do u notice tht all camera is for right-handed?, How does left-handed use camera ?

TSyewkhuay
post Nov 3 2007, 09:10 PM, updated 19y ago

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

as per topic title , this question suddenly strike me when i saw someone took his picture in the mirror , made him looks like using a left-handed camera...

any left-handed user wanto share their experience? laugh.gif
khairolnizam
post Nov 3 2007, 09:23 PM

ouh.. ok..
1,153 posts

i got a friend who is a left-handed.. n he use mouse just like a right-handed.. when i asked hiw why.. he says most of the mouse are for right-handed people.. n he kinda get used to it.. but still he write with his left hand..
i guess it applies to cameras too..
sharkware
post Nov 3 2007, 09:26 PM

57 posts

Maybe because the right handed peeps dominated the world, so thats why they forgot of the lefties~ laugh.gif
arsenwagon
post Nov 3 2007, 09:30 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

its not forgetting. its economic sense.
goldfries
post Nov 3 2007, 11:04 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

I'm left-handed and I use any camera just like any of you right-handed people. biggrin.gif
tongyam
post Nov 3 2007, 11:31 PM

perfect
686 posts

my friend is right-handed when she masuk gear...he use left hand doh.gif ..... alamak
goldfries
post Nov 3 2007, 11:31 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(khairolnizam @ Nov 3 2007, 09:23 PM)
i got a friend who is a left-handed.. n he use mouse just like a right-handed.. when i asked hiw why.. he says most of the mouse are for right-handed people.. n he kinda get used to it.. but still he write with his left hand..
i guess it applies to cameras too..
well i use mouse like any other right-hander too. biggrin.gif and I've been using this since my first day with mouse.
NasiLemakMan
post Nov 3 2007, 11:33 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

Any lefty with training and constant use could use their right hand or feet. Just like a footballer who could kick with both feet. I'm a lefty too. When I took a picture I used my left and sometimes right eye on the viewfinder.
mutt
post Nov 4 2007, 12:36 AM

please pronounce my nick as 'mood/mut' not 'mud/mat
1,288 posts

one of my friend is left handed.. when he play any games like ping pong, badminton, or any other sports he will use his right hand.

2 of my friends is right handed, and when play sports that using hand, they will use left hand..

really cant understand why rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by mutt: Nov 4 2007, 12:37 AM
goldfries
post Nov 4 2007, 12:52 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ok guys and gals,

let's stick to camera + left-handeds.

any other thing would lead this thread to move.
syd04
post Nov 4 2007, 01:41 AM

193 posts

just discussed this with my friend last week while waiting for the sunset in angkor wat. i'm a lefty and she posted the question to me but b4 i could answer, she proceeded with turning her 400D upside down and used her left thumb to trigger the shutter. it was hilarious.
now, she has 2 pics of angkor wat upside down.
orenzai
post Nov 4 2007, 06:48 AM

3,114 posts

easy..since all the cameras are designed for right-handed, those lefties are trained to used their right hand to operate from the start...so i dont think it will pose a problem to them even though they are lefties..
goldfries
post Nov 4 2007, 06:58 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Nov 4 2007, 06:48 AM)
easy..since all the cameras are designed for right-handed, those lefties are trained to used their right hand to operate from the start...so i dont think it will pose a problem to them even though they are lefties..
yup. it's a problem if they insist they want to stick to their left-handedness.

for me, I've been using a camera since i was <10 years old. and even that I used it just as how anyone would.

through the years I've always just use things as they come, that includes stuff like guitars, cars, mouse.

see, stuff like holding racquets, pen, chopsticks, mouse - they're optional. left or right also fine.

but in cases like camera and car, it's not something you can switch hands so easily. biggrin.gif

personally I don't think cameras are catered for right-handed. it's a device that something has to be on one side instead of the other. in fact if you're doing some shoots, you'll see that your left hand actually does more work, like zooming and focusing while right hand is only pressing the shutter button (besides other button presses). so to me, camera itself has a standard already. one hand to hold and fiddle with lens, the other hand to click and do button adjustments. either way both hands are working together.

let's look at cars as well. one part of the world drives on the left lane with driver on the right side. another part of the world it's the opposite. does left-hand drive mean it's catered for left-handed? nope. smile.gif
NasiLemakMan
post Nov 4 2007, 03:18 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

What about the eye to see the viewfinder. Does lefty use the left eye or both?
orenzai
post Nov 4 2007, 03:30 PM

3,114 posts

i guess so... coz if you use your left eye to look through the viewfinder, your whole face would be shifting towards the right. Thus, giving you less space as your right hand is holding the shutter.
NicJolin
post Nov 4 2007, 03:35 PM

