Serious Talk Intel sued over dual core name !, Big trouble...not?

TSZeroize
post Nov 3 2007, 03:35 PM, updated 19y ago

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

A CASE started in a San Jose district court against Intel, with a firm claiming it's infringed its trademark by using the Dual Core brand.
DualCor, in its filing on the 31st of August, said it wants the court to stop Intel infringing its name and registered trademark.

The Californian corporation was incorporated in December 2000 as GCVI and changed its name to DualCor Technologies in December 2003.

DualCor makes proprietary technology, it said, which improves the processing power, efficiency and portability of computers by using several CPUs working together.

It trademarked DualCor on the 14th of May 2004. In the complaint it said that Intel knew about the DualCor name as early as December 2003.

Intel's "use of the name 'Dual Core' is likely to cause confusion, mistake or deception among consumers as to the source quality and nature of DualCor's goods," it alleged.

DualCor wants about a million dollars for the alleged infringement, while it also wants the court to injunct Chipzilla from using the name. Which could be a tad tricky.

http://www.dualcor.com/

artical orginally from
http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=42099

filezer
post Nov 3 2007, 03:42 PM

97 posts

DualCor and DualCore

that's like claiming Joe and Joey is the same name.

oh wait. are they the same?

*confused*
J-Slade

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

I doubt this will be an issue. Intel has always used the name Core Duo and Core 2 Duo for their dual core CPUs. Copyright infringement on statements like "Unleash the power of Dual Core" is not really sue-able... Its advertising and not the use of 'direct' names...
don^don

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

Thread should be in http://forum.lowyat.net/Hardware ,no?
ckwey
post Nov 3 2007, 03:44 PM

屌人咧﹐就冇害既
580 posts

any problem that can be settled with money is not a problem
filezer
post Nov 3 2007, 03:51 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(don^don @ Nov 3 2007, 03:42 PM)
Thread should be in http://forum.lowyat.net/Hardware ,no?
That's the section to discuss hardware related stuff (technical, recommendation, guides), not trivial or entertainment news. biggrin.gif

Cheers.
ATi_FANBOY
post Nov 3 2007, 03:53 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(ckwey @ Nov 3 2007, 03:44 PM)
soooooooooo true. lump sump some more.
TSZeroize
post Nov 3 2007, 03:55 PM

Hardcock Gamer
895 posts

QUOTE(filezer @ Nov 3 2007, 03:51 PM)
That's the section to discuss hardware related stuff (technical, recommendation, guides), not trivial or entertainment news.  biggrin.gif

Cheers.
The news not funny huh? tongue.gif

Anyway, mod can please help me move this topic to hardware section? Thanks in advance.
rainingzero
post Nov 3 2007, 03:58 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

i afraid the DualCor wanna make easy money out from intel...haih~ laugh.gif
SUSrainy~days
post Nov 3 2007, 04:36 PM

296 posts

actually they should be happy intel using the name, it promote their product even more... who the hell ever heard of that small company call dual cor?

intel everyone knows
soulmate
post Nov 3 2007, 04:59 PM

..your girlfriend said im a good kisser
1,276 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Nov 3 2007, 03:58 PM)
i afraid the DualCor wanna make easy money out from intel...haih~ laugh.gif
yes, easy money indeed
it's not easy to win the battle if u face a big titan alone
don^don
post Nov 3 2007, 05:02 PM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

QUOTE(filezer @ Nov 3 2007, 04:51 PM)
That's the section to discuss hardware related stuff (technical, recommendation, guides), not trivial or entertainment news.  biggrin.gif

Cheers.
Cheers. laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Radeon
post Nov 3 2007, 05:02 PM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

dual core is a common name
cstkl1
post Nov 3 2007, 05:03 PM

6,799 posts

dude this case happened like 2 month ago

was in inquirer and fudzilla

kindda late on the news
don^don
post Nov 3 2007, 05:04 PM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

repost? if repost, then tell mod to merge thread. XD
linkinstreet
post Nov 3 2007, 06:11 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

And why are they not adding AMD? both intel and AMD uses the tagline "Dual Core". Retards wanting quick buck
arjuna_mfna
post Nov 3 2007, 06:27 PM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

dualcor vs dual core, not even same spelling and typing way.. btw intel use "Intel Pentium Dual Core", the company claimed dualcor is register by them not register it as like intel use... no point fighting... just name (not even same) unless intel copy their technology to create proc...
Gr3yL3gion81
post Nov 3 2007, 06:37 PM

\(n.n)/
685 posts

QUOTE(ckwey @ Nov 3 2007, 03:44 PM)
It's all about the money.
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 3 2007, 07:00 PM

5,366 posts

if not call dual core call what?
2 core, twin core, core pair? laugh.gif

dual core isn't even a trademark to begin with

nothing better to sue, that's USA

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Nov 3 2007, 07:02 PM
ssassassa9
post Nov 3 2007, 07:51 PM

