honda steering wont return center, steering wont return after replace rack

TScapyjohn
post Jul 27 2024, 08:16 PM, updated 2y ago

33 posts

Hi. So my steering rack on my honda stream was replaced a year ago due to clok clok sound when turning . After replacing the steering it became tight when turning corners and will not return back to center by itself. The mechanic say that it will take time for it to lighten itself and will take about 3months to half a year as it is a recon steering rack and the grease has not set. But till now the steering is still tight and when traveling on highway it is hard to turn and feels dangerious and still wont return back to center. So i need some help to figure out what the problem might be. As i am scared to go back to the mechanic or any other mechanics.

I have done an alignment and wheel balancing already and before replacing the steering rack it was light and had no problems. It is also a electronic power steering.
ktek
post Jul 27 2024, 11:11 PM

小喇叭
13,209 posts

motor noise loud or not
JON97
post Jul 27 2024, 11:22 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(capyjohn @ Jul 27 2024, 08:16 PM)
Hi. So my steering rack on my honda stream was replaced a year ago due to clok clok sound when turning . After replacing the steering it became tight when turning corners and will not return back to center by itself. The mechanic say that it will take time for it to lighten itself and will take about 3months to half a year as it is a recon steering rack and the grease has not set. But till now the steering is still tight and when traveling on highway it is hard to turn and feels dangerious and still wont return back to center. So i need some help to figure out what the problem might be. As i am scared to go back to the mechanic or any other mechanics.

I have done an alignment and wheel balancing already and before replacing the steering rack it was light and had no problems. It is also a electronic power steering.
Bring to another workshop. Prob something is not fixed properly. Even if its a recon it should be like that.
netmatrix
post Jul 28 2024, 01:37 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Is this electric of hydraulic?
bo093
post Jul 28 2024, 07:50 AM

1,185 posts

steering rack preload is too much.
that's why is heavy.
TScapyjohn
post Jul 28 2024, 06:30 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 27 2024, 11:11 PM)
motor noise loud or not
the motor is not loud but when turning fast at stand still you can feel it cannot keep up.
TScapyjohn
post Jul 28 2024, 06:30 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jul 27 2024, 11:22 PM)
Bring to another workshop. Prob something is not fixed properly. Even if its a recon it should be like that.
any recommended workshop that can be trusted near jb?
TScapyjohn
post Jul 28 2024, 06:32 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 28 2024, 07:50 AM)
steering rack preload is too much.
that's why is heavy.
can you elaborate? I dont understand what preload . But when standstill the steering is light only stifens up when u move and gets more stiff at high speeds
SportyHandling
post Jul 28 2024, 10:06 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(capyjohn @ Jul 27 2024, 08:16 PM)

Your case reminds me of my Ford Focus mk3 which was sold earlier this year due to a cock-up job by the mechanic. I'll avoid being Long-winded as it's late already and I don't have much time to type. Your mechanic stating that the steering requiring 3 months to half a year to work correctly is just a blatant lie. The steering wheel will work perfectly after a replacement. The thing is most if not all recond or 2nd hand steering racks are in poor condition. That is the main reason it's cheap to install and most unscrupulous mechanics make quick money this way. A good and honest mechanic will tell you beforehand if there would be any problems or issues before installing the steering rack. A bad and dishonest mechanic will just want your business and couldn't care less about the quality after installation, failing to warn customers on the issues prior to installation.

My advice is to bring it to a Honda service centre if you can't find a good workshop or mechanic to reliably fix the issue for you. The money you have spent on this reconditioned steering rack is likely wasted, as new steering racks are the safest bet for peace of mind. I may be wrong but based on my bad experiences with used steering racks on the Ford Focus mk3, they are all not reliable as all produced friction sound when the steering wheel was turned left and right. I'm not sure about Honda's steering racks. With the Ford Focus, it is a HUGE safety problem if the steering rack fails, as it can fail when you are driving the car and the vehicle is still moving on the roads at speed. When it fails, you will not be able to turn the steering wheel easily and need to stop the vehicle on the side of the road or worst is in the middle of the road if it's a female driver as the steering wheel will turn VERY stiff.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Jul 28 2024, 10:07 PM
bo093
post Jul 28 2024, 11:41 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(capyjohn @ Jul 28 2024, 06:32 PM)
can you elaborate? I dont understand what preload . But when standstill the steering is light only stifens up when u move and gets more stiff at high speeds
preload on the rack and pinion gear.
too much, steering gets too heavy/binding.
so whoever assemble the recond steering rack, over did it.

at best, get a new one. recond is a gamble.