Stop monitoring =)
1,053 posts

I write with my left hand, control the mouse using my right hand and taking pic using right hand as well =)
goldfries
post Nov 4 2007, 04:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Nov 4 2007, 03:18 PM)
What about the eye to see the viewfinder. Does lefty use the left eye or both?
i use right eye.
porkchop
post Nov 4 2007, 04:50 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

u say i notice it too..but i guess they have to adapt to it or else use a pns only lo
neeko
post Nov 4 2007, 05:20 PM

250 posts

I'm left handed
left hand for me is like active,aggressive
right hand for me is like passive, sensitive
one of the thing can try is->game joystick(forgive me,out of abit topic)
left control joytick,abit roughly
right control button, accuracy up

tf, it is suitable for me to use right hand when taking pic(sensitive, accuracy,more still)

for mouse case is also(right,accuracy)

but for hand writing, why can't public create right to left writing? my hand go dirty when I write vmad.gif
SUSN's
post Nov 4 2007, 07:55 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(tongyam @ Nov 3 2007, 11:31 PM)
my friend is right-handed when she masuk gear...he use left hand doh.gif ..... alamak
I also do like that. ohmy.gif
sooyewguan
post Nov 5 2007, 01:22 AM

427 posts

i am left handed but i also got 2 hands, so no problem i guess
Xannava
post Nov 5 2007, 08:09 AM

765 posts

Well ask a left handed how he plays hockey. My left handed friend had to play hockey with a right handed stick because there were no left handed sticks around. So I figure that at certain stuff... lefties are more adapt at switching hands that right handed people.
pac1
post Nov 5 2007, 08:14 AM

1,012 posts

I'm right-handed, but I can write A-Z with my left hand also. But looks like Primary 1's writting lah! laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
The funny thing is I can focus better using my left eye when using manual lens. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by pac1: Nov 5 2007, 08:15 AM
Xannava
post Nov 5 2007, 08:15 AM

765 posts

I'm right handed but if I write with my left hand... it looks more like cakar ayam.. in fact i think cakar ayam aso better...

Added on November 5, 2007, 8:17 ambeing right handed does not mean that you are right eyed. I play archery and not all right handed aim with their right eye. Either that or get your eye checked smile.gif

This post has been edited by Xannava: Nov 5 2007, 08:18 AM
goldfries
post Nov 5 2007, 08:36 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if it's going to be discussion on HANDEDNESS then i'm going to shift this to Kopitiam already. smile.gif
pac1
post Nov 5 2007, 08:40 AM

1,012 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 5 2007, 08:36 AM)
if it's going to be discussion on HANDEDNESS then i'm going to shift this to Kopitiam already. smile.gif
Oops, lets get back to camera again! sweat.gif
Xannava
post Nov 5 2007, 08:41 AM

765 posts

Camera manufacturers simply wont sell left handed cameras because they are unsure about the demand in the market?
Alpse
post Nov 5 2007, 05:55 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(pac1 @ Nov 5 2007, 08:14 AM)
I'm right-handed, but I can write A-Z with my left hand also. But looks like Primary 1's writting lah!  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
The funny thing is I can focus better using my left eye when using manual lens. hmm.gif
It could be because the power of both your eyes are different, as in the short/long sightedness that is causing you to focus better when you're doing manual focus. Not necessary being right or left handed.
pac1
post Nov 5 2007, 11:00 PM

1,012 posts

QUOTE(Alpse @ Nov 5 2007, 05:55 PM)
It could be because the power of both your eyes are different, as in the short/long sightedness that is causing you to focus better when you're doing manual focus. Not necessary being right or left handed.
Hmm, seems like I have to get my eyes check! sweat.gif
NasiLemakMan
post Nov 6 2007, 02:54 AM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Nov 5 2007, 08:41 AM)
Camera manufacturers simply wont sell left handed cameras because they are unsure about the demand in the market?
If they do, I don't think it will cause a lot of problem due to the effect as easy as left handed adopt to right handed camera the right handed can do the same perhaps even better! because focusing ring by the right hand.
kokofai
post Nov 6 2007, 05:41 AM

53 posts

that one u all have to understand, being a manufacturer, do u really target ur products to those who are left-handed? I'm not discriminating but it's a facts. Perhaps there're 90% right handed populations while only 10% are left handed. Who so silly will care about both hands?

p.S : doesn't mean left handed cannot use camera like a right handed right? lol... peace
Victor3010
post Nov 6 2007, 11:47 AM

1,567 posts

I'm a left-handed guy....but I find no problem holding or whatsoever...bcuz since young we trained ourselve to do so...
TSyewkhuay
post Nov 8 2007, 09:52 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

if manufacturer come out with left-handed camera, the battery grip oso hav to change site...haha
AbangCorp
post Nov 9 2007, 12:00 PM

233 posts

no one complaint until it became a lowyat thread

i know the past, becuase it is all here, i dunno what cam make show say, so i dunno the future

0.0198sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:16 AM