How to negotiate Salary Increase?

TSofficer003
post Aug 5 2024, 04:45 PM, updated 2y ago

21 posts

At the moment, I have a Basic Salary with 3k a month, working as a Customer Service. A year ago I would think this was a pretty good deal, but I've been working with my Company for a little over a year now and talking to the new hires, they're getting paid 4k a month. If its a few hundreds I wouldn't really mind but a whooping 1k difference kind of leave a bad taste in my mouth, when we're essentially doing the same Job.

If possible, I don't really wanna jump over to a new company because of career growth in this company or at least, for my Resume before doing so. Im applying based off of SPM so I dont have the sijil's advantage like some other does ( I don't know how advantageous this is ). So the plan is to get some sort of Growth from an Agent, to maybe something like a Subject Matter Expert, QA, etc etc, before jumping to other company.

Question is, Is it possible to bring this up to my manager/boss ? My bargaining chip other than performances, would be to mention how new hires or others pay, is not the same as mine. Or is this considered to be a "rude" or "Ill-mannered" to bring up Salary discussions, based off of others salary ?

If anyone ever experienced bringing up Salary Discussion with their Higher ups can you guys let me know how I can tackle this as polite and as positive as possible ? Worst comes to worst I'll just find a new job instead lol
akidos
post Aug 5 2024, 04:56 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(officer003 @ Aug 5 2024, 05:45 PM)
At the moment, I have a Basic Salary with 3k a month, working as a Customer Service. A year ago I would think this was a pretty good deal, but I've been working with my Company for a little over a year now and talking to the new hires, they're getting paid 4k a month. If its a few hundreds I wouldn't really mind but a whooping 1k difference kind of leave a bad taste in my mouth, when we're essentially doing the same Job.

If possible, I don't really wanna jump over to a new company because of career growth in this company or at least, for my Resume before doing so. Im applying based off of SPM so I dont have the sijil's advantage like some other does ( I don't know how advantageous this is ). So the plan is to get some sort of Growth from an Agent, to maybe something like a Subject Matter Expert, QA, etc etc, before jumping to other company.

Question is, Is it possible to bring this up to my manager/boss ? My bargaining chip other than performances, would be to mention how new hires or others pay, is not the same as mine. Or is this considered to be a "rude" or "Ill-mannered" to bring up Salary discussions, based off of others salary ?

If anyone ever experienced bringing up Salary Discussion with their Higher ups can you guys let me know how I can tackle this as polite and as positive as possible ? Worst comes to worst I'll just find a new job instead lol
are you and the new hire same race ? Are you and the new hire same gender ?

Anyway, please write to you management if they can consider revising your salary reflecting your experience . It's odd that new hire makes more than you . If there is discrepancy , ask the management if it has to do with race and you understand .

Aftermaths
post Aug 5 2024, 04:59 PM

601 posts

Resign jer.

If boss feel u r important, will raise your celery.

If boss feel u r not important, he will let u go & u also no need stay there.
e_mc_square
post Aug 5 2024, 05:09 PM

768 posts

Salary discuss is superior is very normal.

Usually performance speak the loudest.
If your superior think that you worth it, they will just increase without much of discussion.
nate_nightroad
post Aug 5 2024, 05:11 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

how you know the new hire is 4k salary?
ctys2012
post Aug 5 2024, 05:23 PM

280 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Aug 5 2024, 05:11 PM)
how you know the new hire is 4k salary?
discussing salary among peers is a taboo, if he knows means some smart (or not so smart colleague) told it to him

this will then lead to how management are going to handle such situation e.g paycut, dismissal

since you are using SPM cert i dont think u can bargain much unless you have experience which they dont and the management sees this as an advantage
nate_nightroad
post Aug 5 2024, 05:25 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(ctys2012 @ Aug 5 2024, 05:23 PM)
discussing salary among peers is a taboo, if he knows means some smart (or not so smart colleague) told it to him

this will then lead to how management are going to handle such situation e.g paycut, dismissal

since you are using SPM cert i dont think u can bargain much unless you have experience which they dont and the management sees this as an advantage
or someone trolling him, saying new hire got higher salary, lower TS morale and quit…lol
anakkk
post Aug 5 2024, 05:35 PM