This post has been edited by bo093: Jul 28 2024, 11:44 PM
TScapyjohn
post Jul 29 2024, 07:32 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 28 2024, 11:41 PM)
preload on the rack and pinion gear.
too much, steering gets too heavy/binding.
so whoever assemble the recond steering rack, over did it.

at best, get a new one. recond is a gamble.
The new one cost triple the amount of a recond therefore why i went with recond. But is there anywhere i can adjust the preload myself or a mechanic? As i am considering selling the car sooner or later
TScapyjohn
post Jul 29 2024, 07:36 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 28 2024, 10:06 PM)
Your case reminds me of my Ford Focus mk3 which was sold earlier this year due to a cock-up job by the mechanic. I'll avoid being Long-winded as it's late already and I don't have much time to type. Your mechanic stating that the steering requiring 3 months to half a year to work correctly is just a blatant lie. The steering wheel will work perfectly after a replacement. The thing is most if not all recond or 2nd hand steering racks are in poor condition. That is the main reason it's cheap to install and most unscrupulous mechanics make quick money this way. A good and honest mechanic will tell you beforehand if there would be any problems or issues before installing the steering rack. A bad and dishonest mechanic will just want your business and couldn't care less about the quality after installation, failing to warn customers on the issues prior to installation.

My advice is to bring it to a Honda service centre if you can't find a good workshop or mechanic to reliably fix the issue for you. The money you have spent on this reconditioned steering rack is likely wasted, as new steering racks are the safest bet for peace of mind. I may be wrong but based on my bad experiences with used steering racks on the Ford Focus mk3, they are all not reliable as all produced friction sound when the steering wheel was turned left and right. I'm not sure about Honda's steering racks. With the Ford Focus, it is a HUGE safety problem if the steering rack fails, as it can fail when you are driving the car and the vehicle is still moving on the roads at speed. When it fails, you will not be able to turn the steering wheel easily and need to stop the vehicle on the side of the road or worst is in the middle of the road if it's a female driver as the steering wheel will turn VERY stiff.
Ive had bad experiences in the past in service centers and is very expensive. But thank you for the explaination and will take-notes in the future if i ever have a steering rack problem again.
JON97
post Jul 29 2024, 12:12 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(capyjohn @ Jul 29 2024, 07:32 AM)
The new one cost triple the amount of a recond therefore why i went with recond. But is there anywhere i can adjust the preload myself or a mechanic? As i am considering selling the car sooner or later
I don't think so you can do it yourself.. in this case why not bring back to the workshop that you change and complain gao them.

No need change steering rack since you are going to sell your car..
JON97
post Jul 29 2024, 12:14 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(capyjohn @ Jul 28 2024, 06:30 PM)
any recommended workshop that can be trusted near jb?
You can try this, that is given on HRV community.. do ask for quotation before doing anything.

Wslm..boleh ke bengkel kami kalau utk baik pulih steering rack
Nak repair yg asal boleh atau nak tukar baru ori Honda atau Aftermarket
Boleh hubungi kami utk maklumat lanjut Proshox Garage
www.wasap.my/60182003232/hrvsteeringrack
PRO SHOX GARAGE
NO. 2, Jln Sierra Perdana 6/2, Taman Sierra Perdana, 81750 Johor
018-200 3232
https://maps.app.goo.gl/CBrkUbcw972zfAS47
JON97
post Jul 29 2024, 12:18 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(capyjohn @ Jul 29 2024, 07:36 AM)
Ive had bad experiences in the past in service centers and is very expensive. But thank you for the explaination and will take-notes in the future if i ever have a steering rack problem again.
The Honda SC I go, made my bumper crack and don't want to admit lol.. somemore ask them to check the steering rack, say no issue. Until I use the term, outside mechanic say steering rack got issue. Then only they check properly.
SportyHandling
post Jul 29 2024, 02:54 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(capyjohn @ Jul 29 2024, 07:36 AM)
QUOTE(JON97 @ Jul 29 2024, 12:18 PM)
The Honda SC I go, made my bumper crack and don't want to admit lol.. somemore ask them to check the steering rack, say no issue. Until I use the term, outside mechanic say steering rack got issue. Then only they check properly.
Sorry, I didn't know you had bad experiences with Honda's service centres. I thought service centres are the best place to fix any issues, and the only issue with sending vehicles to service centres is the high price of replacement parts especially for vehicles which are already out of warranty. Yes, it's usually a cost issue where owners opt to send the vehicles to workshops outside instead of service centres. But to reliably fix an issue for instance the steering rack, in my mind service centres are the best place if disregarding the high price of the replacement. Hence, Jon97's experience is rather abnormal to me, perhaps a show of incompetence or unprofessionalism by the service centre. I am guessing that most workshops outside which specialise on recond or 2nd hand steering rack replacement are not professional, based on my experience.

FWIW the cost of a new steering rack of the Ford Focus mk3 in the service centre is claimed to be RM10k+. Outside workshop used to me RM9.8k several years ago but has now dropped to RM7.5k latest news. Used/recond steering racks cost around RM2.5k. For steering rack replacement, it is crucial to find a reliable workshop with the expertise to replace faulty steering racks. For the Ford Focus mk3 which is on Electric power steering(EPS), there is an electronic box attached to the steering rack. Once that box is damaged, the screen of the car will show a message that the steering assist has malfunction and the vehicle cannot be driven anymore as described in my earlier post. If your Honda's steering operates differently, then it's different.