53 posts

I don't see anything wrong with dual core and dualcor.
post Nov 3 2007, 09:21 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Dual Core and DualCor....
there is a different...sweat.gif what to sue...zzzz
I know Dual Core, but what is Dual Cor ?? sleep.gif
i think DualCor got a bit !@#$, why don't they register their name as Dual Core at the early stage ? huhu.....really...sweat.gif
Bigblock
post Nov 4 2007, 03:20 AM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

Dual Core and DualCor quite diff mah....heard bout this issue also..
zexynova
post Nov 4 2007, 09:45 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 3 2007, 05:03 PM)
dude this case happened like 2 month ago

was in inquirer and fudzilla

kindda late on the news
even its a late news here, its also late in terms of dual cor sue-ing intel after quite some time releasing dual core processors.

must be just money minded bastards who has nothing else to do
Ickythump
post Nov 4 2007, 09:55 PM

544 posts

wtf is dualcor? i nvr heard about it
darjana
post Nov 5 2007, 06:51 PM

255 posts

there was someone posted on a engadget site regarding this topic:-

ScOObyDoo @ Sep 4th 2007 8:39AM

Ah yes. When your products fail, find the next source of income: sue someone.

This post has been edited by darjana: Nov 5 2007, 06:51 PM
omara86
post Nov 6 2007, 01:01 AM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

that issue is juz like side income for them~ everyone knows that Intel is a filthy rich company in this world... even if Intel can pay them easily, DualCor sounds stupid n weirdo... like a retard human that hav only 1 eye... DualCor n Dual Core... i think the FLM of DualCor has insufficient education for failing to read the difference between it...
SUSMatrix
post Nov 7 2007, 09:08 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

USD 1million?? Ha-ha...CHIPZILLA can pay 100 times that to lawyers just to smack them on the head for fun.
ozgamerz
post Nov 7 2007, 09:46 AM

78 posts

It's all about money, small little fish wanna have a glimpse of glory from the big, rich and famous. I'm pretty sure Intel will have tonnes of these kind of allegations day in day out, I guess, the legal system in US does promote ppl to do whatever they pleases and hence results in exploitations and abuse of the legal systems. Welcome to the real world..... ahem.. not so working real world
Joseph Hahn
post Nov 7 2007, 11:34 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

It's like Windows and Lindows, Hybrid and Hybrid Theory... OH NO IT'S ALMOST THE SAME YOU CAN'T USE IT!!! Americans... i'll sue you for sueing me!!! biggrin.gif
omara86
post Nov 8 2007, 12:37 AM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

thx we lived in malaysia... coz our court so "malas" to do this kind of cases... they'll try to neutralize it so both party wont get any benifit from it but of course, who stared it hav to pay for the premium...

well... again~ DualCor sounds really stupid...
mgxbox
post Nov 8 2007, 02:32 PM

Banned
1,112 posts

Another money matter court case. Fed up with it. shakehead.gif
Graham
post Nov 8 2007, 04:20 PM

45 posts

1mil aint bad seeing as intel are raking in hundreds more
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Nov 9 2007, 11:46 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(omara86 @ Nov 8 2007, 01:37 AM)
thx we lived in malaysia... coz our court so "malas" to do this kind of cases... they'll try to neutralize it so both party wont get any benifit from it but of course, who stared it hav to pay for the premium...

well... again~ DualCor sounds really stupid...
u sure the court neutralize them...? hmm.gif
public_bank
post Nov 9 2007, 11:52 PM

90 posts

whos better ati or geforce???

DefecteD
post Nov 10 2007, 11:01 AM

207 posts

public_bank, i dont quite understand what are you asking...nor it is relevant to this thread discussion

back to the topic, i dont think dualcor can win the case because dual core is a common term
gengstapo
post Nov 10 2007, 11:09 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Nov 3 2007, 06:11 PM)
And why are they not adding AMD? both intel and AMD uses the tagline "Dual Core". Retards wanting quick buck
but if not mistaken amd only use x2 to indicate dual core & not dual core wording for their processor icon_rolleyes.gif

anyhow, dualcor & dual core exactly not a same
ikarishinji
post Nov 10 2007, 06:24 PM

.:Nerv Corporation:.
783 posts

aiya what so big deal... every year Intel also got lots of lawsuit cases... they also biasa dee lah... haha laugh.gif

Added on November 10, 2007, 6:24 pmaiya what so big deal... every year Intel also got lots of lawsuit cases... they also biasa dee lah... haha laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ikarishinji: Nov 10 2007, 06:24 PM
ianho
post Nov 12 2007, 12:07 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(public_bank @ Nov 9 2007, 11:52 PM)
whos better ati or geforce???
laugh.gif What does this hafta do with the topic?

0.0214sec    1.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:16 AM