Honda CB250R vs KTM Duke 390 v2 (2018)

TSMakeAWishKid
post Jul 24 2024, 01:48 AM, updated 2y ago

Like the title, I went from wanting a Ninja 400 N250 N650 to now wanting a naked bike. I have B full, the only reason why 250 vs 390 is because of the second hand price, which is hovering around 14.5-15.8k as of now. Daily 16' RC390 before, love the performance but not the heat and reliability issues surrounding it(sold it before any major problems out of warranty).

Can any sifus here advise? I love both bikes' looks, but if the 2018 Duke 390 is somewhat reliable(meaning no major issues aside from regular maintenance) then I will probably lean towards the KTM as I can use it longer before upgrading.

choronojin
post Jul 24 2024, 08:48 AM

56 posts

If you're looking for city ride, I think both model suit you well. Not sure about the 390, I owned the cb250r

For the past 2 years I've been riding the 250r, there's no major issue, just wear and tear. I think it's very easy to identify what need to change, therefore it's reliable enough for me.

Oh and if you're still looking for the bike, I'm letting go my bike btw. Let me know if you're interested. You can pm me for more info.
TSMakeAWishKid
post Jul 24 2024, 09:20 AM

QUOTE(choronojin @ Jul 24 2024, 08:48 AM)
If you're looking for city ride, I think both model suit you well. Not sure about the 390, I owned the cb250r

For the past 2 years I've been riding the 250r, there's no major issue, just wear and tear. I think it's very easy to identify what need to change, therefore it's reliable enough for me.

Oh and if you're still looking for the bike, I'm letting go my bike btw. Let me know if you're interested. You can pm me for more info.
Pmed you. Yeah will be using it for city ride to work around 40km each day. On one hand the Honda is going to be worry free and the safer option, on the other hand the Duke will put a smile on my face more often but I wouldn't want it if the smile costs a cracked airbox (rm400) , moisture go in TFT display (rm1000), head gasket leaking (rm I forgot) every few thousand km. Mostly duke v1 problems but I'd like to make sure from sifus here that the v2 is not a trap.
bo093
post Jul 24 2024, 09:29 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(MakeAWishKid @ Jul 24 2024, 09:20 AM)
Pmed you. Yeah will be using it for city ride to work around 40km each day. On one hand the Honda is going to be worry free and the safer option, on the other hand the Duke will put a smile on my face more often but I wouldn't want it if the smile costs a cracked airbox (rm400) , moisture go in TFT display (rm1000), head gasket leaking (rm I forgot) every few thousand km. Mostly duke v1 problems but I'd like to make sure from sifus here that the v2 is not a trap.
I'm pretty sure whatever problem you mentions is for KTM is for duke 390 V1.
Check the KTM forums wink.gif
jaycee1
post Jul 24 2024, 09:38 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

Why not see if U can find a z400? Z650s can be had for under 20k now as well.

If all things being equal, a twin will run smoother. Maybe consider the naked cb500r also. Bigger singles tend to be a bit vibey. Especially on constant higher highway speeds around 130-140. I have a Dominar so it's a somewhat similar motor to the 390, albeit down tuned. KTM motors are fun but lacks refinement, they all sound like tractors, including my 800NK

Regardless, a 250 will be sufficient for city commute, but if you want the longer legs for longer distance, higher speed travel, the bump in displacement certainly helps.

If your choice is the KTM, know that now there are quite a lot of Bajaj parts that will fit...making things cheaper maintenance wise.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jul 24 2024, 09:41 AM
TSMakeAWishKid
post Jul 24 2024, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jul 24 2024, 09:29 AM)
I'm pretty sure whatever problem you mentions is for KTM is for duke 390 V1.
Check the KTM forums  wink.gif
Yep, except the moisture in instrument panel, the other two are V1 problems

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 24 2024, 09:38 AM)
Why not see if U can find a z400? Z650s can be had for under 20k now as well.

