Cons of leasehold property., freehold vs leasehold
Aug 2 2024, 10:39 AM, updated 2y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,159 posts Joined: Jan 2022 |
https://www.msn.com/en-my/news/national/cos...8ad103a5c&ei=18 Real life situation facing PJ old town property owners. Since it is commercial, State Govt unlikely to drop premium unlike residential. auds liked this post
Aug 2 2024, 10:44 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,236 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
crazy way of calculation
maybe majority type c location very difficult for them to fork out so huge amount in 6 months and many are old/retired. |
Aug 2 2024, 10:50 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,963 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
huh renew lease is so expensive one meh?
Aug 2 2024, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 2 2024, 10:44 AM) crazy way of calculation Actually this is the standard government's way of calculation based on value of the property and tenure. If renew for 99 years for sure very expensive, like buying another property. That is why leasehold property lose value closer to the expiry date and banks won't give loan for property less than a certain number of years left.maybe majority type c location very difficult for them to fork out so huge amount in 6 months and many are old/retired. Just be warned as there are many who say leasehold/freehold doesn't matter. It does. Just that your children or grandchildren will inherit the problem. |
Aug 2 2024, 11:11 AM
9,050 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
A next generation problem.
That's why so many don't want to buy old leasehold properties. |
Aug 2 2024, 11:13 AM
411 posts Joined: Nov 2019 |
brapa? how many percent of the property value?
Aug 2 2024, 11:18 AM
743 posts Joined: Sep 2020 |
QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 2 2024, 11:01 AM) Actually this is the standard government's way of calculation based on value of the property and tenure. If renew for 99 years for sure very expensive, like buying another property. That is why leasehold property lose value closer to the expiry date and banks won't give loan for property less than a certain number of years left. When federal gov introduce inheritance tax like UK, 40%, then children will gg.com alsoJust be warned as there are many who say leasehold/freehold doesn't matter. It does. Just that your children or grandchildren will inherit the problem. |
Aug 2 2024, 11:18 AM
Aug 2 2024, 11:19 AM
743 posts Joined: Sep 2020 |
Aug 2 2024, 11:22 AM
Aug 2 2024, 11:27 AM
Aug 2 2024, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 2 2024, 11:27 AM) renew with 1mil then sell at 1.5mil? why is 1.5m-1m=500k is not profitmeans the property only valued at 500k? is this profit? something wrong with math? the property value is 1.5m, no? i assume the son inherite the property from parents, isn't this is most of the cases? |
Aug 2 2024, 11:39 AM
Aug 2 2024, 11:43 AM
Aug 2 2024, 11:50 AM
1,263 posts Joined: Oct 2016 |
QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 2 2024, 11:39 AM) QUOTE(Nanti Sekejap @ Aug 2 2024, 11:43 AM) i know this is serious forum, and i dont mean to quarrel with u here, but at least u tell me what calculation error i made. I dont see your point Cash flow Vs Profit...500k is cash flows but doesnt mean is profit 500k though if its for the inheritor, both is the same since he get it free from their parent. |
Aug 2 2024, 11:56 AM
470 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Many of them already extracted or are still extracting profit from rental, for example this guy here "Tee King Koon, 76, has been renting his property on Jalan Othman to a bank. His lease is due to expire in three years." Assuming he inherited this from his parents, and had been collecting rent for donkey years, he should pay up if he wants to continue collecting rent. Expecting everything handed to him for free meh PAChamp and hustlerism liked this post
Aug 2 2024, 01:33 PM
5,641 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
freehold and leasehold aside, I believe the location is more important.
being at the centre of PJ but leasehold is still better anytime than freehold at a secluded area. let the government worry about renewing the lease. if they don't handle it properly it will cost them dearly in the election as well |
Aug 2 2024, 02:31 PM
379 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
QUOTE(victorian @ Aug 2 2024, 01:33 PM) freehold and leasehold aside, I believe the location is more important. Regardless of the government decision, changing of government or not, buyer still has to pay to renew the lease term. So before we buy the property, we must know the risks that we are entering into (i.e., factor the costs to renew the lease term). If you don't want to renew the lease, then is up to you. Better worry now, then worry later.being at the centre of PJ but leasehold is still better anytime than freehold at a secluded area. let the government worry about renewing the lease. if they don't handle it properly it will cost them dearly in the election as well This post has been edited by Chady: Aug 2 2024, 02:34 PM |
Aug 2 2024, 02:44 PM
5,641 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Chady @ Aug 2 2024, 02:31 PM) Regardless of the government decision, changing of government or not, buyer still has to pay to renew the lease term. So before we buy the property, we must know the risks that we are entering into (i.e., factor the costs to renew the lease term). If you don't want to renew the lease, then is up to you. Better worry now, then worry later. yes, what I'm trying to say is over the lease period, they have already reaped all the profit of being cheaper and in a better location than comparable freehold property. the government at helm will not risk infuriating their voter base over unreasonable terms. for residential, they have profit sharing scheme where the lease renewal is cheaper. |
Aug 2 2024, 02:47 PM
1,773 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
of course ma
u renew 1mil for another 99 years for those 99 years u collect rent also until hand soft liao |
| Change to: | 0.0220sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:18 PM |