27" Essential Monitor S3 S31C, can I use resolution 2560 x 1440?

TSDavidtcf
post Jul 26 2024, 05:12 PM, updated 2y ago

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

hi, I just bought a 27" Essential Monitor S3 S31C. I did not know that it supported up to 1920 x 1080 resolution only at its official website: https://www.samsung.com/my/monitors/flat/es...ls27c310eaexxs/

however to use at that resolution means pixels and my wallpaper itself not as sharp.

I then went to my Nvidia settings and increase the resolution to 2560 x 1440, which is the recommended resolution for a 27" monitor.

I'm using a nvidia geforce gtx 1080i which I checked can support this resolution, but question is long term use will it harm the monitor? There's a disclaimer when I changed the resolution at Nvidia settings that it might damage my monitor.

Anyone in such a situation? I tried googling this Samsung monitor and this 2560 x 1440 resolution but could not find any answers.

If I know earlier so complicated just stick to old 24", hope sifus can advice here.
One day if got spare money will upgrade my PC, but for now just use for casual gaming and do work only.
Baconateer
post Jul 26 2024, 05:16 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,086 posts

this monitor natively support 1080p only

what u r doing is just increasing the internal resolution but it wont scale properly, so it will look kinda weird.

running at 1440p will not harm the monitor

This post has been edited by Baconateer: Jul 26 2024, 05:18 PM
TSDavidtcf
post Jul 26 2024, 05:22 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jul 26 2024, 05:16 PM)
this monitor natively support 1080p only

what u r doing is just increasing the internal resolution but it wont scale properly, so it will look kinda weird.

running at 1440p will not harm the monitor
just tried it for some time, much better than 1080p actually. Fonts and wallpaper looks like my previous monitor crisp and sharp. If I stay on 1080p my fonts and wallpaper looks blurry a bit.

found some answers on reddit:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Monitors/comments/...a_monitor_when/

Baconateer
post Jul 26 2024, 05:24 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,086 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jul 26 2024, 05:22 PM)
just tried it for some time, much better than 1080p actually. Fonts and wallpaper looks like my previous monitor crisp and sharp. If I stay on 1080p my fonts and wallpaper looks blurry a bit.

found some answers on reddit:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Monitors/comments/...a_monitor_when/
if its good for you then is good.

but you should consider getting 1440p monitor in the future
matrix88
post Jul 26 2024, 05:38 PM

2,236 posts

will not harm the monitor la

TSDavidtcf
post Jul 26 2024, 07:22 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jul 26 2024, 05:24 PM)
if its good for you then is good.

but you should consider getting 1440p monitor in the future
Ya man I didn’t know monitor got such settings. All along didn’t buy pass 24 inch so never had this problem.

Lesson learnt.
TSDavidtcf
post Aug 2 2024, 10:26 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

sorry that day see wrong, I'm actually on 1920 x 1080 resolution. I didn't press "ok" after the preview.

I tried changed to 2560 x 1440 but it looks weird.

0.0115sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:31 AM