As Jon97 has suggested, another option is to sell the car as is, hence you don't need to spend more money to fix the vehicle. That's what I did to my Ford Focus mk3 as the damage was already done. If you still want to keep the car and drive it for many years, in my view a new steering rack installed at the service centre or any reliable workshop is the best option. Not recommended to go for another recond or 2nd hand steering rack as chances are you will experience the same problem again, sooner or later. Recond/used steering racks all have their lifespan, and it's just a matter of (short) time before problems crop up. I was told that all new steering racks have their lifespan, that I'm not so sure though. For the Ford Focus mk3, I was told that the life span of the steering rack is around 8-10 years only. To prolong the lifespan, it is advised to drive the car slowly when going over puddles of water on the road as the splashes of water may go into the electronic box thus damaging the electronics or circuits it seems.
JON97
post Jul 29 2024, 06:20 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 29 2024, 02:54 PM)
Sorry, I didn't know you had bad experiences with Honda's service centres. I thought service centres are the best place to fix any issues, and the only issue with sending vehicles to service centres is the high price of replacement parts especially for vehicles which are already out of warranty. Yes, it's usually a cost issue where owners opt to send the vehicles to workshops outside instead of service centres. But to reliably fix an issue for instance the steering rack, in my mind service centres are the best place if disregarding the high price of the replacement. Hence, Jon97's experience is rather abnormal to me, perhaps a show of incompetence or unprofessionalism by the service centre. I am guessing that most workshops outside which specialise on recond or 2nd hand steering rack replacement are not professional, based on my experience.

FWIW the cost of a new steering rack of the Ford Focus mk3 in the service centre is claimed to be RM10k+. Outside workshop used to me RM9.8k several years ago but has now dropped to RM7.5k latest news. Used/recond steering racks cost around RM2.5k. For steering rack replacement, it is crucial to find a reliable workshop with the expertise to replace faulty steering racks. For the Ford Focus mk3 which is on Electric power steering(EPS), there is an electronic box attached to the steering rack. Once that box is damaged, the screen of the car will show a message that the steering assist has malfunction and the vehicle cannot be driven anymore as described in my earlier post. If your Honda's steering operates differently, then it's different.

As Jon97 has suggested, another option is to sell the car as is, hence you don't need to spend more money to fix the vehicle. That's what I did to my Ford Focus mk3 as the damage was already done. If you still want to keep the car and drive it for many years, in my view a new steering rack installed at the service centre or any reliable workshop is the best option. Not recommended to go for another recond or 2nd hand steering rack as chances are you will experience the same problem again, sooner or later. Recond/used steering racks all have their lifespan, and it's just a matter of (short) time before problems crop up. I was told that all new steering racks have their lifespan, that I'm not so sure though. For the Ford Focus mk3, I was told that the life span of the steering rack is around 8-10 years only. To prolong the lifespan, it is advised to drive the car slowly when going over puddles of water on the road as the splashes of water may go into the electronic box thus damaging the electronics or circuits it seems.
SC > If your car is still under warranty or you have no idea on car repairs.
The problem with SC is also you dont know what they are doing with your car. Thats why I dont really like it. Now I usually buy parts from second hand an pay someone to install them.
TScapyjohn
post Jul 29 2024, 09:26 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jul 29 2024, 06:20 PM)
SC > If your car is still under warranty or you have no idea on car repairs.
The problem with SC is also you dont know what they are doing with your car. Thats why I dont really like it. Now I usually buy parts from second hand an pay someone to install them.
I agree with you . Thats why i tend to fix stuff myself as i know the parts i buy are good quality and will learn more about my car. But does paying someone else to install parts you buy more expensive? And they end up hating you and do a bad job as they are not earning that much?
JON97
post Jul 29 2024, 09:50 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(capyjohn @ Jul 29 2024, 09:26 PM)
I agree with you . Thats why i tend to fix stuff myself as i know the parts i buy are good quality and will learn more about my car. But does paying someone else to install parts you buy more expensive? And they end up hating you and do a bad job as they are not earning that much?
Yes, some mechanic are very obvious. But overall. I'll bring ask and if they are ok. So far no decline. As for price, if they do a good job I don't mind paying extra. But if bad job, no next time.
lee82gx
post Jul 29 2024, 10:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

honda and steering rack....my friend say berpisah tiada.

My Civic is on the 2nd one in 2 years and based on the feeling it will be 3rd one soon before long. His one will be 3rd in 2 years.

How old is your car? I thought there is 7 years warranty on steering rack?
If out of warranty I suppose its a crap shoot of finding a good recond supplier / installer. It really depends on location.

0.0204sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:44 AM