2,113 posts

maybe you are SPM, new hired is degree or master or phd

if they have higher qualification, then you may need to think of taking part time courses or some certification to improve yourself? :X

This post has been edited by anakkk: Aug 5 2024, 05:36 PM
derthvadar
post Aug 6 2024, 01:29 PM

(ง •̀_•́)ง
1,792 posts

Please confirm the new hires qualifications
ZZMsia
post Aug 8 2024, 07:56 AM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(derthvadar @ Aug 6 2024, 01:29 PM)
Please confirm the new hires qualifications
If this is left unanswered then we understand
TSofficer003
post Aug 8 2024, 07:24 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Aug 8 2024, 07:56 AM)
If this is left unanswered then we understand
Most of the new hires academics are Diolomas. Though, they do have a spm academics mixed in making more or less the same as their batch. Prior working experience is barely a year, and this is their 2nd job. Question is, what do i lack that gets them higher pays if we have mostly similars exp and qualifications ?

Dont think I can just go to the boss and tell them i found out the new hires pay and asks for a raise too lmao

For context on how I know, most if the new hires are first or 2nd job worker so they dont keep too much confidentiality to their payslip. One of them even showed me their payslip to ask about the allowances and such.

Not being a douchebag, so i did told them to keep their pay more secretive. But yeah thats how i find out

This post has been edited by officer003: Aug 8 2024, 07:28 PM
ZZMsia
post Aug 9 2024, 11:40 AM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(officer003 @ Aug 8 2024, 07:24 PM)
Most of the new hires academics are Diolomas. Though, they do have a spm academics mixed in making more or less the same as their batch. Prior working experience is barely a year, and this is their 2nd job. Question is, what do i lack that gets them higher pays if we have mostly similars exp and qualifications ?

Dont think I can just go to the boss and tell them i found out the new hires pay and asks for a raise too lmao

For context on how I know, most if the new hires are first or 2nd job worker so they dont keep too much confidentiality to their payslip. One of them even showed me their payslip to ask about the allowances and such.

Not being a douchebag, so i did told them to keep their pay more secretive. But yeah thats how i find out
Ok you can tell your boss but he's gonna query how u know this etc.

You can mention you overheard someone saying in the elevator but u forgot who said what 😂😂
kens88`
post Aug 9 2024, 11:46 AM

397 posts

Is this job reliant on academic qualifications? Surely a diploma/degree is worth more?

And newbies get higher pay than older worker with same level seems to be a common trend. last time my co also pay newbie rm700 higher.
zero5177
post Aug 9 2024, 11:51 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

You can bring this up to your reporting manager, but also be prepared there might be a chance they not like it too.

Other way would be u try interview other job, get offer with the desired amount then bring it to your manager that you willing to stay if get same offer.

In the end of the day you must be prepared any of these move could also have chances with you leaving the company as the end result after all.
GymBoi
post Aug 12 2024, 09:45 PM

1,393 posts

This is why i never ASK nor TELL my salary to any colleagues lol .... it will never end good ... either they are pissed ... or you get pissed .. whoever is lower in salary
Sagiez
post Aug 22 2024, 12:02 PM

44 posts

Never bring other people salary to your boss or superior. It can make matter worse, like the management might start investigation or put out memo about leaking salary info.. and there chance people know you who cause that.

The newer staff high salary most probably because of their expected salary is that range, and they stay firm with that during interview.. while your lower salary because your expected salary is low to begin with. If that the case then can't help lor..that's the mistake of the applicants themselves who put their value that low, the company just follow your demand.

0.0272sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:45 PM