If all things being equal, a twin will run smoother. Maybe consider the naked cb500r also. Bigger singles tend to be a bit vibey. Especially on constant higher highway speeds around 130-140. I have a Dominar so it's a somewhat similar motor to the 390, albeit down tuned. KTM motors are fun but lacks refinement, they all sound like tractors, including my 800NK

Regardless, a 250 will be sufficient for city commute, but if you want the longer legs for longer distance, higher speed travel, the bump in displacement certainly helps.

If your choice is the KTM, know that now there are quite a lot of Bajaj parts that will fit...making things cheaper maintenance wise.
Z400 and z650 does make all the other bikes look like a bad deal in comparison, but to me both of them looks boring so skipped them. I assume you're mentioning the cb500f? Also looks a little boring in comparison to cb250r and Duke 390.
The biggest upside to these naked singles are the weight and ergonomics (144kg and 164kg), I feel like I will appreciate it more than any 2 piston since I will be commuting during peak hours (low speeds) so the vibrations shouldn't affect me too much. For the sound, ok la I don't expect anything great from singles also so tractor sound also ok as long as it doesn't breakdown for no reason.

I knew there were Bajaj parts in the bike (hence why I am worried about the reliability) but I didn't know that it would also make it cheaper to maintain. So far I know the regular service every 5k km is around rm130-150, major service which includes vc, spark plug, radiator coolant, air filter and more is upwards of rm800.

TSMakeAWishKid
post Jul 24 2024, 06:05 PM

Also if anyone letting go their CB250R or Duke 390 2018 and above, do pm me!
JustForFun
post Jul 24 2024, 09:02 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Have you considered the MT-25? Thought it looks rather cool as well. You'll probably get more fun out of the 390 though, if you can take good care of it.

Speaking of the 400cc, Bajaj recently released the Pulsar N400Z in India that is using the same engine as Dominar (or Duke), but with a lot lighter chasis and a price tag cheaper than the D400. Wonder if it will hit Malaysia.
TSMakeAWishKid
post Jul 24 2024, 11:09 PM

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jul 24 2024, 09:02 PM)
Have you considered the MT-25? Thought it looks rather cool as well. You'll probably get more fun out of the 390 though, if you can take good care of it.

Speaking of the 400cc, Bajaj recently released the Pulsar N400Z in India that is using the same engine as Dominar (or Duke), but with a lot lighter chasis and a price tag cheaper than the D400. Wonder if it will hit Malaysia.
Yeah no doubt the MT-25 looks cool as well, but if I'm not mistaken Yamahas around that range have issues with their starters since first gen r25? I may be wrong tho but I still prefer CB250R's modern retro styling and Duke's unique fairing on that naked.

If I get a KTM I will most likely strictly follow all service intervals every 5k km(most likely change engine oil, inspect brake fluid, chain cleaning and lubrication myself) but then bring it to KTM HQ for major service every 15k km. That should keep it in good condition I suppose? Do advise me tho if I am missing something out. Not that it would be any different with the Honda but I feel like I can go pass the service intervals by 1k km without worrying that the engine will pass away after that.

Saw the pulsar online, looks a little like a MT-25 copycat but slightly worse.(Still prefer Duke and CB).

alexei
post Jul 25 2024, 08:57 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

MakeAWishKid I think your mind is set, just get it

TSMakeAWishKid
post Jul 25 2024, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 25 2024, 08:57 AM)
MakeAWishKid I think your mind is set, just get it
Unfortunately there are barely any duke 390 out there for sale especially in KV. Will look around again for a few weeks if the Duke market is stagnant then I'll just hop to CB250R
alexei
post Jul 26 2024, 09:37 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(MakeAWishKid @ Jul 25 2024, 09:53 AM)
Unfortunately there are barely any duke 390 out there for sale especially in KV. Will look around again for a few weeks if the Duke market is stagnant then I'll just hop to CB250R
there are few KTM main/disti across Semenanjung... I think with the new dealership, support is better
TSMakeAWishKid
post Jul 26 2024, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 26 2024, 09:37 AM)
there are few KTM main/disti across Semenanjung... I think with the new dealership, support is better
Yeah the new dealership gives me faith in the brand, but can hardly find any used one that's around 15k now, mostly are selling 20k-28k(huh) so will wait patiently for a deal to appear.

0.0153sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:39 AM