Later, I found out that the agent actually posted in mudah too, about 2 hours after my post, he posted same property with 20% lower than my price.

Does it actually post with low price without any unit in hand just to attract buyer?
yes. this is their 'normal' practice.
C_ST
post Aug 9 2024, 09:36 AM

319 posts

Bait and hook, very normal practice ... even iN other industry...
When some1 call the agent, he can either
- still bring the person to visit ur unit, if the person like it, the agent further discuss with u on the price
- say the 20% lower unit is sold out, refer another unit
MISMan
post Aug 9 2024, 09:38 AM

719 posts

oh what a bad practice.

Find that agent's REN code and report kao him!

submergedx
post Aug 9 2024, 09:53 AM

1,132 posts

Crazy agent manyak pattern puke.gif puke.gif puke.gif
catsper
post Aug 9 2024, 09:57 AM

1,241 posts

Not just buy/sale ad they do that, even for rental listing also got copy and paste with lower practice to fish prospects away. Had to report to listing platform to remove these annoying people.
contagiouseddie
post Aug 9 2024, 09:59 AM

308 posts

If you see a snake and a property agent, you better kill the property agent first.
sadukarzz
post Aug 9 2024, 10:05 AM

789 posts

Yup, just jot down the agent, contact and REN number

Report to the website / platform; then report to the company

If want to take further step, report to REN issuing association
chainyong
post Aug 9 2024, 10:06 AM

528 posts

Normal lah

If you ask your friend call that agent about this unit, he will said it sold out or waiting loan approval, the current buyer profile not so strong that might be loan reject

Last time i aim one unit during MCO time, the selling price very attractive, but agent said it is under loan progress, until today that unit still hanging "for sale" banner, the owner never let go with low price, actually he want to sell higher than market price.

This post has been edited by chainyong: Aug 9 2024, 10:11 AM
Mahao
post Aug 9 2024, 10:19 AM

146 posts

Just curious, how do you know he does not have other units on hand? He might have and he's sourcing for more "inventory"... the agent most likely have a buyer with a budget 20% below your selling price
yeeck
post Aug 9 2024, 10:22 AM

3,578 posts

This kind of agents I've met before, took my unit's photos and reposted on mudah even though I posted my unit there first. I made a complain to the platform to have that post removed.

OTOH, there are also owners playing a fool to try to gauge their unit's market price by listing it but in the end refusing to sell it even though asking price is acceptable to the buyer. Wasting other people's time and effort.
Jingle91
post Aug 9 2024, 10:55 AM

682 posts

I met few of this kind of agents when I wanted to sell my old house last time

To me they just want to earn com with easiest and fastest way, sit there, post with lower price, buyer took the bait then he bring them come to view and sign booking form to close deal. All these at the loss of seller.

If you are not in hurry to sell, just text him and say you now decline his help, pls discontinue the post from his end. Althouy he won't do that.

One of the worst agent I met was he kept maintaining the post, and harass me by saying he got ready buyer to buy with that 20% lower price until I block him. So he spending few hundred a mth to maintain that advertisement.

In the end, sincere agent from same agency help me sold with 25% higher than the funny proposed price from that useless agent.

And I found that young agents are mostly useless, sit there rely on advertising only. 3 agents from the biggest agency are the best, and really understanding on the surrounding of my area

theevilman1909
post Aug 9 2024, 04:10 PM

3,969 posts

it's normal...

some waterfish call the agent.

then spin says already sold. got another unit available at little higher price...
nexona88
post Aug 9 2024, 08:00 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,576 posts

Many unethical agents around

Seriously need to report all of them yo...

All trying to get easy money only

mini orchard
post Aug 9 2024, 09:25 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 9 2024, 08:00 PM)
Many unethical agents around

Seriously need to report all of them yo...

All trying to get easy money only
Why waste time playing their game ?

Seller control the selling price !

No earthquake can move the seller if he is firm.
Tan&tan
post Aug 10 2024, 01:01 AM

786 posts

Problem is now new vped project owner mcm x da otak , agent say what then what ,, then you’ll see funny pricing in prop portal 🤣
WaterfishFarmer
post Aug 15 2024, 05:29 PM

76 posts

I know dealing with developer staff is safer than dealing with agent, but developer staff also might resign one day, same as the case I’m in.

Any advise on who I should seek help if I need any? Other developer staff will not help much since they did not get any commission for this.
victorian
post Aug 15 2024, 05:48 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,641 posts

QUOTE(WaterfishFarmer @ Aug 15 2024, 05:29 PM)
I know dealing with developer staff is safer than dealing with agent, but developer staff also might resign one day, same as the case I’m in.

Any advise on who I should seek help if I need any? Other developer staff will not help much since they did not get any commission for this.
what help do you need? it is not common for the buyer to contact the developer staff again after purchase.
888-Alien
post Aug 15 2024, 06:09 PM

132 posts

This is quite normal, you can complaint to Mudah

Pac Lease
post Aug 15 2024, 06:10 PM

728 posts

QUOTE(WaterfishFarmer @ Aug 15 2024, 05:29 PM)

you can seek developer staff for help.

0.0247sec    1.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:14 PM